Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Chueca 3 stars

Hortaleza, 3, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#149 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1852 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Very clean well looked after hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it and would definitely go back.

    Very clean well looked after hotel. Staff were so lovely and friendly. The terrace made the room feel more like an apartment! Amazing location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    “No attention to detail”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Petit Palace has the potential to be a great hotel. Unfortunately the housekeeping and maintenance team let the hotel down. Do not stay here if you like to sleep in or are arriving from a long flight as your introduction to Petit Palace will be a continuous thud noise that comes from the services elevator. The noise starts at 7.45am and does not finish till 3pm Combine this with banging of doors from housekeeping make for a disruptive stay The rooms have had a makeover not too long ago but sheets and towels must predate that. On entering our room that was well designed and spacious we were greeted by a bed head that was scratched and torn,a desk that was chipped,a shower that had mould and a pungent smell of room deodoriser . A request was made for housekeeping not to use the (and I use the word loosely)room deodoriser . However this was not acted upon.. The above issues were communicated to the night person in reception. A wrote learnt apology was given but no sign of a manager or any one to investigate the above issues.

    Location excellent. Female staff lovely and helpful. Breakfast more than adequate

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It can get noisy being located in Chueca so be sure to bring earplugs.

    Friendly reception staff and good location for visiting the tourist hotspots in Madrid. I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Madrid Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the safe, too low.

    The welcome was genuine. The receptionist/manager was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Huge variety of options. The transfer from and to the Airport was a great help. Door to door. Hassle free. Really excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Chueca right in the heart of the buzz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a few stairs before you get to the lift so if your luggage is heavy or you have a mobility issue this is a slight problem. There is a hoist thing there but would probably more bother than struggling. The lift itself is a beautiful old cage type lift adding to the character building but if someone leaves the external cage door open on their floor, Everyone has to walk the stairs. I think visitors pick this up quickly though. Still a great place to stay.

    Great location in Chueca right in the heart of the buzz. But a quiet hotel. Staff were efficient and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was overpriced and the cups in the breakfast room were dirty. The view was ok. The main lights didn't always work.

    The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    The location was ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby does not convey the nice rooms that are upstairs.

    The location was ideal! The room and bed were fantastic. The staff, especially Lucia, were warm and welcoming! We will certainly stay here again and will be looking at this hotel chain for future stays in Spain!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location and fabulous ambience.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should be been more spacious. Difficulty in approaching the bathroom as bed is placed very close to the entrance.

    Good central location. Humble staff. Overall good experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value at the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the elevator that was small so we had to go down or up by stairs to 5th floor.

    Location is amazing, very helpful staff, our room was very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Excellent lighting in bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floors

    Excellent lighting in bathroom. There are doors leading onto a balcony which overlook the central street, however when the doors are closed they sound proof the room 100%. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful Location and Staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 4 pointers that were negative. - It was alittle noisy as the hotel is pretty close the main road. - WIFI wasn't really that strong. - The floors seems to creak whenever someone walks and it tends to wake us up. - Didn't had a bidget (spray beside toilet bowl)

    - The staffs were lovely especially Jamie. 😊 - Location was simply great. - Had iron upon request. - Breakfast was great. - Close to stop of hop on hop off bus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    good budget hotel with great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    constant noise in morning from traffic light below that woke us up very early at 7 AM the room lights kept going off in the night and it happened every night toilets have a drainage problem which was permanent as the shower door could not keep the water inside

    great staff very helpful with locations and touristy information. always willing to help. also let us check in at 11:45. room was good and spacious at that price range. location was great as just located off gran via. lane had good budget cafes. the best thing was the staff - dina etc. good team. room was spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is located just a few steps from Gran Vía, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed there for one night and did not extend our stay, the reason is that the double bed in our room was queen size and really dusty. We had a rooftop terrace but it was covered with astroturf which didn't do the building justice and on the turf were small flakes of paint.

    The hotel is located just a few steps from Gran Vía, in a romantic old building. The staff was helpful, and especially the receptionist that greeted us on arrival we upgraded to a room with a terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much noise from the street, when the window is open.

    The hotel has a very good location, in the city center, near the metro station Gran Via, restaurants and shops. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and convenient hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound insulation on Windows. It was noisy at night.

    Clean, convenient, roomy hotel for three adult travellers. Short walk to Metro stop made it convenient to get to all parts of town including train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too much noise early morning, people in the corridors, cleaning lady, etc. Other than that it was a good short stay.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was spacious and super clean. Location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise at the night time is the only bad thing (even if the windows are new), but that is something that comes with the location.

    Very nice and clean rooms. And modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Good, but they need to sort out the issue with AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 4 days in Madrid. First day it was pretty hot, around 27c degrees. AC was not working, I spoke to the staff and they said that AC would not be activated since temperature would drop in the following 3 or 4 days. So we spend our time in Madrid with high temperature and no AC. Response did not make any sense. We had to sleep with the windows open during the night, which made it pretty difficult to sleep because of the noise in Gran Via. And during the day, you could not be in the room as it was incredibly hot. This was really frustrating, especially as response did not make any sense at all, and we were not comfortable.

    Hotel is really good. Location is perfect. breakfast is also good and you have a lot of options to choose from. Staff was really helpful. Alba and Dani were incredibly nice and on top of everyhing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable well positioned hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My bedroom was quite small - but it did contain a huge comfortable double bed. The only light was from interior light wells so you had no idea what the weather or temperature was until you were outside the hotel.

    Breakfast was excellent although I wish it ran later than 10:30. I cannot fault the staff for friendliness and helpfulness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    Center location that was good and if you would have like...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco was not working .26 degree room .i was awake the hole night because of the noise

    Center location that was good and if you would have like sreaming the hole night and listening to people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    The location is great, very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was very small and gets stuck on floors if patrons don’t close the outer doors.

    The location is great, very central. The staff at reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Great budget hotel in Madrid City Center
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The common areas (hallway and lobby) were a little... utilitarian? Maybe they're preparing for construction or something, but felt a bit like a post WWII building that hadn't been quite rebuilt yet. The rooms themselves however were just fine, light, comfortable and well appointed (though small).

    Comfortable beds/bedding, excellent value. If you want to stay in the city center of Madrid, I doubt you'll get much better quality for the money in a hotel. The staff seemed incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Nice area nice place and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest nothing cuz everything was nice

    The staff was super sweeeet specially (Alba) and The bed was comfortable and I care about the bathrooms and this one was clean and nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    The location of this hotel is very near to the shopping mall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of ceiling lamp was exposed (Room 303 if I am not mistaken), it was noisy at night. No coffee/tea and kettle been provided which we really need that since all my kids was having cold and flu due to heavy rain in Madrid on 28/feb and 1st March 2018.

    The location of this hotel is very near to the shopping mall and many restaurants/café nearby. This hotel is located in front of the small road, therefore easy to drop/pick up luggages.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Eating drinking song break. We will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Excellent location fore eating drinking and shopping. Carrefour express Supermarket 3 minutes away open until 1am. Room comfortable with mini bar fridge big enough to take another 8 cans out beer, a bottle of wine and water. You can get a coffee and breakfast nearby for fraction of cost of hotel breakfast so never tried the hotel breakfast. That doesn't mean it's not good it's just that we enjoy eating out. Staff helpful at all times but to be honest we had little reason to approach them. Shower has immense pressure on upper floors and bathroom a decent size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, Amazing Elevator and Truly Nice and Helpful Personel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of noise, because of rebuilding a room next to ours, but after a call to reception the constructor went a bit quieter, which was very nice

    A great view from balcony, comfortable bad, bathroom in a very high standard plus an super amazing elevator. Personel is very helpful and nice (speaking english) :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Central location great (walked nearly everywhere), but at the price of a city-centre noise level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hadn't worked out from the map quite how close it was to a major arterial road (Gran Via), and that road has fast cars, busses, taxis, sirens, horns, noisy pedestrians at all times of the day and ALL through the night. Was worse on the weekend.

    Mostly friendly staff, room cleaned every day with new towels, just about enough room for two people but high ceiling made it feel bigger. Comfy beds and beautiful bathroom. Heating very efficient and easy to use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it was centrally located, it was a bit noisy at night!

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was central. The rooms were well-appointed, stylish, and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights from Feb.15 2018. It was excellent... The hotel staff are very friendly, the breakfast is very good and you have many special healthy food. The location is perfect...just in the center... shopping, restaurants, bars, metro, casino and more are below the hotel. The room is clean and smell good. Really recommend to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with great personnel and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was too much noise in our room. The warning sound of the traffic lights could be heard in the room all night. Also during garbage collection there was too much noise. The window frames should be corrected to have proper insulation.

    The personnel were very helpful and courteous. Rooms were very spacious and well designed. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with location: Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lifts and staircase require face lifting. Needs to be ornamental.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. They guided us well to good restaurants and other places of interest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Ok, ok, location makes up for all else -even (almost!) the lack of tea/coffee maker in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact they didn't bother to keep a tea/coffee maker in the room is a BIG, big downer! Considering that they have a lot of other unnecessary knick-knacks. The bathroom is too small, especially the shower cubicle.

    The location is perfect, just round the corner from gran via and metro stations and shops. The place is stylish and comfortable. The staff is efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    The location coudn't be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise isolation of the rooms in relation to the other rooms is bad. You can hear people walking around. We asked for a late checkout and they charged us 10 euros (in the 1st day of the year)... The amount is quite irrelevant butit feels like bad client service.

    The location coudn't be better. The room is ok in terms of size and decoration.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    A very friendly, comfortable hotel with a good feeling about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very modern and clean but the public areas needed a little freshening up, but it didn't put us off the hotel. There was tea making facilities in the room, but no coffee or milk pods, with none available when we asked. Our room maid let the hotel down a bit as, although the room was kept very clean, her attention to detail was a bit lacking - our tea cups were never washed or replaced and we were left with only one large towel between us on the last morning.

    All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The location was brilliant, very close to the city centre. The breakfast was very tasty, lovely fresh orange juice and excellent coffee. A lovely, friendly hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The best was the bed and the bathroom!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best was the bed and the bathroom! Always so nice and clean. We stayd in Petit palace chueca two time when we travelled to Madrid and we will go back again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    It’s a good hotel for the cost and convenient location in the middle of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the bathroom set-up, but it suited our needs.

    The hotel was in the middle of everything and near the metro which can take you all over Madrid. The place was also near a lot of the gay bars which was really convenient. If you’re a foodie like me, the Mercado de San Miguel is only a few stops by subway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Great facilities and a very warm welcome;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the central location meant we struggled to get a good night's sleep. Even with ear plugs my wife woke up on numerous occasions.

    Great facilities and a very warm welcome; very central location. The place is very clean and well looked after.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Central location but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise is very noisy especially at night. A bit disappointed with the healthy option breakfast - what is shown on the poster is different to what is on offer. The condition of the room was worn and could do with maintenance/repair.

    Beautiful old building with original stair & wrought iron lift. Central location to get around the main attractions of Madrid. Elena on reception was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Location of hotel is good but my experience of the visit was spoilt by being given such a noisy room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked receptionist for a quiet room but despite this was given the room by the Gran Via where noise from traffic, police cars and revellers was loud and constant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Hotel website says property has been completely refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel website says property has been completely refurbished. Not true! Construction underway with noise every day. My room was old and tired with chipped furniture and cracked sink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    This hotel is a great location explore Madrid and enjoy the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a great location explore Madrid and enjoy the night life in Chueca. The staff is very friendly, the room was comfortable, with a great bed and everything was very clean. I highly recommend this property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable bed, bathroom with enough space which is not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisy, I was awaken at 3:00 AM by the occupant of the room at upper floor.

    Comfortable bed, bathroom with enough space which is not always the case in Madrid center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    Never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building was very dated with ancient elevator, no lobby area, poor location, no view, way over priced and noisey customers.

    The only thing we liked about the property was the girl at the front desk. She was very accomadating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Check in / out was really fast, and staffs are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only part I did not like was the bathroom - it was divided by the frosted glass wall partition and the door was not shut properly. It is better to be completely divided by the real wall with the real door.

    Check in / out was really fast, and staffs are really helpful. The room was modern and clean. Very convenient location to all major sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is a wooden floor in the rooms which creaks when walking on it. I woke multiple times at night as you hear people in the adjoining rooms moving.

    the location is great. bars, shopping, restaurants are just a few minutes by foot. nice, modern room. great shower. even a tiny balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.2
    Lovely staff, brilliantly central just not at all luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the decor in the room to be in very poor repair. I appreciate the location was very central but it was incredibly noisy and I could hear the room above me every time they walked across the floor. The breakfast area was enclosed and the tables were small and close together. Overall, I thought from the photos on booking.com and the rating that the hotel would be more luxurious than it was. For business use it was acceptable. For the luxury I was looking for it fell way below standard.

    The staff were lovely, WiFi was free, the breakfast choice was good, and the location was very central. Lighting in the room was good, TV worked although no BBC news as advertised, sufficient storage, and the water was powerful and hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Thanks for a nice visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window/door that opened to the street was behind a desk, so not really that accessible.

    We had a room for 4 and although it was snug, it was very comfortable, clean and modern. The location was fantastic. We actually stayed in a different full service hotel nearby the next week which was 3 times more expensive. This is perfect if you do not need a hotel with a restaurant for dinner or drinks. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They certainly need to "plant" a new "lawn" on the roof terrace and use a new table. Uncloseable glassdor to the bathroom.

    Very nice staff. Always with a smile. Comfortable bed and bathroom. Close to all attractions. Fair price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Great extra length beds. Sheets and towels spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially I was given a room with disabled bathroom, as soon as I took a shower the whole bathroom floor flooded, there was also a lot of mould in the bathroom - so much that you could smell it. I requested a room change and the helpful receptionist assisted - the new room was much better, almost felt like a different hotel.

    Location. Bed. Shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Our stay was wonderful, the city is so vibrant and busy, the hotel was really well located for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room always smelt of drains when we'd been out so we had to buy an air freshener, also there is a chair but a second chair would be helpful, not always comfortable sitting on the bed.

    The beds were super comfy, however as the room faced onto the road it was extremely noisy, although I do understand how difficult it would be to soundproof the windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    A nice basic hotel with reception and rooms. Great location. Nice friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very poor and the person looking after the room did not do a great job. Dirty tables, had to ask for refills and just a very poor representation.

    The location is fantastic. The room was very clean, we had to change rooms due to an issue with the plumbing but the team dealt with it very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location for a city stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel was excellent, very central and just two minutes from nearest metro station and close to restaurants, shops and sights. The room was small but very adequate for what we required. We also had a large balcony area which was great for just a small additional fee. Would highly recommend for a base for a city break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, was very easy to get around. You can buy hop on, hop off bus tickets at reception, the bus stops just around the corner from the hotel which we found super helpful. We had a double room, the bed was good and air con worked well and has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.3
    What a dump.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower floor drain was useless. Even after a 5 minute shower, there were pools of water all over the bathroom floor twelve hours later. There was no sink plug. The verandah doors didn't shut properly, and as I was on the first floor facing the street, and there was a noisy night club opposite with incredible noise until 4am every night, I got almost no sleep. The TV reception was poor and the wifi connection needed renewing constantly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Having decided to stay, the staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have 10 dislikes. No lounge only a front hall opening on to the street. One hard chair in bedroom. Supposedly a "disabled" bedroom, but only one very "wobbly" rail by toilet. No handrail in shower. Shower tap very dangerous because a knock could change the temperature to very cold (as I did) to very hot. It was good but needed CARE! Shower flooded bathroom, expected but drained very slowly. No toilet brush and no wash basin plug! Room safe didn't work. Didn't bother! No handrail down steps into breakfast room. Breakfast not up to my expectation. I would not have stayed, but the effort of changing was much greater. As said the level was lower than we were used to, but that may have been ok for being a 3star. The bonus there were the very nice helpful staff and the cleanliness of the room.

    Before I answer this question I take you to task, for you expect customers to do your evaluations. I the "old days" there were inspectors who did it. I think I am used to a higher standard of hotel. I think I was misled by the name Petit Palace! The staff were excellent. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    I booked this place for my father.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this place for my father. He was very happy and was treated very politely. He enjoyed the location and the breakfast. Thank you for looking after my father!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    This is a spotlessly clean, comfortable and secure hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect and even better than we imagined

    This is a spotlessly clean, comfortable and secure hotel in the heart of the city centre. Ideally located off of grand via most of what you want is easily accessible by foot, metro or bus. The rooms are spotless, spacious and bright. The beds comfy. Rooms air con worked perfectly. Staff very friendly and the layout of hotel has a certain hair as it combines an number of different building. Loved the old lift. Wifi free all over building. Will definitely return next Madrid trip and highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    the beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    although the rooms and dining room were fair the entire premises (corridors etc.) seems rather poor. there was also a bad smell in the rooms and corridors

    the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel and a fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom was too small and didn't have a plug which meant it was difficult to wash and shave. The bathroom door did not shut properly.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, helpful staff, very clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower space is too small even for me and my husband are of petite size. The vanity or the sink is too small and awkward.

    Good location, helpful staff, very clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    The location of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, disastrous hotel! TL; DR: Avoid this hotel at all costs. The worst part: a pair of earrings went missing while we were out of the room (more on that later), but there’s plenty of problems to choose from – not the least of which was the rude behaviour of personnel. As bad as this hotel was, I’d like to start with a couple of good things: 1) Location: perfect! Close as possible to everything of importance, if you want to go on foot, close to the metro. Stay in the near vicinity, just not in this hotel. 2) Whilst preparing for the trip, we were happy with our interactions with the hotel: specifically, we requested a room in a high floor & an iron – both were dealt with (note: we had to ask for the iron again, when we got there – but it was brought to our room immediately). However, as soon as we arrived, the problems started. Room: Cosy but limited. Unfortunately, very noisy – not from the road, because we were high up, but from other rooms. Upon arrival, safe didn't work and the shampoo container was empty. Both were fixed when we asked. Hygiene: Acceptable, but not great (i.e. looked clean overall, but sheets weren’t changed in a week) WiFi: Spotty at best. Didn’t work all the time, no idea why it didn’t when it didn’t. Elevator: impressive, renovated old elevator. However, that means it has a cage door, which was often left open, which meant … you guessed it… go go feet. Personnel: Rude, not helpful at all, whether it be helping to make a reservation in a restaurant or everyday stuff. They didn't help or show any willingness to help. All personnel had trouble communicating in English. Their lowlight, was they actively refused to give us a complaint form to register the “disappearance” of our earrings, but there were plenty of examples. Our access card didn't always work to open the front door.

    The location of the property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    Excellent location but room lacks in standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No help offered with heavy bags to and from room Leaking shower, wallpaper hanging off wall Air-con very poor even oh highest setting Small and cramped for a family of four Took full money nearly 2 months before we arrived

    Nice option of free bike hire and use of buggies. Staff happy to give directions. Good level of English and Spanish spoken.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad!

    Excellent location - close to metro, shops, bars & restaurants. Reception staff polite, efficient & helpful. Good sized room with long beds & good bathroom. Brilliant - would recommend to others & stay again when in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on a budget and even if you're not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing, right in the heart of all the excitement. Great staff. Rooms were clean and updated and breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices of good quality. Well worth the price. Great deal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Great small hotel. Location fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower had 2 small cracks/holes in the floor. Late on our first night there was a foul smell in the hallway to our room and in our room, which we reported. The staff were very helpful but couldn't move us immediately, but did offer to assist us if we needed to move to another room later that night. The smell was not there the next day, so we did not move. The next morning they gave us free breakfasts at the coffee shop next door and the following morning upon check out we were not charged for the breakfast again. . ( we did not ask for this.. so this was a lovely surprise! and much appreciated) Thank you!

    Staff were very friendly and efficient. Location was terrific, next to main shops and lots of restaurants nearby within 2 min walking distance. Great location to catch transport/ hop on hop off bus nearby. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel modern and chic. Wifi, internet access and lighting all terrific. Old style art deco lift was a nice surprise. Breakfast next door was fabulous! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Petit Palace but large welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps tea/coffee facilities in foyer.

    Excellent location, great inner city ambience. Convenient for eateries and shopping. Good Metro connection. Room bijou but comfortable and breakfasts excellent. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small for 4 people !!! No space for suitcases Shower was too small A/C was broken first night and since we arrived a midnight they didn't fix it until next day. But even though they said they fix it, the room was too hot the second night so they send the maintenance guy again but the room was not cool enough the third night either. We were so uncomfortable in this room! Really overpriced!

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Chueca location. I'd return if there were no other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was insufficient, wifi was spotty and unreliable, the bed was two twins pushed together instead of one double bed.

    Location, value, cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room for a family is almost unworkable. Floor was dirty. Safe was in a super awkward place. Room looked a bit worn and scuffed.

    Breakfast was great. Staff at front desk tried hard to please.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place in Chueca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise comes from the street. The bed could be more comfortable and bigger.

    Friendly and helpful stuff, nice breakfast, big balcony. Nice historical building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little high and breakfast was not included even though we upgraded to a superior room to get a balcony.

    The bed was very comfortable and for the superior room you get an extra big patio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Location brill..facilities not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was brilliant! Can't deny that however for the price we paid I expected there to be good wifi but it was awful! Awful doesn't even come close! No tea making or kettle facilities/fridge! For the price we paid £549, I expect there to be good wifi and kettle making facilities at least!!!! Little things but they make a difference to your stay for me. Would recommend for the location however facilities available need to be improved! Especially wifi! It was awful! If it's listed to be available then I expect it to be for the price we paid! The cleaners are so loud cleaning the rooms! No consideation for guests when cleaning rooms! Need to be a little more considerate as guests are still asleep early hours in the morning!!!!!

    Location was brilliant! Room was nice, not as luxurious the pics make out but it was a nice room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place to take in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Totally great.

    The staff were wonderful. Everything was super efficient and they were able to accommodate us when we accidentally fell in love with Madrid and decided to extend our stay. Right in the heart of a great shopping district. Lovely view, so clean, just loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast and ordinary room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel mostly because of the balcony which we saw on photos, but when we arrived we found out that these rooms are superior class and cost extra money, so finally we had quite ordinary view and tiny balcony.So we felt a little bit dissapointed. The price was too high for just good breakfast and location. We expected a better room.

    Amazing breakfast,perfect location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    3.8
    OK but will not come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    only few international TV channels, temperature in the room was too high - air conditioning not adjustable, very noisy, strange "spots" in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: