Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spa Porto Cristo 4 stars

Major, 59, 17489 Port de la Selva, Spain

#2 of 15 hotels in Port de la Selva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 907 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Location was good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, I was really disappointed with this hotel. I booked it for my partners birthday weekend away and it looked to be the nicest in the area, was rated as a 4 star hotel and the price also reflected that at around 110 EUR per night (most expensive in the area) which is a lot for a quiet coastal town. It was also a spa hotel so I had quite high expectations. When we got there at reception, I was surprised by how dated everything looked and the décor was just a mix match of everything. I hoped the room would be better but when we got in there, it was really dark with a tiny window and it all looked so old and dated. The best thing was the bathroom which had obviously been renovated into a large shower room but it took up most of the space in the room. It was depressing and looked nothing like the rooms advertised on booking.com which are really deceiving. So we went back down and asked for another room with more light, which to be fair, they changed for us no questions asked and it had a bigger window and lighter walls but still looked just as dated. The way I´d describe it was like a B&B from the 1980´s. – definitely not a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was pink and black tiles and there wasn´t a proper towel rail, no full length mirror. But by far, the worse thing was the noise in the room. The walls and ceiling were so thin that we could hear every sound from the surrounding rooms, people coughing, using the toilet…but the worse was when next door either used the shower or turned on the tap, it created such an incredibly loud noise that filled our whole room it actually woke me up. All in all, I wouldn’t recommend this place unless they drastically dropped the price and advertised it as a 3 star at best.

    Location was good; near to beach front, free parking and bus to Cadaques. Staff were helpful. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was OK, decent selection, and the breakfast room was the nicest area in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not offered the pass to the pool and attached spa which was included in the price of the stay. The parking close by was not easy at all.

    Good location and clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall, the hotel is definitely recommendable despite the bathroom problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the bathroom didn't come up to our expectations. The extra toiletries were good. However, although it was spacious and modern, the hydro bath didn't operate and we couldn't get the shower to work either.

    Location, room comfort & restaurant are superb. Excellent breakfast buffet too. Our third time here and definitely not our last. Would recommend this hotel as a perfect spot for a weekend break. Relaxing and enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.9
    Escary experience, don't go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is scary: staff was cubbish and impolite (excepting the people working on the breakfast, they were very nice). The girl on the poor desk that welcomed us asked for the money just in the checkin. As I was surprised, she decided to hate me and didn't look at me never again even when I said Good morning or Goid afternoon. But this is only a detail; its awful, old "decoration", with any sense of good taste, lack of facilities, their lies about what they call spa, the old old air conditioning machine and its noise inside the room, the windows, the inappropriate picture of a nude women on the top of the bed,,water in the shower (switching from boiling to iced), the bathroom with is own and open door to the corridor, the indefinied ages of the building and succesive little reforms, the big blue light of TV in the night... everything was unpleasant and ugly, even the sticky celophan that they used to identify the key of the car. Awful and a complete stole for almost 200€ / night.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    OK- not more and perhaps less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, the pictures do NOT live up to reality. When we arrived we wanted to use the pool straight away. Turns out the pool is 500 meters AWAY from the hotel. This is not specified anywhere on booking.com. In order to enter the pool you need a card to get it and we were given one card, this means we had to take turns to go to the bathroom and changing rooms. Now, on the website it said that this is an adult hotel, more specifically no under 16 are permitted. This is not true, there were many families staying at the hotel. And if you were looking to chill by the pool that you can forget that straight away. In the pool they also had swimming school and outside the swimming school hours the pool was dominated by children and their parents. This is basically a no go zone if you are looking to chill out by a pool area. The room was small and the air-condition was not really working properly. The room never got a pleasant temperature. They also had pictures of rooms with sea views and balconies. I think only three of the rooms in the whole building had a seat view. The building is not situated in front of the beach as it seems. When checking out we told the staff about all of the above, they claimed that they had communicated to booking.com that they do not have a pool in their complex but that booking.com had not adjusted the information on their website. They also claimed not having a no-child policy and that this is also something that they have communicated to booking.com. Spa Porto Cristo claims to be a spa-hotel. I didn't get the impression it was. Yes we had a jacuzzi in our room but every time the people above us used it, we could hear the effects of bubbles going through pipes in to the bath tub, it was not the most therapeutic sound you could be entertained with when you were going to bed or waking up in the morning. All in all, this hotel is way too expensive for what you get.

    The hotel had a very good breakfast. They offered all sorts of croissants, fruits and cheeses that you'd like for a proper breakfast. There were good options for any kind of diet preferences. The room was very clean and there were many towels. There was also an iron in the room, very practical.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Average hotel, nothing special. Don't plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very average and he description on the booking.com website made it sound far nicer than it was. Really really average and boring decor. On a par with a Premier Inn. Breakfast was good.

    The beach is lovely; sheltered, shallow and safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought it was a little over priced

    Very comfortable spacious room. Jacuzzi bath was great to ease our aches and pains following our long hike from Cadaques. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.0
    Bad luck?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a handicape room. It was awfully warm and the A/C did not work (it was November and normally you don't need A/C). There were 2 TV sets and the more recent one was not fixed to the stand.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy in the morning, other guests use the in-room jacuzzi late at night, bed hard

    location, staff are kind, breakfast is ample and good, the sea view room is a great place to read or do some work, it is near to everything in port de la selva, rooms are pretty and clean, there is nice ambiance to the hotel, plenty of spa services, guests have access to the club natuic pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, super comfy rooms and great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, super comfy rooms and great facilities. I highly recommend the massage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, lovely breakfast buffet, friendly and efficient staff and priced very reasonably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from car park / stairs / bedroom above

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Muy Tranquila i Relajante
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No poder hacer media pension

    En general todo, centrico tranquilo cerca de la playa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Under expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The people working there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Too basic for such a high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old school building, facilities and staff.

    Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel which has everything you need. Breakfast was really nice. The staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The location, so close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super stay. Everything better than expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast. Very friendly staff. The location is very good being a few minutes walk to the sea front and restaurants and bars of the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    It was both pleasant and odd due to the extreme over-decorating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The jacuzzi was functional but not very strong. The room itself has the decor of a bordello. The bathroom had the aroma of sewer.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Location opposite beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful, except for Patricia on reception. Dark room and lighting.

    Bathroom was large and extremely clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved staying here. Super cute town and a very nice - although quite small room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Todo confortable y excelente atencion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo confortable y excelente atencion

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    2nd stay at the hotel and would return if in the area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was plenty of choice for breakfast. various cakes and meat and cheese. well done.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place for a a calm and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took the option with dinner included. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, great location and overall very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, great location and overall very pleasant. Get a room on the 3rd level for the view, and a room with a juccuzi. Delicious buffet style breckie. Pastries were yummy!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.0
    very clean, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor soundproofing in best room on 3rd floor. No bar facilities at all. Beach not great but quite close (not private). Staff did not look very happy.

    very clean, good breakfast. Very nice bathroom with jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast was good, and the location was easy to walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was very spotty which made it hard to do work, and the bright neon lighting in the room was so obnoxious, they just need to change the light bulbs to something softer and more pleasant.

    The breakfast was good, and the location was easy to walk to the beach. The rooms were standard, clean, european beachy. The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was nice. Our room had a balcony and it was very nice to look out in the morning to the water.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Easy access to beach just across the road and a fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking !! We had motorcycles and the secure parking was good until you wanted to get your vehicles out of the garage we waited hours witch spoilt our days plans

    Easy access to beach just across the road and a fabulous restaurant which is located on the beach front. Friendly staff very helpful will come back again

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful receptionist...nothing a problem even when we had to change rooms. Recommended restaurant also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    We had a room with a sea view and spa bath .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We had a room with a sea view and spa bath . It was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything said above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything said above

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    What's not to like?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What's not to like?

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    hotel advertised wifi in each too but ours did not have wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel advertised wifi in each too but ours did not have wifi...signal not strong enough.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor showing it's age a bit.

    Location. Beds are brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was brilliant. The staff were exceptionally helpful.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: