Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Planamar 4 stars

Passeig del Mar, 82, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain

#7 of 56 hotels in Platja d'Aro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 900 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very little not to like the only part was there is 5 beds that offer shade in the Terrace. There is no parasols available with the other sun loungers. Also there is no pool bar . This is located on the ground floor. Should consider having a way to order from up stairs for drinks to be brought up.

    Ideal location hotel is on the beach. The oool is small but gets really warm in the evenings.. plenty sun loungers on the terrace with a sea view and nice music. Breakfast is good and the rooms are nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Lateral View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Swimming pool on the roof, not great for my kids safety.

    Lovely hotel, clean modern rooms and bathrooms, lovely restaurant overlooking the sea, would definitely recommend this place, don't wait just book, superb place and location is fantastic !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things bothered me about the shower. I think it needed a rail to grab onto especially older people also I think the two shower heads needed an explanation for numpty like me!

    The beds were very comfy and very clean. The room was very clean, the whole hotel was lovely, the staff in the dining room were extra friendly. The lifts where very efficient, we never had to wait long. The view from the dining room overlooking the sea was really nice. The entertainers were very good , flamenco and a pianist. We are definitely coming back next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel Fabulous and the Breakfast so good. A fab experience and we will be back. We paid for our friends as a present and they thought it was fabulous. We have stayed in Platja D'aro before and this is a good a hotel as you will find there. Staff very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral sea view (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very friendly hotel made you feel so welcome all the time the food was great , breakfast was amazing, fresh bright clean restaurant overlooking the beach .! A member of staff went home and got a child’s pushchair for us to borrow for the week so we didn’t have to buy one.! (Amazing staff)! Will be going back next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was fine, ate at the hotel for dinner one evening and the food was not great and not good value for money. As three young girls I think we came slightly out of season so there wasn't much nightlife and most of the people there were 40+. The food/drink around the area was expensive (around 8/9 euros a drink). The beach is lovely, we had good weather and also got some shopping in which was good. Would definitely recommend for a chilled holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff complained we stole a blanket from the bedroom, however is was never there when we checked in. Awful feeling to be treated as a thief, and having to open our luggage in the middle of the lobby to prove we did not take anything. Their attitude was totally ridiculous, we do not recommend this hotel and shall never step foot there again

    beach proximity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps better directions to find the hotel by car might have helped a little

    Great hotel - great location in town, lovely room and breakfast was excellent. Staff were helpful and hotel is very close to the beach and beach side promenade so lovely walks along the sea with a number of places to eat and drink along the way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the menu was limited to 1 fish and 1 meat choice for the main courses although the first buffet course choice was good. there were only 2 small lifts this entails frequent waits for the lift or being called to a different floor than your intended destination. The beach drops off VERY steeply when in the sea not a good choice for children or people that just want to stand in the water, by about 6-8 foot out an adult is neck deep. Did not see any evening stalls along the beach promenade here just a couple of men selling the normal lasers and catapulted twirly things.

    The staff were really friendly and most spoke enough English to get by with our few words of Spanish thrown in. The hotel rooms were good sized and kept clean. The meals were well cooked and of reasonable quality. long high street near hotel with lots of evening shopping. DINO's Gelatia well worth calling in to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my 3th time in Planamar since 2015. Always the best quality of service, very clean, very good food and hopitality. For sure, it will not be the last time here. If you want to stay in a hotel in Platja D'aro and feel like at home, do not hesitate to chose Planamar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    July was less busier than August. But that is not related to the hotel, but the season.

    The hotel was really comfortable and the rooms looked like the pictures. The staff was super kind and helpful. The food was very good, a wide variety everyday. The hotel provide us with parasols and seats. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast food was very poor quality. The variety of fruit was just not up to standard. Parking for the car was hit or miss. You could spend a lot of time searching for a legal parking spot.

    The roof pool was an excellent attraction. Also with the beach literary outside the door of the hotel made for an enjoyable holiday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee and tea at breakfast

    Location perfect, right on sea front surrounded by restaurants and close to main shops. Room beautiful with excellent shower. Breakfast really good with delicious pastries. Staff friendly. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is adequate and reasonably efficient but the room is like a works canteen (although it does overlook the beach).

    The helpful staff and the room and it's facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a dinner at the hotel for the BBQ buffet evening was not to great, but the rest of the stay was good.

    The room was nice and cosy. Bathroom was very nice. The property is on the main beach which is absolute great. Also if it is a bit windy down at the beach you can go to the 5th floor and relax by the pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, we had a very uncomfortable an embarrassing experience with the cleaning lady. The reception staff was super friendly and nice from the moment we got there, but having the cleaning lady entering our room AND even worse leaving the door open while we were at our own thing was just too much. We can understand she walking in but not leaving the door completely open. This almost ruined our stay.

    Location. Location. Location. Being walking distance from the cami de ronda beaches was great. Also, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no drinks included in dinner, even water had to be payed for also it was hard to communicate with the staff in restaurant as most of them didn't speak English at all. The parking space was under ground with very hard entrance and exit, so if you parking skills are bad i don't recommend it.

    The half apartment was more then enough for the two of us, the bed was very large and the view was amazing. The rooftop had the best views along with small gym area and spa. There was also swimming pool and a lot of place to relax. The food was also good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was group of under 10 years of age children and teens were completely unsupervised on the rooftop and in the pool. None of the safety guidelines or rules were enforced by the hotel. The hotel would be better suited as an adults only destination.

    Amazing beach front location. Good selection at breakfast. Roof top has impressive views and comfy beds to lounge on. Everything is so clean, white and the showers are good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small but good for what we paid. Bathroom good size and clean

    Location. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast included with room rate was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant downstairs not so great.

    Great location, the room was true if not better than the pictures. The staff were excellent when we checked in, very helpful and friendly. The facilities were much more than we expected, there's a great roof top pool area with great cabana's and great views. Breakfast was also very nice. We only stayed 1 night but we would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - breakfast variety (could be a bit better); - wifi very slow; - swimming pool way too small; - elevators rather small and too warm;

    - fabulous location; - supermarkets, restaurants and shops around the corner; - great cabanas on the roof top; - daily cleaning; - shower with colored lights; - comfortable; - luggage storage after check-out; - good value for money;

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not as good- toiletries not stocked for next day - a problem as the shower gel for shower is in a squeeze bottle on wall and was empty, air conditioner stopped working the night before leaving - not a huge problem as weather ok - apparently it was an issue with main unit as many had stopped. Up until then air con great. I m sure they fixed it not long after we left.

    On arrival, met by English speaking staff, assisted with night garaging [9E] just up the block which was well worth it compared to finding a safe place/empty space near the hotel. Enjoyed the roof top pool and the double canopied lounge beds. Via the Magenta bar downstairs, you can walk out the front to sit and watch the beach go by. Breakfast was included and was great- fresh, varied and plenty of it - but we did get there on the early side. Room modern, no actual separate loo-more glassed in - but all was good. Good bits-cool shower, breakfast, location [a jump to the main strip and right on the beach] No night noise [did ask for quiet room]Parking and wifi worked fine in room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from our balcony wasn't the best, overlooked the building next door which was very tatty to say the least (room 326)

    We stayed in a superior twin room with lateral view. The beds were very comfortable, the room very spacious and the shower was excellent. The rooftop solarium was great with very comfortable sun loungers and great double canopied sunbeds too. Would definitely return but would have a front seaview room next time. The parking was only a short walk away in a secure underground private carpark.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral sea view (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, great hotel located in excellent place ( near the beach , 2 min from all the restaurants and shopping centre)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works going on outside and around so too noisy to sit on promenade.

    The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two single beds pushed together are not the same as sleeping on a proper double mattress.

    Breakfast superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean at all times, beds super comfy, awesome location. I would definitely love to go back to Platja d’Aro and stay in Hotel Planamar!😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Lateral Sea View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location. Very good breakfest. Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking garage at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner is till 21.30

    location, comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with lateral Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The house and the room, next to the sea, very nice employees

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop Terrace was very old

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Lateral Sea View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation idéale de l'hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Lateral Sea View (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed family friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Everything!!!!!

    Amazing staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Location to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible resort and no parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few people able to speak english. Difficulty at the restaurant in ordering our food

    Location is perfect. Room small but cozy. Breakfast was homey. Views incomparable!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cannot think of anything

    Lovely staff especially on reception the young dark haired lady excellent. she even asked which language we prefered to use and allowed us to practise our Spanish.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dining room was quite hot when full of people and although I think we were meant to have the same table each night the system wasn't explained and it was a little chaotic. Wasn't really a problem but we needed space for a High chair so having a table with plenty of room was important.

    Location is great right on the beach front promenade. The room was small but impeccably clean and the beds are comfy. The shower was amazing. Staff were generally really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff from the cleaners, to breakfast waitresses and reception are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast selection is very good and there is plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is good but missing some variaties, like some vegetables and fruits and cheese choices.

    Chilling area on the roof next to the pool is great to spend the morning with a nice view to the bay. Close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was very old and the toilet was dripping. The WI-FI was very poor.

    It's first line hotel to the sea with no so stunning sea view if you get the last room of the hotel that offers lateral sea view. The breakfast was good, there was everithing from each type of food. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The parking they offer is one safe parking.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing is that some fresh vegetables are missing in the breakfast buffet. Inspite of that, the breakfast was fabulous.

    Very good location and cleaness of the room. Very nice stay, great service.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little on the small side but adequate. The only downfall was the double bed. It was hard and woke up with backache.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is more suitable for older clients but we still had a great time.

    For the price this is a great hotel it's right on the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful and the surrounding area is gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    behind bad was switch of light (right behind pillow) - it switched on during sleeping. No air condition in fitness. We had to pay our stay in hotel in advance by arrival - no possibility to pay it during our stay or when we leave. Personel didn´t want to take the money from my card, which I filled on booking - it was problem, because I left this card at home. No possiblity of all inclusive eating.

    Great destination. Hotel straight on the beach. Nice view from roof - on roof swimming pool and really comfortable sunbathing beds with curtains - we loved the beds and the view to the beach and see. Good choice from food (we had full pension). Nice walks in the city. Lot od possiblities to rent something (bike, scooter, water scooter, windsurfing and so on) - on the beach or in the city. Nice holiday.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing everything was more than we had expected

    The rooms were perfect and clean and comfortable. The roof pool and terrace is splendid, maybe a bar up staires would be a good idea. The breakfast was lovely and I had only mentioned gluten free bread if possible , and they brought a seperate breakfast tray just for me. They let us use the pool and terrace and showers after we checked out too. The staff were absolutely wonderful ! Cannot wait to go back !!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. The shower was fantastic. The shaded sunbeds on the roof were great to escape the afternoon heat. But if you are looking for a quieter room and better view ask for a higher floor (3d or 4th would be the best).

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps more fruit selection at breakfast

    Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, handy location and good food.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Modern, comfortable frat staff

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fallaban luces

    Buffet

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Lovely hotel great location friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    l'isolation phonique

    la situation prés de la plage

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi signal poor in the room 111.

    Staff,Pet friendliness

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift was small, and painfully slow

    Fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was fabulous. Couldn't have had a better holiday.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean and nice location

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were so friendly and helpful Hotel was clean and bright Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location at a great price

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bacon could be crispier at breakfast ( thats my only complaint lol)

    Position,fantastic shower ,friendly helpful staff,well equipped and lit rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi could be better

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, great meals

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family rooms too small. Wash basin for toilets located in the room.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad smell in room on arrival, but staff moved us right away.

    Well run well placed hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Group

    Helpfulness, friendliness, beautiful setting, great town

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: