Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pequeño Rocio 2 stars

Avenida La Canaliega, s/n, 21750 El Rocío, Spain

#7 of 17 hotels in El Rocío

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 517 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    It’s a nice área but hotel is next to a gas station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is extensive and you will think It is because it’s good. We stayed in a bungalow we thought there was a kitchen. There’s no kitchen. Everything is old and unconfortable. Bed is just TERRIBLE ! So terrible !! Bathroom is also old. Cleaning is not the BEST of all.

    It’s a nice área but hotel is next to a gas station. Very bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Easy come easy go...fair price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally only spanish language, but you have to respect this because you are in Spain...

    Ist's just a short walk to the centre. You don't habe to go with your car through the sandy potholed streets of the Village. Nice apartment peace and quiet. We did like the breakfast with an excellent cafe con leche. Very fair management with changes in the booking! Would come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Visit to Doñana and El Rocio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our main complaint was that the beds were not comfortable. Also the bungalow could do with some more lighting to make it feel a bit cosier. Also bedside lamps in the bedrooms would be helpful.

    It was a short walk into the centre of El Rocio and easy parking. The rooms were clean and the staff very, very friendly and really helpful. The place itself s lovely and breakfast was simple but sufficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.6
    El Rocio is well worth a visit, Check what your hotel facilities are & what is open before you go.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in the Duplex Bungalow was disgusting, stank & did'nt keep anything cold, it needed to be replaced. No facilities in the room, kettle cups, especially as the hotel had NO bar open or Restaurant during the day or evening. The only time you could get a hot drink was at breakfast. We had to get a coffee from Zalema Restaurant for our elderly mum of 82 years. If we had been made aware of the lack of facilities, we would have been more prepared & taken a kettle with us. I booked for a double bed & got 4 singles in the room, we should have been told about this.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    We had our wedding here and couldn't of been happier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had our wedding here and they did a fantastic job. The accomodation was great. Nice chalets, which all our guests were very happy with.its a beautiful hotel with impeccable service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay in a fascinating town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A fascinating place to visit and a comfortable place to stay close by. The bathroom was well adapted to disabled guests, which is worth knowing if that is a consideration for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Pretty hotel with pool a short walk from El Rocio town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in one bedroom was not working and it was hot during our stay.

    Very attractive hotel near El Rocio town. Having two bathrooms (for two couples) was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Bring Your Own Fly Swatter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was only a continental offering, nothing hot available, no eggs. Pool was NOT open for the summer yet and date was 15/16 June temp of 104F. flies in El Rocio is a HUGE problem. Poor WiFI limited to reception area only and NOT available in the rooms.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't great but I didn't come to El Rocio to use the internet so I didn't care.

    The room we were given was more like a small chalet, and bigger than my own flat. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful, with a number to call when reception wasn't staffed. The location is just outside the village centre next to a petrol station with a 7-11 type shop which was handy. Short walk into the town. The gardens were well kept. The setting was tranquil and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    El Rocio - fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if the pool had been open, but it didn't open until June. No restaurant.

    Beautiful gardens, nice buffet breakfast in a historic style property, about a 15 minute walk to the centre. We wanted to stay somewhere in El Rocio having seen an article in the travel section of a newspaper some time ago, and the actual town did not disappoint. Sand covered roads with hitching posts outside bars and restaurants for your horse - just like being in the old wild west. We arrived on the Sunday and it has heaving with tourists, with coaches coming from all over, and all the bars and restaurants were open. When we went back in on the Monday, a lot of the bars were closed, and it was a bit of a ghost-town, but I imagine during the summer months, with mnore tourists, it would be different.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful place with comfortable beds and nice scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi is only accessible near the main building / restaurant

    The bungalow was really great and the staff very polite. It's very easy to park outside the property, there's a non stop supermarket nearby and the location is right on the main street, next to the gas station. The breakfast was also very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location and spacious accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have been useful to know in advance that water not drinkable and need to buy bottles (but available next door at petrol station). Limited English spoken so with our limited Spanish, conversation difficult and no one at front desk as so quiet in hotel. Breakfast service was poor - we had to ask for things to be topped up and for milk etc each day. Pool out of season but dilapidated with tadpoles in!

    great area for bird watching. Accomodation was convenient to reach main road access without being too far to walk to centre of town. Breakfast buffet OK with reasonable choice. Staff were friendly when asked for help. Bungalow had plenty of space and 2 showers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    They were very helpful on providing me with breakfast before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were very helpful on providing me with breakfast before the normal starting time. I had to leave early in order to join a guided tour in the National Park

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.3
    Brilliant location but would choose tostay further into the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other facilities available

    Good value for a family but not for a couple. Bar and restaurant closed so no facilities other than for breakfast which was only adequate Situated in a very interesting location which made up for any deficiencies

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.8
    Budget accommodation handy for National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny grumble --no bar or restaurant, but there were plenty of these a short walk away. There is a pool here but not in use in March when we came.

    This is an unusual place and a different sort of property. The sleeping accommodation is in traditionally styled bungalows (most with sitting room and 2 twin bedrooms). These are clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is perfectly adequate -- fine for €6. Location: El Rocío is a pilgrimage village, very quiet most of the year, but at Pentecost it's swelled by thousands of pilgrims. It's also a centre of horse culture and very convenient for the Doñana National Park with all its wildlife.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to find that the hotel was not actually IN town, but located on the road leading into town, next to the gas station. Our room was a 2-bedroom cottage, dark and shabbily furnished. A broken glass vase was left on the counter. Most surprising was the fact that the water in the bathroom was not potable. Given the fact that the tap water was not drinkable, it would have been nice for the management to have provided a bottle of water for the guests. Breakfast was the worst of the 6 hotels that we visited in Spain.

    The grounds appeared to be nicely maintained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    4.2
    This is where functions take place, The rooms are a bit of a walk away from main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired - obviously geared for huge functions. Some of the exterior lights didn't work, some interior light switches were broken, the exterior was shabby and unkempt with broken flower pots, cracked paving etc. Breakfast was fairly dire. Perhaps we were there out of season.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    Make shure you know which bars are going to be open for food as you may well miss out!,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and staff were fine facilities are appalling it's lucky there is a minimarket in the garage next door or you will go hungry.

    Don't know as breakfast finished when they felt like it it seemed to be 8-8.45. The same with the bar which shut mid afternoon and the dining room didn't ever open.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Very good suite, 2 rooms, very well heated on the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not working on second night.

    Very good suite, 2 rooms, very well heated on the first night. Good breakfast. Calm and quite. Not far from El Rocio main squire. Inner yard for all rooms. Very friendly receptionist, but no English language. Felt like in old Spanish farm.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.8
    Great location, but rooms are not as described on the listing, no fireplace and faulty gas boiler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We especially booked here because the listing said it had a fireplace in the bungalow we chose. There was no fireplace and the reception was not very apologetic about it. Every time we used the shower, the water was ice cold and a staff member had to get the gas boiler started. Once this was done, the water was only luke warm, which is not good in the middle of winter with small children. The breakfast buffet cositsts of only bread, ham, cheese and condiments and fruit. Although there was a sign that offered cereal, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, of which there was none.

    Location is great, just on the outskirts of El Rocio. It is close enough to walk into town, but far enough not to be bothered by late night bars, etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    We went to see the birds in the National Park and were captivated by the town of El Rocio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Master Batg was small

    Our accommodations made it the party room. We had a large living room with TV and a small refrigerator. Upstairs was a large patio with two chairs and a table.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms, late breakfast ( 8.30 am)

    Authentic very well decorated rooms, very spacious, clean, toiletries, with fridge, easy to find the hotel ( just at the entrance to the town), we were provided with considerable lunch boxes with breakfast as we were leaving before breakfast time which starts at 8.30 am

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.5
    nice clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was empty! Think there was only 2 other people staying there so it lacked atmosphere. shame really because the hotel was nice.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was clean and well kept.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice place, nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed, even though we were there on the 1st of July and the water was not cold.

    Nice place, nice garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay in the wild west
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were dated although functional. It did add character though.

    Great sized apartment and balcony. Staff were friendly and helpfull too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Good location in great village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in great village

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice staff and garden. Rooms not very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where cold and no blankets in the beds. Bathroom smelled bad

    The garden and the staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice rural accomodation, with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice rural accomodation, with great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Great trip to experience El Rocio and El Coto Doñana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. Premises suitable for El Rocio visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    the cottage was excellent - two nice rooms, well separated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cottage was excellent - two nice rooms, well separated and insulated from each other, with a nice communal living room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    false GPS coordinants at Booking .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    false GPS coordinants at Booking .com!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Wifi is only available in the reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is only available in the reception area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Love the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed need an upgrde

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location close to the National Park
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location close to the National Park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather; rain and high winds, though not unexpected at this season.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Spacious accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    4.6
    Amazing bacon for breakfast on the first day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater was very loud. I had hoped to have a nice area to sit outside.

    Amazing bacon for breakfast on the first day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff super

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice summer location but not perfect for winter-time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in November. Not isolated appartement and hardly inpossible to heat the room...

    Quitness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    If you are looking for enough space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge apartment. Looked better on the photos, though. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Duplex apartment with plenty of space and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duplex apartment with plenty of space and character. Fridge provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    The water of the pool was dirty, we did not dare to swim in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water of the pool was dirty, we did not dare to swim in it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    totally fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    totally fantastic. best choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    super friendly staff, large pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better

    super friendly staff, large pool. Location very good if you have booked to visit reserves Donna

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place. Tranquil. Bingalow has ac. Parking outside, a fridge, TV and comfortable sottinf room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside walkways to rooms need attention.

    Pleasant staff. Very clean. Good wifi in public areas. Spacious, comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    The staff was fantastic, super-friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutamente nada

    The staff was fantastic, super-friendly and helpful. We asked for an extra bed, but instead they upgraded us to a bigger room for free and without even mentioning it. The food in the restaurant is very good, the staff very accommodating, and the entree prices so low that I accidentally ordered two. The whole place is very charming and our kids said it was the best hotel we've ever been to!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Night club outside

    Location. Room size

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    4.2
    The owners were very accommodating and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower not working, no wifi, poor breakfast.

    The owners were very accommodating and nice.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: