Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Persal 3 stars

Plaza del Angel, 12, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#128 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1223 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Quiet room, very friendly staff, good breakfast and perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrass was quite hard and the bed short. A person longer than 180cm will have problems

    Quiet room, very friendly staff, good breakfast and perfect location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The glass shelves in the bathroom have sharp corners, I cut my head when bending to pick up something from the floor (maybe I'm just clumsy). The position of the TV made it difficult to watch, which wouldn't have been a problem if the world cup had not been on.

    I liked the vibe of the place. I particularly liked the décor of the reception and the breakfast/bibliotic areas. The staff were always friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast was delicious, plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    We would recoomend for its good value and central position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is very central. just off Santa Ana square, and not noisy. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was was basic, but had some variety and was enough to provide a good start to the day. Overall good value. and a taxi stand nearby for the return to the airport. After check out our luggage was kept until our evening departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Close to mayor attractions, restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC on this time of the year, staff was nice and got a fan for us. But it said in the description that had AC

    Close to mayor attractions, restaurants and shops. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Don't stay here if you want to rest at night - terrible noise and uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel does not have any sound isolation. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor. We could hear EVERYTHING that was happening in the other rooms - people taking shower, their private conversations and in one case a party that was going on in a room next to ours. The walls are made of paper and when somebody else in the hotel takes shower or flushes the toilet, it sounds like it's happening right in your bedroom. We called the reception at 1am to ask them to do something about the party going on in the neighbouring room but unfortunately they took no action. We had to knock (in our pyjamas) on the other room's door and ask them to keep the noise down. That didn't help so we were not able to sleep at all. Also, the pillows were very uncomfortable - very hard and heavy. They gave me a neck pain. I also specifically messaged (when making the booking) and called (few days before arrival) the hotel to ask to get a room with a double bed. They promised to do their best. Upon arrival (my partner was at the check-in alone) they claimed to have given us a room with a double bed. In reality, it was a large single bed pushed together with a regular single bed. Very uncomfortable as the beds were sliding apart at night.

    Breakfast was good. Reception area was nicely decorated. These, however, don't compensate all the negatives.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From room n.104, I suppose one of worst, we heard a lot of noisy coming from the reception, also during the night. Ear plugs are needed.

    Location and price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Ideal location near the Plaza del Sol; stylish lobby and dining area. Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not well insulated from each other. I could hear some of my neighbors conversations.

    Fantastic location near Plaza del Sol, beautiful lobby and dining area. All the members of staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    The location is excellent, in the middle of the centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are basic and a bit outdated.

    The location is excellent, in the middle of the centre, close to lots of restaurants, cocktail bars, live music venues, etc. The cold bottle of champagne I had asked for was waiting in our room, so great start of the weekend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    A perfect place with excellent breakfast and coffee for leisure in city-center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior decoration in our room was not given much thought, and was quite simple and boring.

    Perfect location for exploring the key sights of Madrid, and amazingly quiet for a city center hotel (we had a second floor room). Breakfast was served in a stylish room with own library wall. Also the contents of the breakfast was stylish and coffee excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place to stay! Well located, full of restaurants, bars just on the doorstep, plus there is a mini supermarket next door. Five minutes walk to Sol metro station. Staff were always helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    Location is in the middle of the center of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we have enjoyed our stay, we found the room not very luxurious. Our bathroom was quiet small. The room was also quiet noisy.

    Location is in the middle of the center of Madrid. Location is really close to the touristic places. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location for a weekend visit in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very basic breakfast with no hot dishes. Every day, the same cold buffet. The rooms are a bit tired.

    great location, you can get to all main tourist attractions on foot. There are bars and restaurants just outside the hotel open till late night. The rooms with windows onto the street offer nice views and have small balconies but the street below is noisy, especially at weekends so it's better to sleep with windows closed. The beds are comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly and speaks decent English. The reception is open 24h.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    The perfect location for a completely fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were thin and I could hear other people showering, coughing, watching TV...

    The location really can't be beat, the staff were polite and helpful, and the hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    A fantastic hotel, in the perfect location brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was simply, but plentiful. Room was comfortable and quiet. Hotel in the perfect location too. Would go again and would recommend to others. Staff were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable budget hotel in an ideal location for the main sights in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were a bit too hard for me.

    Very good breakfast buffet and helpful staff. Good location but far enough from the busy areas to be quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    We arrived sooner than the checking time and they give our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in our room but it was okay because they give us more blankets .

    We arrived sooner than the checking time and they give our room sooner it was great for us . The location was fantastic . It was really heart of madid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location down town Madrid and close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single rooms on the courtyard are small and a bit outdated. They could do with some refurbishment. There was very little room around the bed. I happen to see one on the street side, they are way better, refurbished and cosy.

    Excellent location down town Madrid and close to the Underground and tons of restaurants. The staff is speaking English, French, Italian and of course Spanish, and was very helpful. The breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was too small and windowless.

    The hotel has an excellent location . The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They would immediately respond to any request.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    The location is perfect, you are at walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect, you are at walking distance to the main attractions in the city. Even though the room I got was quite small & dark, it was looking to the interior part and it was very silent at night which was OK as I was only coming back to my room at night. The breakfast is also very good based on the price I pay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little bit small. The quality of the rooms are not standard. Some rooms are newly renovated. However the new rooms have an open bathroom/toilet. That might not be for everyone.

    Great location. Average breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Was ok for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude breakfast personnel, trying to hurry you, closing coffee machine even before end time! Room furniture somewhat old.

    Location was central, room size was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    The location of thr hotel was great which meant we could find our way around Madrid easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The location was central, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and confortable and despite overlooking the Plaza there was not too much noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    A Rather Uncomfortable Week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the interior of the hotel and the rooms need some serious refurbishment and maintenance. Lots of broken things including furniture, floorboards, ceiling, wallpapers and shower doors. Double bed was extremely uncomfortable and causes body aches the next day. There is no sound proof at all. Little natural light during the day. When I entered the room it was not 100% clean: dust, hair and trash was found. MINIMAL cleaning each day by the team and very few amenities were found (and might not be replaced during your stay). A big key was given and had to be collected and given every single time you left the room. In conclusion, not worth the price paid at all. Suggestions: 1.) Light-colored curtains could be installed for more natural light; 2.) A trash can in the room; 3.) Improved cleaning service and maintenance; 4.) More bathroom amenities could be provided; 5.) Better soundproof inside the hostel and 5.) A digital key system for the rooms.

    The location was perfect, right in the center of Madrid and everything you need is at a walking distance. Staff is generally friendly. The double room facing the patio was not huge but enough space to move around and store things. There is AC/heater to moderate the room temperature easily. Wifi signal might not be strong but works properly. Cleaning staff visit every day even if the tidying is extremely brief.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our favourite place to stay in Madrid. Amazing location in such a nice pedestrian area of the city. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Small store next door,handy for drinks, fruit etc. Air-condition works well and a necessity in the summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location..some amenities could have been better. Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattresses need to be replaced - they sagged in the middle. Room lighting in not strong enough-impossible to read in bed. Air conditioning was not working until our 3rd day - then the room was very comfortable .

    Excellent location within easy walking distance to major sights in the old city. Many sidewalk cafes close by in the plazas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    ¡We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are simple, and some are very small. Take care on the slippery bathroom floor!

    Fabulous location, in the very centre of the most enjoyable part of Madrid. Walking distance to almost everywhere you'll want to go. Very good value for money, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.3
    There are better hotels in central Madrid in this price category.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the location was very convenient and the breakfast good, I would not recommend this hotel. My stay in a very humid, single room with nearly no daylight on the first floor was terrible to say the least. This was mainly due to a waste pipe, located near the small window of the room. Every single minute, large amounts of water from toilets/showers were falling down, making incredibly loud noise. It kept me awake until 2 AM. The hotel was fully booked, a (friendly) clerk told me, and a transfer to another room was unfortunately not possible. Also, the bed was too short (I am only 1.80m). There was also only 1 electricity plug in the room, located above the bed (making it unusable at night), which was inconvenient. There are better hotels in Madrid in this price category.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    The location was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I never complain about hotel beds, but this bed actually affected my ability to get a good night sleep.

    The location was perfect for us. It also had relatively nice lobby and common areas. Our room was also quiet - it faced an inner courtyard. We really appreciated this, because Madrid is known for its nightlife, and we went to bed early by Madrid standards on a Friday and Saturday night (around 11 p.m.).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Average quality accommodation in a great area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with outdated, poor quality furniture. Small window to a dark pit, extremely hot at night despite the heating was off! Wifi signal was very poor in the room (far end of level 3). Fairly expensive for the quality of the room..

    Excellent location in the centre of Madrid. Nice decor of lobby and stairway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely welcoming staff, great location and a very generous experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A stronger hairdryer for my wife.

    Very friendly, helpful staff, excellent location, super breakfast, very clean and value for money. A great experience and we will return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Staff knows how to speak english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warm or hot food for breakfast. All cold buffet except for coffee &toast. But price is just fine compared to other hotels in the place.

    Staff knows how to speak english. Facilities good, location is very centre. The best thing is it is staff 24 hours.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice base for the art galleries and night life of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was small, but neatly appointed. However, the window of my room was on a court yard and one night someone in the building opposite had a party. It was very noisy. Unlucky!

    Location great and breakfast and breakfast area very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Cosy place in the heart of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great location (all main attractions are within a 15-minute walk) and very friendly staff. Nothing luxurious, but comfortable. Very nice breakfast room - a cosy place with a "library wall", a nice place to hang out at any time of the day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.8
    Location.
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Every single sound was heard throughout the whole hotel, not to mention the loud and long lasting sounds of waterfall after flushing. We were not able to adjust the heating and the small room was very hot and there was a lack of fresh air even with the opened window.

    Location. The shower was OK.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    It's close to SOL and have Manaus shops around.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds room 11 square meters not very bright

    It's close to SOL and have Manaus shops around. We had new year here. Super good location and canteen, staff are nice to you. Breakfast is good. You can read books there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin so if you have noisy neighbours, you're out of luck. Window in my room wouldn't shut tight. My room was facing inside and there was a small water fountain which they have on during the day, which is quite loud. Breakfast is a bit expensive considering there was no cooked food (like eggs/bacon/sausage/etc), although it is still a decent enough selection of cereals, pastries/bread, spreads and drinks

    Good location, 3min walk to Sol metro station and a range of cafes and restaurants right outside the hotel. Room was was clean and good size. Staff were very friendly. Toiletries provided.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was rather hard to get into the shower because of the way the bathroom is made and a cleaner curtain would have helped. TV is rather small and hardly with a sound. The phone did not work, so no one could call me nor could I call to another room. It is an old building.

    Is well located to reach the center of Madrid by foot and because they have made an extra door/window to the balcony is quiet and nice to sleep. Also the heating system was perfect. The staff was very friendly and the WIFI worked.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.1
    Hostal Persal is a good midrange place to stay in the centre of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door lock on the room was a bit unsecure but the building is well supervised.

    Comfortable room but basic. Great bathroom. I didn't eat bfast there but lots of space sit and read it relax in the dining area and the foyer. Best thug about Persal is its location and Maria who is a very helpful and friendly receptionist even if you can't speak Soanish very well. In fact the people in Madrid are unbelievably helpful for a big capital city. I'll stay at Persal again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.3
    This place is good but it depends on what your looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for luxury then you might need to spend a bit more as it is a little bit jaded, but we were only in the room when we were asleep so no problem.

    if you are on a budget then this place is really well placed and and excellent value for money. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom shower was good. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    bed was comfortable, the staff were very helpful and and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom could have been better laid out and a small area to store clothes.

    bed was comfortable, the staff were very helpful and and the price was terrific

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    A Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a major concern but a point to note for other travellers. The windows in the back rooms feel dated and we didn't have a very attractive outlook. But we chose the room location because it was quieter. At the front there are lovely french doors from the rooms leading to little juliet balconies. We thought we would take a back room because the front ones were open to the street noise at night.

    The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and professional. They filled us in on what to look at and answered my many questions with patience and a smile. The hotel was also in an excellent location with an easy walk to all of the restaurants and major attractions of Madrid. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Ours was also quite spacious and very quiet. We also liked the design of the hotel's breakfast room and reception/waiting area. Thankyou to the hotel for a memorable stay in Madrid!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Very central location in Madrid for the frugal tourist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were there with a group and got to see a few other rooms, and were very surprised at how much the rooms differed in size, even though the prices were roughly similar. Our room was a little larger (a bit narrow, but really long), but one of our friends had a fairly cramped room that only had a little bit of space around each side of the bed. Also, this was the only hotel out of 6 in Spain that I've stayed in where you drop off the one rather bulky room key (no keycards here) at the front desk every time you head out. That worked out OK for us most of the time, but added complications at times like when the front desk is busy with a line of people checking in, or when you just want to quickly pop in to the little shop next door for one item. Lastly, the breakfast was mostly good, but we stayed there for 6 days, and could have a used a little more variety in the food options (and larger coffee cups :).

    Their location works out really well for walking to a number of typical tourist attractions in the downtown area. Pretty short walk to Puerta del Sol, and its metro stop, which is very central to everything in Madrid. Our room overlooked Plaza del Angel, which has a fair amount of nightlife, but we were pleasantly surprised at how well the double doors to our tiny balcony reduced the noise. Has some interesting literary-themed decor in the common areas.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit small but confortable.

    The breakfast was good. The wifi is very good. The lobby convenient with enough place to work or rest. The staff friendly except for one man.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, and yet away from street noise. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small, but OK. Everything was clean and worked (a/c, shower, sink). Breakfast was excellent. There was a room with books to read and people could play board or card games. A nice escape from the busy Madrid streets.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location and very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    well, we like everything...maybe we would advise to make more light in the room, it's a lit bit dark in the room...and maybe the pillows were not very comfortable, but for us it wasn't a problem...if we go next time to madrid, we'll stay only here...)

    1. Amazing location, everything is near (5 min to the puerta el sol) 2. Very helpful and very friendly staff, always helped us. Also advised us beautiful flamenco, made a reservation for us. Thank you very much guys for your help, we had amazing time! Grazias!!! 3. Good breakfast and good room!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Value for money in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location and good value for money. The breakfast was satisfactory and in an unusual environment. Air-conditioning and WiFi was working well. Plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Right place for a short stay of 3-4 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.The light in rooms were inadequate. 2. The AC was not functioning properly. 3. The breakfast should include egg also ( but not at additional cost). 4. packed yogurt should also be provided ( eg. Danone or any other known brand).

    1. Madrid is a great place to visit - palaces, Church, Bull fights, good metro service. 2.Very helpful n smiling receptionist.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no laundry facilities. So if you need to do washing, you will have to go searching for a laundromat.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is great as it's within walking distance to Plaza Mayor and Sol. We really enjoyed our stay and I think it's good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    4.6
    Not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very very hot in the bedroom and the bed was soooo uncomfortable, it was like sleeping in a table.

    Location is a plus. Near Plaza Mayor and Plaza Del Sol.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    The ideal venue for a citytrip in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is quit good, but it's a pity there is no hot food such as eggs, bacon or small sausages.

    Perfect location, friendly staff, nice rooms, very good WIFI!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location, great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this trip our room was a bit small but I have stayed here before in a better room. The towels were not changed often enough but I am sure if I had asked they would have done this for me.

    The location is fantastic, the hotel is 2* but lots of things about it make you think is is rated above that; the decor, the eating facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.5
    Convenient with a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can always smell urine in the morning when you come out since there are many bars nearby.

    In such a location that you can get around very easily and there are restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    10
    Persal in Puerta Del Sol, Madrid--actually Plaza de Angel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing. They are a super hostal.

    These guys are very nice. The breakfast was well catered and attended by staff. They address your needs immediately. They also accommodated a price for me because I am a return visitor. You are within walking distance from the Plaza Mayor, El Botin, Mecardo de San Miguel. Great location. Highly recommend Restaurante Vina P. Gracias, Emilio, Victor, Roberto y todos. Persal: gracias Manuel y todos por el servicio..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Perfect spot...great library....excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot. One of the air vents did not work!

    Hotel clerk, Eduardo was very helpful. He has a great attitude and went beyond his duties in assisting me with a problem.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms inside are quite dark as they back onto a courtyard and have frosted glass

    Basic and comfortable with great access to all the major attractions and places to visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Hostal Persal is located in the lovely Plaza Ángel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price seemed a little high.

    Hostal Persal is located in the lovely Plaza Ángel. A 24 hour taxi stand is just a few steps away in the next plaza.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    The hostal's best asset is its location near Plaza Santa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No frills hostal in Madrid. Small room and bathroom.

    The hostal's best asset is its location near Plaza Santa Ana in the Huertas area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good Location, small room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, good breakfast and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small in old building.

    Excellent location, good breakfast and quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Just the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a double bed to 2 singles

    Simple, clean, good location, characterful, good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room, toilet seat broken

    Good breakfast, good coffee! Excellent location, in the middle of the city, all sights within easy walking distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Always feel comfortable there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    The location is excellent for all the bars, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really small.

    The location is excellent for all the bars, restaurants and things to do in central Madrid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    - an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - an amazing location! - great value for money - friendly and helpful stuff - comfortable beds - tasty breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow, but when asked they changed it.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    It was nice. Would have been better without the light bulb issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One light bulb was damaged and they didnt change it.

    Location, staff and bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Locaton
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locaton

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Good, basic accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallish, basic room, but reasonably comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Very Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a poorly soundproof door

    Very Good Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Room was spacious and the breakfast amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious and the breakfast amazing! Very good stay. Walking distance of all turistic places.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay especially being so central for the museums and other attractions nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to make a hot drink in my room

    An excellent breakfast after a very comfortable nights sleep

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot my phone charger in the room after checkout and after claiming it back it seems to have completely disappeared

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A lovely stay in a hostel with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely character hostel. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    We needed accommodation for one night and it fitted the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the room and bathroom was very small, but adequate for one night.

    It was okay for the one night we stayed there - fairly basic but adequate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff was friendly and location was ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little bit uncomfortable

    Location, value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Persal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: