Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Puerta del Sol 3 stars

Arenal, 4, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#120 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1692 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather small but at par with other European hotels

    Most of all the location right on Puera del Sol, street noice was not noticed in the 6th floor. Staff was always very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel was very central and location is in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing i did not like was the fact that bathroom was not private since door was made of frosted glass.

    Hotel was very central and location is in the middle of shopping area. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom was big and spacious. Staff was helpful as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and helpful. Noise at night was a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from people partying all night in the Plaza del Sol made it hard to sleep.

    The breakfast was good but was inconsistent as items changed on a seemingly daily basis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantasic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was given a twin room instead of a double - it would be great if the single mattresses could at least be zipped together or a double sheet be used so the beds do not keep moving apart.

    Very good breakfast. bedroom and shower very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was perfect... Staff could be improved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was really slow and when we arrived at 10 in the night the lady at reception said that there were no rooms and we were at the wrong hotel without even looking at my booking reservation! She apologised and luckily we did have a room! On the Friday we booked a taxi at reception for the check out on Sunday and I was reassured that it was booked and confirmed for six o clock on Sunday. On Saturday we received a call at 6 o clock in the morning to say that our taxi was waiting outside.... They could have checked that the check out was Sunday and avoid waking us up at 6 o clock in the morning!!!! They have apologised saying it was an error.... The day we arrived it was my birthday as they could see on my document and they have never mentioned happy birthday! That would have been nice!

    The location of the hotel was spot on! It was nice to have free WiFi and the room was cleaned every day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight sewer smell at some times in reception, bottled water not provided (most hotels at this price range provide it). Note: not a problem for us but bathroom door was clear glass so if you’re not overly familiar with someone it might not suit you.

    Location, nice rooms, comfortable bed, great price for location and comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Loved it. I'll be back with my school group. Leticia was most helpful to us!
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connection was not great. The tv was difficult to control.

    The front desk staff was exceptional! They made dinner reservations for my group with short notice and generally made our stay great. The breakfast was fabulous as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend this place to anyone. It had a great location in Puerta Del Sol with stores and restaurants all around, walking distance to the train and city tour bus stop, and most importantly was very clean! I would definitely stay here again if I went back to Madrid!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel said they han Air Conditioning but as weather was cold they just shut it off and we had to sleep with open windows hearing all kind of noises form street, very disappointed.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    The location was perfect, and the staff was very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We stayed in the hotel the first week of April. There was no AC in the room (They had still the heater.). Sometimes opening the windows made a difference, but on some warmer nights the room became hot and some what uncomfortable.

    The location was perfect, and the staff was very helpful and nice. They went out of their way to help us out. For breakfast there were many choices and it was very good. The rooms were always clean. I had some things laundered and they took less than 3 hours before the clothes were back in my room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Our stay was extraordinary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location!! Within walking distance to everything! Staff was extremely friendly and the room with a terrace was beyond what we expected! A must stay!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Mihaela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not welcoming and helpful. The guy at the reception forgot to give us the key room and we had to ask for it. Also, he did not tell us where the restaurant was. Also, our bed seemed broken.

    Excellent location and a clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, comfortable but toilet situation needs fixing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had a window on it which gave no privacy. Small touches like hooks to hang things on, more surfaces to put things etc would have been useful

    Excellent location, clean rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Central locted all on your doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only fault and its not the hotels fault, it is noisy from outside from people and because its central people come out late and night and shop and eat so that only problem for me. other than that it should be 4 stars Show less

    Central, Metro on doorstep Room was clean and beautiful simple decor, the checking in was easy enough with the receptionist given me all info we needed including a tourist map for my visit which was extremely handy. Location was spot on, metro not too far, easy to find. The breakfast was plentiful enough for everyone's taste vegetarian options vegan options and carnivore options, fresh fruit, cereals meats and cheeses breads and yogurts bacon and eggs and some Spanish hot breakfast food I am not familiar with but possible for the vegan options. Staff extremely friendly and spoke better English than me. Show less

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Help make the City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise from street at the front late at night and early morning

    Room and shower room size, heating/aircon, comfortable large bed, breakfast. Position of hotel ten minutes to Palace, museums, Mercardo San Miguel, shopping and eating areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    The amount of time that we were actually in the room makes any negatives minor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the door surrounds showing signs of wear . Room temperature was difficult to control either cold or so hot that you had to sleep with the window open. You had to pay for The room safe.

    Staff were excellent ,breakfast was above expectation, bed very comfortable and shower perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendely staff, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No coffee maker in the room.

    Excellent location, walking distance to museums, Teatro Real, Plasa Mayor, etc. Very nice staff, especially Bianca. Many thanks to all the reception team!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    4.6
    Staff are great and they are amazing! And that’s it. Rooms terrible smells like a sewege inside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foul smell coming from the bathroom? We dont know where is it coming from?, exhaust?, toilet? Even we flash many times or close the toilet seat , close the bathroom it’s the same - Smells like a sewege. We got sick because of the disgusting smell. The exhaust in the room is really poor and we have to open the glass door in the terrace just to circulate the air to reduce the sewege smell even though its a very very cold winter! Look for a better accommodation!

    Location maybe, terrace in the room and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place to stay for two nights with easy access to the shops and all the main tourist attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell in the room on arrival (it had been sprayed). The bathroom door didn't close properly and there was a window in the door so you could see in.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming- particularly Vanessa. The location was brilliant! You could walk to all of the main attractions from it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Spent new years eve and day at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the family room but the washroom door had a see though pattern that was not ideal when sharing the room with a few family members. Booked this hotel as we were planning to go for new years celebrations at Puerto del sol. The roads were closed around 9pm and then reopened by the police around 10.30. We were trying to go to the plaza around 11.30 but no one was permitted to go onto the street outside by the police. There were many people stuck in the hotel lobby who were planning to go out to celebrate. Had to watch the ball drop on TV and then at 12.01 we were allowed to go onto the street. So we were able to watch the fireworks from the street. I didn't understand why we couldn't go onto the streets at 11.59pm vs 12.01. It was a security protocol I think. THIS WAS NOT THE FAULT OF THE HOTEL.

    Spent new years eve and day at this hotel. Perfect location...close to Puerto del Sol, plenty of restaurents and bars friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location for tourist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning only allow heating during the period of my stay, it was 10 degrees outside. So I had to sleep with window open to get air circulation.

    It's in the middle of city centre hence it is near to all the attractions. There is metro and train station within 5 minutes walking distance which is very accessible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Experience, Made Our Holiday a Much Better Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was super warm, at times it was too hot actually. But still can't complain !

    Super Experience!..They also provided us with a Birthday Card for my Boyfriend, and Champagne, and Chocolate! Wonderful Surprise :) Surely Recommend, and location is surely the best in Madrid Centre!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Great for a long weekend in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were quite hot and so the air con took a bit of getting used to.

    The location of this property is excellent. Within walking distance of all the main attractions and nightlife areas of Madrid. The rooms are modern and comfortable and so is a great spot to stay for a long weekend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was amazing. There was a taxi strike, and the front desk person helped me with a last minute change to an airport shuttle...absolutely amazing...i would have missed my flights otherwise. Would recommend avoiding Madrid/Spain if there is any taxi strike.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Constant noise
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definately did not like room 405 - hardly slept for the entire stay due to the constant noise of delivery vehicles and refuse collection vehicles in the road adjacent to El Corte Inglese. Requested a quiet room, this was certainly not.

    Location in relation to getting around the city was good. Staff friendly and room clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    The stay was ok, once you are able to find the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Issue here is that hotel does not have parking and there is no mention of it on this site. There should be an alert letting those who book that if driving they need to park blocks away and drag their luggage. There are underground parking garages for like 25 euros /night

    Heart of old town Madrid

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Other then my bad experience the first day, waiting for over 6 hours in the lobby, it was a good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived early and the staff did not let me check in earlier like it was stated to me when I called (before booking) to ensure it was possible. I would not have booked in this hotel had I known. The Staff was not as helpful as other hotels I've stayed in. If you arrive after 3 PM - not problem. But if you know you'll be arriving before, and would like to check-in early, I would book elsewhere. The only reason they let me stay in the lobby was because it was pouring rain outside (so I thank them for that!).

    The location of this hotel is great! The breakfast in the morning was awesome and the overall room was clean and nice. The bathroom had glass doors which was a little unsettling since I was sharing a room. Also, cars are not allowed (after 11 AM) on this street so that was a plus for me (if you have lots of luggage you'll have to walk a little bit (not too far) from the street). Great location and great price! Also, the staff was very vigilant of people that are not guests and quickly moved those folks out of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Excellent would not hesitate to go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like.

    We had a very comfy room good service,and excellent location 10sec walk and you are in the buzz of everything. If you know how to look you are spoilt for anything you desire food up market shops,local bistros,and theatres for entertainment. Good luck with your findings its a gem of city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location for shopping. Great restaurants around too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon wasn't really working. It's cooler to open the window. A bit noisy but bearable.

    We took a cab from Atocha Train station and took us about 10 mins and cost only Euros 10 or less. Location is right in the center of shopping district and very convenient. Highly recommend to eat at Rosi La Loca and great churros at Churreria Chocolateria.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff left cleaning supplies everywhere while working and clean and vacuumed lobby as late as 9am. Should be more scarce.

    I had a group of Japanese with me, 11, and the staff was so helpful with info, reservations for lunch and dinners and tour info. They were great!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    The bed was comfortable, there was a duvet on the bed, not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed squeeked on one side. The mirron in the room was only for giants. Not knowing much about Madrid, the location is near a very busy square, the restaurants and cafes fill up quickly. However, it is very close to everything.

    The bed was comfortable, there was a duvet on the bed, not just a sheet. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive. Rooms very dark due to lack if natural light unless on city side .

    Great location . Nice modern rooms . Small but all you need for a city break.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Perfect for a comfortable and convenient stay in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple very tiny details in the room were not so good - tiny hole in the wall and the edge on one of the pieces of furniture was peeling off, but it was otherwise a perfect room.

    Great location and spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was a dream!!! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent our bed was a dreamer and a lover's playground... Not a bad thing to say about hotel... Can't wait to get back there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too close to staff exit. Noise of housekeeping outside was waking me up every morning.

    I could leave my luggage after check out in the hotel and go sightseeing for whole day. My food was also stored in the fridge. Internet in the room super fast. Excellent location to experience Madrid by day and night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    Excellent location, we never had to take the underground and always walked everywhere. Breakfast is ok however probably not necessary cause one of the best historical coffee shop / patisserie in Madrid is in Sol just a few steps from the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unusual bathroom doors. They had a clear pane with a motif on them which left you with no privacy. We moved to a different room because of this.

    Location was fantastic and so easy to get to by Metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    A Nice Little Hotel in a Cool Part of Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As this hotel is located in the city centre there was a lot of noise from the pedestrianised streets which carried in the night. In addition I had some trouble with the air conditioning. As I visited in mid August the temperatures daily were 30+c. Despite having the air conditioning on, I never found the room temperature to change.

    I enjoyed the comfort of the room which was of modern design with a large bed and an amazing shower unit in the ensuite which included a massive sunflower head with constant hot water on tap. The room was sparkling clean with linen and towels changed daily. The hotel staff were both curtious and friendly. The hotel is located on Peurto del Sol which is a hub of activity for both locals and tourists alike. There are many shops, bars and restuarants in the gereral locality which come alive at night. If you take the opportunity to stay here, you wont be disappointed as all the tourist attractions are within walking distance of the front door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    The location was perfect walking distances from both plazas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect walking distances from both plazas and the palace. Great shopping and restaurants all around! Comfy bed and refreshing shower with great smelling soap!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    City Break Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room was in the basement. With the multitude of options available close by, I would rather choose to eat elsewhere. The Room was a bit small but we didnt stay in it much... its Madrid!!!

    The Location of the Hotel is excellent. Access to all the hot spots. The Staff were very warm and helpfull, Spoke excellent english and very helpful. Rooms were very clean and Bed was comfortable The Room had a small balcony looking out to the street. You would have a front seat window to all the street performers... PS4 in the lobby, which is cool, not that you would ever use it when visiting Madrid!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Good Location of this Hotel in the Old Madrid area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom door is see-through. For a family room, we would expect some privacy in the bathroom area. Also, the bathroom door can't be closed fully, there was something wrong with it.

    The family room was just great for our family. Kids enjoyed the bunk beds. Beds were comfortable. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Hotel location is the best. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and the Metro Station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Love staying at Petite Palaces around Spain, good for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really wish the Petite Palaces would put better doors on the bathrooms. Not much privacy.

    We like the Petite Palaces as a place to stay with our kids. Rooms with bunk beds for the kids are nice. This location is in the heart of Sol, close to landmarks and a subway stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location for a city visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Petit Palace hotels never have coffee making facilities in their rooms. I wish they would!

    Good air conditioning, friendly reception staff, clean and centrally located in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    A delightful spot to stay when exploring Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing could be better for rooms facing Calle Arenal.

    Very clean rooms, modern bathrooms, and very friendly staff who were fluent in English and Spanish.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    High crime area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was robbed twice within the hotel itself. Once within the lobby, and the second time my room was broken into. Both incidents were within two different times I was there with family. The first time my mother in laws purse was stolen while in the lobby. We thought it was an isolated incident. However, the second time my fathers room was broken into. The staff wasn't very helpful and seemed to give us the run around when we wanted to call the police to make a report. The security is very weak and they never have someone behind the front desk. They only have one camera, and none within the hallways. Thankfully, I can only asume since all the valuables were in the safe and they only got away with one of our jackets. That when tried to lift the safe from the partical board shelf. They became nervous and left. Nevertheless, I will never go back to this hotel again. I can only suggest you do the same.

    Clean, central with AC. The hotel has great reviews and for the most part does live up to its standards.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Best hotel for first time traveller to Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Location of this hotel. A stone throw away from stores, restaurants, main department store-El Cortes Ingles, the Metro station-Sol, and Plaza del Sol. Our first time in Madrid and i was able to find most of the places my friends recommended within walking distance from our hotel. Staff are very friendly and accommodating with our needs (Mi-fi, free bicycles, hotel transfer, room assistance, etc) Bed is very comfortable, bathroom is clean with good towels & toiletries. AC in the reception area is working well, a cool break from the summer heat after a good walk outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location next to a bustling square!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the small side. More space would have been better.

    Location was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful regarding where to go. Located in the middle of a square!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The layout of the room was "strange", and the water flow noise that came from the bathroom (hint: close the door)

    Location is great (Sol underground station is 50 meters away), room was good, staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    The perfect stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Nice reception staff. Beaut room. No view but could open window to courtyard. Comfy bed and excellent bathroom. Great location, very close to sites and activities. Excellent Uber type car to airport (right on time).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    What a lovely hotel... would definately stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, very well presented and very clean

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much for them to assist with. Location was excellent and the breakfast plentiful with loads of choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small for the things of two people. I understand small bathrooms in old buildings but adding towel bars would help as would a shelf under the sink I had to put my cosmetics bag on the floor. In every hotel more hangers are needed for 2 people

    Location good. Staff very helpful with reservations and information. Bathroom was clean. Nice size wardrobe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    It was as good as I thought it would be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Blanca,who was at the reception desk, was very pleasant and extremely helpful. She assisted by answering several questions and always had a smile. The room was very clean and comfortable. Location was convenient and we were able to walk to the museums and other places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    A nice hotel suitably placed to enjoy the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower’s drain did not work well and had to be fixed. Maintenance staff did it quickly yet the problem was not completely solved.

    Petit Palace Puerta del Sol is conveniently located in the vicinity of Puerta del Sol and a few minutes away from Plaza Mayor and the Royal Palace. Our room was nicely soundproofed despite overlooking animated Arenal Street. The staff was gentle and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better, more comfy. Pretty tight quarters but expect that in Europe.

    Great location and very helpful staff. Saw others comments about noise but we had no problem quieter than times square in NYC or Michigan avenue in Chicago. And we were there when real Madrid won the premier league championship.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Lots of improvement required!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance area extremely dated; Dirty sponge mat at the door; Lift extremely small; Sound proofing non-existent; See through toilet and bathroom; Had to lodge complaint about noisy people staying above us, after midnight;

    Proximity to Sol Station,shops, restaurants and attractions;

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Great Location, Great Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went with the Romance Package for our honeymoon and it was wonderful! We had a great view with a little balcony and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was a little strange because water got everywhere but other than that, I would definitely stay here again. Location is prime. Also, they have bikes that you can use to get around town!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    A convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cramped room with no space to walk around the bed if someone was sitting at the desk. The bathroom was the weakest point--no shelf in the shower to put things on, and if you are only 150 cm tall, you don't want to stay here without a taller partner who can reach the towels on the impossibly high rack. The room smelled strongly of mold, emanating from the bathroom, although no mold was evident. No coffee or tea making in the room. I am learning that this is typical of Spanish hotels. Expensive breakfast.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was internal and did not have any vent. That should be dealt with as there always seemed to be a smell in the room.

    Being dealt with very quickly at reception on arrival. The shower was very good. We were able to adjust the airconditioning equipment as required.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Very comfy bed, balcony-style doors which could be opened...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small to fit four beds and the ensuite bathroom had a glass door so not great privacy!!

    Very comfy bed, balcony-style doors which could be opened for fresh air and the location was superb - walking distance to the Palace and Cathedral and only 1 minute to the Sol metro stop.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Madrid city centre!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is exceptional and within walking distance to most major sites in the city centre. The metro is just a two minute walk away so access to other locations in the city is easy. If you enjoy the hustle and bustle of a busy city this is your place to stay in Madrid!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Room size was small but nothing else to complain. Great location and very friendly staff. Right at the Center of the city and lot of sights are at walking distance . Awesome place and highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot in the room, the air was only set for heater, not for air conditioning. Bed was too hard for me.

    Location, the hotel was beautiful and very good. Very modern and very clean. Warm. Staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Petit Palace Hotel, Puerta del Sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice if there was a little bar or coffee dock for during the day/early evening.

    Everything! Fantastic little hotel right in the centre of Puerta del Sol. Close to everything. Staff were so nice and very helpful (always smiling). Rooms were ultra clean and breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds hadn't been made up and not enough towels as not two but three of us. It was rectified quickly.

    Bed comfy. Terrace a really good size

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.5
    Standard 3-star hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room tea and coffee making facilities. But, a kettle and cup and saucer and teaspoon were available on request from the Reception staff. There was no CNNi news channel.

    The attentive, friendly and helpful staff - at Reception, in the Breakfast Room, and Housekeeping. The WiFi was stable and reliable. The hotel has a reasonable range of breakfast buffdt items.The hotel is well-located and is within 10 to 15 minutes walk of most majour tourist sites. The windows were able to be opened in my room on to a small balcony overlooking a pedestrian mall. The El Corte Ingles supermarket and department store is located in the street behind the hotel.It's easy to access it by walking through the Burger King outlet adjacent to the hotel's front door.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    great location and very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise level is very loud in the rooms closest to the Puerta del Sol. lot's of noise all night from the street.

    great location and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Excellent location for city break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street noise was loud on saturday night

    Great location for city break. The Puerta Del Sol Square was right on our door step and great metro links around the city

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    Great locatio but book the room without the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise

    Breakfast was epic. Cheaper rooms are internal courtyard facing and so are not subject to the 24 hour noise from the party area below the hotel. Recommend asking for a courtyard view room - cheaper plus better

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff needs lots of urging in order to facilitate us. We had trouble communicating with the taxi driver, and we were not sure where the pick up point is. Room is too hot, aircon not working. No proper door to toilet.

    Fantastic shopping location. Hot water shower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff but a little noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sound isolation in the room is a joke. The window is extremely bad, if it`s closed or not you hear basically the same thing. If you are a light sleeper you will get to hear everything happening outside, especially if in the night the properties around refill their stocks and unload their items. The sound from the hallway is pretty bad also, for one I can tell you when the neighbors left and returned.

    The location is great. Within walking distance of lots of interest points, and right next to the a metro station with multiple lines making it easy to get around quickly. The staff were helpful, and the breakfast had everything one needs to charge your batteries in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door didn't keep the noise out of late/early morning guests. People don't know how to CLOSE a door. Only know how to let it slam shut behind them. Maybe the doors need a vacuum closer attachment for a soft close. The walls were not sound proof either. We were fortunate that the guys who returned at 2:30am settled down within 30 mins. We got food poisoning from the nearby paella restaurant!!

    Right in the centre!! Metro station 'Sol' 2 mins away. This meant easy transport to must see locations the shops were very close if you're into shopping!! Bed was fabulous. Everything was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel with great location but with very airless rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very stuffy in the room during the night even with all windows widely open. Almost impossible to sleep. But air conditioner worked only for heating, which made it even worse of course.

    Everything about the hotel was good, the major problem with the comfort was linked with conditioner that didn't work.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.4
    Stay somewhere quieter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was awful and although the location was good for getting everywhere. It was horrendous because of the noise echoing up the building.There for 5 nights and didn't get one good night's sleep

    Location purely for accessing everywhere easily

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    friendly n helpful staff , wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit old of the furniture , 1 got a room f 4 person , they r generous , but i rather keep a standard room .

    friendly n helpful staff , wonderful location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location easy walking distance to main areas and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced on to a main street just off Puerta Del Sol and nighttime noise was a big issue well into 6/7 am. Seemed to be large groups singing, shouting etc. Though room was spacious and comfortable could do with a bit of an update and some tlc.

    Excellent location easy walking distance to main areas and attractions. Spacious room. Nice extras, bottle of cava,chocolates, bathrobe and slippers. Nice large walk in shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petit Palace Puerta del Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: