Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen 4 stars

Plaza del Carmen, 4, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#163 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 881 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Meandering Around Spain w/Adult Children
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second visit to this property, and the only thing I can find to potentially dislike is the depth of the trough of the shower. I ALWAYS end up getting water on the bathroom floor. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, the water pressure is wonderful, and the staff is extremely helpful.

    Walk out your door for metro, or choose any direction for tourist spots or deliberately get lost in the streets of Madrid. Personally, getting lost in the side streets and neighborhoods of Madrid is my favorite part of any visit. This hotel is perfectly located for this endeavor!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast, there are 2 bikes available to rent for free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a small roof window. There are rooms in the hotel with bigger windows which seem nicer...

    Nice breakfast, there are 2 bikes available to rent for free, good location, large and clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.5
    Central location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly small and you could hear the noise from other rooms.

    The location was perfect: very central. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Not a 4 star hotel at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn´t like the hotel The

    Not a 4 star hotel at all. I´ve stayed in one star hotels much better than this. The rooms are really small, and the rooms on the last floor are just ridiculous. We had to ask for a change because we could even stand in the room. The staff was really nice though and the bkfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good location, staff great, simple no fuss , good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of mirrors in room , tv channels not in English , no view , expensive taxi to pick us up from airport organised by hotel. Nice to have coffee machine but no insulated cups.

    Very good location, staff great, simple no fuss , good facilities . Clean and good toilet goodies

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location to visit madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of times no one on reception or busy on phone and saw people waiting The first night/day cold and no heating in room, only cooling available!

    Clean, good location, breakfast good, close enough to Centre without the noise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel location brilliant for a weekend exploring the city but let down in a few other areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small, air conditioning practically none existent so it became unbearably hot and stuffy. No tea/coffee facilities in rooms.

    Amazing bathroom, spacious with a fantastic power shower. Rooms very quiet especially considering city centre location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    I would high recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water wasn’t very hot for the shower. And due to the design, it was difficult not to get water all over the bathroom floor. The breakfast area is quaint which means it is quite small. At times, there was no place for people to sit.

    I loved the location. In the middle of everything and very easy to walk to many tourist areas such as museums. Although the room is small it was perfect for one person. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The location of this hotel is perfect, so central to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is perfect, so central to all the main city sights. Perfect hotel for a city break in Madrid. The hotel itself was spotless and the staff were happy to help. Would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Madrid - could not fault it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Rooms are small and noisy at times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we got had 2 single beds although we requested a doble bed. Also had bad smell from the sewage. Only on the second day we were able to get a replacement room. The second room was great. Although tea and coffee should have been available in the lobby, during all of our stay (4 nights) they only had tea. Rooms may be noisy due to the outside tables of the restaurant located in the ground floor.

    Staff was friendly. Good breakfast with a lot of variety, including many options for special diets (gluten free, lactose free, etc). Location is great. Free bicycles

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    The bathroom and bedding are exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single negative point is that they do not give a discount for the parking plaza Carmen - unlike several other hotels nearby

    The bathroom and bedding are exceptional. The location is very good, close to my favorite parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice and clean hotel perfectly situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a double bed but got two singles put together. Not really ideal for romantic encounters... Also, we were not informed about vegetarian restaurants at the check-in, which is odd, because we got a mail the week before our arrival where we were asked whether we would like to learn about specific places or whether we had specific needs.

    The hotel is very central and close to the Gran Via. The breakfast was amazing and we were also very happy with the cleanliness of the room. Also, we enjoyed the shower system very much, as it had different fountains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast looked healthy but was very sugary. we got the attic room which didnt live up to its expectations at all. not Worth the Money. the reception and dining room looked very nice but not the room-

    good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall I was happy with the hotel and it's staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Cars can't get all the way to the entrance of the hotel so you'd have to walk 50ft or so. -The hotel didn't have a porter for the luggage so you'd have to get it to your room yourself. -The breakfast lacked a little on veggie options.

    - Cute lil hotel in a thriving location. - The receptionists were all very helpful and welcoming - Clean and well maintained cozy rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny smell in the bathroom, room was a bit too small for 2 suitcases

    Nice little hotel. Helpful staff, free snacks and drinks during the day. We had an exterior room, facing the square , but it was very quiet - anyway, there are earplugs in the room :) super tasty smoothie at the breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    The area outside the hotel is somewhat dingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area outside the hotel is somewhat dingy. The breakfast area is very small. We were supposed to receive a bottle of cava upon arrival and did not. They were kind and apologized but would have selected a different room or hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Great location, clean and practical room, good Breakfast and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hello, Our vacation at the hotel was perfect. The location of the hotel is as central as possible, close to all shopping centers, restaurants, bars, the Sol Square and the Metro. A short walk to the Museum Avenue and the Retiro Park and the squares: España, Cibeles and Mayor. The room was clean and practical, a bit small but the bathrooms were large and luxurious. The wireless internet in the room was fast, TV had a large screen. We asked for a kettle and got it. The hotel lobby has an espresso and tea stand, cold water and lemonade. Very comfortable. Breakfast is very good. A very large selection, including a health food corner (and even spirulina powder). But, most importantly, the hotel staff (reception, dining room and cleaning): welcoming, happy to help, efficient and quick, smiling. During the vacation, We celebrated a wedding day and the crew surprised us with a bottle of cava and chocolate and a blessing on the mirror of the bathroom. Nice! Thanks! We strongly recommend staying at the hotel.. Gili & Joe Karp

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and the bed comfortable however not what we booked, we purposefully booked the romantic getaway to include a bottle of cava to celebrate our engagement. However, it was never received nor were the chocolates. I inquired and they claim they forgot. They comped breakfast which was kind but I could have booked a cheaper room around $90 instead of $157. Disappointed.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Friendly, stylish hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plaza del Carmen can be a bit noisy at night, the room we initially got was a bit dark and had no separate bathroom, but was exchanged immediately upon request for a better one

    Very helpful and friendly staff, amazing breakfast with healthy juices, gluten-free options, free coffee in lounge area, great lcation near Sol - great value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for one big bed but got two single and the bed moved alot.

    Location was great expect it was loud outside downstairs bar during the night. Staff are friendly and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.8
    All n all it was ok. Wouldn’t go back to them again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom shower was clogged and would flood floor. Staff tried to fix but never could. They tried to relocate us to a room with ceiling that I needed to duck most of time. Made the best of it

    Great location. Great staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.6
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had issues on the day of arrival with several phone calls in relation with the room we had booked. On Monday morning the showers weren't working and we had to shower in the hotel next door. There was no compensation for this, albeit the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed, no quality for price paid. Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requests for beds (double Vs 2 singles) are not guaranteed although when you book on booking.com you have the option to select one or the other; once prompted to explain why the staff refuses to answer and refer you to a manager that is not physically there. I also had to chase the staff ahead of my arrival to ensure I was not given a room on the top floor which had a much shorter ceiling (and which I found offensive offering at those prices, to not even being able to stand up in the room). The property is really noisy, I was waken up a dozen times a night as the doors of the other rooms slam heavily when people get back to the hotel. The room is very small, there is barely space to move. The shower pane is really short (in length, not height) so at each shower the whole bathroom gets flooded. The location is great as it's non a secondary square but forget going to sleep until the music outside from beggars stop (which is at around 2am) All in all I wouldn't go back as the price for the location doesn't justify the cons. And finally breakfast has to be paid on top of the room, despite being already an expensive place to stay.

    Location is great, but that's all you are paying for

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    All in all the stay in the hotel was exelent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the rooms of the first floor you can hear and feel live music from the nearby bar.

    Excelente location, breakfast absolutely great with wide range of food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional. The first time I rate a hotel 10.0.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only disadvantage that comes into my mind is that the center of Madrid is a bit loud. However I was nicely surprised to see that the hotel administration thought about this aspect and prepared earplugs for guests.

    Everything about my stay in this hotel was great. The location - perfect. Service - smiley and helpful. Breakfast - delicious (one of the best breakfasts I came across, fresh and healthy food was always there, which is not a standard).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    Great location but hotel severely lacking in maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. We stayed at this hotel twice. The first time I was with my family. We had two rooms looking out over the courtyard which were good . The second stay I was in a room looking at a lot of pipes. The thermostat wasn't working and the hotel staff said that they were in transition there was no air con or heat however my unit had hot air blowing into it we were miserable we asked to be moved to a different room. They said they would put in a fan if that did not work for us they would move us. We came back an hour and a half later asked to be moved and they said they didn't have any more rooms. All they would say the next morning when I told them it was way to bot to sleep was so sorry.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better but it was still fine.

    Hotel was very clean, room was a good size for a family. The staff were really really helpful, especially Miriam. Giving directions, book trips, suggesting places to go! Just brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Family room faciliy was super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very central BUT a bit in a red light district, kids felt not comfotable to walk towards the Hotel

    Family room faciliy was super. Breakfast fantastic!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Modern (albeit small) room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning in the room wrongly positioned creting a blanket of cold over the bed.

    Modern (albeit small) room. Close to the city center, everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    Avoid rooms on top floor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on the top floor is just unacceptable. If you are over 1.5m high you will hit your head on the roof everytime because of the inclination of the roof. The room is all but not confortable. Nowhere to put your luguage confortably. The badroom with toilets is badly isolated from the sleeping part. Feeling of claustrophobia with a small unique window and poor natural light in the room. It was a very unpleasant stay despsite the good location.

    Negative points are overtaking the potential positive ones

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value! Nice design and good location! Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is really comfy! And the design of the hotel is amazing! we had a great fun during our stay! Staffs are friendly. The shower is just great as well! Spacious room. Also really the location of the hotel is really good! Just a few minutes walk to the metro/train station and the food market as well!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    A fine, central location and a good, medium quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the breakfast - which is very full - is a little expensive without a discount; given this, I believe that a smaller, alternative breakfast choice (coffee, croissants and such) should be available at a reduced rate for those who require just coffee to start the day. A coffee maker is available in the foyer, BUT ONLY AFTER 10am, and on one day it was not evident even by 11am. (As it was, we went for coffee and a starter at the nearby Subway, but that do not open until 10am.) Perhaps a small, complimentary coffee+ breakfast should be included in the tariff?

    The friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had forgoten a pair of shoes in another hotel and my Grenada hotel went out of their way to help me with the package. This hotel refused to pay the 10.5 for the delivery in order for the shoes to be delivered. I would pay them as soon as I got there or they could very easily charge it to my room which wasn't prepaid. But they were very rude and refused to help. I had to rush to Madrid and stress out so much in order to get to the hotel before the delivery. And all this for 10.5. It's ridiculous for a 4 star hotel.

    The location was excellent ant the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    2nd and last visit to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication between manager was a disaster. I tried to resolve a booking issue on his website and it wasn't possible. He was non contactable all weekend. I won't return for this reason

    Some of the staff were outstanding and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near Sol, good view all around, nice clean rooms, decent size and everything feels new. Pretty good breakfast. On the whole good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very central, easy to get to from the metro station and a short walk from all attractions in Madrid. Staff helped make room a surprise with cake and bubbly, the room upgrade was an unexpected lovely surprise. Clean and comfortable room and reception. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very close proximity to Gran Via, Puerta Del Sol and Plaza Mayor. Lovely boutique hotel, comfortable rooms and the staff are outstanding. I would recommend this hidden gem to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Modern property in the heart of the city, very comfy bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms in -01 (101, 201, etc...) share a wall with the neighbouring multiplex theater. I was in 201 and got to enjoy the rumble of explosions until 1:00 am right next to the headboard...

    Modern property in the heart of the city, very comfy bed, stylish decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel - great for everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room we stayed in, that was on the top floor, a bit more lighting could have been useful as we didn't have a balcony or large window so was quite dark on one side.

    Fantastic location - right in the hub of Madrid without it being too noisy outside. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were lovely and toiletries and towels were provided. We went as a hen group of 14 women and although we were placed on different floors, it didn't affect our stay at all, especially as there is a lift and a bar next door for the meeting point! The hotel had a really nice vibe to it and I would definitely want to stay there again next time I visit Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was terrible and kept on cutting out. Simply put they need more 'points' installed in the hotel so that connection is stable. It results in using data on 3G often which is costly and slow for guests. can be very loud at night if you're a light sleeper but my kids didn't seem to mind. A new bar and restaurant was opening up downstairs which looked amazing but would have been directly below our room. If you're young with no kids or older with older kids this will be great but windows barely keep out the noise from the bars across the far side of the plaza so Petit will need to either double-glaze the windows in 207 or move the family room to the 4th floor! Madrid is amazing but they don't sleep much!!

    very friendly staff clean beds, great room for family of four - we had 207 which has double-aspect balcony windows onto the plaza location was perfect for a couple of days family visit as you can walk everywhere very easily. It's a bit like being around Piccadilly circus (Plaza del sol 2mins away) and it's as central as you can get. the only metro we took was to go to Real Madrid stadium but that was it. If you want space to move about though (e.g. hotel bar, large breakfast areas etc) then you'll have to look north into Salamanca not this area. If you're wanting to be right in the action then this is the place for you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Marvellous Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise! Being so central it's understandable but sleep at times was very difficult.

    Rooms well organised as far as space. Staff extremely helpful & friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Good and comfortable week in the clean, friendly and petite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Drink selection in the minibar (i.e. wine missing). Hotel's own restaurant under construction.

    Good location, easy access to most interested places. Comfort and petite breakfast room. Good and clean bed to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely weekend in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first night, we had a room at the front of the hotel which looked over the small square which was very quiet by day. At night ,however it was extremely noisy outside and this partying went on all night-we finally got to sleep at 6.00am! As there was no air conditioning on we found the room too hot without the windows open. We asked if we could move rooms the following morning and this was done without any problem, the staff could not have been kinder and they also gave us a slight refund. We slept perfectly at the back of the hotel on the second night. We didn't hear a sound!

    The breakfast buffet was very good-excellent smoothie shots to start the day. The Nespresso machine was great. It was my husband's birthday weekend and we had 2 small bottles of Cava waiting in our room on arrival. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.5
    Quaint boitique hotel in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating and cooling system was not functioning properly. The only way to keep room cool was to keep window open making for a noisy night. The hotel was kept on the warm side and the breakfast room was hot. One morning, hot water was not available however repairs were made very quickly, but my day was off to a late start.

    The internet connection was excellent. Although during peak periods, it was a little slow. The breakfast selections and coffee machine were exactly what I like for my first meal of the day. The location was in the very Center of the city making everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable value, very good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location next to Gran Via is great but be prepared for noise early into morning (06.00!), ladies of dubious virtue and some interesting outdoor drinking habits in the vicinity. It would be a shame to criticize the hotel for the size of rooms and dining areas, it is the PETIT palace after all, but it was tight. They could perhaps invest a little more in the building maintenance. Missing loo roll holder, cosmetic damage to decorations in the room (paint chips, peeling/missing paper).

    The major selling point for this hotel has to be, without a doubt, the staff who were receptive, friendly and helpful throughout. You will feel very welcome and the staff will do all that they can to assist.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Madrid City Break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bedside cabinet with limited space around the bed. Breakfast room is very small and can get quite busy. Wi-Fi is linked to the room so as soon as you check out it cuts off (would have been nice to be able to check flight status when collecting luggage later in the day). Plaza run down but redevelopment work taking place around. Having said this we would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

    Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Centrally located with many tourist attractions within comfortable walking distance. Clean room. Good sized bathroom with powerful shower. Adequate breakfast with hot and cold choices.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Great location, Hepful staff, Spacious Stylish Attic Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location - within walking distance of major attractions and restaurants. Very lively area. Great huge attic room with stylish design. Spacious modern bathroom. Very courteous and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of one thing that wasn't a great experience. I'm very glad I chose your hotel for my visit to Madrid, and will recommend it.

    Excellent breakfast buffet! Coffee, tea and water in lobby throughout the day is very nice. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Beds, pillows and linens are outstanding. Bathroom & shower too. Staff is courteous, helpful and friendly. Location could not have been better. Enjoyed your hotel immensely!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. Keep it up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They should not start locking up the room at 11:40 a.m., a full twenty minutes before the check-out time. It is plain rude!

    No comment. We did not have breakfast or lunch in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Petit Palace but wasn't petit noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and being woken up very early by the sound of diggers working on a disused building

    One of the members staff Miriam was very helpful far and beyond her duties

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Good location, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very helpful staff. The breakfast is wonderful. The staff of reception helped us to find the shopping mall, so we can buy the gifts.We also received champion for Christmas Eve.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely 6 day central Madrid break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a little larger.

    The reception staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Always ready to help and go the extra mile. The building is very old and well presented with modern decor touches without losing the old architectural appeal and is very central to Sol and easy to walk in any direction. Breakfast was good and plentiful with lots of choice, hot and cold. Their is a kettle with a tea selection in the room which I was not expecting and free coffee/tea & pastries in reception most of the day. Also an ice machine and cold water dispenser. We asked for good views and had a lovely view our the plaza. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Just don't take the 4th floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had a celing that sloped so steeply my 6ft husband could only stand upright in a 4x4 square by the door. In the second room we had, the ceiling was taller than the room was wide, leaving about 17" between bed and wall. Semi opaque glass for bathroom doors are not thrilling, and turning on a light inside at night will likely wake your partner. Whether room has ac or heat is controlled by management, so once heat is on, you can have plenty more heat, but no cooling. Continental breakfast, no protein, but only €11 if you reserve the night before. Otherwise it is €16. We only went once.

    The front desk staff were terrific. They were friendly and helpful. When we advised them that our garrett room with sloping ceiling was hotter than a sauna, they switched our room. Second room had a sweet little balcony overlooking Plaza del Carmen. Hotel is just half a block off Gran Via, plenty of restaurants, little groceries, shops, and big name stores at the doorstep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    A truly great little Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over reliance on nespresso machines. A minor gripe as I prefer a fresher filter coffee.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who had a good command of English. The breakfast was nice and tasty, the decor was a nice homely touch too. Had very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.3
    The location is brilliant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was two singles moved together but not linked. The bed was quite uncomfortable. Also there was a lot of hair in the bathroom. Overall not super clean.

    The location is brilliant. Staff were pretty friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    Fun and vibrant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some paint and touch-ups as the wear and tear is becoming noticeable. Smell of garbage or decaying food in the hallways.

    Cold and flavoured water in the lobby was very much appreciated. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing location in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little disappointed that the hotel offers bikes for hire but there is only 2, as a group of 4 we obviously couldn't use them ☹️

    Hotel was in a fabulous location although a little difficult to find at first. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Would not stay there again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room Previously stayed at brand Retiro much better sized room This was tiny 2 people 2 suitcases & not enough room to swing a cat 😲

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Great location, welcoming ambience...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy beds, especially the pillows! So central - perfect location. Breakfast was tremendous, so much to choose from! Loved the fact that you could get coffee/tea/sweet snacks in entrance and the lobby smelled so fresh and inviting. Staff very friendly and smiley.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.0
    Very nice and quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning however was very efficient and the room very comfortable. A minor detail, however, the refrigerator generates a lot of heat inside the cabinet.

    Very nice hotel and very nice people. Excellent location to walk downtown Madrid, very close to Plaza Mayor and the interesting touristic activity around. Also very close to Gran Via and nice stores. Plaza del Carmen looks like an island of tranquility inside congested downtown Madrid

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Wonderful Staff.. very helpful and friendly.. Maria was a standout of how wonderful she is but all were amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Helped us have a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    . A great location. Could walked everywhere,very helpful staff and hotel was very clean and we'll stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Space in rooms!!!! Clean! Amazing staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor on the roof little tricky when one is 5ft 8 & 6 ft

    The breakfast is beautifully presented and lots of variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in a quiet corner of bustling downtown madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very slippery....need to instal a grab bare before someone falls

    Location and the great the great restaurant next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass vitrine on toilet..to open

    everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice, comfortable hotel near city center, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls on toalet was from glass.

    Nice, comfortable hotel near city center, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Romantic hotel, perfect location, excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and beautiful vintage styled decoration

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Small rooms at a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really small.

    Location. Clean. Price. Internet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    It was a little bit cold in hotel and we couldn,t chek in on...
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit cold in hotel and we couldn,t chek in on time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Location
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly. Especially Gemma, she was very helpful during our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Location, breakfast, cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be a little bit bigger

    Location, breakfast, cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: