Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Plaza España 4 stars

San Bernardo, 3, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#127 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1733 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old equipment in the bathroom. shower corner is ready to up grade

    Staff was excellent, helpfull. Place in the hart of Madrid. Perfect breakfast, planty of local food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have a street view room on the second floor its impossible to sleep because of the traffic noise. The hotel did move though to a roommate the back of the hotel when I requested it.

    Great staff really friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff is kind but not flexible to customer needs, I guess they have not enough margin of autonomy to take decisions in a way to better bolster guest requests.

    Great location in the city center, nearby everything to visit. Breakfast not too wide but high quality food, fresh and well prepared.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there they said they didn't have our booking. They then located it. They gave us a room to a room that was occupied by someone else! Embarrassing. Upon check out we were charged for mini bar items that we didn't have and to top it off they wanted to charge us for the accommodation again. Overall customer service not very good.

    The room was lovely and clean and beds large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting , no electrical kittle in the Room but hot water available in the reception , that is was my mistake coz I do not check the facilities .

    Location is very close to places of a interest.The staff were very helpful and cooperated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Services. My minibar was not filled for 4 days of my stay. Breakfast room-it is directly at the exterior door and you are sitting in the wind during your breakfast. Room handling time - after your breakfast you need to wait 5 or 10 minutes at corridor until your number will be cleaned. This was first time in my experience. Maybe this was bad location of my room, but this is terrible and I hanged sign " please don't clean" during my breakfast...

    Staff is excellent. View in our window ( Room 403 ) was very nice. Location of hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the breakfast location. It was freezing and the door kept opening letting the freezing air in. Need to put in some type of barrier wall. Other than that it was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was dirty; the staff (girls at reception) reacted rushly and negative when I wanted to take a cup if coffee in the evening. But the worst thing is: the front door, dining area and a resting place (if you have to wait your taxi car) are in the same place!!! You eat and catch a cold air from the street - not very comfortable in the early spring, for example.

    The breakfast was really good, freshly squeesed juices and smoothies were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no kettles with tea in the room and no slippers, which is usually the case for a 4 start hotels in Europe.

    Great location and very helpful staff. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Breakfast timing, start of 7:30 am found to be a little late, 2. Vessel for cereal was not clean, 3. Coffee machine broken on 2 days.

    1. The location was very good, easy access to Gran Via. 2. Staff was very helpful starting from early check in, to luggage storage, extra access keys, pleasant and approachable. 3. Room was of decent size, big bathroom and enough towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing breakfast ! one of the best i ever had. The crew is really nice and helpful ! 10/10 But Cristina is the best, 11/10. (So gentel, kind and thoughtful) I would have gave her a promotion right away. I reommend everyone to stay at this hotel ! You will not regret it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was at reception and got quite cold during the morning. Staff couldn't operate the coffee machine for breakfast. Room and hotel in general was very dusty. Wardrobe and drawers in room were not easy to access

    Very nice breakfast, with a large variety. Great location. Large wall-mounted tv

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very high price for what it's offer(125 euro per night), last floor room not quite good at all, The brekfast is located just infront of the reception.. also the staff from the breakfast don't speak english.....

    It's close to the metro, city center and main strip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, what can I say , the dull grey wall painting that gives you discomfort and makes the room seems smaller Or the really tight hallway to your room that are always dark and takes time to light up when you step in Or the really slow elevator that took forever to come even though it’s not really a huge hotel Or the uncomfortable beds that have small legs setting on this wood sheet , ao whenever you move , the bed fall and you have to learn to slee stell Or the locker that is exactly like the hostel lockers and not practical at all Or that the bathroom door is glass and don’t close fully and doesn’t have lock since this is the system for all the rooms in this hotel , all bathrooms doors doesn’t have a lock Or that when I booked , I asked specifically for a high floor room and when I arrived , I’ve been told that If i need the room i’ve got to wait for 4 hrs more till the guest check out or I shall agree to take the room in 2nd floor now , when I said well can I stay in the lower floor now and when the guest check out to move to the higher floor room , I’ve been told that no they won’t move me since our stuff won’t clean a room twice ! Which is very rude ! And the lower floor room faces only a wall of the hotel which also discomforted me

    The location is perfect , right in the middle center , everyplace is a walking distance ,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room could be better, it was quite dark and dismal looking

    It was close to all the key sights of the city, nice sized room, lovely rain shower on the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a touch cleaner, there were some finger marks on the glass doors and mirrors. Also, needs some renovation because some of the furniture was a bit worn out or dented. Finally, you can hear other guests in the hotel but not the road or outside world.

    The location is fantastic, right next to the Gran Via and around 5min walk from 3 major metro stops. Although it's right in the heart of the city you cannot hear the road. Staff are friendly & helpful. Breakfast is super vegan-friendly, I was happily surprised!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Hotel is located in the centre of everything. Few steps from the metro station, all interesting places and nice pubs :-) Breakfast were delicious with big choice for everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did expect more from a 4 star hotel. It's more like an upper 3 star hotel rather than a 4 star.The room are quite small and their finishing was quite low quality. The reception area is more of a guesthouse.

    Very clean and great location. Very helpful staff. Especially, Cristina went out of her way to help us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable.. N I got the back side room... I requested for the front room but was not given

    Staff was v helpful,, breakfast was good,, tea coffee n pastries served in lobby were of great help

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a small thing : the door of the bathroom is not a complete door and some people might find it inconvinient

    the hotel is located in a perfect place: small street a few meters from the metro and from gran via street and within a walking distance from the main sights. breakfast was fantastic and the atic room we stayed in was spaciuse and beautifully desighned and above all was the wonderfull stuff who were always so nice and willing to help and to give emidiate solution to any request

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception was rude, I asked them a copy of the invoice. They never sent me , I tried to ask for this invoice by phone and email but never received.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shelf in the shower. Had to keep everything on the floor. No coffee making facilities in the top.

    Walking distance of Prado and other museums. Good shopping nearby. Walking distance numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad facility condition, shower door almost fell out Shower tape didn’t work Room was Unbelievably noisy Window/door almost doesn’t block any noise from the street

    Location was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest was asked to pay for the room, although it was agreed that we (2 different tour agencies) would pay for the room!

    Very nice hotel in a great and central location! Everything in the hotel was very good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wasn't a place you would want to spend the day inside in, but it did the job and the location was excellent, so there was no staying inside anyway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A key to let yourself in would have been nice as we had to buzz to get back in.

    The location was perfect! We got in late and in the morning I really only had an hour to explore before we had to go to the airport as I have been to Madrid many times and chose to sleep in. In that hour I was able to see the Royal Palace, The Plaza Major, stop at the San Miguel Market and grab lunch as well as shop and grab Starbucks. Needless to say the location is the big seller. The hotel itself is also very nice. Clean and comfortable. Excellent spot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room setup and decor was a little odd, the built in end table by bed was only 4 inches from the floor. The knobs on the storage cabinet were tiny and square and hurt my fingers trying to open them. Very little counter space in bathroom and one wall of bathroom was frosted glass with a glass door that did not latch to anything. We complained about constant smell of cigarette smoke in bathroom, I think it was coming from the vent, that they were unable to solve.

    Great location close to metro, many restaurants, theaters in area and excellent shopping. Very nice breakfast with lots of variety and healthy choices such as meusli, nuts, grains, yogurt, & fruit. Selection changed up daily. Friendly staff at front desk. Comfortable beds, nice shower. Our room was in the back and very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping was pathetic. The cleaning trolly etc., was always left in the corridor . Right in front of your door.Yhey only make the beds, hardly clean the bathroom . Three days we found spoilt fruits at the breakfast counter. Last day I had to go tell the staff at the reception to remove it. When we checked in they gave us a room with a solid pole/ pillar in the middle of the passage and also an other one in the bathroom. When I showed my displeasure , they changed our room.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Just off Gran Via the main street. Also walking dustance to main square. Room spotless and very quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Overall you highly recommend this hotel. Would definitely stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had trouble with the safe which needed a credit card or door key to use. The instructions were clear but did not appear to work at all.

    the room was adequate to our needs. there was a wooden pillar in the middle of the entrance hall of the room, and also one in the bathroom. Breakfast was good and very good value for the cost. The hotel was situated close to a number of restaurants and bars, and the Grand Via was on our doorstep for all shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel did not seem like a 4 star hotel. There was no luxurious feel, everything was very basic. The lift was slow to arrive, the wall paper in the halls and rooms was dark and tired and the hotel felt cramped.

    The breakfast was very good with a huge selection. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel. Staff very efficient and attentive to our needs. Very clean hotel and room. Bed and pillows excellent. Wi Fi very good. Excellent location, near to a metro station and close to Gran Via. Many restaurants nearby with a lot of options to eat and drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough staff, they speak very limit english and became defective when we ask one questions about their hotel policy, do not have stamps avaliable to sell to guest as a 4-star hotel. The room is very dark, the bunk bed is a joke, the one who sleep on the upper bunk bed can kiss the ceiling and the disgusting dusty exhaust window. Their wardrode quilty is the same as a hostel , not even custom made to fit the room but just a free standin one sitting along the wall. I got a room with 2 broken lights and a toilet that the door can never shut. Definitely NOT a 4-star hotel in terms of service as well as facilities. The aircon is extremely loud and not cold enough. In many area you can tell they dont have passion in running a hotel.

    The location is ok, next to a supermarket

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no king/queen size beds in family rooms, but 2 single beds next to each other, never the less the staff were helpful and changed the covers and blanket to appear like a single bed family rooms are located in the back area with no view

    location was great, breakfast was nice and staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners made a lot of noise early in the morning since 7.30am and I had to wake up really early, not really pleasant experience when you go on holidays to rest. The hotel needs a bit of refurbishment and attention to details , not of course a reason not to book this hotel . Also the cleaners need to be taught that if toiletries are used by previous clients they have to be replaced.Also, only one elevator that makes movement a bit slow .

    Staff was really polite and helpful. Location was good, close to grand via metro station, just 30 min from the airport . They didn't have coffee in to the room but you could get coffee , tea, water and pastries from the reception area for free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room quite small, elevator very slow and old, entrance looked old-fashioned too. Cumbersome that it was always necessary to use the room key to open the entrance door, even during day time.

    Location right in the center but still fairly calm, modern interior in the room and hallways.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the ground floor , was nice , easy to reach ,we had a terrace but in the morning someone waters the plants ahead of us and all our shoes got wet . The bathroom newly done but sadly unpractical , the shower had no door , and each time we showered all the beathroom floor got wet , and the bathroom door and the wall next to it made of glass , the door with no lock and you can actually see shadows so was with my friends and was very uncomfy to use . The room walls was dirty

    Comfy beds , good location , friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the over sophisticated shower, struggled to run water every time I took a shower, room a bit small

    the cleanliness of the room, the extra size tv screen, the comfort of the bed, the very central location, Cristina's smile (the girl at the reception)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the A/C works well, it is quite loud when it switches on at night. Some of the tables in the breakfast area are too close together - when it was full, this meant we had to squash into our seats at the table.

    The hotel staff spoke fluent English and was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, had plenty of wardrobe space and a nice spacious bathroom. The choice of food (both sweet and savoury) at breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe a bit more space in the rooms but I really can't complain about anything at this hotel.

    I was nicely surprised by this hotel as we didn't pay an awful lot. We were mostly concerned about location but the room was perfect! The breakfast was excellent for a boutique hotel! The shower was very impressive-everything was so clean and modern and our overall stay was so comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great located and it's near to all the sights one needs to see like Palacio Real, Puerta del Sol and right next to Gran Via! The stuff was really friendly and helpful and the room was really cozy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel location is perfect, it is very clean, also bathroom, staff was very helpful and kind, in spite of the fact bathroom towels were not on the bathroom floor even after our first night, which is not necessary, otherwise all was very well managed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed could have been extra comfortable..room sizes were very small..

    location was fantastic, very near to market places and all eatries, pubs, shopping etc...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very friendly. However, the hotel is definitely NOT worth 4 stars, at best 3 stars. One example: in the family room (2 adults, 2 babies) that we were staying, the toilet is essentially not separated from the bedroom; these are separated with glass-like material, and the toilet door has 1-2 cm gap all across it, so better not go to toilet when you are inside.The hotel cleanness does not correspond to that of 4-star hotel. Next time I will definitely use another hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wouldn't change anything, the experience was great!

    Great location! staff is friendly and has willingness to help, breakfast was healthy and delicious! the room was perfect for my needs. Thanks you Christina and Rebecca for the hospitality. Alon from Israel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Internet situation is silly -- you have put in access details multiple times in one Internet session and also whenever you leave the hotel and come back again. Also they charged five euros for a guy to bring some ice to the room.

    The staff were wonderful, the beds were really comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and clean, the gorgeous Valencia park is across the road and the hotel is around the corner from Russafa where there are a heap of great shops, bars and restaurants. There is a pool (but it was packed every time we went in).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in room could work a bit better.

    Great location in the heart of Madrid steps from all the action, shops, restaurants and sites. Rooms are fairly large given the location. Great value and staff is very helpful to acccomidate needs. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra facility in the room such as conditioner and a kettle. Other than that the room had everything else needed.

    Breakfast was lovely and the room was very comfy. Staff were very nice. Hotel is close to all major attractions by walk, cycle or train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very clean. Staff was very helpful since we don't speak Spanish. They called taxis for us when we needed to get to places not within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel stuff should improve the speed of elevator... :)

    Excellent location - if You like Madrid Downtown. A lot of cafes and restaurants are around this hotel, as well as city's historical places. Very good breakfast! we liked the transfer from/to airport. City Tour Bus stop is very close. Strong Wi-Fi in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area is too small, they gave us the ground floor which is very dark. The picture of the room as shown in the website is not same in reality.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception and lift air- freshener scent too strong and unpleasant for me. I would highly recommend sth neutral and natural, such as lemon/orange scent. In all fairness, I have a very keen sense of smell and I am perhaps exaggerating. No stationary in the room. This was the only omission. Everything else was perfect.

    Excellent location in the most vibrant part of the city.Very friendly and utterly obliging reception staff. Teresa, Irene, Lucia and Fernando greatly facilitated my stay by providing technical support I needed for business reasons- due to temporary hitch with my smartphone. Very good sound insulation. Excellent toiletries (including after-shave lotion for men!) Supermarket 20 m away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lounge area with s couple of couches so if you spend time at the hotel you need to use the room which is quite small but the bathroom is quite large

    Location is very good and the staff are friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    * The bathroom door is semi transparent and leaves some space around it when closed. I've seen this approach in many hotel rooms but I just don't get it (apart from the good looks). You can hear (and smell) anything from the bathroom while in your room. * The shower has a massage option with two horizontal jets, but when opened, all the water gets in the bathroom, as the separator glass only stops one of the jets. * The wardrobe is very short in height. I would say 160 cm max, from the floor. The most inconvenient to use is the safe storage. Its door opens upwards. At 187 cm height, you literally have to crouch under it to be able to use the safe. * There are no night stands, just a sideways continuations of the bed floor. These are very low in height, thus being out of sight while in bed. * The air conditioning makes a lot of noise (even on the lowest fan speed) and it is not very efficient. You need to leave it on for a few couple of hours before providing a decent room temperature.

    * The location is excellent * The bed is super big and comfy * The breakfast offers a great variety * The staff is extra friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was misinformed by the staff on the extended usage of the mifi device. Hours later upon exit, I was told quite matter of factly that was not possible with a sorry shrug. Teresa could have handled that better considering the inconvenience caused. I could have rented one from a store before heading off to Atocha train station.

    The location was perfect. I walked everywhere and getting back was super convenient. The metro is just a stone's throw away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were a little worn although this would not stop me recommending it.

    Location was excellent and staff were extremely friendly. Plenty of space with children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, worn and cheaply done. Thin towels​ My first experience of Petite Palace hotels and I like that they are dotted all over Madrid but overall this was not value for money and I think it's unlikely I'll use the brand again.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom shower did not have any door and the Floors were always wet each time the shower was used.

    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was sumptuous. I really felt at home in the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was great trip! The living in "Petit Palace Plaza Espana" was very good! The helpful and nice personal. Very good breakfast. Of course the location of the hotel was wonderful. The all famous places of Madrid is near to the hotel. Till Gran Via one minute walking. Next visit to Madrid we will live at "Petit Palace Plaza Espana" for sure. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing is the elevator, there is only one and I was in the fifth floor and had to take at least 5 minutes to get to the reception

    Everything, the location, the room size, the price, the cleanliness, the modern room system, the balcony, the staff and especially the employee "lucia" helped us book tickets for the entertainment places and gave us valuable information about the places as well as about Madrid With a spacious heart and a smile, It is a wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for room to be ready after travellling two days, they could have prioritised for clients in these circumstances

    overall nice clean hotel in good location for bus tours and public transport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, overpriced breakfast, annoying need to ring bell to get access to hotel from the street. Rate was extortionate but had to find somewhere at very short notice when Real Madrid was Playing Barcelona. Hostals in the vicinity offer more spacious accommodation at much lower rates.

    Great location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was ok but they had part of the shower like a hydro shower which was complicated to work. Clean and a great breakfast. No facilities to make coffee in room but you could access coffee in the breakfast bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and the room was very small. The room was noisy because of the position, better to choose a room from the second floor or upper.

    The position is great, you are a walking distance from everything in the centre, even to Atocha train station. The staff is very kind and ready to solve the problems.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I got when I arrived late at night wasn't nice. 504. Strange smell and run down. I called at 2am to change room since I could' sleep because of strange smell. Very friendly reaction at that time of the night: the night ward immediately gave me another room, much nicer. The deco is quite cheap, but really, staff extremely helpful

    Staff extremely friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooling unit in the room

    Amazing hotel, amazing stuff, amazing room. Great breakfast , would come back again for sure!!! Thank you for a great time

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service is the worst. And aircondition not working. They even not given the toilet paper. All device in bath room almost not working. And after clean the room . They through all of your night clothes,and baby blanket on the ground!!!we can not believe that is the service!

    position is perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening staff consistently grumpy and unwelcoming during my stay. Unusual for the Petit Palace - one of the reasons I choose hotels from this chain is that staff are generally fantastic.

    Comfortable cosy room and bed. Good breakfast. Brilliant location in real traditional Madrid neighbourhood with lots of little shops and bars, but only a few minutes walk from Sol.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facade of the building was not that good as shown in the pictures.

    the breakfast was one of the best I have ever tried. and the location was really strategic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was happy with my stay until I returned home and had the opportunity to check the hotel invoice sent to me by email. My employer's credit card had been charged too much. Mistakes happen, that's totally understandable, and I would have forgotten the whole episode by now had I received some kind of answer from the hotel. But after three messages and nearly 4 weeks of waiting still no reaction :-(

    The variety of breakfast was a pleasent surprise.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall feeling is like decaying premises, especially bathroom. In my case substandard cleaning too.

    I like the hotel's central location - just few steps from Gran Via with great shopping options. Right near the Santo Domingo metro station, walking distance to Plaza de Espana - and fairly quick trip from/to airport with one transfer only. Breakfast with many choices, though small space and right near the entrance. Good Wi-Fi, hotel also offers mobile Wi-Fi hotspot device.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is excellent in the center of Madrid, specially for shopping. Staff were very kind. Wifi was very good. I didn't try the breakfast. Good value for Money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While it is commendable that the hotel has motion sensor based lighting, I feel that the brightness of the lighting is poor. Also the lights light up, only when you are under the light. They should light up before you get under the lights. The surrounding wall and carpets are grey coloured. So they look very dark.

    Very friendly staff, good location, good facilities in the room, Hotel is environmentally concious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    two bedside tables and a place to put our cases would have been useful, a bath is always a good option to have as well but its more an observation than a gripe.

    room o k, as was the breakfast, one morning there was no egg left, this needs to be addressed, it was only 10-10 am at the time and breakfast stopped at 10-30 am

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of smoke.

    Good value and roomy for a family. Location was good right near supermarket and metro. Nice foyer and helpful staff. Showers were fun with the various settings including the back massager.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petit Palace Plaza España traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: