Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petit Palace Cliper-Gran Vía 3 stars

Chinchilla, 6, esquina Gran Vía, 29, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#250 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1987 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our children didn't have a cover on their beds. We had to ask for covers. The room wasn't cleaned well every day. In the corridors, there was a nasty smell of drainage. The last day, owing to works in the nearby area, the taxi arrived late. The lady at the reception wanted us to leave the hotel and wait outside on the pavement, children and luggages included.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is great ,but the smelling of my room was not...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The location is great ,but the smelling of my room was not good,close to cafe resturant ,3min walk to the Flamengo show, close to Zara ,Primak store

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an unpleasant experience.. We had a big group and there was an issue with the check in info that was my fault. Instead of being helpful and fixing the problem graciously I was yelled at and patronized and members of my group lost precious hours in Madrid (we were only there for one night) because the receptionist wanted to spite me. Group tours are stressful enough without this kind of hostility from hotel receptionists.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location close to metro station, major squares and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i could complain about.

    Excellent location close to metro station, major squares and shopping areas. Reception staff were very helpful. The room's size was good and every day was cleaned and stocked like it was our first day at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    The location was excellent, in the Main Street of Gran Via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnitures were old, rooms could Have been cleaner and loud noise from nearby restaurants and bars is definitely not good for those wanting peaceful sleep.

    The location was excellent, in the Main Street of Gran Via right opposite to Real Madrid Official Store. It is easy place to stay, very close to all museum & sites, close to shopping centers etc. However, the hotel could have been a bit Moore clean as their furnitures are old and hardly anything new except for your bedsheets and towels. At night, you get a lot of noise of crowd since this area is full of bars and restaurants. The staff on the other hand were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and the room was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my purse stolen on the stairs going up to the 1st floor in the hotel. The receptionist alllowed two thieves to enter the building without checking who they were. They took my purse and ran off. It was very distressing but the receptionist was very apologetic and helped me cancel my cards. She gave us a free breakfast. Afterwards we saw lots of undesirable people hanging round outside the hotel and there was a lap dancing club almost opposite the hotel. I would not stay st the hotel again but the hotel room was great and the staff were friendly

    The staff were very friendly and the room was good value. The breakfast was great. The hotel let us park outside because we could not park in the Car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, healthy and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location and really good breakfast that had something for everyone, good quality, healthy and tempting choices. Air conditioning was able to keep up with the extreme hot temperature of the days I stayed there. Staff was attentive and nice. I would come back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just felt that the place was a little run down compared to the photos on the web. The room was very cramped for a family of 4. We had stayed in another Petite Hotel around the corner the week before that had a much better sized room.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Lication, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood one block over to the left was a little dicey

    I loved that it was near a small gb express, near the metro (which we never used, as everything was so close), the high Street on a parallel street, but a smaller more manageable section as Place de Sol is all too very much. A few blocks away (Banco de Espana and Paseo de Prado), there is the express bus to/from the airport. There is even a pilates studio on the same block and wonderful pasteries and Sundays shops around the corner. The rooms itself, was a throw back to my youth. Our room, with the cutest balconies, was spacious and lovelying recreated to a 1970s style and well though out with the bathrooms. Maps and info were provided. But the best part was the concierges, who fanagled a car service during the (taxi) strike and prepakage breakfast, as we had to leave so early. Thank you very much! Fantastic service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon check-in staff and front desk manager not friendly. Toilets not working properly at the rooms provided. Rooms quite small, comfortably fits 2 people at most.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location in the middle of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the property is excellent and the cleanliness, staff were good as well; however, the room we had was very small, the bathroom shower was not working properly and sink was clogged.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok if you don´t get the last floor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - On the first night, they gave us a very small room in the last floor, with a strange balcony and a HORRIBLE SMELL - Noisy: there are public works undergoing at present in Madrid

    - I asked them to change the room and on the following night they gave us a full renovated one, with more space and was clean and comfortable. - Excellent staff - Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing it’s not 4 star hotel it’s even not hostel level it’s some thing horrible spiderweb and Cockroaches everywhere , moulds on the wall and ceiling which is dangerous for health door knob is almost broken as you can see in the photos we couldn’t sleep until morning then we just run away from this creepy place and found another hotel in same area closer to grab via and hotel level and much cheaper ( hotel régente). Booking should take guests reviews in consideration when show hotels on booking sites. In my next trips I will consider other sites than booking to make sure from the hotel level and cleanness.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The location and ease of access to the city is unmatched.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and ease of access to the city is unmatched. The breakfast served each morning was delicious with lots to choose from for each dietary needs one may require.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    I will recommend it for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is small, the workers couldnt leave reception in order to give us things to our room.

    Best and surprising breakfast, fresh juices every day, cappuccino all day long, variaty of healthy food, very close to primark, zara, mango and all others, near a great casino and best restaurants. Very recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Loved the trip and the city, a good reasonably priced hotel for a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was slightly dodgy; knobs coming off shower, sliding wardrobe doors as presumably not level and safe didn't work, but nothing major.

    Breakfast was good value, really enjoyed, bed was comfy and location was excellent for exploring Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent. We had lots of restaurants near. Only some metres from La Gran Via.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was fine.

    I can´t remember the names of the people attending but they were all excellent and friendly. Always ready to help and with an excellent attitude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very noisy building site in the next building, the staff was nice to change our room. The first room was very small, the hairdryer didn't work well

    Great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent! They have a wide array of choices for breakfast, too bad I was too full to try it all :) Overall, it was a good way to start our journey in Spain. We'll definitely pick this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Meals were nice, localisation was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The desk manager was not trying to help me with my request although it was so important to me. Big dissapointment and lack of empathy. Definitelly don't come back there next time in Madrid.

    Meals were nice, localisation was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not so clean and they changed our room since in the 1st room we didn’t have wifi. The 2nd room was directly on the road so we couldn’t open the window

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Avarage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not control roon heat. Tiny room not suitable for long stay. Noisy from inside and outside. Felt like day use.

    Location was great. Clean and tidy. good breakfest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Noisy rooms and paper thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms and paper thin walls. Neighbours making late night calls on loud speaker at past mid night. Dated and shower leaked. Needs refurbishment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    We had a wonderful time. Madrid is beautiful and the people are very hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like that we paid for the room prior to seeing it.

    The breakfast was very good with a wide variety. The staff was helpful. We had a problem, but they found a solution, which included changing rooms. The rooms/hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Very close to Gran Via - on a less busy street .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was ok - picture looked better than it was - but room was clean and staff were good.

    Very close to Gran Via - on a less busy street . Ask for high floor room. Lots of restaurants and shopping in area - very touristy though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was fine, in a very good location, walking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was quite slow and always disconnected. The walls were quite thin, lots of noise during the night :( Some plugs were only working when lamp was on, strange.

    The hotel was fine, in a very good location, walking distance from all tourist places. The breakfast was very nice, many variety of food, warm and cold also. Packed picknick bag was also very nice when leaving before breakfast, thanks :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel adiministration when we check in they no inform us that we need to pay for mini bar if we use. And after when we check out they charge 45 euro!!! And we use per all our stay couple bottles of coke. We pay big money for all stay so we especting that at least staff will be friendly but administration was rude speaking, she even dont say goodbye when we left don’t ask about our stay. Bad, bad experience! Never back any more in this place.

    Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Location, in the heart of Grand via shopping center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight tight rooms

    Location, in the heart of Grand via shopping center Easy access to the street, cars can go through the street so easy Halal food infront of the hotel Staff are really helpful to book for flamingo show

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Location is 100/10
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight rooms

    Location is 100/10 Receptionists are really friendly Available all the time Outside door is open only with the room access which make the hotel safe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant, convenient, but limited in confort, with excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was tight and old. Some US channels could not be seen, such as CNBC, could not be seen for longer than 2 minutes since the channel was received with constant breaks in the receipt of of the signal. It could not be tolerated!

    The place is convenient but the space was limited and old. The breakfast was the best part of the deal!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    City break in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly Staff, a very good breakfast with plenty of healthy food, excellent location for city break - you do not need to use metro or any public transport to visit all touristic attractions or do shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    An easy choice to make when in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thickness of the doors or insulation, I could hear guests in the hallway and adjoining rooms.

    The staff are amazing, I erroneously booked a room for four (had a 4yr old) when it should have been 5. Trinidad booked us on the other Petit Palace which was just across the Gran Via. I regretted booking AirBnb for the rest of the trip when I could have just stayed in their hotels. The front office staff in Triball even gave treats to my 4yr old which she completely adored. Even it was a transient stay they made it feel like I was a long staying guest. This is a good room to book in Madrid since you will be out most of the day through the night...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Fair place, central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a bit in a rush with the check out hour, but well, I guess it is normal if they are busy. Therefore, it is recomended to plan late check out, in advance

    Very good location, right in the heart of the city. Surrounded by good roof tops and close to several good restaurants. The hotel itself is a small venue, pretty basic but and you get what you see in the profile. It's a fair place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    TO BE AVOIDED ! ! ! Don't be fooled by the pretty pictures or score!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotels in Madrid! Thin walls, you could hear every conversation from your neighbours. Listening to children crying was delightful especially during the night when you were trying to get some sleep after a full day walk in Madrid. The smell of sewege in the bathroom was unbearable and the sink couldn't drain the water properly. Furniture was old and looked like it went through some floods (probably because of the sink - maybe some customers forgot the water on and left the room). Internet connection was realy crappy. In 2017 they still use ADSL with browser login and no security over WiFi!!!! In front of the hotel entrance there were 2 dumpsters filled with garbage from the near building which was under restoration. Also some work in progress in the lower floors of the hotel. Having an afternoon nap was out of the question. Don't know why it has such a high score on Booking...

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    3.8
    It was central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We planned to stay for 3 nights but we arrived on Sunday evening, the room was very warm so opened window for air but very noisy got to sleep around 5am then we were woken up by building work within the hotel at 8.15 we were not warned about this at the time of booking 😡 also building work going on across the street very very noisy and ruined our enjoyment of staying in Madrid for our break so much so that we left a day early we couldn’t stand another day of drilling and banging just awful! They reimbursed us for the last night but we were leaving,I want to be reimbursed for the Monday evening but they won’t I am still lodging a complaint with booking.com ongoing!!!

    It was central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value, great location and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the window was a brick wall, but didn't spend much time in the room so no real issue.

    Great location, near the sites and public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    I like Madrid,glad it was only one night in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed the hotel is situated in side street which looked-is run down. Building work taking place next door,dirty,dusty and short walk away a red light area. As for room located top floor split over two levels very worn faded blue stair carpet. Peeling cracked plaster around windows of which only two could open with view of sky. Surprised to find four single beds and one double bed. Room advertised with room safe,but could not find it (must be very well hidden). Staff pleasant,friendly. They did mention hotel was about to undergo full refurbishment,it needs it.

    Hotel in central area. Places of interest for me were near. Metro is near.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wow wow wow! The hotel is on the center of madrid , few meters from the primark&gran via metro . Best location ! The breakfast was very very tasty . The room is small but very comfort. The bed is the comfortest bed i ever sleep on. The staff was very Nice friendly proffesional and courteous. The wifi is very fast. The room was cleaned every day very well . Thanks a lot Petit Palace Cliper we enjoyed our trip thanks to you !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    There is only one possitive element - location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not pay for that standard! When you compare the price with such a low standard you better stay at home or find different hotel. It is question of respect! More than 700€ for the weekend in max 2* level is too much!!! Dear owners! Hotel needs to be refreshed! Rooms are dirty Walls are dirty Elevator stinks Lobby looks like a low standard hostel not hotel Please try to respect your guest!

    There is only one possitive element - location! It is so close to Gran Via that you want miss all atractions for sure!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent ( Miriam and Jose), 3 metro within 5 minutes walk. The downside is the housekeeping who did not change our towels and room is too small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Helpful, friendly staff in a great location with large clean rooms. What more can you ask for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great dinner recommendation close by. Assisted with confirming our tour and calling a taxi. Great customer service. Large family rooms. Close to Gran Vía and Puerta de Sol.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and bathroom, weak internet connection, inappropriate shower

    Various and tasty breakfast, warm welcoming at the reception with the helpful staff, Location at the center, very close to the metro station but street which it is located very dirty with the bad smell of trash

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    A well placed hotel for visiting the major central attractions. Superb breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture was shaby. Wardrobe doors didn't stay shut and the seal on the shower doors was torn.

    Comfortable bed. Lovely complimentary toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, airco was working perfectly in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, airco was working perfectly in the room. We loved the breakfast! Very nice desserts, chicken, bread, fresh fruits.. We really loved Madrid and the hotel! Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location with everything within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door was see through. When traveling with family it is very uncomfortable to use the bathroom when your parents bed is right across the see through door. We were given bunk beds, they were uncomfortable for adults. Beware the metallic steps to use for the upper bed. It gives you splinters. Bring your tweezers.

    Our room had a balcony. Their shampoo and gels were awesome. The hotel has a elevator to get to their reception desk if you can't use the stairs. The hotel is in the middle of downtown. It is within walking distance from the Metro stop called Callao. There is a mall across the street. There are lots of restaurants and cafes to enjoy within walking distance. The theater district is within reach of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be refurbished but everything was functional. The glass door of the shower was slightly broken. Also the internet was not so strong at times which prevented me from watching movies on my ipad.

    The location is perfect and the staff friendly and service with a smile. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.0
    Not great, not great at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff continuously misinformed guests of costs and miscommunicated when making reservations. Some of the staff was also extremly rude and patronizing. Overall, the staff was unwelcoming. The hotel rooms are cramped, if you have more than three people in your party, do not stay here. The smell from the sewers is also horrible and spreads throughout the hotel. There are dumpsters right outside the enterance too. There are other hotels in the Petit Palace network, that are better and are just as close to the same locations in the area. The one at Gran Via seems more like an afterthought addition for the overflow.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location, right in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was a double, but we were given a small double. The shower unit was rickety but did the job. Tiny bed.

    Great location, right in the heart of the city. Big bathroom, and balcony was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Small room with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double room with a view into an interior area. Not great, particularly given the price of the room.

    A good.central location and friendly staff. The breakfast was quite ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Good location and tiny place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is aay too small for 2 persons. The toilet is quite dirty. The central air conditioning stinks of ciggarette. Hotel room photos are overrated.

    Good location. The staffs are excellent to help you with miscellaneous. .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    the location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no good isolation between the rooms the internet connection in the room didn't function

    the location is great the staff was very kind, especially Miriam who was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, will repeat it again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room space it's too small, but we were expecting this The room service is not available after 1 pm, so we had to stay for 3 days without having our room cleaned, because we were leaving the room afternoon

    The staff were great, very helpful, we had a problem with safety box, they fixed it. The room has no iron or kettle, but it's available at the reception for no extra costs Arrived at 11 am, and thankfully we were able to have an early check-in, because the last thing you would wish is to wait for another 2 hours after a 12-hour flight, especially if you have 2 little kids with you The location is amazing, walking distance to all the places in the city center, you have shopping malls, supermarkets, pharmacy, restaurants, all close to you The bathroom is modern and clean Did not try the breakfast though

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin... but not a big issue..

    In the heart of city.. 60 yards from Gran Via.. loads of great bars and restaurants.. perfect ..recommend for a city break of if your attending football games?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Location for great access to all Madrid has on offer so book this hotel now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small hot tired decor room but great shower and again small room. to use toilet with door closed with a feat of getting in and out. Bear in mind the room you may be given and make that call whether important or not. Short stay so not an issue but longer stay would of moved room but hope not hotel. Staff overrode all issues as so nice and friendly.

    First and foremost the staff so friendly and always went the extra mile with a smile. The Room was tired and small and not as expected but fine for a short stay. Breakfast was great if you got there before the last hour as this was poor. Please if you state breakfast till eleven before ten dont start packing away and leave empty trays empty. Makes guests feel unwelcome and a nuisance as you know the staff want to pack up. Boiled eggs one lot all running as clearly not boiled long enough but chose the right time and should be fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    first choic for a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom - little space for toilet bags etc. shower, etc. perfect

    We prefere to eat at non your -istic cafes/restaurantes. found exact what we enjoy a walking distance away. Not telling you where!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room and bed size - both were too small.

    Friendly, very helpful staff. Perfect location, only a short stroll from main attractions, good restaurants and shopping areas.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, staff excellent, and fabulous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was a little poor. There is no window in the bathroom, and the hitting was broken. The room was excessively warm.

    The breakfast was excellent, fabulous, even if there is something missing the staff takes for you. A lot of different types of bread.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great Value for Money, Excellent Staff and Great Location. Highly Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My stay was too short

    I love how personalized the service is. I have not complaint on anything. If I knew more about the streets I will drive the bike they give you!. They also gave me compliment gift on Womens Day

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Very pet-friendly hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were pretty thin, you could hear other rooms conversations and tv programs.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had booked a stay with our two dogs, and when we arrived, discovered that they had provided complimentary dog food, dog beds, and bowls. This is a wonderful hotel to stay with your pets!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location for site seeing in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for site seeing in Madrid The room was small but had everything I needed for a short City break The staff were very helpful .On my arrival I was provided with a map and information about nearby sites .I was also given info about a free walking tour . Great breakfast with wide selection of hot and cold food Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.4
    Staff good only good point
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very deceptive pictures on website didn't mind paying that little bit extra going by pictures.the place was little more than a Travelodge,very disappointed won't stay again ever

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.8
    Ok for city centre stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap was broken in room 306. Water came out but while unit was loose and temporarily held in place by cardboard. Photos on website make rooms look much bigger than they are.

    Location just off Gran Via so central for everything. Shower while a little old, was powerful and hot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    Why offer double bed and give 2 singles?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com gave me an option of 2 single beds or a double bed, when we arrived our room had 2 single beds and nothing else was available. They did show us another room but was tiny and no view.quite dissapointed as was a Xmas present for someone so it was quite disappointing

    Staff were amazingly friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV offer, not many english channels and the one that excists is News. However not so importent.

    The all over value for money at the booking.com price. Breakfast is excellent, have all you need. Big bed, overall a Nice place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.3
    I will never choose any Petit Palace hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location is bad; The hotel give me the room next to the Hotel main gate, yes , I stay by side of the Hotel main doorway, 2 meter from reception table!!! No window in the room. The air conditioner can't modify temperature; the bathroom gate suddenly be locked inside and can't open. The glass door in bathroom too old to closed seal; water all on floor; I will never choose any Petit Palace hotel. Never !!!

    breakfast is very good and delicious; like coffee , strawberry with fresh milk. And breakfast service staff is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The safe was a little bit too complicated, I couldn't get it to work (instead of choosing a couple of digits as usual, you need to code one of your magnetic stripe cards, ie. credit card).

    A good hotel with friendly & very helpful staff, especially the Polish-speaking receptionist. Good location (3 minute walk from either Callao or Gran Via metro stations). The room was what was shown in the photos, pretty basic but comfortable. It's possible to borrow an iPad with data plan and use it around the city - very convenient if you travel lightweight or don't want to pay data roaming charges.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is in the heart of Madrid !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes wifi was very slow. The rooms seems isolated well, but sometimes the noise from closer rooms was annoying. The door of the shower was broken, so every time I took shower, the bathroom was all wet and a bit dangerous because became slippery (room 206).

    The hotel is in the heart of Madrid ! Breakfast very complete, both sweet and savoury.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no mirror in the bedroom, only in the bathroom and bed could have been a little bigger (We got a small room)

    Everything nice and clean, bed comfy, good WiFi, great staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    3.3
    Picture were different to actual bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures should reflect what you will get.

    Bedroom was extra small in comparison with pictures. Bedroom was smelly. There was raining, and water came into the bedroom, room service solution was to put a towel on the floor.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast was pretty good, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person working there, at our arrival was not very nice, not rude, but acted annoyed at every comment we made. The lift was not working, the room was ok, the bath very small

    The breakfast was pretty good, excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice place, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is really good, a couple of minutes away from the metro. But Google maps took me to the wrong place when I first tried to get there. I guess the Hotel is easy to miss since it is located on one of those small streets with little illumination, unfortunately there were some big trash containers close to the entrance and there was some graffiti on them, so we did not even look at the building the first time we walked by it. When we got to the end of the street we realized that the navigator took us a little too far (Google maps needs to fix this, the Hotel is NOT on the corner of calle Chinchilla), we started walking back hoping to find it, then payed extra attention and this time we noticed the small label on the glass door, the sign on the street said HIGH TECH CLIPPER, which I guess we missed the first time.

    The breakfast buffet was very good, with plenty of options, definitely worth the money. The staff was nice and attentive. Our experience was really good once we found the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Great Location. Very Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building made out of paper. You can hear every noise of the surrounding rooms. Shower didnt work. A lot of noise Asked and payed for a kingsize bed and got two twin beds

    Spectacular location. Great staff Excelent beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell at the room

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was super convenient, as it was right there at the beginning of las ramblas, 2 min walking distance from the metro station...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    The bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. Corridor carpets.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petit Palace Cliper-Gran Vía traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: