Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousadas de Compostela Hotel Pombal 3 stars

Rua Do Pombal, 12, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#28 of 75 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was two twin beds together.

    Great location to the cathedral. Fantastic view from room of cathedral as well. Great tapas restaurant a few doors down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some English Television would have been nice, especially international news; and I would have expected more tennis coverage, as the Madrid Open was underway!

    The location is perfect! 400m from the Cathedral, from the city centre and from restaurants. Some of the rooms have stunning views of the Cathedral. Our room over the street was spacious, with a wardrobe, a TV, an armchair and a writing table. Everything was new, fresh and clean. The desk staff were all friendly and helpful and responded promptly to requests. Calling a taxi to the airport was as easy as pie. Breakfast was generous, and there were refreshments on tap throughout the day. We had no difficulty communicating in English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, clean and beautiful. Great pillows, reading chair, desk and fridge. View was lovely. All just steps from the main part of town. Quiet at night. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism is that a more contemporary shower unit would be in keeping with the rest of the excellent fittings and overall design.

    Great location. Great decor. Brilliant staff. Great towels and bed covers. Unbeatable view onto Cathedral. Good price. Quiet and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little in warm side and controls didn’t appear to readjust this. It wasn’t bothersome enough for me to rig Reception however but it was a minor issue. In hotter weather I would have followed up in this.

    Decor and location (adjacent to park) They provided a picnic breakfast for us upon request without quibble due to our early departure The courtesy coffee station with fruit, juices, yogurt, pastries - much welcome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It‘s a fine well located place, five minutes walk from the church and the old city. Our windows looked at the cathedral. Very cozy ambiente, large room and bathroom, very friendly and helpful stuff. Rich breakfast. We had a wonderful stay in Santiago. Can recommend it to everyone. Judit and Günter

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled very strongly of mold and mildew. None was visible, but the smell was almost overwhelming. And no wonder, a theme in Spain seems to be no ventilation for bathrooms, so the room fills up with steam and then has no where to go, there's no fan, no window, no nothing. Very poor design, and unhealthy too - mold and mildew is very dangerous for the lungs. Also, the one girl who was at the desk when I checked in showed very poor service - made me wait outside in the hot sun for quite some time before she buzzed me in, she was on the phone (but could have at least buzzed me in instead of ignoring me until I rang the bell a third time because it was getting unbearably hot standing there) - after buzzing me in she continued on the phone for some time before finally checking me in, while she was still on the phone. The other two reception ladies I had dealt with were awesome.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was nicely decorated, the breakfast was awesome. The person I talked to at the desk the day before I arrived and the day I left was super great. They were wonderful about holding my backpack past check out time so I could do some sightseeing unemcumbered. The coffee/tea/snacks in the lobby were a nice touch - it was nice to be able to have an evening cup of tea without having to go to a restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult by car to access property. Would have been helpful to have directions to parking prior to arrival. Locked safe was located at front entrance.

    Private patio with view of cathedral. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a minor point: the wifi worked but was slow and refused to load some websites. Everything else was excellent and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Very pleasant & helpful staff. Comfortable room with view of the cathedral. Clean, well-maintained bathroom with good shower. Good quality beds and linen. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Complimentary tea/coffee & pastries near reception was a very thoughtful touch. 10 minutes walk to historic centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our room number 2. It is the only room with a huge terrace It has two inside doors for soundproofing. Very quiet room. The staff is excellent I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like about this hotel.

    Old style charm. Very nice spacious room and comfortable bed. Complimentary refreshments for guests in the lobby were especially welcome. Staff were friendly and helpful. Use of computer for guests facilitated printing of boarding pass. The hotel was well situated for easy access to the Cathedral and old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Receptionist very friendly and went out of her way to be helpful. Room had sunny, spectacular view of Santiago cathedral. Excellent restaurant a few doors along from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 3 double beds and ended up with two single beds - miss communication between booking.com and the hotel perhaps.

    Very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to the Cathedral and Old Town! We took the bus from the Airport to central Santiago , convenient and quick! It was about a 15 minute walk from the Airport Bus stop in central Santiago to the hotel. Doable but a little hard on luggage wheels given the cobbled sidewalks. But we managed and would not hesitate to do it again. The entire staff was very welcoming and very helpful. Our room was more than adequate and very clean. We found the breakfasts especially good in a very inviting setting. And yes, there was a laundry just a few blocks away! Most importantly, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel while we walked the Camino. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated if we were allowed for a late check out of just an hour but the sitting room was comfortable enough at least.

    The room was neat. The size was sufficient. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of people walking in the apartment above and in the hallways... Too noisey and people were speaking very loudly. You could hear other people's toilets flushing and showers running. There's not much noise absorption. Also they offer coffee and pastries after 12pm, but not in the morning when most people would want them. Didn't understand that.

    The beds and bathrooms and the fantastic view of the cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff more professional than friendly. Our room looked out onto a busy road. A little on the expensive side for a noisy room.

    Excellent breakfast. Well appointed small hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you travel by car, difficult to find the hotel and unload your luggage; however, the front desk was very helpful to unload and direct us to the parking garage down the street.

    Room with a view onto the cathedral. Proximity to the old town center and the cathedral. The staff was extremely friendly. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked that I could make a cup of tea and have a snack at any time. Nice touch! Location is good and good value for the money. Staff was very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a room with cathedral view but unfortunately it was covered with scaffold, obviously not the hotels fault. But I think we still paid for the view we did not get. Room had a kitchenette, which may have been a bonus, but there was no dishes, or cutlery, nothing, so basically just took up space in the room. Beds could have been a little more comfortable, but we did sleep late so they couldn't have been too bad.

    Proximity to cathedral and town centre is great. Breakfast buffet was above average. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were warmly welcomed on our very early arrival at the hotel. Although we could not check in our bags were taken care of and we were offered free refreshments. The room was spacious with a lovely balcony with a view the Cathedral. A very positive start to our holiday

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Covered parking lot located a few blocks away.

    Very close to Santiago de Compostela Cathedral. Beautiful view of the cathedral from room window. Friendly staff. Very affordable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was uncomfortable.

    The view and walking is great. The staff was great. I like it very much Cambados!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I did not like

    The view on the cathedral is just amazing. The staff was very gentle. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be cleaner-floors we’re dirty

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and snacks were not always available in lobby as advertised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the location decor and friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room view to the cathedral -- impressive!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a lovely spot inside. The staff is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a ways away but this wasn't a major problem

    Location was excellent and received good advice about a great restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Love the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sounds from other rooms could be heard.

    Garden from our room. Coffee station in the lobby area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    It was an excellent hotel with a lovely view of the cathedral

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of the cathedral. Drinks and snacks in the afternoon and evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful view of the cathedral from our room, plus lovely little touches e.g. free tea/coffee/cakes in the reception area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, convenient location. Staff were lovely especially with my 6yr old

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Staff very clean Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great value. Excellent view overlooking the cathedral

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    D friendly reception staff who do kindly printed off our boarding passes - so helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulty finding a park to load/unload luggage

    Centre location, within walking distance of Cathedral. Helpful with maps and suggestions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking but parking down the busy street. Have to pull up the curb to load and unload luggage.

    Close to everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit noisy, could hear everything going on in reception

    Amazing view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - close to the center and in a quiet area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the old town, view from the window, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. Within minutes of the Cathedral and main attractions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much room in lobby for sitting, waiting on friends or reading etc.

    The location and it's cleanliness and helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay at hotel again and recommend it to others

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy, the staff very friendly and ready to make one feel like at home! The view of the cathedral from the room was spectacular

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no tea /coffee available in room

    everything was perfect. we were upgraded to hotel virce da cerca as hotel pombal was closed for refurbishment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view and outstanding location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view of the Cathedral from our room was spectacular!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views! Very nice staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well appointed room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff service was above and beyond, arranging transportation for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is dreadful.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N.A

    The staff were very friendly and the rooms very spacious and clean...and the breakfasts were delicious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of cathedral

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about hotel!

    Everything! No complaints about anything!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was great!

    Staff extremely helpful and even printed off boarding passes for flights home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay

    The view of the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela from the room. Great bonus gor a pilgrim to Santiago!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel very comfortable clean and lovely decor . Great view of the cathededral! Staff so lovely and helpful!! Good English

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving

    great hotel 5 minutes walk to all the sights good breakfast great aircon helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, clean comfortable, Close to old town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean rooms. Loved the free breakfast and all day snacks and coffee!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed and pillows.

    The breakfast and location. The staff was super.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very good breakfast. Lots of choice and plenty of it. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff and good facilities. Great location

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The pictures from the Booking listing were not reflective of the rooms we reserved for our group. This hotel was a giant step down from our other properties (during a tour of the Camino). Front desk staff seemed poorly trained - like they had never handled a group before in their "manner" of handing out keys and asking for identification. Not a good first impression.

    Location, and that was it. But you have to walk around each time you go towards the Cathedral. Car/street access is complicated.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, view of cathedral, staff was very helpful, nice snacks and coffee noon onward, room clean and roomy for 4, easy to pull up and leave car outside to unload before parking. No onsite parking, but very short walk away.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOISE. Had a room on the street (which actually the main Street for cars around the historic center = heavy traffic). And red light also under the window = pollution. So you cannot open window. The second day they gave me a room on the other side. Very quiet. No view also.

    FURNITURE. Old style, nice. Wooden floor.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The floor was not clean but the bath was clean. There was noise from a aircondition in the garden next door.

    Nice room, good Price euro 80 pr. night. Free water, juice, croissant and fruit in the small cafe. A bottle of water for free in the room. Good beds. We had room 13 with the view to the Cathedral and Parador

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was easy to find, easy to walk to the cathedral, and a good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Opened the window and water leaked in

    View of cathedral was great

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower had limited height to stand up.

    Spacious room. Staff very helpful & cheerful.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: