Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Curious 1 stars

Carrer del Carme, 25, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#207 of 526 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 929 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay in Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, excellent guide book offering additional free walking tours and interesting information about Barcelona's history for every guest. Tasty varied breakfast and very clean rooms. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom looked a bit used,but it was clean too. Breakfast wasn’t nothing special but good enough.

    I loved street view and balkony of my room,cleaness,very nice staff (ALWAYS smiling),safe, and location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. Very central location. Complimentary Breakfast perfect for starting the day. Clean and comfortable room. Loads of local info given on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    The hotel was in a very good location easy access to town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t really anything not to like about our stay!

    The hotel was in a very good location easy access to town, the breakfast was lovely too! The room was lovely, basic furniture but that was okay that’s all we needed while we stayed. All the staff were really friendly too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, the room worked well enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a bit noisy, bring earplugs. The staff was nice and helpful, but a big down was that the only person there when we arrived there around 21:00 helped just arrived guests for literally 30mn while leaving 2 newly arrived sets of guests to wait without their key and access to their room. We had just travelled across the world and wanted nothing more than our room. Having to wait that long was kind of unacceptable and I've never seen this in 100+ hotels I've stayed at. The front desk person should have told those people to wait for help with concierge like questions while giving keys to the people waiting to check in.

    The location was great, the room worked well enough. Breakfast was good enough also. The big draw of this location is definitely the really convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Little gem in the heart of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay staff were the friendliest of all the hotels we stay in Spain (no joke). Very helpful. Room was clean, quiet, and a reasonable size. Dont be put off by the one star rating for me it was top star. Highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    The staff were very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very kind and friendly. We chose not to stay past our one night. We did not feel safe in the location, except it was right off Las Ramblas , which is ideal for most. The room was small and i would consider this to be more of a hostel and or dorm room. Not suitable for mature or those wanting a little more of creature comforts. Very basic plain, cannot move around in room, no furniture. Value and style not for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Despite the bed (which is important) this is a very nice, clean, basic hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was hard and lumpy. The staff tried a mattress topper (twice) and that improved things, but it still wasn't great. The otherwise very nice gentleman on reception said "What do you expect from a one star hotel!" That was not what I expected to hear, as the hotel wasn't cheap.

    Staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and local knowledge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed and bed covers are not super comfortable, but that wouldn't stop me from staying again. The breakfast is not good for vegans or gluten-free diets, but there is so much great food around nearby, I recommend going out for breakfast anyway.

    The hotel's own email guide and the book they give on arrival were both excellent and helpful, even though I've been to Barcelona many times before. I followed all 3 historic walks in the book guide (in one day!) and saw a much deeper history to the city than I have previously known. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little hard but that's a personal preference

    Set in a quiet little side street off La Rambla easy walking distance to most things including the beach. Liceu metro station a few minutes away which made for easy access to Park Guell. Breakfast was a good variety for a 1 star hotel. Great to have access to tea and coffee throughout the day. Friendly helpful staff who went out of their way to phone our rental car company to check pick up arrangements for us. Don't miss exploring the back alley ways of Gothic and Jewish quarters...the walking booklet the hotel will give you is excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend, great location and friendly staff, needs new mattresses (only negative).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the room needs to be replaced. Very springy and uncomfortable, big rut where people sleep. Only negative about the property.

    Location is excellent! Staff is really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with helpful staff made for a very enjoyable stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great, breakfast included which was a bonus, the staff were extremely efficient and helpful, and even helped us book the train out of Barcelona when we were having trouble doing it ourselves online, highly recommended, great location just off Las Rambla might be a bit noisy for some but easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A great small hotel in the heart of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My singel room didint have any real window but only a fake one.It didnt botter me much becouse of very nice price.

    The staff were very professional and really helpful. My room was small but very convient and extremely clean.Great location in the heart of the city in 3 min walking to Ramblas and 5 min to Placa Catalanuya.Nice completed breakfest.Good value for money.I had the better time at this 1*hotel than at 4* hotel at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, socially conscious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, we had to ask for a cleaner to sweep the floor before we could unpack. The safe is at reception, not in the room + a bar refrigerator would have been a welcome addition.

    Room was comfortable, but small. Easy access to La Ramblas. Reception staff were friendly. The hotel promotes an eco-friendly/social culture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Value the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Value the price. Clean and modern facilities. The location is great for my next day depature to airport. The guy in reception speak english. And no worry on safety of the hotel although its right on busy street. Breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Location and breakfast are the only positives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room smaller in size than cruise ship cabin. 1 step above Dorm room. No closet, Clothes rack next to bed, over table that folded down from wall. Bathroom awkward layout. Limited TV channels-no English. Hardest mattress ever. Able to check in early after overnight flight, but was given room with construction 10 feet away outside window on 4th floor

    Decent breakfast choices. Less than 1 block from La Rambla

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Would be happy to stay there again even to try and stay in one of the curious rooms mentioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from our window, building new apartments or something so wasn't suitable for sitting out on the balcony.

    This hotel is in an ideal location for getting out and about. Just off the busy Las Ramblas but still in the heart of it. The hotel is clean with comfortable with friendly staff and an ideal buffet breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Value-for-money stay in the heart of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single room was so small The bed was not comfortable at all The room did not get any daylight and fresh air, so only recommended for a short stay

    The location could not be any better, right off La Rambla street and Mercato La Bouqueria and a 3 minute-walk from Plaça de Catalunya

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Best hotel I've stayed at in Europe, highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the reason I booked this hotel were the awesome reviews of the staff and they were 100% correct! I was traveling for my birthday & when I arrived, there was a birthday card as well as a box of chocolate on the bed. :) The staff went above and beyond with customer service. From wishing me a happy birthday to helping me figure out which bus to take, to making sure there was breakfast out at 3am when my daughter and I had to check out. Mateo & Carin were awesome! :) I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Plus, the hotel room had AC which was definitely a bonus! The location can't be beat either, being able to walk to Plaça Catalunya in just a couple minutes, and a plethora of shops & restaurants nearby. I'll be staying here again when I come back to Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for central Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff members were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was simple but good. The rooms were very clean, with an interesting feature photograph wall. The location was ideal, 100 metres from La Rambla and close to St Joseph's Market. We would go back again tomorrow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Our stay more than met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in the perfect location near the Ramblas and accessible to all the sites we wanted to see. The hotel is well kept and very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Matteo, the desk clerk who patiently answered all of our questions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location as a base with the Metro and bus stops within 5 mins walking. La Rambla is literally at the end of the road therefore after a long day out sight seeing upon your return you have your pick of restaurants and bars, a variety to suit all budgets. The staff in particular Mateo and Claudio were amazing and assisted with the decorations for my daughters 25th Birthday upon our arrival. Breakfast was continental with much variety. As a base for sight seeing around beautiful Barcelona, Hotel Curious this is No. 1!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant. Only 1* but deserves alot more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been comfier and maybe a bigger bin.

    The location for the price was fantastic. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A great small independent hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little bit too firm but room was comfortable overall

    Friendly staff and really enjoyed the Hotels walking guides to see curious sites in Barcelona. Great location for exploring the city. Breakfast good and replenished right up until 11 am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location 100 metres from Las Ramblas, almost behind...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room typical of lots in Europe, mattress not very comfortable. Breakfast just OK.

    Great location 100 metres from Las Ramblas, almost behind the market. Staff very friendly and speak English very well. Modern hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    The room could have benefited with the air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have benefited with the air conditioning being on as it was quite warm in there but other to that it was fantastic and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Barcelona Fun Times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I had was the shower head in the corner and shower controls in middle! Every time you moved your arms you hit the controls which shot water all over the place!

    We loved the location most and the staff were great! The breakfast was good continental style! Loved the closeness to La Boqueria and two great restaurants on the same street/block! Mino and Pasta Fresca were fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money and great staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise coming from outside our window (banging and drilling) which woke us up every morning.

    Breakfast was great, cleanliness of room was great. Location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a start we thought the room a bit bare but shelves cleverly folded out and we had space to put everything we needed.

    The breakfast was very good. We were there for two nights and didn't sample everything available. It was good to have a computer terminal available for guest use. Location was excellent. It is in a one way street so traffic stopped while our taxi was unloading our bags but no-one became impatient. A bit pricey, but that's to be expected in this location in this city. All staff we met spoke good English. We'd certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs: you are in the city centre and unfortunately you can hear the elevator stop and go constantly. When your neighbour showers in his single room, you can hear the water clearly.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Value for the money. Great beds (a bit hard).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location - right off Las Ramblas (1 minute) and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location - right off Las Ramblas (1 minute) and beside a great outdoor food market. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms with TV, shower - everything worked well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was great trip to acxomodate Hotel curious. All services are perfect, choosing one of the best thing is their kindness in spite of foreigners.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    The location is just excellent within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I haven't found anything I would highlight now, all good.

    The location is just excellent within walking distance to many attractions, bars and restaurants as well as close to a metro station in case you need to take it. The hotel is nice and a super value for the money, staff was very kind and supportive, the communication with them was excellent before arrival and on site too. Breakfast was good enough too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed it, great location, good value for money in the centre of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bed was very hard, quite basic

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, gave us advice and helped us buy tickets for the bus at a discount. Liked the little guide books with local walks, very informative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Really good acommodation at the very heart of BCN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thinest pillow on earth, could not sleep well enough the first night.

    Best receptionist ever, extremely helpful with tourist instructions. Offered a change to a bigger room for free. Buffet breakfast is good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Christmas at Curious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First of all Happy New Year!With my family have visited for first time Barcelona and we are so happy with the choice of this hotel. First of all short walking distance from Placa Catalunya, close at walking distance to many attractions and public transportation .We took Aerobus from airport and back. Hotel is suited in old building. Rooms are very clean and beds & pillows very comfortable, air condition great .Design of the rooms is clean but with gorgeous wallpapers with views from Barcelona. Even though at first floor and above street was quiet. WE felt really at home and that is most to be thankful to all the staff. Thank YOu all the Reception -Mateo, Matias, Gladys, Albert- always attentive and helpful with tips for good time in around area. Thank You for the nice breakfast to Caryn &Karima. Thank You to Marjulyn who always kept clean and order in room. we felt so special with Christmas surprise under the tree in the lobby THank Youu! The most significant thing in tourism business is HOSPITALITY, these people really have the attitude and do their best to make you at home. For people who are searching for luxury - let me tell you find other place. ALL THAT WANT TO FEEL LIKE AT HOME THIS IS THE PLACE. I do recommend with my both hands! looking forward for our next visit !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's close to subway, shoppings, good stores and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the staff is amazing and friendly. I really liked this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    i will come back and suggest to the others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    realy nothing!

    location was great. it was near to the historical part of barcelona. near to public transportation. near to shopping centers. staffs were so polite and helpful. hotel was very clean and well decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    Mmmmmm Location good BUT Not at that hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airport Shuttle drops you off two block from the hotel. Bed rooms are ridiculous small. Our bathroom door could not close. So anyone using the toilet no privatise. Price to expensive the only good think is the location.

    The only good think is the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location, great staff and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    The location is great being a minute walk to the Ramblas and being so close to all the bars and restaurants but the rear room we had was very quiet. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke fluent English. Breakfast was basic, but very sufficient, the room was not especially spacious, but the overall value of the hotel makes it an excellent choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly spot to rest one's head in the center of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. They even got the breakfast out earlier than normally because we had an early flight to catch. Safe, secure, friendly and in a very central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.5
    I used a converter to use my special hair dryer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I used a converter to use my special hair dryer. The dryer burned out and the lights on the entire floor went out. The hotel did lend another converter but was not at all sympathetic to my complaint of a possible problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, very close to La Ramblas, public transit,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are quite small and our room didn't have a view. Some of the furnishings could be updated, but it's tough to beat the location.

    Great location, very close to La Ramblas, public transit, shops and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Well what a great little hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well what a great little hotel! Perfectly located - 3 mins walk to La Rambla, 5-10mins to Plaça de Cataluña to get the shuttle bus to/from the airport. Staff friendly and helpful. Would def recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Probably would not recommend. Not great for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Street was a rough area. Saw a fight and a mugging right outside our room. Also at night drunk people falling. A little scary. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was fine. Rooms were small and crowded, but clean and cool and fairly quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great Boutique hotel, only small but spotlessly clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Boutique hotel, only small but spotlessly clean and staff were absolutely fantastic, a continental buffet breakfast was also included in the price. Perfectly located just of Las Ramblas ideal location for all your sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The reception staff were outstanding- helped us with all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The reception staff were outstanding- helped us with all our queries and personal problems. All three we dealt with were cheerful, pleasant and efficient. In fact all the staff we had contact with were extremely friendly and great to deal with.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Loved the location of the hotel and the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would love to stay in this hotel because its easy for solo travellers or a group of friends on a budget, but for a couple or those looking for a higher end experience, this would not be the ideal choice.

    Loved the location of the hotel and the staff was very accommodating. The room had all the basic necessities and was very clean with a touch of modern and a balcony for fresh air.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with a great service, staff and location. Better to book superior room, single is small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small single room. Very small. But if was clean and with air conditioning.

    Service - 5 from 5! Very nice, positive, helpful and friendly staff! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly, comfortable and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything. Have stayed 3 times with family and friends. Is everything you need from a place to stay in terms of location, comfort, friendliness and value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Many better places available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, the double bed was pushed against two walls with only a small gap around. The lift is noisy and disturbed us.

    The location is good, close to the main areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    You will not be disappointed by hotel curious ...at all !
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    This was one of the most delightful hotels I have ever stayed .....it has one star ...but should have 5 1 for friendliness of all the staff 2 for creative decor - each floor has a designation , water, air, water, earth 3 for cleanliness 4 for excellent breakfast spread 5 for cool photo of Barcelona on the wall of the rooms ( as wallpaper )

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in the center of Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing, everything was perfect.

    The room was very beautiful and spacious for 3 people, very clean, comfortable. The beds are very fine. No noise even the hotel is centrally located, air conditioning works perfect.The bathroom big, clean, with soap, shower gel and enough towels also perfect. Enough space for our luggage. WLAN fast. The location of the hotel is fantastic, next to the market, restaurants, bars, the Ramblas nearby, gothic district, old city,the shopping areas are all within reach by foot. Taxis, Metro, Bus nearby for visiting the beach, Sagrada Famila or other sightseeings out of the center. The staff extremely helpfully and very friendly, welcome drink in the bar next to the hotel. Maps, Reservations for restaurants, Recommendations for sightseeing- the reception satisfied all our wishes. Breakfast great. A Buffet with fresh fruits, salmon, sausage, cheese, fruit juices, coffee, tea, eggs... We had a very good time there and can recommend the hotel and will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Fab location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small, but it worked!

    Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff. Basic rooms and breakfast, but for us it was all we needed. Central, but quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.6
    Great location, but be warned if you book a standard room, it is very basic and small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not realise it was one star accomodation, the price compared to other Spanish cities was too high for the size of the room and condition of the room. The floor was dirty, the walls need painting and we had a bad odour (sewage?) In the room when we arrived and it got worse the next day. Breakfast was average, if you wanted fresh orange juice or brewed coffee you had to pay extra?.

    The location, very close to the market, initial person we spoke to at the desk was very welcoming and gave us good directions and ideas of things to see.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    I only stayed in Barcelona for one day, so in my experience...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For two people the room might be too small if you stay for a week. For shorter stays will work with no problems.

    I only stayed in Barcelona for one day, so in my experience the room and the facility was perfect! The staff was very helpful and informative!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great, affordable place to stay in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV in the room was hard to figure out.....Had to continuously call to have someone get the station we needed.

    Location, staff & continental breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful little hotel right in the centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is very tight with luggage!

    The hotel is very near the main sights and very close to the Metro to go further afield. It was about 10 mins walk from the airport shuttle to the hotel so very easy to get to and from the airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful and showed us the main sights on a map that we could take with us, kept our bags before the room was ready and after we had checked out. The breakfast was simple but tasty and fresh and often replenished. The rooms are fairly small but this is standard in a city such as this - Rome rooms were smaller! They were adequate, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location but very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small (no closet or desk). Our previous hotel was booked so we selected this hotel. Will pay a little more for better accommodations.

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    The room was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was so small that we couldn't walk around the bed due to luggage stacked against the wall. there was no place to put anything . The air conditioning wasn't turned on yet and we couldn't completely open the balcony doors for ventilation. It was too warm to rest well and the street noise was loud with the doors open.

    The room was very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location- tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and one side of bed pushed against a wall. Only storage space was a Fold up/down shelf which was down when you walked in the room but as soon as you put it up to place your belongings it was hard to walk round the room. Didn't find the older man in reception very helpful when trying to find information about getting to the Grand Prix - I ended up googling on my phone when I think he should have helped to look up information as he didn't know. There were several other guests there for it as well so we weren't a one off ! Other staff members were very friendly and helpful and recommended some lovely restaurants.

    Excellent location and Good continental breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant Barcelona Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself is basic but that is reflected in the price. The breakfast could be improved with just fresher bread and orange juice.

    Great location 1 minute walk to Las Rambla and the food market. Also really close to a great restaurant Gats and bakery chox. Easy to get to all site seeing locations. The staff are very happy and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't be better. Shame it only has one star but I guess this is because there is no restaurant or bar

    Location and value for money excellent. Staff friendly, helpful and efficient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money - fantastic central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View could have been better but not the fault of the hotel! We were opposite a block of flats.

    Hotel was as expected - staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Rooms are clean and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be extra pillows. An English news tv channel would be nice.

    Rooms are clean and neat. Accessibility of hotel is great. There was a host on duty at the desk at all times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Be careful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked their economy room, a double. Had we known how unbelievably tiny and cramped the space was we certainly would not have! The area for the bed, suitcases, desk (which is a total joke), clothes rod, and chair (which is a folding chair that by necessity remained folded up in the corner) measured a tiny 6.5 ft x 8 ft. The bed is shoved against the wall, the foot of the bed is a mere 10" from the wall, and one person has to climb on top of the bed to make room for the other person to get by. I kid you not! This room should have nothing but a single bed, renting it as a double is, in my opinion, highway robbery. We asked to be moved, but being fully booked they couldn't accommodate us. It was also explained that it was an "economy" room and described on their web page. In fact when we went back and checked, their desc. has only one single word that is different from their std room description. Choose for yourself, but be forewarned.

    Location and staff were very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay for a mini break away!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked how the hotel was modern and very close to the las ramblas strip. The breakfast was lovely with a selection to choose from and the staff happily answered all the questions I had bombarded them with! The room was small but cosy and just what I needed as I was out most of the day so only needed a bed for the nights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found the room a little noisy from lift and road, but for somewhere so close to Las Ramblas think this has to be expected. I wouldn't let it put me off from staying again.

    The inclusive breakfast was very good. It had everything you required and you could eat as much as us you wished. All topped up regularly and tables and area kept clean at all times. Towels changed every day and room and bathroom area kept spotless. The front of house staff were EXTREMLY helpful and cheery.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.9
    Great location. Clean basic hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Inside room was hot, but staff gave me a fan.and tv didnt work too well. No audio on UK channel, had to ask 3 times to fix it as it seemed to break each day. Not a huge deal, but needs looking into

    Very good location, very central. Just off the Ramblas. Staff very helpful Clean, and modern style

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location and very good comfortable budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and the air con doesn't operate until summer. Coming from a cooler climate, I would appreciate being able to use the air con. That's the only criticism - otherwise a great and safe hotel. Highly recommend

    Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely ambience in the hotel and it is in a great location just off La Rambla

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    Expensive for what it has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny room with only enough extra space to fit a chair. Very hard mattress. Clogged sink. We didn't dare to open the windows due to intense smell of cooking of nearby houses.

    Very convenient location, clean, satisfactory breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic breakfast, not the best bed and the 157 euro/night is too high for that hotel.

    Very friendly staff! Great location. Cozy, small and clean room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our room was not very comfortable or at least what we are used to.

    They offered a great breakfast every morning with a sample of the local flavor. You can not beat the location of the hotel, it was very close to the metro.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    A 1* hotel that defies anyone not to vote it at least 3* - outstanding small hotel for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room would have been great and in our 3 bed room there was ample space for a table top to put it on.

    How can this hotel be just 1 Star? That is absurd. I have stayed in plenty of 3 & 4 * hotels that weren't of this standard. Their biggest pluses by far are the location and their staff. Staff outstandingly courteous & helpful without being at all "in your face". Rooms were spotlessly clean; beds comfy; plentiful towels & some toiletries. Breakfast was ample - fresh fruit, cereal, bread, toast, cheese/ham, jams, croisants of various types, coffee, juices etc. Generous/thoughtful gestures - we were celebrating 2 large birthdays in our trio and they left 2 boxes of chocolates for us on arrival and gave us a free glass of Cava at a local restaurant. It was also Valentines Day on day 2 and we found a large box of chocs on arriving back after a day out.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Great and quite location in Center of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is nice (not first time at Curious) and bed is comfortable. Even if it is very close to the Metro station, it is not a very crowded street and during the night is very silent.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Curious traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: