Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aire de Ruesga

Mentera s/n, 39813 Mentera-Barruelo, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Mentera-Barruelo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Location, staff, outside room terrace and view and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find - why doesn't their Booking.com site say 'Next to the church. and also only ONE village, not in Barruelo another village a mile away!!! No sign at turn off so easy to miss. Internet only downstairs and nowhere to site with a table to use. Also why say they serve dinner and breakfast - 9-11 both - no lunch!

    Location, staff, outside room terrace and view and garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Follow directions to the hotel carefully as it is not allowed to put out a sign in this tiny village and it is situated just off the main road.

    This is quite a unique place.......away from it all, but perfect for relaxation. The owner of he restored property will do everything to make your stay pleasant. Nearby are nice mountain walks, while you are closer to Bilbao than if you were in the Picos.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    GREAT PLACE TO UNWIND AND JUST CHILL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some sort of signage on the road so you dont drive past it three times! Earlier dinner if at all possible!

    Beautiful location - and journey to it is also wonderful. Staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurant food was very, very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    It was perfect in the middle of some of the most beautiful and peaceful countryside imaginable!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were included in the price and were first class! Great value for money! The evening meal was moderately priced and was excellent! Everything was cooked fresh! I would strongly recommend having dinner at the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Not up to any standard of the 21 century.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find, no signs on the road to it. Room not ready. No service, one had to go looking for a member of staff of which there appeared to be only two. Garden unkept and not mown. Room basic, bathroom not very clean. Very noisy as not insulation between rooms. Could hear next door room using bathroom facilities. Food below average. Nowhere to walk to for a drink or alternative eating place. We could not recommend this hotel to anyone. Unless you like very unclean basic accommodation, perhaps a tent would have been better.

    Hello I didn't like this hotel at all. I have nothing good to say about it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Almost perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner could commence earllier than 9 pm. Pool and surrounds could be better maintained.

    The location is quite spectacular and has amazing views. Very nice walks closeby. Very friendly housekeeper and the owner seems to do everything himself especially at weekends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Bucolic and beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wiffy No lift

    The quiet,the terrace,the garden,the wiu

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Great fun, good food ,good company and staff, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard too find initially

    Interesting beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great stay, lovely view over the valley from my room and I was brought a lovely cold beer and nibble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice staff. Brushed up my Spanish with the helpful receptionist! Good value meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Idyllic mountain getaway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything

    Great relaxing time, Jon was a fantastic host!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    A "must visit hotel" in the middle of nowhere. (car required)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything, especially the rural setting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value rural location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby facilities Remote location

    Good value great views. Good modest food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    Everything is perfection - it's beautifully positioned,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Everything is perfection - it's beautifully positioned, the owners are charming, rooms comfortable (great views), food good. This is our second time here and we love it.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Gorgeous place to stay with friendly, interesting staff, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is isolated. Not much happening in the town but everything we needed for a short trip was available

    Gorgeous place to stay with friendly, interesting staff, a relaxed atmosphere. Great with a young baby

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.1
    We liked the friendliness of the owner / staff and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our beds were not very comfortable. Also we visited when the weather outside was cold and wet, and the bedroom was cold. Given the poor weather, had the open fire downstairs been lit it would have made a lot of difference! But they were about to close up for a few weeks and only had one other couple staying so we could see why they did not have it alight. To be fair to them it was between seasons.

    We liked the friendliness of the owner / staff and the most stunning, and very beautiful location. Also we had a very pleasant evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    The personal interest in our well-being (we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No "bad experience, as we hope to return. However, it is NOT easy to find, as local rules forbid exterior signs to the property. We are OK with Spanish meal times, but some may not like to wait until after 9pm for dinner. The swimming pool and grounds need upkeep and upgrading

    The personal interest in our well-being (we had difficulties in getting there), the attractive position and ambience was just what we needed for comfortable friendly relaxation. Excellent food prepared freshly & imaginatively- try Josu's new recipe for squid, go on, it's super!! Nice local village for this and that and only about an hour drive to Bilbao or Santander ferriy ports

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Just love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just love this hotel. It is our second stay and we will definitely book again. The location is beautiful and the hotel is a little corner of paradise. The owners cannot do enough for you and the maid is an absolute delight! Our favourite place to stay

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    We stayed for 2 nights, it was like a home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for 2 nights, it was like a home from home. The owners are very friendly and recommended places to visit. Touring this area is wonderful. The food was really good and the breakfast the best we had in our 2 weeks of touring northern spain.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    Superb view on mountain across the valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the facility may need some attention and better maintenance

    Superb view on mountain across the valley Quietness surrounding Delicious local breakfast Nice simple meals (recommended to eat there as nearest restaurants are not close) Super-friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice building in a remote and peaceful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in and some public areas need some freshen up. Dust on the TV cabinet, (without TV) awefull low energy light bulbs in two big fan lamps with missing glass caps, dirty windows with lots of fly poop, broken deck chairs at the swimming pool, one broken pool ladder, ... Some extra hands in the staff would make all the difference and would easily turn this B&B into a real gem.

    Nice building in a remote and peaceful village. Splendid view of the national park of the Ason. Friendly and helpful owners and staff We had a really big room with a nice balcony. Nice breakfast. Dinner is just great! Creating some shade area around the swimming pool (tree, parasol) would make it even more enjoyable. Don't be afraid for the 3 huskies walking around: they are very well behaved.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    The place is lovely and the owner is the most energetic and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is lovely and the owner is the most energetic and pozitive man I met in a long time. He just wants the best for everybody and it shows in everything he does. You can have a very nice romantic dinner there and the food is just well made. It was a good experience. Refreshing.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Perfect Location for the beginning or end of your holiday as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect Location for the beginning or end of your holiday as in very easy reach of the UK Ferry from Santander and the Airport.l Do not make the mistake of staying only one night though as this wonderful place will hold you in its thrall. Gentle walks, or a swim in the pool or mountain watching you will love it whether you are a child, a young person bursting with energy or an old codger and I think a perfect place for a romantic weekend too. The proprietors will guide you to places to go and things to do (Don't miss the caves!!). And the food!! the food is gourmet quality for very little cost... I have visited three times and will return again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.8
    As soon as you walk in you are made to feel like an old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing - it was all just great.

    As soon as you walk in you are made to feel like an old friend. Not easy to find but comfort, food, ambience make it worthwhile. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    The views of the mountains, the sound of birdsong, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views of the mountains, the sound of birdsong, the lovely terrace. It was incredibly relaxing. We ate lunch and dinner during our stay, and it was good, home-cooked fare with local wines.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Everything buy especially grateful to the owner/chef for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything buy especially grateful to the owner/chef for getting up early to make me a terrific breakfast. I had to leave before the normal time for breakfast to get to the airport in Bilboa.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Nice location Good food good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location Good food good facilities

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly owner he gives you very helpfull tipps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owner he gives you very helpfull tipps

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful owners making the visit such a pleasure, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found it initially difficult to find, sat nav confused by village names?

    Wonderful owners making the visit such a pleasure, excellent food too

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Dog friendly and extremely helpful owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dog friendly and extremely helpful owner

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Location excellent, and made very welcome by host & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent, and made very welcome by host & staff

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly welcome. Large spacious room

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    The staff and location of the the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    disappointing to find the pool in poor condition

    The staff and location of the the hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location. Friendly. Very comfortable .an excellent meal

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.5
    If you're looking for somewhere that offers great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you're looking for somewhere that offers great mountain walks then this is perfect. The location is very remote and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic place though a little hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic place though a little hard to find

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Location is magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is magnificent. Staff are very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    The friendly staff really made our trip special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The friendly staff really made our trip special. Thanks !! Vicky

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.2
    The room was great with fine views on 2 sides.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was great with fine views on 2 sides. Very clean room. Food great.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Helpful pleasant owners .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful pleasant owners . Good food. Quite peaceful location

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Everything was excellent, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent, highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too hard for me but that is a personal opinion only.

    The hotel is in a beautiful town. Great location. Very quiet room. Excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.5
    In a very picturesque location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a very picturesque location

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel with views to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel with views to die for.Owners were very friendly and so helpful in suggesting places to see .Wish we had booked for longer

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    The food, room with seperate entrance and our hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    roadsigns

    The food, room with seperate entrance and our hosts. Special restaurant from glaswall, got the feeling of dining outside!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    10
    High quality experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    High quality experience

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: