Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4 stars

Postas, 17, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#110 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2145 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to sit other than a single cheap plastic chair in a room that was sold as deluxe. Mouldy shower. Bathroom door did not close. Poor and noisy plumbing from room above made it impossible to sleep.

    Terrible. No common areas. Horrid room. Student style accommodation but priced as 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby is too small ... it serves its purpose but it’s not inviting or fun to sit in ... other than that excellent location and very convenient

    Excellent locations land proximity to important sites .. all within walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location - great staff and very comfortable room with a nicely updated bathroom. It's an old building so rooms are not huge, but totally sufficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bain-marie was on the blink and so the British style big breakfast was cold the whole time we were there. However, there was a good continental buffet available.

    The beds were comfortable, there was a proper walk in shower, and enough space to move about with ease. The property could not be more central, within site and sound of the Plaza Mayor, and surrounded by great bars and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were pleased with the room we were allocated. However the Shower could do with some renovation - the grouting on the tiles around the shower tray needs to be replaced as it was black in some places. It gave the shower which had been well cleaned by the staff look as if it was dirty when it was not. It just did not look clean or attractive. Also some of the water flowed outside so that the floor of the shower room became very wet each time. It was a small detail. However the cost for the hotel to do this it would be very minimal and it would make a big difference to the quality of the accommodation as it let the room down somewhat badly.

    Excellent central location - we could walk everywhere or hop on the Metro around the corner at Sol Good big room with city view Big comfy bed with white cotton sheets Good Shower pressure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have to have total peace and quiet than this isn’t the hotel for you. The original room we stayed in on night one was not nice. If possible ask to see room first as our stay would not have been so enjoyable had we remained in this room .

    The location of this hotel is perfect as everything is within walking distance. Our stay was 4 nights - We did however end up changing from our original room on the first floor as the noise was just too much. This room was also in need of renovation. The room we were changed to on the 4th floor was perfect for us. Lovely bathroom, spacious, modern and quieter. The staff went out of there way to assist us with this change. Beds in both rooms were superbly comfortable. We had supreme room with balcony. We were really happy with our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely room with a cute Juliette balcony. Really comfy beds. I requested extra pillows on the booking form and they were waiting for us on arrival. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was rather disappointed in this hotel. Room was poorly designed--an opaque glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom?? You couldn't turn the bedside lamps off independently of each other? The interior of the room felt a bit cheap and dingy. But the price and the location are right.

    Price was very good, location very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right next to Plaza Mayor which is absolutely beautiful and has some fabulous eating joints. The small bylanes near the hotel lend its own charm to the place. You will find people taking photos of the hotel's facade. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a 5 pax room which was a bit small with only one bathroom which also did not have a closeable door which proved to be a bit of a challenge. However, just for the location and the friendly staff, I would recommend the hotel. We had a good one-night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was wrong

    Most beautiful hotel we've been in years. It's a great place to stay and it's actually next to Plaza Mayor. Very central. I loved the design and the stuff was so kind! Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't get the breakfast, but we recommend you go to the coffee shop at the next corner, La Mallorquiina, its excellent.

    Great Location, access to all public transportation within a short block. The best restaurants in downtown madrid are walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was good, unfortunately the room was pretty small

    Beautiful position right in the heart of Madrid. Very close to the underground and all shopping places. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was really good with lots of choices including home made juices. I found the room quite small, although the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel quality room at a very expensive price. No facility to make or get a cup of coffee/tea in the hotel as the only option for a cup of coffee is to buy the 15Euro breakfast. We left very early, no coffee shops were open and it was disappointing that we couldn’t even get a hot cup of tea. I am pretty sure they had a kettle in the kitchen but staff wasn’t in the least willing to accommodate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small Not, had to open window for comfort Well lit interior open space let a great deal of light into the room with the window open Interfered with sleeping

    Excellent breakfast Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As previous reviews, there was a smell in reception but we werent spending a lot of time there. Would have liked a kettle in the room just for that early morning coffee. There was one in reception but it wasn't missed that much.

    The location was fantastic, evrything we wanted to see was within walkimg distance. The Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not comfortable. Bathroom door wasn’t close. It was huge problem because bathroom is in the middle of room. It was really bad. I think this hotel trust its location. Other thinks such as rooms comfort and bad smells in hotel doesn’t important for them.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.staff welcoming and helpful.Breakfast just right.Just by Plaza Mayor,which is a pleasant place to sit and have a coffee/beer.Room pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic city break at this hotel. Great breakfast - really healthy options and good selection. Especially loved the Nespresso coffee machines. Location is excellent and we had a really comfortable family room for 5 of us with plenty of space. Was really quiet too - despite being so centrally located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a room with our kids in it and it was right up in the eves - adults couldn't stand up in the room when walking around the beds, there was only one small window set back in the eve, and the water in the bathroom really smelled very bad, making the whole bathroom and a little of the room smell awful as well. it was so bad it was kinda humorous.

    good breakfast for adults - not really great for kids. and the location couldn't be more central, which has advantages and disadvantages, but on the whole it's a positive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is rated as a 4 star hotel - but the facilities on offer and attention to detail throughout were nowhere near a 4 star hotel standard. The overpriced breakfast was bland and overly obsessed with being healthy, at the expense of any kind of pleasant taste and ingredients. If you like dry muesli and sour green juice, then you’ll love it. Peeling wallpaper in areas, no choice of double room or twin room (we had to ask for a different room, resultantly having to move to a smaller attic room to be able to have a double bed). The biggest disappointment was with regards to the hotels offer of free bicycles to cycle the city, which we were looking forward to doing - the hotel actually only has one bike on hand in the hotel (which is actually really just there for decoration) and would have to check with a sister hotel should you need any more - which for us at the time we asked they didn’t. However, even if they did, there was a deposit of €500 PER BIKE (so €1000 for the both of us) had we been able to take them. Now, I’m not sure who has that kind of money at hand to willingly offer up as deposit for two cranky old bikes, but I certainly wasn’t prepared to. Overall, I think the hotel is overpriced for the facilities it is able to offer. A good 3 star hotel, but certainly not a 4 - and overpriced at that.

    Location was good, and the reception staff were consistently friendly and helpful - as were the maids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tired and worn-out. The shower is an ancient and very tiny unit, which tries to combine a broken sun tan unit, within the shower itself. The furnishings are worn and damaged. The door locks are unreliable. The safe is very difficult to operate, and is not fully fixed down. A ragged hole has been smashed into the back of the wardrobe, to allow cables to pass through. The reception area has a strong and very bad smell of cleaning chemicals. The lighting scheme for our room relies on two large mirrors, positioned at height, to reflect light from the weak and poor fittings. The room is immediately above a large restaurant, and smells and noises from this are a real problem.

    Location is great for access to the areas around Plaza Mayor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No proper door between the room & the bathroom (great for intimacy), poor noise isolation between rooms & with the outside

    The location, the bed was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great varied breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff with 24hr reception. Comfy bed and good facilities. Right in the centre of Madrid close to Plaza Major so handy for walking and seeing sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet in our first room kept flushing and kept us awake at night. After the second night we were moved to a bigger room but had no tea or coffee facilities.

    Breakfast was excellent - superb. Loads of choice. Excellent location - 15 mins walk to the Palace and 15 mins walk to the Prado Museum. Go on the first Wednesday in the month to see the Changing of the Guard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit noisy, especially during the nights of rubbish collection in the streets below. A nasty smell in the foyer was present for the six day duration of our stay which prevented us from using the breakfast area downstairs.

    The location was perfect and from the outside the Hotel looks so beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer wasn’t great and no tea/coffee facilities in room although available in hotel foyer.

    The location was excellent, hotel had a boutique feel with decor and loved the shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great to have a family room with comfortable bunk beds and double bed. Bathroom and shower good, kettle. Lovely decoration and excellent breakfast. Fantastic location, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get a double bed room in a quiet location. Restaurant only provided breakfast

    Location was perfect for me in tbe old city witb pedestrian areas. Room a good size Lots of Restaurants and bars close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unpleasant smell that permeated throughout the hotel. Cleanliness could also be improved. Partially blocked drain in the bathroom basin. Room was very small.

    Breakfast was excellent in presentation and variety. Location was excellent and convenient. Hotel staff were very helpful. We had a very quiet (small) room overlooking an inner courtyard. The turbo shower was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom was huge!

    We didn't stop for food but when we wanted coffee the receptionist let us use the restaurant coffee machine for free!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not get the wifi to connect to my iPhone, but my tablet worked. The lobby smelled a bit dank. We did not eat breakfast there because it was expensive and there are good and cheaper options nearby. The shower had this super car wash assortment of hoses and a wand and a shower head but the vertical sprayers were installed too high and would spray me at head-height and I am not short.

    The room was spacious. The location was terrific, a stone's throw from Plaza Mayor. The room was well-equipped with a tea kettle, wardrobe, safe, bathroom. The staff is friendly and they try to be helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Glass doors to the WC

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful when asked to change the room. The breakfast was really great. And the location is simply exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is rather small, if space matters a lot for you, maybe you should check with the hotel before booking

    The friendly and very helpful staff in the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the mini bar should be free .

    The location is very convenient and the staffs are very friendly . I highly recommend this hotel for you if it’s the first time for you to visit Madrid

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waking up and falling out of bed at 3am thinking war had broken out with the loudest ever banging and crashing sounds ....only to find it was the rubbish truck. They cannot make a receipt for a business that is not based in the EU!!!?? How backwards is that?

    Location and excellent hot shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough staff in the evening, the receiptionist is alone and if he/she has to in room, then the hotel is closed and you have no clue whenever you will be able to get in and check in. Minimum staff should be 2.

    Situation, look, kindness of personnel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we knew we booked a small room, we thought it could have been organised differently to make it more comfy: e.g. there's a lot of unused space in the bathroom that could be given back to the room to make it bigger. The window was small and faces a dark area, a pity considering the nice natural light of Madrid.

    We enjoyed very much the great quality and variety of the breakfast. And we found the staff very nice and helpful. Location is great and, even though the area is lively, there was no noise at night. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is just amazing: steps from Plaza Mayor, in a lovely little pedestrian street. I loved the breakfast selection. Staff was very helpful in keeping our luggage, calling us taxis and so on. Very comfortable bed (we were staying in a triple and a quadruple and even the staple bed was comfortable enough for adults). Spacious shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't at all comfortable. The restaurant was only open for breakfast and I wasn't impressed with the breakfast either.

    Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was very small and unconfortable, no where to sit only a small chair. The hotel lobby an d hallways had an awful smell.

    I liked the location, nothing else

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a funny smell upon entering the hotel....like bad drainage.

    We were welcomed and checked in very well. The staff from the front desk to the housekeeping were very nice. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The room was smaller than i expected, but it was clean and suitable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great but in pedestrian area - taxis may reach it only early in the morning and we had to walk out with luggage and kids to street away from the hotel to fetch a taxi as we checked out at midday.

    Awesome hotel for family. Large spacious room with space to hang out. Balcony facing Plaza Mayor! Very, very comfortable. We are returning guests and we were given same room!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe more hot food in breakfast room but nothing really to complain about.

    Hotel is right in the centre near Plaza mayor so place is buzzing all the time - super! Hotel room was excellent - clean and warm with brilliant shower. Breakfast staff were attentive especially lady by surname of Angeles... (didn't get her first name...) Staff allowed us to store our bags for two hours after checking out to allow for our late flight..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was unfortunately a pervasive smell outside the room and around the staircase that was impossible to ignore. The room itself was for four people but it was very squeezy, made up of three rooms - a bathroom and two small bedrooms. The second 'bedroom' contained a bunk bed, a small desk and one chair but nowhere else to sit so we had to sit on the ground to watch the television.

    The location is fantastic, and that is the best thing about the property. The beds were also very comfy. The breakfast was pretty good and good value at 11 euros each.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel has a very bad smell. Yes, it stinks like a sewer! That is the only reason why I will not choose it again. The staff tries to hide bad odour with incenses but that is just adding a new flavour to the stench.

    The place is very nice and the location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is clean and good, they need to update it a little bit. I understand that maybe because of the location renovations are not as easy it could use a little love to maximize the experience

    Location is excellent all mayor tourist attractions are at walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only observation and this IS NOT a complaint is the lack of English speaking channels on the TV, no bar as advertised and the lack of coffee making facilities in the room

    The food was excellent the staff in the dining room were friendly and very helpful especially Mcangela as were the reception staff who went out of their way to assist us. The location of the hotel could not have been better being in the heart of the old city and near to all the best attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in need of a little care a bit run down, joints were black in shower. And really bad smell on ground floor and basement which I had difficulty dealing with.

    The location is really central so very practical. The staff were nice. Bed comfortable. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Due to flight delays I arrived very late (midnight) I was assured someone would be there to greet me and get me checked in which put my mind at ease even before I arrived. The room was gorgeous and the beds so comfortable!! I had little balconies that opened upto the street below and you could see all the activity in the area. The breakfast buffet is like nothing I have seen before at that price, beautiful array of items both typical and unique with wonderful healthy options as well. Everyone I encountered was happy, courteous and so eager to help. I will definitely go back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby has a distinct odour, which they tried to subdue with air freshener. The breakfast room down stairs, has no windows, so you don't get natural light at all. Our room had a small ventilator type of a window with no view. Room was extremely small, if you had to get up in the night, you would surely bump into the TV or a table.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was too cramped with how it was furnished. Only one chair in room and it was a desk chair. The two twin beds pushed together to make a king size bed was too large for the room and was located too close to the wall which made it difficult to get in and out of. Also the placement of the bed made it impossible to appreciate the view from the window unless you were sitting on the edge of the bed. There was black mold in the grout joints in the shower.

    It was a corner room with three large windows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a smell at reception at times, like sewage, probably coming from the bathrooms. This wasn't a huge issue as we didn't spend much time at reception.

    The location of the hotel was ideal- right beside Plaza Mayor. The staff provided us with an early check in at no extra charge and a later check out which cost €10 per hour, very reasonable. The room we stayed in was on the 5th floor and was the best nights sleep I've ever had in a capital city. The room was always clean and staff were very helpful. I would stay here again, or in any Petit Palace hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great. The only thing I didn't like was the smell of moisture (because it is a very old building) at some parts of the hotel (breakfast area especially).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for my business trip, close to all central amenities in Puerta del Sol, great staff, always smiling and helpful, great room (this time around with small Balcony overlooking the street). Confortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much of a view from my room 202, but not every room can have a view i guess and because it wasn't street facing it was very quiet.

    It is a nice hotel. It is comfortable, easy to get to from main train station either walking by taxi or Metro, nearest metro is Sol. It is in a great area for tourist. The room I stayed was great comfortable, good bathroom. The staff at the hotel are fantastic always ready to help if they can.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower configuration got lots of water on the floor.

    Great staff. Nice breakfast buffet downstairs. Excellent location for all tourist activities, and easy walk to Metro and buses. Very comfortable double room - outlooks are mostly into narrow streets, fun for watching crowds below.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room leaked some and the sink drained poorly (wasn’t clogged just a bad design choice)

    Was in a great location close to everything. Room was spacious and good breakfast options. Original staircase was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem is with the toilet seat which is detached from the toilet so it is a bit tricky when using.

    The staff are very friendly and the food and service in the basement restaurant are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Getaway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ‘Bathroom’ was a glass box inside room with no privacy but the worst was a mouldy shower - this is disgusting and decent housekeeping/maintenance would avoid this.

    Perfect location, good staff, brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Packed was a sandwich of white bread - very thin slice of cheese and ham

    Excellent breakfast but don’t ask for packed breakfast. Not appetising - rather leave after breakfast if possible ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't put guests in rooms where the ceiling is so low you can't stand up.

    Staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Ended up in a great room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. In the heart of old Madrid, but quiet at night. Highly recommend. And already have. The premises are secure which means people get buzzed in if they do not have a card. Staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little .. however the lighting switches could be better designed to give independent lighting to both sides of the bed. Also the instructions for the excellent shower were deficient.

    The breakfast was excellent and very well presented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service was more caring than its sister hotel, Petit Palace Opera where we stayed from Sept 20-21(via booking.com). Petit Palace Opera was undergoing renovation, dusty, smelled profusely of paint and when we arrived, we complained and staff was non-apologetic and uncaring. We also called the hotel directly when we saw on trip advisor that a guest complained of the renovation in July and was assured that work will be completed and if there were any other work, we would be placed in a floor that has been completed. This was not the case. The front office staff did not seem to care at all and offered no solution. Hence, for our future stay in Madrid, we transferred all our bookings to Petit Palace Posada del Peine for the duration of Sept 24-27 (booked direct with the hotel), Sept 28-30(via booking.com). Our experience at Petit Palace Posada del Peine was far more superior. They were able to help us very early in the morning to get a private bus for our tour outside of Madrid for the same day. Staff efforts to make our stay most pleasant and comfortable were commendable. Thank you to Patricia, Daniel, Alexandra and Fernando!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey but great location some street noise but that’s to be expected

    Good location, nice breakfast (but not free) friendly staff comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missed the natural orange juice. shower could be cleaner. bathroom sink did not drain properly.

    great location, could not be better...... renovation was very tastily done. staff very helpful and nice. rooms are big enough as well as bath. street noise was not heard. bath toiletries provided were wonderful!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better and the WiFi speed.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. There are tons of places to eat and shop right outside the hotel and alot of things to do around there. Hotel was good, the room size were decent, but the place thing about this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff including the manager need extensive customer service training. Extremely rude, unprofessional and impossible to work with. Never again will I stay at this location!

    Halfway decent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small, pictures on bookings.com looked different to what the room actually looked like. Rooms seemed to be slightly worn out.

    It's location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic hotel building that has been updated with a modern room decor. Rooms are of very nice size and with good soundproofing. Located in the heart of historic Madrid, only 50 yards from Plaza Mayor and 150 yard from Plaza Sol on a nice pedestrian street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of the facilities in the room very tired looking worn in some places and although it had been modernised not much worked properly. Sink did not drain properly toilet flush was loose safe worked in a fashion needs abit of TLC

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean boutique hotel. It is centrally located not far from P. del Sol. We arrived after midnight from the airport with the express bus and we could walk from the bottom of the road (Cibeles) to the hotel as it was busy with lots of people around. As much as the area is busy it is not noisy at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really, only small point id make is the best was a little bit hard but nothing major.

    The extra touch they left in our room knowing it was our first year being engaged. Bottle of fizz and chocs, lovely touch. So friendly and will be going back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to get a larger room with the four beds as there seemed to be photos showing larger rooms. My brother didn't like the frosted bathroom door, especially with the side crack opening - could see through a little to the toilet when door closed.

    Location was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room was roomy. The staff friendly and helpful. The location right in centre of the action but still quiet and lovely. All in all a lovely stay of good value. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petit Palace Posada del Peine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: