Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Santa Bárbara 4 stars

Plaza Santa Barbara, 10, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#25 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2552 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.5
    bad management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i eat breakfast in the hotel then somebody stole my whole bag,the management of the hotel is bad,somebody is not the guest of the hotel should not have the right enter the hotel。so bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, Comfortable, and in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't make any outgoing phone calls from the room, but were surprised to see that even local calls were over 1 euro per minute.

    Petit Palace Santa Barbara is in a great location, with a number of neighborhoods and attractions within a 20 minute walk. We really loved the cleanliness and the blackout curtains. Plenty of breakfast options in the nearby square on weekdays (the local cafes open closer to 10 on the weekend).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, very clean, lovely staff and excellent breakfast however a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sitting area at the bar/ terrace could be much nicer. More seating and nicer lighting. No comfortable foyer. Pillows in the room could be better. Bolster style pillows which were a bit.

    Breakfast is excellent. Staff are helpful and pleasant. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The staff were great and we were real happy with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only suggestion would be to have a little better lighting in the bathroom

    The staff were great and we were real happy with the location. Easy to walk to all the great locations. Great bar/outdoor lounge. Room 419 was great...very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spacious room- we are a family of four and were very comfortable in the room. Central location- very easy access to the metro and walking distance from many sites. Great breakfast. Would highly recommend it!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended boutique hotel for a enjoyable stay in central Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant, our room was not very large but very functional.

    We had a very nice stay, the staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is very conveniently located with a nice restaurant and outdoor patio. The beds and perceft soundproofing make for an excellent night sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Easy and ideal at start and end of a few wonderful weeks in Spain......like two beautiful book ends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Search me.......you won't find a bad word. All good!!

    We came back again.....and in 5 weeks we return for our third visit. So convenient, comfy, well set up and cool. Great breakfasts. Close to metro.... and on the plaza Santa Barbara. Good atmosphere. Home away from home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Our favourite hotel in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed a siesta in the afternoon because I was going to a wedding reception forecast to last until the small hours. I was woken at 3 pm by the testing of loudspeakers for a party the hotel was hosting that evening. Needless to say I could not get back to sleep and was flagging by 2 a.m. Hotels cannot control the outside envivronment but should not inflict such noise on their guests.

    The location is excellent. Lively, but semi-pedestrianised so not too noisy. Wifi best I have had in a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    excellent and thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above

    staff were very good, and helpful and had good english. breakfast was good and a health freak or a gluten free person would be their element. they had all the super foods, plus coconut and almond milk, for a small hotel a really good selection. staff were lovely as well in the breakfast room. room was well fitted with lights and power points and chairs. the mirror could have done with being moved to the other side of the dresser. wardrobe a bit small, the shelf next to the bed was really small and things kept falling off. location was good. hair conditioner in bathroom would have been good, plus a decent box of tissues as opposed to a packed, which maybe a spannish thing as we now have in estepano hotel. overall a very nice small hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great boutique hotel in trendy location about a mile from the Prado Museum. Also about a third of a mile to a hop on/ hop off pick-up point(number 4) if that's of any interest. Wonderful breakfast spread in fashionable dining room. Staff were uniformly excellent. We had a couple of minor problems in our room which were fixed immediately, and the next day we were presented with a note of apology and two free drinks at the bar. Would recommend highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Central location, good wifi, quiet room, excellent breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is pretty small, double bed is two single beds together (not so convenient for couples), no bathrobe or slippers

    Central location, good wifi, quiet room, excellent breakfast with multiple healthy options and served until late

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The selection of TV channels could feature some more English programs.

    Excellent hotel, perfectly located. Great breakfast, particularly the coffee. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is small and cozy, the neighborhood allows you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of toiletries such as shower cops, slippers, roabs and even cotton pads.

    The hotel is small and cozy, the neighborhood allows you to experience the unseen side of the city of Madrid. The rooms are very quiet with thick windows looking over the nearby square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    We had a lovely time and would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as far as I am concerned. The front desk staff was absolutely lovely.

    The room was extremely comfortable. Black out curtains, iron, computer in room, excellent lighting. We had a lovely time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Would return in a heartbeat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, and I took advantage of the free bike. Very comfortable memory foam mattress, and balcony overlooking the plaza was great for fresh air.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, comfortable rooms and nice courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of breakfast!

    Great location a few steps to the metro. Efficient and friendly staff. A good location to walk to sites from, lots of restaurants nearby. More of a local vibe around than a touristy one which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    A nice place to rest your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The value, it's expensive:(

    Wonderful breakfast but pricey-for the price we paid for this room I felt it should have been included! They provide nice family suites (rooms with 2 sets of bunks and king bed or 2 twins pushed together), however if you have trouble sleeping the first floor overlooking the streets may not be a good choice due to noise, there is a nightclub below and you can hear it into the early morning hours. Easy walk to metro and a selection of restaurants, a bit further walk to the Prado and Plaza Mayor but not too long. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    When you pay twice the same stay what can you say about?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Many people for so less servants. Long time to cook. Many mistakes

    I payed twice the same room and the hotel made nothing to compensate me. NOTHING! Shame on you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Unique, modern hotel convenient to central Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like to have had in-room coffee facilities.

    Wonderful staff and service. The room was comfy and offered all the modern amenities. Beautiful old building in an excellent location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Ideal base for relaxing stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lighting over the mirrors in bedroom/bathroom terrible for applying make up! Lights shine down from above and put your face in shadow. Magnifying mirror didn't help.

    Great location, large quiet room and very helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast was highly recommended but expensive we thought so went just around the corner to the Cripeka cafe and had an amazing choice of freshly prepared breakfast/brunch goodies at a fraction of the cost. Drinks and coffee in the hotel not expensive and in nice surroundings but lacking atmosphere (probably better when the weather is good as there is a really nice outside bar/terrace) Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    No sleep in rooms facing the plaza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the plaza. The noise was unbearable until 6 am in the morning. The room was very hot and air was controlled. We could not open windows because of the noise. Checked out early into another hotel. Staff did not ask why we were leaving early. When i mentioned the noise. Her response was... that is too bad. I did not see noise in any reviews however, this plaza is extremely noisy and and a room facing the plaza on a weekend is not advisable if you want any sleep.

    Noth

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Everything was great!

    The location was excellent and the ambiance of Old Madrid could be felt throughout the hotel! The hotel was within walking distance to Madrid's major attractions and there was an abundant supply of cafes, restaurants, and shops nearby. The hotel breakfast was not to be missed-beautifully displayed with a wide variety to satisfy everyone's tastes. The staff was very helpful with directions, information, etc. Our lovely, quiet room was large and clean with a very comfy bed and a modern bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    Never again. Noisy, noisy and No sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *the worst hotel experience we ever had: *noise everywhere: from the side street because of drunk/noisy people and ton's of bottels in the huge garbage disposal. Horrible noise. *bathroom has no lock on the door and there is a gap . Not a good choise with kids. *breakfast had many choises ...but Boring after 2 days. And there was always a lack in tea spoons and not a selection of tresh white bread. BUT THE STAFF - THE 2 LOVELY LADIES WERE THE NICEST AND THE MOST POSITIVE THING AT THIS HOTEL. *when we arrived- I payed for a room for 4 .even though we were 3.since I wanted a room with a large window and not in the attic. But we received an attic room . BE AWARE: THERE IS A TINY EINDOW AND LOW CEILING. NO LIGHT. The lady did shiw us 2 other rooms sayong:"ALL THE ROOMS AT THE 4'TH FLOOR ARE WITH SMALL WINDOW". Which turned out Not true. At our last day- when the manager told us so. We were moved to room 110. Right at the othet corner of a JAZZ CLUB. And a huge garbage bin.And I was promised it was VERY QUITE. The first night was o.k The second: HORRIBLE!. BASS noises from a club. No sleep. I HAD TO MOVE TO ANOTHER ROOM AT 2 IN THE MORNING AND WAKE MY CHILDREN. The other room :308 was OLD. There was a crack in the ceiling and the floor was sinking in parts of the room. Again- noise from the people at the plaza. But - since it was a vacation, I decided to try and enjoy. UNTILL 2 NIGHTS AFTER: THE CRACK IN THE CEILING GREW BIGGER AND WATER STARTED DROPPING ON US. I called the staff again. And they moved us to 2 rooms, Me and my younger son in the first room and my older son 2 rooms from us. We had to pack everything again. In the morning - the manager (she was very nice), told us she was sorry for the water in the room and said thery closed this room and the 2 rooms above it. And asked:"There are SUPERIOR ROOMS IN THE 4'TH FLOOR WITH LARGER WINDOWS. YOU SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR THEM". I was shocked!!

    The staff was very nice. The lovely ladies helped us reserve tickets to warner park and a taxi and restaurant. They were really nice and did their best . Especially the 2 lovely ladies at breakfast: they always smiled . The location - was convenient .close to everything. Breakfast had lots of options. The pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    I had a great time with my family, including adult nieces! Close to Metro, food, bars and nightlife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I loved the location. It was easy to get around. Most places were within 15 minutes, the Metro was 3 minutes away. The ambiance and energy in the neighborhood was what I expected in Madrid. Bars, nightlife, restaurants, shopping were nearby. The staff was very helpful and personable! A genuine experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The location is fantastic, right nearby is a Jazz Club with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not that long there to really notice anything negative.

    The location is fantastic, right nearby is a Jazz Club with live music. Participated in a Madrid art event: one artist had installed a sort of video booth showing a video which showed a walk starting from this hotel to the outskirts of Madrid during the night; the title:mientras tu duermes, I.e. during you sleep....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a perfect place to stay in Madrid for our family. They were so accommodating to us and gave us our room 5 hours early. We were exhausted from our travels and needed a nap. They helped us get our cab back to the airport too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Would recommend without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps could have had a lounge area?

    Room very quiet. Very good breakfasts. Receptionists spoke English well, and were very good at giving information, arranging taxis, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall a nice hotel. Fire alarms can’t be helped but they could be managed better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire alarm going off at 04:50 one morning and no one answering the phone at reception to explain to guests what was going on/ whether to evacuate. I had to go downstairs and ask along with other concerned guests and was told it’s fine no need to evacuate it’s a flood. But it took them a long time to turn the alarm off - unnecessary if they don’t want to evacuate people. Secondly, room service stops at 23:00, which is a shame for late arriving visitors like myself who just want something to eat before bed but there was nothing available (and given that Spanish customarily eat late, I was a little surprised)

    Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast food was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant! Friendly, clean, small! Beside square - trees & cafes. Easy walk to city. I'd go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You should check on ALL the waste traps from the hotel's basins. Rather unfortunately, in my opinion, you have forgotten that these get clogged with hair. I know, because the basin failed to empty late one evening, and I had to unscrew it and clean it myself - BUT this was a very small price to pay. Just a tip to the Hotel's management - That's all...easy to remedy!

    It was a fine stay in a great little hotel. Really central. An easy and really nice walk into the city, and I loved the look of it from the tree filled plaza with the outside cafes. A great location, in all. The staff were always accommodating. The room was adequate - not spectacular! Incredibly well cleaned everyday! Personally I would have preferred a room slightly bigger and with a view to the trees and the goings on of the Santa Barbara plaza, than the street opposite, only a stones throw away....but hey, that's cities for you....and Madrid is a lovely surprisingly endlessly fascinating city. I'd go again and to the Petit Palace!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful and quite location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The size of the double bed. It was a little too small (fortunately we are not so big but it could have been wider).

    very quite neighbourhood (we slept very well), the breakfast was delicious, the location also very good and the staff was really nice and helpful. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A few minor things with the room cleaning.

    Excellent breakfast! Excellent location. 70 m to metro, several good restaurants around the corner, Chueca barrio and city center in walking distance, etc,.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    great hotel to stay & tour Madrid top attractions by foot, bus or metro. Modern design & comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    very nice and modern hotel, great buffet breakfast, conveniently located near many local top attractions (only 0 minute walk), metro station only a few meters from the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff (Caroline took great care of our needs)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great Value & Were it not for the ironing board I would have given full marks all round
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very small ironing board in my room, which needed to sit on a table top. There was no suitable table top in the room so I had to move computers, and snack boxes to make space (which in turn meant I had no where to put them. A proper Ironing board would have made life a lot easier. This iron also had a burn mark on the plate, so I couldn't iron my white shirt subsequently needing to wear a jumper over the shirt.

    I had a great welcome and all my questions were answered, specifically about places I could get a late dinner as I had an 11pm arrival. The bed was very comfortable, and there was excellent climate control in the room making for a sound nights sleep

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, in the center but not crouded. Clean and comfort hotel with large rooms, comfortable beds and very nice and professional staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location had a great time in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I have mentioned above. When one wakes up in the morning they would like to have a hot cup of tea or coffee especially coming to a country when it’s winter. Theses are basic request in a bedroom. I fully suggest it should be catered for.

    It was a great location. Although staff need to be more helpful and pleasant. Disappointed we requested for a kettle and mugs and coffe/ tea for the rooms and were not assisted with. I would think all hotels have a standard bedroom offer of this all over the world. My request was never met.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    We left Madrid with a very warm feeling about 'The Madrilenos'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike about the hotel. The staff were exceptional which made our stay in Madrid so pleasant and comfortable.

    Breakfast had a lot of choice which was good. Our room was spotless, warm and very comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was 10 min walk to centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location - close to cafes, restaurants and Metro,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - close to cafes, restaurants and Metro, and walking to many sites (we walked to almost all but we like to walk). Very friendly and helpful staff, we had a 4 person room which was great - plenty of room for us and our luggage - 2 parents, 23 year old and 9 year old (they had bunk beds). We did not do the breakfast inclusion on this leg of the trip so can’t rate it or the coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is open, and lots of water spills outside, creating a problem when you exit the shower, and the floor towel that is supplied is soaked in this water.

    Great hotel. very clean and tidy, the staff is very responsive and helpful, The location is great 10-15 minutes walk to the center, very close to a metro station. We had the balcony with city view - very nice room, and great view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure the room was as big as the pictures allude to.... no tea/coffee facilities which was slightly disappointing/surprising

    Modern clean room, very comfy bed and excellent large bathroom. We had an internal facing room so was very quiet, particularly for the new year period. Good easy location to get to and from. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Modern and intimate boutique hotel with spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like about our stay at Petit Palace Santa Barbara. The location was great, the service was exceptional, and the rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. We definitely recommend this hotel to any visitors.

    This hotel was cozy and intimate, offering a beautiful open-air bar with delicious tapas, beers, wines, and cocktails. My husband and I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and found the room's to be surprisingly spacious — the bathrooms alone were massive and we were extremely comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, and we especially loved the breakfast options served on the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    I would return to the Petit Palace as many times as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we departed I noticed room below us had large balcony doors. we were put at the top floor which had dormer windows and ceilings. It was a little uncomfortable. I'd prefer an airy open door room. Otherwise it was perfect.

    The bed was so comfortable, the style of the room and entire hotel, super. Pim at front desk could not have been nicer or more helpful. We simply LOVED our experience at the Petit Palace Santa Barbara. Keep up the great work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    All in all will stay in the same hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the street side and during the night it’s very noisy. Party people screaming and shouting around :((( Some recycling point is just underneath the windows of the room and they throwing the empty bottles the whole time. We couldn’t get any sleep for the first night. We solve this problem buying ear plugs on the next day. Avoid street side rooms and ask for the rooms watching to the yard.

    The breakfast was very very good and the staff is very polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.2
    I will not encourage anyone to book for the 6 pax per room as there is only 1 toilet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub is just below the hotel and it is very noisy in the nite. Unable to sleep well.

    The location is good with lots of food restaurants around and metro nearby

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel, Good Locatıon, great breakfast , poor room services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was poor.. when you call the receptıon in most cases the phoen rıngs but no reply.... so it was hard to get a room service from the room. Also our toılet flush dıd not work properly hence we stayed for a perıod of 7nıghts, only after 3rd day the management happned to fıx the problem...

    The sevice at the breakfast hall was excellent and aslo for lunch and dinner. The staff were also great ın means of service, good food as well 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall, the best 4 star hotel I have experienced in Madrid. Service culture is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good but would have liked more fresh fruit and better choice of breads. Also, a snack menu in the evening including a selection of tapas would heve been appreciated.

    Hotel was extremely well run. Staff were outstanding. Location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    We loved Madrid and Petit Palace was a great base for our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room we were given was very small. Larger room was very nice but more street noise.

    Very comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location near restaurants, shopping and Metro. Easy trip from and to airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s at a very good location, next to metro and near Atocha train station. Very friendly staff too. Highly recommended to stay here if you are in Madrid!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable clean rooms and staff very helpful. The courtyard was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes a little noise from streets but to be expected when in city centre

    In the heart of Santa Barbara plaza - 15/20 min walk to plaza del sol.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    A good place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A few items were missing in our room on arrival (e.g. an iron, laundry service bag) but when we advised reception, the items were promptly supplied. Would have liked a queen bed as opposed to two single beds placed together.

    We liked the modern decor, room amenities and comfortable bed. The location was good, close to the central core and other sites of interest. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Charming little hotel, nice rooms, charming restaurant, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming little hotel, nice rooms, charming restaurant, nice personnel who seemed happy to work there. Well assorted breakfast with extra delicious things. Nice location - pretty central and at the same time not touristy. I will come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note much variety of drink sachets in the room. No coffee or milk, only camomile tea, which was fine but a coffee first thing would have been better. Satchels not replenished on our second day.

    Room excellent, comfy bed and our request for a lower level room was taken care of.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Stayed on the 4th floor, which looks very modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed on the 4th floor, which looks very modern and clean. The room itself was the same - modern, clean, and comfortable. There is a nice outside area to enjoy at this hotel as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Would love to stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a view of the front square, but it was quite noisy in the middle of the night.

    Hotel was so pretty and chic. Great outdoors area. Very central location in a good part of town. Front desk staff was amazing and gave great recommendations. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, breakfast and nice big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit noisy on Saturday night because of its location but the location is also a big plus. The carpark is about 5-10 mins walk away and has very small spaces.

    The bar downstairs is a really nice oasis. The staff were very helpful, printing out tickets etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Madrid is a majestic, gorgeous city. I loved the 3 Art Museums and your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The computer in the room didn't work. The front desk man, Pim, was very helpful and offered to have me use a computer in another room which I tried, but it was a very old model and I couldn't handle it. All in all, however, it is probably a good thing that I didn't have to use a computer at all on my visit. Computers suck away your time and thought! Part of my loving Madrid was the time I had free to get out and see it or relax in my nice room.

    I had breakfast at the hotel every morning--excellent food and friendly staff- good view of the courtyard greenery. The front desk staff were very helpful and could speak English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Fun, restful, a great break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From arriving to leaving was so simple. Location of the hotel is great, easy to get around by foot or Metro. Would stay here again and recommend highly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is in the perfect spot to visit Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the beautiful outside of the hotel, I found the reception area disappointing. The mix of old and new did not quite work. Having said this once you got into the rooms and the modern part of the hotel it worked a lot better.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hotel was an easy walk to all the interesting areas of Madrid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    we had a good time , it was a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was noisy outside ,you could hear in the middle of the night people getting out of bars

    The staff were polite ,clean and comfy place ,a nice breakfast ,nice rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location, comfortable room and the staff was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little tricky to use

    Bed was very comfortable and location was very good. One could walk to points of interest and/or use the Metro system which is extensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Ideal hotel for brief stopovers of 3 or so nights, on arrival and end of long holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some sheets on beds for really hot nights. Doona only can be too much. Some 'not sweet/fruit loaf' whole grain bread for breakfast. The only unsweetened bread was white bread.

    Excellent and easy to use bathroom, fine comfortable room. An interesting place with modern style and character. Great area to access metro and cafes. Really good breakfasts. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    We spend 1000 dollars for 4 nights and got no sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in a plaza full of bars. The hotel didn't even have a sign so our taxi driver had trouble finding it. He even called the hotel from his cell phone and there was no answer. We finally found it. It was 11 pm and there was only one employee at the front desk. The small lobby was full of people drinking at the hotel bar. We got to our room on the 3rd floor and we could hear the noise from the bars, people screaming all night, glass being recycled. I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating. If you like a good night sleep, don't stay here.

    The staff was very nice and the breakfast was good and healthy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    We both enjoyed the city and the broad cultural options. Madrid is a must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The atrium room we had was good, but the noise from the bar and restaurant rises if you want to go to bed early.

    We liked the location. The staff was very helpful. I would say the room was a bit small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Clean and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiguity of selection of rooms at booking.

    At the time of booking it Is not very clear the difference between balcony rooms and the rest. In reality the difference is huge. So book with balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Best and most interesting & modern hotel we have ever stayed in. Highly recommeded!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the most modern, funky and well presented hotel we have ever stayed in. We have stayed in a few hundred hotels in over 20 countries and would rate Petite Palace Madrid as the best. I would just about travel all the way back to Spain (from New Zealand) just to stay in this cool hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Trendy hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were too firm for our liking.

    Rooms were large and modern. Decor throughout the hotel was fresh and contemporary. We were room only so can't comment on the breakfasts. Location was great, just 100 yards from the metro stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    All round great hotel; staff made the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were 6'0 wide, better to be 7'0, but were comfortable nonetheless.

    Great staff, very nice breakfast, good rooms, free bicycles(best way to see Madrid), good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Magical Madrid location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Things can get a bit noisy at night, but the location during the day make it worth it.

    This is an excellent location outside of the hub of tourist sites. It's easy to get to and from the airport and train station due to the train stop just outside. The staff were incredibly professional and eager to help make sure my stay was great. The bathroom and products were exceptional. The bed was comfy and the room perfectly clean. I'd stay here again during a longer visit to Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Great city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel. Small bedroom but comfortable bed with large bathroom. We over looked the court yard bar. Breakfast was very good with very helpful staff. Will certainly be back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Very uncomfortable stay, that will never be repeated!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was not very nice!! Specialty a tall 30-40 year old with a ill fitting tight suit!! He was basically profiling my family and I every time we walked into the hotel!! Even after he knew that we where guest there!! I think he was part of the security at the hotel!! He kept talking to the girl at the front desk and making slight remarks about us!! My wife and I got very upset at this!!I am a law enforcement official in New York City and found this to be very upsetting and unprofessional!! I wonder how this hotel permits this type of treatment of it's guests!! Like I said before it was very uncomfortable and disturbing!! I hope the manager or director of this hotel gets to see this review!!I stayed at this hotel just one night September the 25,2017 and will never stay there again!!!!My wife and I and our 2 daughters constantly travel to Europe!!

    Restaurant staff was great!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff were lovely, the room was bright and quiet and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the windows was broken and they could't sort it out before we left.

    The staff were lovely, the room was bright and quiet and the location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is superb, 2 minutes from the Metro, 35 minutes from the Airport and an easy walk to the Gran Via. It's in a great and bustling neighbourhood but the rooms are quiet and well appointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay. Madrid is fabulous and the people are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything. there was NOTHING I didn't like

    The food (breakfast) was outstanding. Staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble liked the position of the hotel right in the centre of things. Spotlessly clean. Excellent hotel would use it again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does the hotel have a valet parking service?

    Great location and the big double bed plus two sets of bunk beds suited us perfectly. The only drawback is the lack of parking - perhaps they do a parking service(?), I didn't ask.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    I will be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As the outside area is full of outdoor terraces; maybe be a bit careful for shoplifters mingling; but nothing that is out of control.

    The air conditioner was excellent during the hot summer in Madrid. Location was great ; shops nearby I loved. Also the Mercado de Barceló near was a surprise. I really enjoyed the hotel breakfast. Great quality and variety.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Lovely and friendly place in the center of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect place for anyone, I've been here with my son for just three days. The room was perfect, the breakfast rich and delicious, the laudry service fast and perfect, and all the personnel was kind and professional, starting for the woman at the front office, Isabel, who helped us for all of our needs. The location is ideal to visit the city centre, which can be reached in less than ten minutes by foot. We will come back for sure!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petit Palace Santa Bárbara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: