Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abba Playa Gijón 4 stars

Paseo del Doctor Fleming, 37, 33203 Gijón, Spain

#15 of 44 hotels in Gijón

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant place to stay in Gijon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fitness suite was poor , the treadmill was non functional and there was no water in the water cooler. Parking is an expensive extra at 18 euros per night and limited.

    Property well positioned on San Lorenzo beach. Rooms modern and of a good size. We had a sea view at extra cost. Staff were friendly. The hotel pool would benefit from having a snack/drinks bar/kiosk conveniently located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Come to this hotel if futbol or convention is the purpose of your Gijon visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff providing wrong information (parking & restaurants) and repeating same information without listening to client. Terrible location in front of a stadium, and next to a convention center and a circus. Bad view. Small rooms. Limited number of parking places in the premises. Outside parking zone allways full.

    Breakfast buffet Staff at the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel on a nice location, old rooms and expensive parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old rooms with damaged carpets, old fashioned bathroom, you could here the television from the next room very clearly, very expensive parking.

    Good breakfast with a lot of choice, good location, staff spoke very good English. WiFi was adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Fine apart from smelling room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of heavy smoking. I didn’t think it was strong at first then I became more sensitive to it. I could have asked to move but was only there briefly

    Mostly ok and well presented

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    The room was quite clean and the position of the structure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at night was really not friendly Nothing special to mention

    The room was quite clean and the position of the structure very close to the sea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Worth a visit and would stay at again if in Gijon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Secure parking was expensive. Staff were not as friendly as elsewhere, but it's only a minor point. Overall, we enjoyed staying here. Nothing to do with the hotel - but the sidra is an acquired taste..... (fun to watch the pour though!)

    Good size rooms and great wifi. Good location from which to explore Gijon, particularly the beach front area down to the old town. Parking was free (over the road) which was secure enough during our visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Of 43 reviews this is the worst we experienced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we did not get the room we requested that the shower was broken that there was only 1 towel in the room. And the staff could not care less

    The roof top bar was pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable, with a couple of basic faults
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 The "free" wifi required social media account login or entry of personal data. In an age of record identity-fraud-related crime this is unacceptable so I regard the wifi as unusable. 2 The toilet seat hinge was broken and the seat loose. This could not be fixed until the following day, after we'd left.

    good standard of decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike

    The hotel was perfect it was so clean and only a minute away from the beach I would advise anybody to stay there ..I will go back there at some point

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Gijon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not possible to get refreshments at certain times of day. For example, morning coffee once breakfast bar had closed. While the hotel was very well insulated against traffic noise, there was quite noticeable noise from other rooms and the corridors. This would not stop me returning and I look forward to my next visit.

    Very pleasant helpful staff who spoke good English. Room had a wonderful panoramic view of the sea and beach. Great roof top bar. Very comfortable tasteful room. I look forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Our stay at Abba Hotel in Gigion exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front staff knowing museums are closed on Mondays & buses can only be available at specific areas. All the important issues were no problem.

    Abba staff, hotel, and restaurant were exceptionally good. All staff was most helpful, especially Andrea and Juan Carlos. Arrived to hotel late & tired & had an excellent meal & wine. All exceeded our expectations. Alicia Nieto

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Except for the internet, great spot to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wifi in our room 331 was very poor dropping out constantly as I needed it for business was very frustrating. I had to use my Hotspot from my phone which was very expensive paying from Australia. Communicating with staff was difficult as they didn't speech English. We extended our stay by one more day for business, the staff did not reset our room key so we couldn't get into the room. No offer of any deals or breakfast even that we wanted to extend our stay.

    The Location was great, rooms were good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    The Sky bar has a wonderful view of the see side and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rug at the room was very dirty.

    The Sky bar has a wonderful view of the see side and the city. The space and the confort of the room was very good .The bed was very confortable.Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    A good place to stay with teens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No options for making ourselves a hot drink. We like to be able to have our first cup of tea in bed before we go out for the day

    We liked the Sky Bar on the roof with a fantastic view over the city. Great food choices in the restaurant, bar and on the roof.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel on the beach. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's at the opposite end of the beach to the old town. Old town a little further than walking distance away. Watch out for mosquitos!

    Great hotel near the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great rooftop bar. Go up there to watch the sunset! Modern, clean comfortable. Easy to find and parking no problem. Quite popular with English speaking tourists.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    6.3
    Not inviting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a style, I felt I was in an airport without the crowds, in fact, it was pretty empty except for a wedding party that was nice enough to let me share the terrace.

    The walk on the beach just across the street. The parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing views and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views from my room were breathtaking - the beach and the sea!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    like a motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decoration

    very easy parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Everything except the breakfast was great value for money. The staff were exceptional!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    Not great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No duvet No tea and coffee in room Toiletries not always placed Dirty curtains Dirty carpets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for parking, should be covered by your stay

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was lovely but let's down by unfriendly bar staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly bar staff

    Hotel was lovely but let's down by unfriendly bar staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Location and access to beach is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    The fabulous rooftop bar and the friendly enthusiastic bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fabulous rooftop bar and the friendly enthusiastic bar manager Bertrand

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Great night in Gijon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Skybar and the pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast buffet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    5.0
    I like the bedroom but it is very dirty
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the staff in the morning

    I like the bedroom but it is very dirty

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Good breakfast buffet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just because it's the weekend hotel facilities should not close.👎 Bedroom carpet rather shabby.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Gijon a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea & coffee facilities

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.5
    Not enough car parking and can't be reserved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough car parking and can't be reserved

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Great location by the beach and a roof top bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    roof top bar, parking under hotel, beach across the road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.5
    Superb location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces are too cramped, especially considering the building is relatively modern

    Superb location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.3
    Good location but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being next to the road , very noisy . And the pool is in the back of the hotel

    I like being next to the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.3
    Shower was inefficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was inefficient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    9.6
    When can we stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more welcoming. Possibly my fault as English and misunderstood

    Location swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    hairdryer did not work, telephone periodically malfunctioned too - or was it the switchboard? A local friend rang me several times and often when she was put through to the room and I picked up the handset there was only silence, so she had to ring again

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was modern with good facilities and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel being close to a road junction, meant our room 314 was overlooking the road and was very noisy even with double glazing and ear plugs, but we did see the water.

    The hotel was modern with good facilities and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    5.0
    There were sweets at reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor housekeeping in as much as anything used such as soap, sponge etc not replaced at all. My friend had to ask for more soap to wash hands with so pretty poor. They also charged for the still water very tight! Reception staff professional but not particularly friendly & didn't ask about our stay or show any interest. TV channels all news no other choice which was tedious. Fitness area tiny, pictures misleading. My friends door key card kept not working so had to go to reception on at least 3 occasions which was frustrating. Overall I wouldn't bother going there again, you would probably get similar service but with a smile for half the price!

    There were sweets at reception! Staff got us taxi's as we required. Obviously catered for conferences & parties.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    The overall image and feel of the hotel was excellent with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing of any significance except that the roof area appeared to be closed.

    The overall image and feel of the hotel was excellent with the restaurant especially notable. Price was also good for the offering and would happily stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Able to drive in to hotel easily, securely park car, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi discovered in morning at 114...probably at end of corridor...to close to main road...kept the curtains closed

    Able to drive in to hotel easily, securely park car, easy access to car park,

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.9
    The staff in this hotel were fantastic- the bar staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel really is lovely and they are making a lot of effort to respond to reviews. One of the main reasons though that we booked this particular hotel in Gijon was it's rooftop bar and the fact it had a swimming pool. We stayed Monday through to Wednesday night and unfortunately only found out when we got there that the rooftop bar was only open Friday through to Sunday. Apparently there were renovations also but we were very disappointed that we couldn't see the view of the beach from the rooftop, and even though the gentleman at the front desk was very apologetic and nice, it was a disappointment and was not clear on the hotels website when we were researching it. Also although we stayed mid June, the pool was closed as 'it wasn't warm enough' and wasn't going to open until 20th June. This again was another disappointment and would probably have influenced our booking had we known prior. Again though - a lovely hotel, and well worth a visit, I would just recommend checking with them about the opening of facilities before you book.

    The staff in this hotel were fantastic- the bar staff were very obliging and polite and were always friendly and smiling. Breakfast was really lovely - and again the staff were great. You can ask for an omelette- try the ham and cheese ones as they are made fresh and are fabulous! The location is great, just alongside the beach and lovely walks out the cliffs to the right. This is a luxurious hotel and extremely comfortable. Our room faced the pool and was lovely and quiet-rooms to the front would have a beach view but could be noisy with a main road outside. At the end of each floor is a large window with a view of the beach and we enjoyed sitting there in the evenings. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar food was very tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    Loved all the facilities though the roof garden was not open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel sometimes rents the roof garden out for events before the main season starts so Saturday night you could have a loud musical party above you if on the top floor... we did !

    Loved all the facilities though the roof garden was not open to guests. Superb location and great views from the front. Stunning breakfast worth every Euro and the sauna, stem room and Jacuzzi were nicely presented and worked ! Parking excellent and secure.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.2
    Really nice place just araound the beach walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nice place just araound the beach walk. See views room neat and clean, cozy and nice. Breakfast was very complete with plenty of options and really good quality.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.8
    Nice view from the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If there was an electric kettle, that would be great.

    Nice view from the room. Very close to the beach so we can enjoy walking and jogging along the beach.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.8
    Bed/pillows firm and comfortable - superb really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lots of wind and traffic noise in the room (despite being on 3rd floor). Swimming pool shut (despite people swimming in the sea). Gym is very small, which is okay, but gets very steamy in there when training (which isn't okay - needs better air flow. Poor cooked breakfast options (except for omelettes). Not a good location if you just want to be in the city centre, as it is 1 mile walk away (though the walk is lovely along the beach). Restaurant expensive.

    Bed/pillows firm and comfortable - superb really. Clean rooms. Very good fruit / juice options for breakfast. Excellent, helpful staff. Superb location for beach and if you have a car (easy access without going all through the city and easy free parking nearby). Good sauna / steam room.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    Overall experience was really very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall experience was really very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    2.5
    Rooms very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI service not that good.

    Rooms very clean. Excellant staff

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location and upgraded to seaview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds rather hard. Could do with mattress toppers.

    Excellent location and upgraded to seaview. Well appointed room. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Location at end of attractve bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location at end of attractve bay

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Pablo at the front desk did a great job during the check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought the hotel was directly at the beach

    Pablo at the front desk did a great job during the check in

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Good public transport connections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good public transport connections.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    across the bridge and a short walk from the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little old fashioned

    across the bridge and a short walk from the old town

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Good location nice view of beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was under the roof to bar and the beat from the speakers resonated down Repositining them would be desirable

    Good location nice view of beach

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.5
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool wasn't open food very limited

    Comfort

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Poor menu as a Sunday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor menu as a Sunday

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Clean Room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Clean Room. The staff are really good.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    6.5
    Location good for motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi poor

    Location good for motorway

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.2
    comfortable clean and nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    comfortable clean and nice location

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Abba Playa Gijón traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: