Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Galicia hotel reviews
  4. A Brea hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Pension The Way HOSTEL

Reviews of Pension The Way HOSTEL

Brea, 36, 15823 A Brea, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in A Brea

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 512 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    2.9
    Nothing!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place could be nice but was awful...very unloved, freezing cold, I was in a six bed room with a bathroom in the corner, the curtains were missing etc, tv but no controller ...nobody seemed to live there either. Breakfast was three bits of dry toast, orange juice and a cup of cheap instant coffee....

    Nothing!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    I would have no problem staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only problem is in quiet location no shop.

    Very nice location,private house in own grounds.Host cooked very nice food for a large group while she was babysitting her grandkids .We helped her with service and clearing up it was all very nice and everyone enjoyed themselves.

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Experience in A Brea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    One of the best experience during my travel in the north Spain. The place is accessible with visible signage along the way. the bed is comfortable and facilities are great. The owner is very accommodating and the foods are awesome. Having a great dinner with pilgrims was indeed a great experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    5.4
    It may have been a 9 two years ago but not now.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property did not have our reservation. A room was not ready even after we left for lunch and came back at 2:30. Room and bath were old, dingy, and dirty. Moldy bathroom around shower/tub and sink. We did not use the shower because if it.

    Owners were very kind and the dinner was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.7
    a pleasant facility but they need to pension off the old girl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the attitude of the woman host. Rude and abrupt. Kept us waiting outside from the booking in time of 12h30 to 14h00. Incorrect order served for lunch

    the prescence of the swimming pool. the male host who had a translation app on his phone to help in his communication with us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.8
    Location just 50 metres from the Camino, huge room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi upstairs. Bit cold until we asked for heater to be turned on.

    Location just 50 metres from the Camino, huge room with a spa (a surprise!), great home cooked dinner. Despite some negative reviews we didn’t have a problem paying with a credit card and the dinner for 10 pilgrims staying that night was great - tasting plate of salamis and cheese, good vege soup, paella or chicken and fresh fruit salad with white/red wine. Host gave us all an aperatif to end.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely but end of season ennui
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely property. Had a comfy bed in a 6- bed room ( not bunks) with its own baths and nighttables and chairs if a bit short on plugs A hot pot and mugs provided. Nice dinner if later than advertised. Pool closed ( well it was mid October) and in dining area bar, linens stacked on sofa and sewing machine on one table with baskets of breakfast food to one side making it a bit of a tight fit. . Owner appeared 15 mins late to make breakfast ( room was locked)Got the sense they were closing down for season.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    6.0
    The pool was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner spoke no English however he had a smartphone translator so when you spoke into it, it translated into his language but he then answered your question verbally, not through the smartphone, in his language so you we none the wiser. The dinner was probably the worst on the whole Camino and the breakfast was set for 7am but didn't get started until 7.30 and it all came in bits and peace's. A friend of ours room was very damp and you could smell the mold it would not be healthy to spend more than one night I that room.

    The pool was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good facilities poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite being called "The Way" the hosts seemed to have no English. They were very unwilling to accept credit cards but I have no idea why. I paid in cash but the next morning was called back after leaving and accused, very publicly of not paying for my meal. Having paid cash I had no receipt. I explained that I had paid 24 euros in cash and then they seemed to remember. Muy bien I was told. It was not, it was unforgivable rude and I got no apology. The evening meal was pleasant enough but a shambles, keeping us waiting in the hall for 30 minutes and we never got water despite requests. The hand washing area was blocked and full of stinking stagnant water.

    The room and pool were good. Loved the bath.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    7.5
    Amused guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was a disaster. A mixed group dinner with the later arrivals not even asked what they wanted. Dinners arrived without ownership and people took what was on offer through politeness. Many didn't get what they requested!! Very disorganized and owners asked for proof of payment even though payment was made they didn't seem aware. It had a ' Fawlty towers' experience but people smiled throughout unaware of situation. Meals expensive for what was offered.

    Swimming pool was lovely and relaxing for walkers. Owners used translation facilities of phone to communicate so exciting to observe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    5.4
    Don't expect to get what you think you have paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had booked a room with a bathroom which was shown on our receipt but the owners said that the price we had paid did not allow us to have a private bathroom even though rooms with bathrooms were available. We had to eat at the house and though food was served and probably no one went hungry different dishes appeared with no idea of who was getting what, it was just pot luck that you got something that you wanted to eat. Tea and toast at breakfast was served cold as was other people's coffee. When booking it said that tea and coffee making facilities were in the room but there were two cups only, no coffee, tea or kettle

    The property is close to the camino and it has a lovely swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.8
    Bad food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was so bad with mold - really bad and expensive. They could not a word of English and were very pushy in regards to keep buying more food from them which we did not like at all.

    Pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not be seduced by the photos of the pool as it was unkept and the surrounding grass was dead .Owners rude and went out of their way to make our stay miserable. Was far to isolated and had to cab it into Pedrosa for dinner as other guests advised us not to eat at the Way.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly comfortable for a "Pension";
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprisingly comfortable for a "Pension"; and if you want to walk 25Km in your last stop to Santiago this is the perfect location, even though is in the midle of nowhere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Camino worthy
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well the photo indicated a room for 1 wi a shared b-room in between. I had a great room where I had to walk through the foyer to get to the bathroom.

    The fact that it was just off the Camino, nice grounds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    I swam in their swimming pool and it was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I speak English and very little Spanish. The proprietors and I had trouble communicating, but we worked at it.

    I swam in their swimming pool and it was fabulous!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was not anything like was shown in the photos. The garden was neglected and the lawn was dead. Breakfast which was €5 per person was disappointing. Hosts not at all obliging. Don’t stay there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing, partic compared to other albergue and hostal experiences along the way.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a friendly welcome, owners seemed surprised we had arrived (it was approx 2pm, what would have been a surprise?). I found their booking sheet and pointed out my name on today's arrivals...don't know why it was so difficult. Room was tired, mould in corner of ceiing, rising damp at skirting board level. The name of the hostal is expressed in English..."The Way"...but the owners don't communicate in English. Opened the windows to cool down the room, then lots of flies...put wire screens on the windows!

    Breakfast was good, with cereals provided

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Would recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access to WiFi could have been better.

    The swimming pool after a day walking the camino was a godsend. The cafe con leches were the nicest we had on the way. Hosts had no English but were adept at Google translate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend for peregrinos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Highly recommend for peregrinos. I got a private room and bath. Beautiful quiet property. Clean and comfortable. Run by a very nice family who cooks delicious homemade meals for you to dine comfortably in a large dining room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.6
    Food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Advertised as midday check in but in fact it is 1pm. Not a complaint just a consideration when planning your walk.

    Food was delicious. Hosts were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay near the conclusion of our Camino Primitivo journey.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough staff to serve the large group of people who we're there for dinner. Slow.

    Beautiful fresh, clean pool. Outstanding food! Great camaraderie with fellow Pilgrims over dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    This small hotel has clean rooms and a big garden with a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This small hotel has clean rooms and a big garden with a good-sized swimming pool. The people who run the hotel are extremely friendly and are prepared to go above and beyond to ensure the guests’ needs are being met. A three course dinner including wine and water, as well as breakfast are provided for a small fee. The hostel is only 50 m off the Camino de Santiago, so it is ideal for pilgrims. We really enjoyed our stay at The Way, especially the pool and the food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    The family provides a very hospitable and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked it all

    The family provides a very hospitable and friendly environment. The food was great, the facilities were clean, and our room was up to good standards. We would highly recommend this hostel as one's last stop on the Camino de Santiago.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    9.2
    The pool is a huge plus for this property, along with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool is a huge plus for this property, along with the homey atmosphere. It feels a bit like you're spending the night at grandma's. Lovely little albergue, very clean, and a nice treat after a long day's walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    4.2
    False advertising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I reserved a room with a private bathroom for 43€ and when I arrived the owners told me they did not have a room with private bathroom available.They tried to give me a room which shared a bathroom with an entire dormitory FOR THE SAME PRICE 43€ . I managed to lower the price to 35€ and accepted the room with shared bathroom. A couple of hours later the owners knocked at my door saying that a room with private bathroom was available and they asked me if I wanted it for 50€ (even if my original reservation should have been 43€ for that room) so I refused it. The swimming pool outside had a really cloudy water you can't see through, we didn't even dare to go for a swim in it. Unacceptable behaviour, false advertising, absolutely not recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    It was right off the Camino and the dinner was DELICIOUS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid for breakfast and requested a 7:00a eating time. By 7:30a, no one had shown up, so we had to leave to get started on our day’s hike. We left without getting our money back.

    It was right off the Camino and the dinner was DELICIOUS! The best meal we had our entire time in Spain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    2.5
    Horrible!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was appalling, the worst Booking.com could ever sell me. Was our last night on the Camino, and were so disappointed to end it this way. After 32 nights in different abodes along the Way, it was the worst and should be closed. Staff could not communicate with clients, mould on ceilings in rooms and in bathrooms, meals were limited to what they would offer, complete disregard for clients requests and service disgraceful. Only bonus was the sharing of this hideous evening with other lovely pilgrims!

    Absolutely nothing...so mislead by the picture and reviews. The outdoors ie pool, is all it has going for it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    The shared dormitory had beds not bunks and a couple of easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared dormitory had beds not bunks and a couple of easy chairs. The swimming pool was amazing. The evening meal was huge and the family running the hostel were very friendly and helpful. It was more expensive than most hostels I stayed in but very special.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    A hidden treasure after 770km of walking the camino!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing to dislike about this place!

    We really loved everything about this place. The hosts were kind, friendly and helpful and they cooked a delicious meal (vegetarian for me). There was a really lovely big pool for a swim after a hot day of walking along the camino!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    The most wonderful family runs this property -- stay here!
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I scheduled way too long of a walk for myself this day, so I was exhausted and frustrated by the time I reached the property. I will be grateful forever for the kindness and patience this family showed me when I arrived. I don't speak much Spanish and my state of mind was making it impossible for me to communicate well with them, but they showed me incredible grace and really took care of me. Gracias! They also cooked an incredible dinner filled with fresh vegetables (unusual on the camino!) and salmon that was perfectly cooked. I had a room with a shared bathroom, which was very clean. The only funny thing is that the motion sensor light in the bathroom kept shutting off when I was in the shower so I constantly had to wave my arm outside the shower door to come back on. Not a big deal and really quite funny! I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    3.3
    IMPORTANT: READ THIS BEFORE YOU BOOK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Here's a quick summary. More details below: - This is a terrible location. There's nothing to do within a 3 mile radius, so you're their captive audience - Because you're a captive audience, they can, and do, overcharge you for everything - There's a decent chance they won't have your reservation, as it happened to TWO of us the night I stayed there - Your shower will be anywhere from warm, to lukewarm, to freezing - possibly getting to experience all three of those temperatures throughout the same shower! You will also find yourself showering in the dark for much of it, because the light sensor goes off, and there's no window. Better that way, because then you can't see the moldy ceiling. - They will not, as promised, make you "whatever you want" for dinner. You will have whatever they're serving--which in my case was fish. They will make a vegetarian option as needed. - Outlets and WiFi don't work reliably - The pool is unheated and filthy Details: LOCATION / YOU ARE STUCK THERE WITH NOTHING TO DO - I was shocked at how quickly I arrived here after I started walking from Arzua. It was lucky that I noticed the sign, since if I hadn't been paying attention, it would have walked past it and wound up having to backtrack--quite significantly. It's about 100 meters off the Camino...kind of in the middle of nowhere. I think I arrived at around 1:30pm. All of my other Camino friends were going about 5K more to O Pedruozo (sp?). Once you're there, there's absolutely nothing to do. There's no town. There's no place to go and get a cafe or a glass of wine. There's no real common area to sit except at a table in the dining room, where a few other people were sitting and watching Spanish TV. They have a pool, but the pool is unheated and filthy (see my photo, which doesn't even capture it well).

    This was absolutely my worst experience--not just on the Camino, but in my last decade of traveling. On the up side, I will say that the bed was clean and reasonably comfortable, and despite the fact that my roommates and I were absolutely furious about everything that was going on there, I slept better than expected. In their own weird way, up until the point where we basically got into a yelling match, the hosts seemed to be sort of trying to be solicitous--she was working hard cooking in the kitchen, and he was pouring wine (that we didn't know we were being charged for) for the guests. So...there's that... And also, because everyone else on the Camino stayed in El Pedrouzo (5 km further) that night, I got about 2-3 miles of nice, quiet walking the following morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    A precious home for home on the Camino x
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect x

    It was on the way. The woman who owned the property was amazing. She really looked after me. The facilities were great she did my washing for me and made me a home cooked meal xxx an angel on the camino

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay on the Camino in the last night.
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A warm room with heating all night in a cold and rainy day. Fantastic hospitalera taking care about everything we needed, dinner,breakfast,washing and drying the clothes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Aurora and Antonio was so nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Aurora and Antonio was so nice. I wish I spoke spanish, it would have been interesting to talk to them properly. Really nice property with a pool! The dinner was good value too. Overall very happy. Exceeded my expectations. Gracias Aurora and Antonio!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    3.8
    Location is just 50 meters off the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Innkeeper spoke no English and he yelled loudly into google translate. The translation did not improve with increased volume.

    Location is just 50 meters off the Camino

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    4.2
    Best avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room small, not clean. Bathroom tiny and covered in mold. Swimming pool advertised as being open all year was closed. Breakfast was basically just one piece of toast, juice and coffee and some prepackaged cakes which were not nice. Dreadful value compared to other places on Camino.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    First class hosts, accomodation and food. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Wonderfully welcoming, very comfortable bed and beautifully decorated. Owners made us very welcome and served a delicious meal too. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.7
    I know it's cheap but it's also overrated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was mouldy- probably because there was no outlet for the steam. The sheets on the beds, whilst clean, smelt musty as if they had been on there for some time. We didn't have dinner there & were disappointed with breakfast which was just toast & jam with coffee. We weren't offered anything else although I see in other reviews that omelettes were available. Also the swimming pool wasn't available.

    Excellent location, the gentleman host was very nice & we had a good laugh using the translator on his mobile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Large quiet garden and pool just off Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Large quiet garden and pool just off Camino. Fantastic dinner cooked for us at the time we chose. Soup, salad, fresh salmon and whiskey cake for dessert! The couple that runs it are charming and loving. Some reviewers complain that they don’t speak enough English. However we are in Spain! The gentleman host is great with using the translator on his smart phone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.2
    Nothing was too much to ask!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was too much to ask! Very accommodation - the dinners were execellent. The hostel is in a lovely area if you wanna escape the busy city- however buses do run to Santiago for 1.55 euros single fare and stop within 5 min walk from property . Would reccomend to families and groups on the Camino- also to lone travelers in search for a quiet rest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great value and comfort on camino
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a negative but owners don't speak any English just makes communication hard but they are so lovely and obliging

    Great value for money, owners are lovely and friendly comfortable private room...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    The couple that ran the house were so nice despite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If doing the last day of the Camino from that location it is over 25 km which adds to the challenge . But a very restful place . No bars nearby but they offer drinks.

    The couple that ran the house were so nice despite the language barrier. The lady who's name I've forgotten cooked us the best meal we've had since starting the Camino. Breakfast was great first place we got offered an omelette instead of just toast. She also had fruit and croissants etc. We could have tea and coffee any time. Great couple great hosts .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    We liked everything, the smell of home cooking when we arrived😀 We where very hungry when we arrived, & had the home cooked food in front of us after a shower The owners couldn’t speak a word of English & we couldn’t speak a work of Spanish, but it as no problem. Very clean place to stay, espically liked the bathtub

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Fantastico!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was Great!

    Really a brilliant Stay on the Camino! The Pool was Great to Rest the Feed After the Walk! Aurora and her Team were very helpfull and so friendly! The Food was fantastic! My best stay in the camino! Trank you so much!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in little paradise
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool water is freezing, or I am just too much of a wimp :-0

    Excellent stay along the Camino. Lady does everything to make you feel welcome. Homecooked food is just lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.2
    One of the better places we stayed at during our walk from St. Jean to Santiago.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't bother us because we had no plans to go to another restaurant, bar or just wander around town but if you did want to do this I would find another town. Brea is extremely small and Pension The Way is even further off the beaten track.

    Great place to spend our last night on the camino before walking in to Santiago the next day. Very comfortable private room/bath with 2 beds. They have several of these rooms plus at least one room that had multiple beds. Large backyard area with a full size pool. Excellent communal dinner. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    5.0
    Like being grandmas house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not communicate. The lady tried to up sale me on the room. No food of any kind offered and nothing near by.

    If you do not speak Spanish good luck.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    7.1
    A reasonable place to stay on the camino though a bit pricey compared to other hostels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms vary in size and degree of comfort. The first room we were allocated was very small. When the headboard of the bed fell apart we were given a larger and more comfortable room.

    Simple but plentiful pilgrim meals. We also liked the quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    Great place to stop on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything suited our needs.

    Very hospitable staff. Excellent & tasty dinner. Clothes line for laundry. Unheated pool was available — looked very inviting but did not give it a try. The room had everything we needed and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Total disarray. Enter the foyer of place, there were mops, packages of sheets, papers everywhere, dirty dishes in bar, filthy kitchen. What happened to the British people who owned and ran the place? Hope the man and woman who were in charge were just temporary because they were a disaster.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    Rejuvenating stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts had a lot of people to look after, so things did get a little bonkers. But understandable.

    The pool was glorious, beer was cold and the hosts were relaxed and friendly. One of the best places we've stayed on the Camino.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Few dinner options other than the hostal, but that really was no issue.

    Staff looking after the property was wonderful. The food was great - real home cooking. It would have been a benefit to have known some Spanish to communicate with the cook, but the hospitaliero in the afternoon spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    3.8
    Go elsewhere. This is a horrible value at a high cost (relative to other places along The Way).
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where should we start... This is the worst value of any place we stayed on The Camino. The bathroom was disgusting, the home and staff extremely loud and ill-informed (doing dishes until 10:30pm and slamming doors until midnight), and the comida offerings almost non-existent. I could never in good conscience suggest this place to anyone.

    Virtually nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    4.6
    Stay Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never been treated so poorly!!! We paid for our room which included breakfast and paid $20 euros extra for supper cash upon arrival. we did not receive a receipt. We made arrangements for supper to be served at 7pm. Our supper wasn't served until 830pm. In the morning breakfast was to be severed at 7am. When we made our way down for breakfast .It was still dark no one was there we waited almost 45 mins .She finally arrived almost 45 mins late! When we went to leave the woman stated we still had to pay $20 euros for the supper from the night before. I explained to her that we had already paid but she wouldn't believe us .I asked for her to telephone the girl that was working to clarify and she refused. we argued for 30mins we were already late and had to go and she was ready to call the police we ended up giving her another $20 euros just to get out of there. Horrible Horrible way to be treated. !!!!! I have stayed at many Albergues and this has never happened before . Shame on them !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Stayed here whilst doing the Camino !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here whilst doing the Camino !! The pilgrims dinner was amazing and the staff were lovely !! It's in the middle of the country and not near shops. But very quiet location along the Camino path .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.6
    The accommodation was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was great! The owner was very nice, and her cooking was great. She was very accommodating to dietary restrictions and requests with dinner and breakfast. The hostel was very clean and good value for money. I would come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    Great food & hospitality plus a very clean room & bath
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was cold and the jacuzzi & dry sauna were not powered and working as advertised. Those would have been very nice after 3+ weeks walking across Spain.

    Owner is gracious and host Doris is wonderful and speaks English too. Mama chef cooks amazing meals and wants every Camino pilgrim fed. I loved my room, meals, and their hospitality so much. I stayed two nights before walking to Santiago.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    10
    Super place to stay and a little oasis whilst walking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super place to stay and a little oasis whilst walking the Camino. Staff couldn't do enough for us and were especially kind to the children. Super food and plenty of it. Like being at your grannies

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely break along the camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One other guest got a bit uppity when I used the downstairs loo (it is in the main entrance area) as she thought it was private for her room. Some clarification there would be ideal. The pool is freezing even in hot temperatures, I still got in but worth noting for those banking on using it.

    The staff went out of their way to be welcoming. The rural surroundings were gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing experience after reading other reviews before booking. Has it changed management?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in inadequate. No one available initially and little information given. Despite me having written information that breakfasts included in room payment the breakfast person insisted on additional payment for the very minimal breakfast.

    The facility itself was good, nice room and garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only small thing was bed was noisy and not the most comfortable.

    Lovely compound with relaxing garden and a bar with beer on tap. Very nice gentleman who checked us in and served the bar. Very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay on the Camino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This lovely property was right on the Camino and was run by a woman and her son (nephew or grandson maybe). Neither spoke a single word of English (not that they should) but we used Google Translate when necessary, so just a heads up! They had a pool which was MUCH appreciated at the end of a long day of hiking. We laid by the pool and sipped wine until dinner time, which was such an amazing experience! We sat at communal tables while the owner cooked and brought us out a feast of local specialties and wine. She finished the evening with pours of regional liquers. We were able to make a new friend and laughed and filled our bellies with delicious food for 10€ a person. Our rooms were lovely and we were able to have our hiking clothes washed and dried for us for 5€.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much choice in local restaurants but that is no reflection on Pension The Way

    Great welcome from Doris. Room comfortable and facilities , especially the pool , were excellent. Highly recommend .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    An oasis on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Aurora was the best hostess of our entire trip. I felt like I was visiting a relative's home. She made us feel super comfortable and welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    10
    Swimming pool AND a caring gracious host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We noticed they are installing a Jacuzzi and a sauna which will also be a gift to pilgrims!

    As with most places on the Camino, it becomes about the personal touch. Doris is everything. She greeted us at the door with a smile, instantly understanding the exhaustion a pilgrim feels after a 12 mile walk in the sun. My daughter and I felt instantly seen and taken care of. We were shown to an upstairs room and settled in. The swimming pool is truly an oasis. Clean and comfortable and we rested our feet in the cool waters for hours. They have a washer/dryer and a large line with ample pins for drying clothes. They do not have a restaurant so you get to order in from nearby restaurants who deliver. They do have soft drinks, a bar and a fancy Nespresso machine in the morning. They do serve breakfast. But truly, the Pension The Way is all about the kindness and generosity of Doris herself - who is never without a smile or an encouraging word. The Camino is a different way of life - and Doris intuitively knows that so her boundless energy and generosity of spirit coupled with a swimming pool made this feel like an oasis. We will always cherish our stay here. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay before we Camino De Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The property was nice. It was hot during the evening but it is spain. Loved the swimming pool, we didn't get to use it but it was nice relaxing by the pool. The property does have laundry facilities which was perfect for the pilgrims. Doris our host was excellent, she was friendly and helpful and cooked one hell of a rice and meatball dish. She was very helpful and the owners need to increase her salary as she made a big difference to our stay. This was much better than the albergues we stayed in and it was totally worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    10
    This place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was amazing. They owner was extremely nice and friendly, tasty pilgrims dinner and breakfast was available. There was a large garden with a swimming pool and the rooms were very cozy. Overall the place felt like an oasis at the final stages of the camino, highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet country stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most places I've stayed have had a menu to choose from. Here they had salad and one entree, so there wasn't much choice around food. No other restaurants very close. That said, Doris did customize my salad a little, and the stew was tasty. So this is an area that could have been better, but the positives here far outweighed this.

    I appreciated Doris and her welcome. The room was clean, had a good bathroom, and nice light through the windows. I like that they had a power strip available-- it made it easy to plug in my electronics.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    10
    D for delightful and " Doris"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our experience here was delightful due in large part to Doris! The accommodation was very comfortable and the manicured grounds with pool were lovely in a very tranquil setting. It was Doris though whose warm welcome and attentive care made this stay so memorable. She could not have been more accommodating. We really appreciated her delicious homemade dinner ,so fresh and plentiful. Mucho Gracias, Doris!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    A great "way" to spend time on the Camino
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing not to like about the property. It's an amazing place. I only hesitate to write this since others will know how special it is.

    Doris and Aurora were amazing hosts. The pension is located near the Camino, and close to an excellent restaurant. We didn't want to leave, and hope to return someday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    9.2
    Relax to get ready for the last stage of the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little far from the O pedrouzo stage for the Camino . But clear direction indication. But if you like the Camino not scheduled is a great place to stay only a 25 k from Santiago

    Quiet place, very clean swimming pool and relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    10
    Exceptionally friendly and helpful young lady managing the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful young lady managing the place. Very good English. Place is very clean, Has a poll and a nice garden. undoubtedly would recommend for others would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good.

    Friendly, helpful, generous. Bath, hot water, big room, heating, wifi. Helpful. Nice neat grounds. Helped with bags up the stairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    Outstanding Off The Way Houstal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was by far the best hostal I stayed at! Doris was the most gracious host and such fun!! I felt sad that I was leaving as it was my last day on the Camino but also because of the wonderful people I met. Buen Camino!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Pension The Way HOSTEL Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: