Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Roquefer Bilbao Central Rooms

Loteria, 2, 48005 Bilbao, Spain

#15 of 27 B&Bs and Inns in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.5
    Very comfortable location - Old Town and everything is close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air conditioning in the room. Was 30 degrees heat outside in July in Bilbao. Think of yourself how to be in such a room without air condition?? 60 euro per room without air conditioning is too much.

    Very comfortable location - Old Town and everything is close.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower plug had a piece missing so could hurt feet. Would have mentioned but not enough time in the morning.

    Warm welcome. We had booked the last twin room available with a shared bathroom - asked for a double if one became available and were given one with an ensuite. Great view over plaza from balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location but not much else. Overpriced for what is offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners live in nearby rooms and are VERY noisy from afternoon to late evening. Towels are threadbare and frayed all along the edges. Small balcony to internal courtyard had to be kept closed and curtains drawn as the opposite balcony was piled high with junk and was an eyesore. TV only had Spanish channels - not a single international channel.

    Excellent location in the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Good budget, no frills accommodation in a charming location in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom did look in need of a refurb, but it was spotlessly clean. My booking stated that the room had a balcony, and that there was a terrace. This was not the case, I'd recommend that the listing is amended to reflect this, and that travellers confirm this at the time of booking.

    Excellent location in the centre of the old town, very close the Metro and so many other things you would want to see and do. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the room was exceptionally clean. The WiFi connection was consistently good. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and charming hosts.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking.com listing offered me an en-suite room with a balcony, but when I got there I was offered EITHER en-suite or balcony. It seems there aren't any rooms with both.

    Very friendly and charming hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal basic accommodation in Casco Viejo..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. Naturally, in the centre of busy part of town, it can be noisy. Just make sure you have some earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

    Location in the centre of the Vasco Viejo was excellent. Clean, small, basic rooms, yet adequate for a short stay.. Owners are friendly but I believe have limited English, which might be an issue for some people with no Spanish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Quaint, old style pension in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a simple place but in a perfect location. Heating was provided at night when cold. I was given a room upgrade with private bathroom, which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    The pension contributed to an authentic experience of the old town in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pension was in a pedestrianised area and very difficult to find initially. Better directions to both the pension and to the public car park would have been very helpful.

    The pension was on the first floor of a building, which housed a number of apartments. It was delightfully old fashioned and the elderly proprietors were kind and friendly. It wasn’t a problem that they spoke little English and that our Spanish was very limited. Our rooms were small but clean, with balconies overlooking a square in the old part of town. The location was great for visiting the old town and within walking distance of the Guggenheim.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and rusty. I was doubtful about the cleaness of the bed as I found some hairs. It was extremly high price for such conditions.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise coming from the street during the night.

    the position was great, in the heart of the old town. Staff was friendly and helpful with info of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    We won’t return and pay that price again, unless we have no other choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really basic, with a washroom down the hall. We paid 65.00 euros for a room that would be more appropriately priced at 45.00 euros. We have stayed at many many places in Spain, and have stayed at much much nicer, many times, at half the price. Their advantage is that they are in Bilbao in a great location, and although it is small, there always appears to be availability when everything else is full.

    Location in Casco Veijo (the old town). Clean. Nice people, although no knowledge of english, so best to know some spanish.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    The location was excellent, The room was basic but spotless.
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent, The room was basic but spotless. Great view of the Cathedral from our window (just next door) Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    It didn't deserve the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't clean enough, especially the shower cabin - there was mold. The room need refreshment and deep cleaning. The bed curtains were old and need a rewash. We payed 70€ per night. For me this price is too high for what we get. It was noisy, because there was reconstruction work to both neighbor buildings (just in front of our window and on the right side). I felt like I was in a hostel

    Bed sheets looked clean. Location is very good in the city center. It is about 15-20 min. walk to Guggenheim Museum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean although shared
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The pension is nicely located, the host is very nice and helpfull. The shared bathroom was much better then I expected, very clean and always free - as it was my own:))) nice view from the balcony. Really good for this price. Recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    Okay but accommodation was mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room, no chair to sit in Very modest with worn bed spread, pillow slip. Stairs were covered with paper as the walls were being painted.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the location of this property is excellent for access to the city, it does mean that the there is a lot of noise in the street below. At night is was not too bad, however in the mornings, all the delivery vans and lorries can be heard quite early. I can't fault the property for this but worth being aware of when you book your stay.

    This property is in the heart of the city with very easy access to sites, restaurants and shops. Plaza Nueva is just around the corner as are many cafes and the river is a short walk along the street. It felt very safe as well. The owners/hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful and readily available, if needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Very cute old owners, very nice central location (short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can get a bit loud at night. Not too much english spoken, so helpful if you know some spanish words.

    Very cute old owners, very nice central location (short walk from the metro). Very nice cute old builiding. Many bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    generally clean but curtain no clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff does not speak and understand English and we had to use Google translate. There is a lot of noise from the street and makes sleeping hard in the night. There is no air conditioner.

    generally clean but curtain no clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms should be equipped with electric fans during the warm months. It could get noisy since the place is in the center of the busy area of the old town.

    Although hosts spoke very little English, they were nice and helpful. The place was clean and our room had a private toilet and bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hosts (Felix & Fabiana) who were genuinely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although a great place offering real value for money, especially given the location, our double room with ensuite bathroom was very small for 2 people with luggage (more suitable for one person). We also felt some things could do with refurbishment e.g. new towels & bed linen, new shower fittings.

    Very nice hosts (Felix & Fabiana) who were genuinely kind and helpful. Fantastic location in the old town. Room with balcony and view of the Cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Casco viejo hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ' matrimonial' pillow !!! Typical for Spain , they would change it if you asked !!

    The lady who runs the hotel is really friendly and welcoming, the hotel location was perfect in the vasco viejo .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Quaint place with wonderful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from the bus station we arrived at, but once we got to it, it was right where we wanted to be.

    A wonderfully quaint little plsce. The owners were excellent and very helpful. Although we had booked a room with a shared bathroom, he decided we should have a private one and acomodated us with one at no extra cost. I'd definitely start here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    In the middle of Casio viejo , really friendly , good price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pension was right in the middle of Casio viejo , it was a mixture of old Pension style with a modern bathroom. The lady that runs it was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Great price and location. Clean and friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is old, needs some minor renos.

    Great price for the no-frills traveller. Location central to old city with bars and restaurants. The owners are very nice, kept place extremely clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, nice bar/cafe right underneath the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a centre of the old town which is a plus, however the windows were overlooking the church square which was very noisy at night, even with the windows closed.

    Excellent location, nice bar/cafe right underneath the hotel - perfect for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was cold all night long. The heating didn't seem to be working properly, as I couldn't turn it up. I forgot to check if they had bathrooms in the room, so I was quite disappointed to find out that I had to share it and it smelled pee. I didn't feel comfortable.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely rooms, right in the centre of the old town. (Casco Viejo)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No kettle or tea/coffee making facilities in the room. (We like a cuppa first thing before breakfast)

    Very clean, towels changed every 2nd day. Comfy beds, bedding changed during 7 day stay. Very friendly staff (although didn't speak English - this is NOT a criticism, we managed just fine!)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat noisy due to revellers on the streets at night.

    Location in heart of the old town with great choices of coffee shops and restaurants. Very close to public transport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Guggenheim here we come
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy on a fri and sat night but expected

    Great location and easy to find but don't look for any signs , it's a multi use building so look for the street number , great for bars and restaurants in old town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Great stay to explore wonderful Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism, but guest should be aware that there is no access by car to this part, need to organise parking and transport of luggage well before finding accommodation.

    Great location in the centre, full of atmosphere,rooms looking out over the square below. Clean,comfortable and small, but that is all one really needs . We never turned the TV on, there was too much to see outside. The owner only spoke Spanish/Basque, but we still understood all there was to find out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    Location was wonderful and the staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double bed but were given two twins instead. Not sure if the staff assumed two women were not a couple, but we would have preferred to have the bed we reserved.

    Location was wonderful and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was perfect for exploring Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for exploring Bilbao. The view from the bedroom was fab!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Fitted my requirements very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that fell below my expectations

    For a Pension in this location it was really good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Located in the heart of the city
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the heart of the city Fantastic hosts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay! Recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Warm Spanish welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very central and in a charming old building.staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Very central, lovely helpful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is located in the center it is very noisy at night

    Very central, lovely helpful hosts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Basic but very clean accommodation. Ideal position. Friendly staff but no English spoken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Value right in the heart of Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, clean simple value for money rooms, lovely owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    The owners are adorable and were so happy and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedspreads could be updated. They were clean though.

    The owners are adorable and were so happy and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    All! Super value for money! Friendly stuff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very well located, very clean, centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located, very clean, centrally located. Fantastic value for a Pensione type accommodation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it is over priced. I'd stay in the new town with similar price.

    Great location. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location but extremely noisy. At night drunk tourist and delivery and cleaning trucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy!

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    A fresh and familiar feeling in a walking distance from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A fresh and familiar feeling in a walking distance from the center of Bilbao! Lovelly...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Stuff was lovely and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff was lovely and helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, very friendly staff. Simple but nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in the middle of the old town Very friendly staff Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    I was suprised to be told that there was no breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Congestion

    I was suprised to be told that there was no breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Great welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome. Central location. Quaint little pension. Spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Location excellent, and happy to let us leave our bags in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location excellent, and happy to let us leave our bags in room on arriving early

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Great to be in the heart of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fairly basic facilities

    I loved the traditional glazed balcony looking out onto the square below

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Landing point in northern Spain but enjoyable short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in the old town and close to train station. Ten minute walk to Guggenheim.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    Staff, very friendly and approchable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, very friendly and approchable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay in wonderful Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room or Twin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Family run. Rooms were pleasantly presented, very clean and staff were extremely helpful. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Great base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Wonderfully polite and helpful proprietors.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, a fridge + kettle would be expected

    Next to the cathedral, in tho old quarter - great location, bars etc

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.1
    Low cost, basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all ok.

    It was all ok. Although the location was great in the old city, this also made it very noisy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    6.3
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath wasn't properly cleaned.

    Good location!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    3.8
    The room was basic but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was so noisy, all business conversations, everything was done in the hallway and always sounded like it was just outside the door. The owners operate out of a kitchen off the busy hallway and near the rooms so you also get to hear their tv, their cooking, their conversation and then the washing of dishes, and the evening meal is late in Spain so this noise continues until well after midnight. Nothing was done quietly, even the lock to open your door was noisy so imagine when all guests are coming and going. Some rooms have shared facilities which were also off this busy hallway so you got to enjoy all their coming and going and 'use' of these shared facilities. Most people seem to arrive around 11.30 pm so the noise just never seemed to end. The walls are paper thin so you also have to deal with the snoring next door and the walls and doors seem to rattle for no apparent reason. If you are there for the night life this place might be fine, other than that STAY AWAY. The location is in the old part and that WAS interesting but it is a relatively small town so stay somewhere quieter and just walk to this part of town. I often stay in pubs in Australia so I can handle noise, this was insane!

    The room was basic but clean

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    A true Spanish experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Originally I booked a small double that said it came with a balcony or patio, but the room I was shown to only had a window overlooking a private patio filled with someone's laundry. I had to use some body language to explain my booking but then thankfully I was shown to a much lovelier room with a stunning view!

    A true Spanish experience! A lovely family run pension (clean, safe, affordable, wonderful location). I was lucky enough to secure a room with a balcony, I could sit with a book in the sunshine overlooking the Old Town square and listen to Spanish music playing from below. Very charming.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    Loved the location, staff were so lovely, and rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a courtyard view which wasn't very pretty, but was quiet at night. Our friend had the most beautiful view of the square but on a weekend night it was very very noisy until 3am. Seems like no good balance there, which is fine if you know that before booking. Still worth it.

    Loved the location, staff were so lovely, and rooms with adjoining personal bathrooms were worth paying a little extra!

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    Old Town, where Roquefer is located, is the place to be in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street noise was sometimes a problem, but the Pension is in the heart of the town.

    Old Town, where Roquefer is located, is the place to be in Bilbao. No breakfast at Roquefer was not a problem. Two restaurants very close by had good breakfast offerings at reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    8.3
    perfectly situated in the old city, my room had a balcony...
    • Solo traveller

    perfectly situated in the old city, my room had a balcony facing the cathedral. ten minute walk to the central station and the dining axis across it, five to the station to san sebastian, fifteen to the guggenheim. feels very homely -actually is a home with rooms for rent- with very sympathetic hosts and a living room+kitchen to share. simple rooms, not fancy but adequate. english not really spoken but very communicative in whatever way:)

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.1
    The Staff (very sympathique old couple that runs the place),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from outside and other rooms

    The Staff (very sympathique old couple that runs the place), The location is nice located right in the center of Bilbao old town. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Location, ease of access to old town and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say!

    Location, ease of access to old town and city. Right in middle of old town, such lovely owners who were very helpful. Accommodation is clean, comfortable and all you need for short break in brilliant Bilbao. Would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Lovely Hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Saturday night was very noisy because of lot of people having fun in the streets.

    Lovely Hostess. Excellent situtation in Old Town. Clean and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    We were very satisfied with the place, in the old town Casco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were very satisfied with the place, in the old town Casco Viejo, our room in the corner had two small balconies with view right on the square with cathedral st. Jacob, we were in the centre of life. Staff, nice men, were very polite, helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    The location is superb - if you are lucky, you get a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is superb - if you are lucky, you get a room looking out on the cathedral in the main square of the old town. Mind you, it is noisy, but I enjoyed the buzz after a tiring day. Also, be prepared that the elderly gentleman, who runs theplace, only speaks Spanish - alas can explain you everything.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was in a very nice building basically just one...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only problems were that the owner did not speak English really, and the sound insulation was very poor.

    The hotel was in a very nice building basically just one street away from the Santiago cathedral in the very center of the Old Town. The room was big and well equipped

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    5.8
    The Pension is right in the middle of the old part of Bilbao...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You are not able to access within 400 yards of the pension for most of the day as the whole area is pedestrianised. Parking is offered but that's 500 yard walk there and back! English is not spoken by staff.

    The Pension is right in the middle of the old part of Bilbao with cobbled streets shops bars and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.9
    Good location, very simple but comfortable room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you get a room facing the street, please note that it gets noisy at night even with the windows closed. This goes for all pensions in old town. If possible request for a room facing the courtyard which is quieter but the rooms are smaller.

    Good location, very simple but comfortable room with comfortable bed and clean bathroom with good water pressure. The owner is very friendly and excellent host who also lives in the same building. Perfect location to explore old town

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.1
    Location, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you stay on a Saturday night don't expect to sleep. Loud party in streets until 4 am and little sound insulation in room. Any noise in the hallways also echoes in the room. Bring good earplugs Don't expect the staff to speak any English.

    Location, price

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Really friendly owners, always available to help. Really basic accommodation but perfect for our necessities. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    It was a great taste of Bilbao!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a great taste of Bilbao!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    concierges-available and helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    concierges-available and helpful; location- the balcony overlooks the Plaza;

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: