Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Posada Real La Mula de los Arribes 5 stars

Veronica, 8, 49250 Villardiegua de la Ribera, Spain

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    lovely Posada with wonderful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    enjoyed it all

    The hospitality of the owners was wonderful. They went out of their way to give us information, even taking us into Portugal, so we could get a river cruise. The evening meal was wonderful quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a little more powerful.

    The owners were so welcoming and their hospitality was excellent. The food was fresh, home cooked and very tasty. This is a rustic rural hotel which we enjoyed immensely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A truly satisfying experience. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only wish our Spanish was better so we could have more easily explained what a great time we were having.

    A true gem in the Spanish countryside. Our hosts, Andreas and Manuela, were simply lovely people and very eager to make us feel right at home. Andreas provided wonderful guidance for touring the local area and led us to a vantage point for a breathtaking view of the cliffs and river separating Spain and Portugal. Manuela is charming and a marvelous chef. She provided a very memorable Spanish country dining experience. Simply marvelous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    In a charming, sleepy village situated near the Douro River...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay long enough!

    In a charming, sleepy village situated near the Douro River and beautiful countryside. The food was amazing! Some of the best we'd eaten during our Spain/Portugal trip. The bed was hard, which I normally don't like, but this one was actually very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful , relaxing weekend break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome from Manuela , we felt very much at home during our stay. And the home cooking was wonderful, delicious bacalhoa and succulent pork for dinner! Breakfast was just the best! From freshly laid eggs, jamon to home made preserves.The room was exceptionally clean and cosy. The 300 year old house in a peaceful village location is ideal for exploring the National Park on both sides of the border. The Douro river winds its way through the gorge from Spain into Portugal. There was plenty of regional information available for guests. Manuela recommended a drive out to Zamora over the old iron bridge, amazing scenery and a very interesting city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and professional owners, Andres & Manuela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and professional owners, Andres & Manuela. Warm welcome. Excellent breakfast (although limited choice) with fresh orange juice, top quality ham & cheese, toast, jams, fresh fruit. Dinner exceptional, candlelight, great wine service & recommendations by Andres, 5* food prepared by Manuela. Comfortable beds, rooms nicely appointed, very quiet. Good location for walks. A bottle of wine as farewell gift. Looking forward to our next stay on the way from France to Portugal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two nights not long enough!

    We very very rarely do booking.com reviews....but the hosts are simply delightful and deserve all the accolades. Villardiegua de la Ribera is well off the beaten track and feels like another world. An evidently community-run bar (no food) down the road (which was great fun!!), and the Posada itself, serving wonderful home-made meals (accompanied by a few glasses of their own wine and plenty of laughs) & great breakfasts. Andres and Manuela are the perfect hosts. Comfortable clean room. What more to want!? We were visiting to find the exact antipodes of our house in Marlborough New Zealand, about 15kms away from the Posada: so a great treasure hunt of a day (between our two nights stay) to find an awesome spot overlooking the mighty Douro River. Such great memories!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Excellent country accomodation, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautifully restored village property with all excellent fixtures and fittings. Owners couldn't do enough for us. A wonderful place to stay providing an excellent choice in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Located in a small hamlet in the countryside and therefore great for nature lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were charming - & Andrés very witty - and they went out of their way to make us feel at home. The food was excellent and we enjoyed a light lunch as well as dinner there in the evening. Nearby you can take a boat trip along the river which is very beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    A place to visit again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 4th visit on our annual drive from Santander to the Algarve. The hosts, Andreas and Manuela again were so welcoming. That together with excellent home cooked food and pristine accommodation makes this Posada quite exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Plan to go back soon!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very special area of Spain. The breakfast, dinner and wine provided by the Posada all came from local products and were delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Spectacular rugged landscape from the viewing points of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spectacular rugged landscape from the viewing points of "La Peña Redonda" over the Duero river's gorges, close to the property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Great place, warm, great location and incredible quality/price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful place nearby the nature, great home

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    The attention to detail, from the luxury Italian hand soap,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing, we only wished we had more time to explore the area!

    The attention to detail, from the luxury Italian hand soap, bottled water and chocolates, to the decoration and comfort of our rooms, made our stay in this Posada a real treat! Our stay coincided with the village's summer festivities (last two weeks in August) so we were treated to a regional dance performance and music in the town plaza. Our entire stay was an unexpected and very pleasant surprise, will recommend it to anyone who is seeking a relaxing experience after a day of exploring the nearby Duero Canyon, Roman gold mines...

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    This is the third time we have stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the third time we have stayed here. This time for two nights giving us a clear day to explore and walk in the area. Our hosts as always were welcoming and made sure we were well catered for with excellent accommodation, lovely home cooked food and local wines. The premises comprise a beautifully renovated property with all mod cons. We have returned three times and "se deus quiser" will be back. Thank you Andreas and Manuella.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    Absolutamente todo, local, trato personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutamente todo, local, trato personal... fantastico

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Welcoming and friendly hosts in a house of great character...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming and friendly hosts in a house of great character in a beautiful spot. We ate in both evenings and would thoroughly recommend doing so.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: