Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada 4 stars

Avenida Salvador Allende, 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain

#19 of 50 hotels in Torremolinos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1278 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    9.2
    The room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal not much choice and repetitive. Plates were not kept warm therefore by the time you picked your food and sat down, food was cold.

    The room and location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.2
    The room had a pool view (as advertised) it had a balcony to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room needs an update - painting and so do the corridors although this is just cosmetic

    The room had a pool view (as advertised) it had a balcony to sit out on. The room was spacious was a fridge and very clean. There was free wifi which was of good quality. The food was excellent in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner. Very varied and lots of different food each night

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.9
    5 Night September Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our third stay at this hotel over a few years (because of its location) and have found the staff (particularly on reception) to be very rude and very unwelcoming. Other staff in the hotel are efficient but not warm. There are of course exceptions but mostly it was the cleaning staff who were the friendliest. Breakfast was adequate but for a better class hotel - a bit poor. The choice was available but cheap brands and not very hot. Also a pretty busy breakfast room.

    This hotel is very clean, has a good lift service for its upper floors and is spacious. The best thing is the location which is directly on the promenade opposite a fabulous beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Stay very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed in our allocated bedroom. I booked and paid for this hotel in January and thought the hotel would have given me some priority. We had the view over the bins and the balcony was far too small for two people.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel for a relaxing break. The staff are well trained and have great interpersonal skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great views, comfy spacious room with sea view and brilliant waterfall shower. The restaurant was well provided, plenty of choice, and efficient and friendly staff. Very clean and well maintained. The common areas were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Right in front of the sea and one of the few palm tree...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was nice but a little bit worn out, not sure if it was one of the recently renewed or not, but the bathroom sure wasn’t.

    Right in front of the sea and one of the few palm tree patches left on the beach. Spacious room ( club double ) with beautiful sea view. Perfect for families, at least at the beginning of September, don’t know in high season. Restaurant (we had half board) has a good variety of dishes but a little bit too much British oriented. Hotel is clean and the staff is polite and efficient. Good value for money, we will be back for sure and try one of the suites overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable 10 days - entertainment every night which was reasonably good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing bad to say about the hotel, we had a club room overlooking the pool, the room we changed in on our last day was in the main (older part) and whilst very nice it was more compact than the modern hotels of today, the balcony would of been too small for our liking but was adequate to get air and take in the view.

    Always a good selection of food regardless of the meal, the staff in the bars were very busy and maybe a few more staff would make the ordering process easier. The pool is great for kids and adults with a mini water park type pool for the young ones in the shade its a great hotel. As our room couldn't accommodate a late check out the Hotel very kindly gave us a room to change in before we left late on the last day at no charge. We had a great stay August 2018

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    My yearly beach dose Fullfiled in just few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View( 3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to wear long pants at dinner. I usually prefer to take vacation on wearing those as well, a short will do.

    Très bonne situation géographique. Front desk people are very professional and extremely helpefull especialy Mr Miguel. The same goes for the coffée place/restaurant crew that are running around to make everyone's vacation pleasant, such as Emily the superwomen server. The animation team also has done a great job. The buffets were good, rich, and delicious. The exclusive clients lounge was perfect to complete my family's joy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    location right next to the beach, rich breakfasts and superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the plates and cups were quite often not thoroughly clean what unfortunately brought a negative effect to the otherwise excellent performance of the staff; wifi was usually overloaded

    location right next to the beach, rich breakfasts and superb dinners, big comfortable beds, nice and enthusiastic animation team

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable and will definitely return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small for 3 and the door to the adjoining room meant we could hear people next door talking, showering, snoring etc (and they would obviously hear us). Furniture in room a bit dated but certainly adequate.

    Beds really comfy, staff very helpful and friendly everywhere in hotel. Cleaning staff excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay. Couldn't find fault with staff or service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Evening entertainment could have been better.

    Well run hotel with helpful staff. No problem getting a sun bed Room cleaned every day. Walking distance from Torremolinos and Benalmadena.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Good but could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated. People take sunbeds as if they own it.. they leave their towels on it and go out for hours keeping it reserved that way.. really bad culture

    Food, bar, staff, massage, location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for beach holiday close to historic cities in South Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View ( 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location next to beach. Stayed in junior suite with cabana, private jacuzzi, wifi and club access. All worked out perfectly with very professional staff. good breakfast buffet with a broad selection serving all family members

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Okay gave us a room to sleep in, for what we paid not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so unhelpful and rude, when you asked for ice from the bar to take to your room you were told to go to the supermarket, one lady Monica was so rude and unhelpful. Our room was clean but so small for 3 people and the balcony was like a cupboard, couldn’t even get a table in it to sit a drink on it was that small. The staff at reception not very pleasant either.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel for a relaxing break, more suited to couples than young families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No late checkout available- advised morning of check out that only total of 4 late check outs available and these booked months in advance. Restaurant policy at dinner that gents to wear long pants not customer friendly, discriminatory & outdated.

    Nice relaxing hotel, Spotless & well run . Good location, within walking distance of Torremolinos & Benaldmadena . Nice pool and garden . Breakfast & dinner -food good with nice selections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved it loved it loved it. Already booked for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View ( 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saving sunbeds and not using them and no lilo policy although this wasn't strict

    Beds were very comfortable great variety in the food location fantastic immaculately clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, extremely clean, very good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room view was very disappointing as I just saw the parking and the room need to be updated.

    Excellent location, extremely clean, very good breakfast and friendly staff! He highly recommended...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Junior suits are fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Called reception to ask if I could pay for a late check out, a man in reception said no they need the room and hung up the phone which was rude. Don't like that men have to wear long trousers in restaurant for dinner but that is the hotels policy I suppose. Housekeeping maid was very noisy in morning when cleaning other rooms, my partner and I were still trying to sleep ,

    Upgraded from a club room to a junior suite, stunning room with a hot tub/jacuzzi on balcony, mini bar stocked with free drinks and a bottle of wine. nice area to walk along the beach front. good food at breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay in a lovely hotel in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious and well laid out. Bed was comfortable and staff courteous. Food was also to a good buffet standard. Nice touch to have your own lounge and garden area with the suites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Food excellent staff lovely intertainment needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intertainment at night was only ok about three nights out of seven were good

    Staff very helpfully an friendly. We have been three times an hope to visit again Very soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    May break 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjoining door between rooms could hear everything. Grassy area for the sunbeds. Reserving sunbeds although it clearly states in the hotel not too.

    Lovely retro feel. Location amazing. Staff all friendly. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Ideally situated, easy parking but best of all, good food
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had a club room we had a complementary bottle of wine and soft drinks with no way of opening them. We were only staying one night but were not allowed to take the wine down to have with dinner, we had to have it in the room - I prefer to drink socially. ( Reception did provide a bottle opener when asked)

    The food is always very good with lots of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    First class hotel, food was excellent. we will return sometime in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mini fridge was not efficient as the water never got cold, charging 3euro per day for this was not clever. Both treadmills in the gym were broken and not fixed during our stay

    Perfect accommodation, very comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location but outdated room and poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a four-star hotel. We did a tour through Spain from Madrid-Granada-Malaga-Sevilla-Madrid and all four-star hotels but this is more a two or three-star hotel. Our room was outdated and smelly. The walls are thin and we had drunken neighbors. I reported this to the staff who said that they cannot do anything about it until 12 am. It was 11.15 pm and we have a boy of 8 years. I went by myself to solve it. We also felt a little bit... how to say it not the target group. It almost looked like a retirement home while we were in high season (May holiday season). There was not really a good mix of guests.

    There was a good selection of food (breakfast and dinner) with different themes each night. In addition, the location is really near to the beach. Truly less than 1 min walk. Which is awesome! Also, Malaga is close by. Just 25 mins with the car. The weather was bad so we went a couple of times to Malaga with our rental car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean and location good, staff and breakfast not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly and breakfast very limited. Spain is know for its onions, getting onions in my omelette was an impossible task for the chef. No kettle, room very basic. Staff a bit miserable. Hotel has a 60's James Bond villain theme. Needs desperately updating. Living in the past.

    BEACH very close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location and clean but poor staff communication skills and not nice breakfast at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly and breakfast very limited. Spain is know for its onions, getting onions in my omelette was an impossible task for the chef. No kettle, room very basic. Staff a bit miserable. Hotel has a 60's James Bond villain theme. Needs desperately updating. Living in the past.

    BEACH very close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent - would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel. Staff were superb and friendly. Food great choice every night, the station were they cooked the meat and fish was best. Lovely flavours and catered for everybody. Wifi also excellent. Small supermarket across the road was a bonus. You literally walk out the back of the hotel and straight onto the promenade. We stayed in room 623 which had the sunshine from mid morning until bedtime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    the wine of the hotel was really expensive for what it taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wine of the hotel was really expensive for what it taste... it was almost vinegar.. and when i told it to the crew , he just smile without answering....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent all round stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was freezing which was a great pity as we love to swim and only managed to brave it once in our weeks stay. Would have liked the choice of having air con.

    The beds very comfortable, excellent location and food very good but we only had breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location - next to the beach, good food, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room with terrace (2 Adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs a little TLC.

    Stayed on half board basis in Family club room. Our room were on side, three story building, nice and quiet with elevator /lift. Had a couch and massive bed (the size of two double beds), bed was very comfortable, nobody slept on couch so no comments there. Loved the extra pillows provided, could "cage" in my 7 month old. Cots are available, but he does not sleep in them so it worked out great. There was a kettle and free starter mini bar (full bottle of wine included - nice touch) and fridge provided. Buffet breakfast was great - continental, full Irish/English, pancakes, fruits, pastries literary everything even free cava (Spanish sparkling wine) if you fancied. Dinner was simple with a twist every evening. There was a selection of fish, chicken, beef, pork, vegetables, rice, potatoes etc. Each evening different dish. Also every night was something special like sushi one evening, other had paella etc. There were fruit, cakes, pastries, ice cream also for dinner. You would definitely find something to eat - came back with an extra pounds on me... There is entertainment provided in the evening for adults and kids alike. Love that they have thought of little ones. We didn't use the pool as the weather was a bit cold for our liking, but the area looked lovely and clean, lots of sunbeds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotel with 60‘s Charm though Room Issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we had was not great, beds too old and soft. Room fairly smelly with window closed, the side we were on had during the night occasionally deliveries or trash removal with accompanying noise. We know there a better/modern rooms available though.

    Generally nice facilities to lounge, eat or have a drink. Hotel really has 50/60’s charm. Even offer entertainment program on some evenings (oldies but goldies). Really good restaurants nearby, beach in front of hotel. Area is though busy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    We are looking forward to be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless and conveniently located by the sea. Spacious and modern room, indoor layout architecturally interesting and aesthetically pleasing. Great ambience and furnishing style. Impeccable buffet breakfast and buffet dinner Excellent value for money, will visit again for a longer holiday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Another one night break at this fine hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being Holy Week it was difficult to find free street parking nearby. Drain smells from the bathroom - Advice - put plug in sink, bath and bidet, close toilet lid, and close bathroom door this will reduce the smell. Extra pillows and suitcase table missing from the room.

    Superb Breakfast & Dinner options and quality, Really nice to have Tea/Coffee pots on your table. Fridge in room for own use. Comfortable beds. Excellent location for walking or bussing to Benamadina and Torremolinos. Really nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast & Dinner Oustanding for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor leading to room a little tired, bathroom/toilet not very well cleaned.

    Nice room on 4th floor with sea view and small balcony, TV/Internet very good, minibar for own use. Extra blankets and pillows, large comfortable beds, well equipped bathroom with free toiletries. Breakfast & Dinner absolutely superb, coffee/tea pot with milk for each individual table and many food options to suit all tastes - Well done MedPlaya Hotel Chain!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    The hassle & supplement charges to keep the room on for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Family Room with terrace (2 Adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hassle & supplement charges to keep the room on for a late departure despite contacting the hotel in advance of our arrival to request this due to spinal injuries & staff were pretty unhelpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A

    The location of the hotel is great, on the beach front - our room had a magnificent view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hal board basis - the food was wonderful, with a great choice. Will definitely look to book here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    Lovely rooms we had junior suite was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant rude and made us move to a smaller table in the middle of our breakfast was so disrespectful food was not breakfast was not that good door card did not work a lot of the time even after reporting it to reception several times

    Lovely rooms we had junior suite was fantastic. views were amazing food was not so good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice food, but better cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The cleaning could have better in the room as well as in the corridor. Some flower arrangements in the common area would have been nice.

    As a whole, the food was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay this time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff at reception desk on both checking in and out.

    Large room with comfortable double bed, well equipped bathroom, fridge for own use. Excellent breakfast and dinner with fayre to suit all tastes, nice to have flask of coffee and milk proveded on the table at breakfast. Many facilities at the hotel and nice decor. Decent free WiFi. Parking on street easy this time of year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    I will be back. What more can say?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can you make the sun shine ALL the time?! NOTHING TO REPORT

    It is always a pleasure to stay here. Staff are always helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast and dinner are unbeatable. We'll be back again, very soon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a good selection of food for your evening meal, in general the prepared food didn't taste anything like it claimed to be. You are best to stick to the food being cooked freshly on the plancha. Apart from in the room, it was cold everywhere else as the weather wasn't good whilst we were there. It wasn't possible to sit comfortably without your coat on! The room could have been cleaned better, we had ants which we sprayed with an ant spray from reception and after 'being cleaned' the dead ants were still there the next day. Also on check out day the cleaner couldn't wait for us to leave and let herself in twice while we were still there!! Not acceptable as you have until a certain time to be there. We were not able to connect to the wifi. We were given a password but the only one we could detect was an open network that our android phones wouldn't let us connect to! If you wanted to use the safe you had to hire it at 3€ a day. Tea and coffee making facilities in your room were also only available if paid for. Our bathroom and room was in need of a bit of updating, as it was looking dated. (Partial beach and pool view).

    Beach front location was ideal if you are there during the summer. Good selection of food at breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff in the dining hall. Extremely comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Adequate holiday hotel but very impersonal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet content OK but needs a more logical layout. Extra charges for most facilities, e.g. Parking charge, charge for use of room safe, etc.

    Good position on front line promenade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    There was a good lift, the meals were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was in room 401 the room had no direct sunlight all day. I had to pay 4 euros per day for tea and coffee, the kettle flex was just 200mm long, I had to unplug the tv and stand the kettle on books to reach a socket to plug the kettle in.

    There was a good lift, the meals were good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    A little dated hotel but in a decent location. Don
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two sides to the hotel. On one side you would have a decent size balcony and beautiful views of the surrounding area and coastline. On the other side a tiny balcony and views of buildings and a car park. I got the wrong side!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    It was a nice out of season break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think it quite meets 4* standards.

    Excellent location. The room we had was very clean, the cleaning staff were very pleasant. The Gala Night for New Years Eve was well organised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Enjoyable 3 doors would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold swimming pool,no indoor pool

    The food was execllant,the entertainment at night was good,great location.plenty of nice public areas to sit on comfy sofas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking I made just 2 requests neither were observed, that is - No Smoking, but our room wreaked of the stench of cigarette smoke, almost like the smokers convention had only just checked out. Requested a Double Bed, but we had two Singles. We were on the 4th floor side facing the car park (not the pool) and hotel service area, quite noisy at times. The room was dated and tired as was the corridor leading along to the room.

    Large well equipped bathroom, TV with BBC1, ITV and (Channel 4 but without sound). Small fridge for own use. Small seated balcony. Breakfast was fabulous, especially the coffee/tea which was provided in tea/coffee pot at your table, there were also machines providing similar options if preferred, there were many food choices to suit all tastes. The hotel in general seemed spacious with plenty of seating areas plus nice pool and gardens.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location , pity about the shortcomings !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food , especially at dinner was very mediocre on the whole with one or two pleasant surprises. The Reception team were sometimes brusque with a " take it or leave it " attitude. Restaurant Staff seemed to have little professional training in some cases .

    Chiefly the location of the hotel , proximity to seafront , transport, good supermarket . The style &!character of the hotel pleased

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to complain about at this hotel! ,

    Beach front suite was lovely, personally we prefer the top floor suites as they have a sunset view, but not always available. We have been 4 times and plan to go back, so it must be good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value hotel, well appointed with good food and a fun location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only fault if any, was the bathroom. Awkward old fashioned layout and poor shower.

    The experience of this hotel from check in to check out was excellent. Friendly staff, clean well proportioned room. Comfy bed and complimentary drinks in the room. Our room had a fantastic view. Buffet breakfast was great. Whether you want a full English, or continental breakfast they had the choice. Even bottles of Cava if you fancied a breakfast tipple!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    Pez Espada need to seriously up their game to retain their 4* status. Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness in room. Bar staff not very friendly and had to query charging in bar. Extra charge to use car park.

    Best thing about Pez Espada is proximity to beach and view from balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    2.9
    Not worth at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say the worst service we’ve ever met. The reception staff are so rude. They have nothing for service. The breakfast is so poor variety.

    Actually almost nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked the sunset room South facing, our room had no sun at all. We could of upgraded through the hotel for €15 per night. Cannot book these rooms through Booking.com only through the hotel or Thomson holidays.

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.4
    Reception staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family with terrace (2 Adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible - low quality food eggs and bacon oily. Orange juice more sugar than fruit. Cheese synthetic. Coffee terrible. Did not feel a bit like we were in Spain. We booked a family room but it was a double bed with two sleeper couches squashed in. Asked for blankets and they smelt like they had not been cleaned.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Torremolinos
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Would highly recommend the hotel. The room was very clean and was also cleaned on a daily basis. Lovely varied breakfasts and dinners. The pool and sunbed area was clean and there was plenty of space. Close to beach and public transport to Torremolinos.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    It was an average hotel with minimal amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and attitude of the staff, not helpful at all, low standards

    It's a three star hotel, the staff were not friendly and service was poor, amenities poor very average hotel, bedding poor, few old towels, if we needed something, we had to go downstairs and get it, we had to pay for ice and balcony door gets locked and no one warned us, we locked ourselves in the balcony and had to scream down to people to get a staff member to open the door and let us in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect position right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect position right on the beach. Decent rooms with comfy beds and lovely sea views. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Frankie's Bar was good with reasonable prices. Overall really nice hotel for a lovely short break.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay very close to the beach and promenade. Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the Hotel was good but bedroom wasn’t thoroughly cleaned the bath never looked clean.

    Beds very comfy, pool area was clean the staff was friendly. The breakfasts were good with a good selection, evening meal was fine. Pools towels available with €20 deposit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    have been several times to this hotel and always look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    sudan beds were far too hot to sit on in the sunshine. There were more children at the hotel but they don't seem to cater very well for children. The garden in front of the junior suites would be much improved if there was a small swimming pool for guests staying in the new suites. A lift continuing to the garden floor would also help guests.

    friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Tidy, clean and Friendly. Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. Everything was pleasant and good. No surprises.

    It was a secure complex just on the beach. Quiet. More for a relaxing week than a dancing holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall very good. Food choices to suit all and entertainment in the evening .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool in between the two block apartments so not easily accessible for all. Due to location the water was very cold in October and has limited sun beds within the area because of this.

    Facilities and service was very good. Rooms and hotel were very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of food choices on menu to suit all. Location excellent. Walking distance to benalmadena and easy access to town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Good sun for October
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wifi, no help, no telephone connection, no return from reception, no English for some receptionist, no parking place even I paid for reserve?

    Central, Close to beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    This hotel is not a value for money at all. I would not recomend it to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was awful. We felt like we have been punished for booking just a standard room. It overlooked the rubbish bins, the balcony was so small, it was impossible to get there more then 1 person. The side see view could be only achieved by some acrobatic exercise. The room was dark and very dated. For 254 euros per night it was a joke. The toilet and the shower were in a very poor condition. It was a room of two stars hotel at most. They had a spanish wedding reception on Saturday in the hotel. It was very noisy and wedding guests were everywhere - in the bar, in the hall and gardens. So basically we could not use the facilities we paid for. And the worst thing happened when we arrived home. We discovered that hotel charged us twice. We paid 1600 pounds for our stay and I am now 3200 pounds out of pocket and still trying to recover my money. But the only person you can contact in the hotel is receptionist. I asked him to ask people from a head office to contact me but I know that they are not going to do this because they do not care. So think twice before booking.

    The hotel has nice grounds and a big swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    the location just in front of the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .they were unwilling to speak in English even in the reception desk not very helpful too... .we had to ask 3 different people from the staff trying to find out where to get a towel for the pool.nobody gave an answer.we went at the reception where we were asked to pay a guarantee of 20 euros for the pool towels.some people woke early and put towels on the sunbeds so it was impossible to find a sunbed by the pool. .although it I was not a cheap hotel(approx 250€) breakfast had to be payed extra 12€ each. .car/moto parking (extra charge)was an open air one and by the street..so any anybody could walk in..

    the location just in front of the sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room floor was not put together properly I cut me toe on the wood the phone didn't work for room service and the air con was really loud and the mini bar didn't get re stocked

    Beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice beachfront hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a few exceptions the attitude of the staff is polite but rather unfriendly. The people from the reception are helpful and polite but many of those from the restaurant seem tired and bored.

    The hotel is separated from the beach only by a pedestrian promenade and has great sea view from certain rooms. The club rooms are very nice with a lot of space. There are many places to eat around the hotel. The breakfast is good with fruits and a reasonable choice of vegetables. The dinner is good but the restaurant does not has a very friendly atmosphere. It is a good choice is you travel with children because it is more comfortable. I would therefore not recommend halfboard for adults. There is a bar with sea view in the hotel, nice if you like bingo. The pool is nice and clean with a bar nearby. We appreciated that if one cannot be offered a late checkout, the hotel provides, free of charge, a room for 20-30 minutes in order to take a shower and change.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    No tee, no coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The biggest problem was the absence of tee and coffee for dinner. You had much cakes and sweets but if asked (even for money) for tee or coffee, nothing could be brought. Only in the bar on the next floor. And the servants do not speak English. it was not easy to communicate.

    Everything was clean. The pool was very good. But sometimes the music at the bar outside was noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Loved the location of this property, overall excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought room could do with updating, towels well worn in most instances. Public ladies toilet need updating.

    Location of room, sea and pool view. Air condition great, linen changed very frequently. Food excellent,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    For laid back, sensible and well behaved holidaymakers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have ambience or friendly feel. Staff were professional and efficient but very indifferent and aloof.

    Spacious, beach front location, stylish. Lovely floor and lighting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    They had gluten free bread but it took 20 mins every day to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 15 year old son is a child and wanted to wear dress shorts for dinner. This was not allowed - he had to wear trousers, as he was considered to be an adult. I wish I'd know in advance so I could have packed accordingly.

    They had gluten free bread but it took 20 mins every day to defrost. Would have been nice of kitchen staff to prepare this in advance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Great week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Men are not allowed to wear shorts in the dining room but women are. Some women were literally walking in of the beach in very short cut down shorts while men had to wear long trousers on a hot evening and were told as soon as they walked in the dining room to change. When on holiday people want to relax and should be able to wear whatever they want. Reception staff need to be a bit more friendly. They need to take advice from the cleaners who were lovely.

    Loved our room (club double room with front sea view). This had a lovely view of the beach and palm trees. Although the weather was 30 degrees plus we never felt too hot and didn't use the air con once. The pool is a good size and was never too crowded. The hotel is in a great location. Food is good. We would return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.0
    The position of the hotel is in between the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When we arrived they offered us a room at ground floor where the sea view was nothing but invisible. Fortunately for us they could change the room next day, but we had to take the luggage ourselves and the bathrobes. Even if I had booked a Club room, that was supposed to have refreshments, they were not provided in the new room, we had to ask at the reception for that. Even so, the tea and coffee facilities were not provided at all in this new room. The cleaning is to improve, in June they were signing for doing the cleaning at the pool toilet only once a week!!! On the wall was hanging the signature list of the cleaning staff where you could see the date and time, but from my guess they were not doing any cleaning, only signing. Same problem was noticed in all toilets, also I found dead bugs in the toilet next to the hotel restaurant. Cleaning the rooms was also very poor and one maid even forgot some filthy cleaning napkin on the TV table in our room 1205. The hotel is preferred by elderly people, thus for a young couple or a family there aren't that many activities in the hotel. I wouldn't recommend the hotel.

    The position of the hotel is in between the center of Torremollinos and Benalmadena.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good stay with good bf and dinner. Room condition is old and poor amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor gym with spartan equipment. Hotel room and hallway very old and jaded. Poor amenities in room. Safe was not working. Just a bottle of shampoo and shower gel for first day. Subsequent days is a shampoo cum shower gel combine dispenser. No tissue papers no other room amenities. Hard to get into town except using taxi.

    Great location on a good stretch of beach. Good breakfast and dinner if you take up the half board. Plenty of shops and dining options around. Good room view. Hotel is one of the oldest high rise property on the beach. Taxi stand just right at doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Good quality, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite hotel saying it removed towels from reserved sun beds, by 8am all poolside loungers had towels draped over them.

    Great staff in all areas. Good location. Enjoyable entertainment. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Well located hotel with a comfortable infrastructure and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double with terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    In the summer morning and evening, especially on hot days, the hotel does not have the opportunity to serve breakfasts and dinners outdoors - on the terrace. The terrace is intended only for visitors to the bar. The hotel is not very strictly requires compliance with the dress code for dinner...

    The hotel is located on the first line of sea beach. The hotel area and the beach are devided only by the walking promenade. Immediately at the exit from the hotel on the beach there is a local fish cafe "chiringuito". Large bright double room with balcony. The room has everything you need for a comfortable stay - beautiful wide beds, perfectly working air conditioning (!), large flat screen TV with USB and HDMI inputs, safe, minibar, electric kettle with tea accessories, bathrobes and slippers, beach towels. Upon arrival guests are entitled to a bottle of local red wine as a gift. Room and balcony are well cleaned. Friendly staff at the reception, in the bar and restaurant. The pool is relatively small, but has a comfortable configuration, many wooden umbrellas with sunbeds. Breakfasts and dinners are served in the restaurant, the food is varied, lots of desserts... The concerts of local artists are held in the bar almost each evening. The hotel has its own large fenced free parking with a barrier. The hotel offers a really comfortable and quality stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: