Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Principe Pio 3 stars

Cuesta de San Vicente, 14, Madrid City Centre, 28008 Madrid, Spain

#146 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3415 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Historical hotel in the heart of the city!!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV location. It’s fixed to the wall, which is fine, but you cannot watch TV from the bed comfortably.

    Style, classic and historical hotel. Very comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    The localisation of the hotel is really nice - close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pretty old - you could see scratches on the wall as if the room was demolished. The walls are very thin - I could hear every word from the other room and the guests woke me up few times. The room was not superclean.

    The localisation of the hotel is really nice - close to different metro stations, close to the Gardens and Palacio Royal. The bed was really wide and comfy. There was bottled water in the room and basic sanitary things in bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Perfect business location, comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Interior of hotel is lovely and looks like royal palace, rooms are extremely comfortable, A/C is very efficient, localisation very close to Principie Pio hub. Great WiFi connection

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Nice and friendly staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things that don’t matter enough to mention ! :)

    Nice and friendly staff ! Clean and we also enjoyed a beautiful view to the royal palace from m the hotel room !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location & Clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location & Clean . Beds weren’t the comfiest and AC units did not cool off great. Rooms are outdated but bathrooms are better than actual bedroom . Great value for location. We knew we weren’t going to stay in and would be exploring all day so it was perfect for that, the bathrooms were nice and clean just wish the beds were comfier and AC cooler

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and very good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nicer if the breakfast room was located on a higher floor with a window.

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in an excellent location with a fabulous breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is quite old and a little tired, although they were undertaking refurbishments during my stay so it is obviously undergoing improvements. The room facilities were fine but the room was a little hot and dark. I had requested a double bed but had twin beds - as I was staying on my own I decided not to make a fuss about this but it would've been nice to have the type of room I had ordered.

    The location of this hotel is excellent - directly opposite the Palacio Real and just five minutes' walk to Gran Vía. It was very easy to get to by Metro, a few minutes' walk from a couple of stations, and just five minutes' walk from a city tour bus stop. The buffet breakfast was great with loads of choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a suggestion, would have been great if we could have a tea maker.

    Everything was perfect location, staff everything. Mr. Beltran at the reception was very helpful in cancellation of our room. Breakfast was very satisfying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Good base for city break to Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a very busy road so apart from a couple of hours in the middle of the night was very noisy.

    Room good for one person. Bathroom facilities and toiletries very good. Breakfast at sensible times and excellent range of food. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Lovely hotel with character. Very efficient and friendly, professional staff. Very clean. We had booked a room for three adults and we got just that: three proper beds, three lots of toiletries and space for three people. Other hotels please take note! The breakfast was superb and there is a coffee, tea, water machine in the lounge area for 24 hour use. Bottles of water in the room each day was a nice touch. The location was perfect and the centre of Madrid was a pleasant, short walk away. Lots of space in the bathroom, good shower, everywhere clean. Efficient air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Very helpful staff. Near Royal Palace and other places of interest. Superb breakfast. Plenty of everything. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked enough pillows for two each. I had to fold mine in half.

    Loved having a fridge and a bath. Our room, although at the back and therefore having an unattractive view, was exceptionally quiet. This led to excellent sleep, which is a lot more important than a pretty view that you might only gaze at a handful of times. The staff were pleasant too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We switched rooms 3 times. The air conditioning was broken in every room. My phone app said the room was 37c I didn’t sleep. 3 nights in an oven. Staff said they would try to get us a discount for all of our trouble. We left paying full price for 2 rooms. We are a family of 5 so 3 days times 2 rooms. So... value for the money?? No!!

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Palacious Principe Pio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers are not really catered for as there is no designated shelter/area. As the weather was dry & warm, my fiance was able to enjoy a coffee & cigarette on a public bench some 50 feet or so from the hotel foyer, but the experience would be miserable in adverse conditions.

    Tastefully decorated hotel with beautiful antiquities throughout. Our bedroom was spacious & luxurious & afforded a nice view of the palace, especially by night when it was lit up. Fabulous location. Free tea/coffee/ice cold water & nibbles (pastries & apples) in the lounge a welcome touch. Reception staff professional & friendly with excellent English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A stunning view of the palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a perfect location close to the Royal Palace and a short walk to good restaurants. The hotel was very clean and the room was comfortable although slightly small. The bathroom was very good also. The staff were friendly and very helpful and made checking in and out very easy. We did not sample the breakfast as unfortunately we had an early flight, but all in all a very good hotel and would definately recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    A good value place with the convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is too small, but that’s traditional European style

    A good value place with the convenient location. Some of the staff are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in an older style but with enough monderization to be comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny elevators, a bit far from many sites other than the royal palace, but still walkable to much of the city center if you have the time and energy.

    Staff were very professional and left us to ourselves but were always available to help. Upon check-in, we were given a room on the high floor with a view of the Palacio Real. We had not requested this type of room, but when I asked if we would have a view of the palace, the staff member upgraded us with no extra charge. Room was large and comfortable, if a bit outdated. Bed was very good and bathroom was modern and well appointed. Excellent coffee machine in lobby operating 24-7. Taxis and Uber readily available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel - bit dated, but very clean and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little dated and could do with being spruced up a bit - the hallways in particular (although clean) did look quite tired.

    The bed was comfortable and room was extremely clean. The location is also very good (near to the palace and some good bars and restaurants). Seemed fairly reasonable value for money given that Madrid is expensive. The staff were all lovely as well - extremely helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Dirty, noisy, better described as a poor hostel, not a hotel ! Dont't go !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very dirty hotel, smells awfull, they use a spray to cover the awfull smell. Rooms are small and you can hear your neighbours , so good bye sleep !

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not cleaned every day and the products provided were meant for one person and we were 2

    Very good location. Very confortable room with great view on the Royal Palace. The bed was perfect. There was a safe which is mandatory when traveling abroad. The Staff was very friendly. I cannot say anything about the breakfast as we decided to have outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    For me my stay was perfect, the location, the room, the service and their customer care were
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a frequent visitor to Madrid, usually staying with friends, this hotel was ideally situated for me as it was five minutes from them, this also means that it is in Palacio and within walking distance of a number of places of interest and with easy access to public transport either bus, or train - Metro and Renfe at Principé Pío. The staff were courteous, very friendly and extremely helpful, an ironing board & iron arriving at the room in less than five minutes from request! I managed to leave my key card in our room twice, spares issued efficiently and with a smile. Our room at the back overlooked the courtyard, which was both interesting and very quiet, be aware that the Cuesta de San Vicente at the front of the hotel is a busy road 24/7. The housekeeping was of a high standard and again the staff were friendly and efficient. And the crowning glory of our stay was, other guests have mentioned, the breakfast buffet which can be taken, and probably needs to be, at leisure, and will set you up for a day of walking and exploration. Not only is the range vast, but it is fresh and kept topped up by the efficient staff, and they too are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is worth getting up for at this hotel. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here, and would definitely stay again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    May in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cosmetic issues at the lobby such as an old dirty looking carpet, very tight space in elevators cabin. Bad odor in the corridor leading to our room. Towels very thin, no washcloth provided.

    Location, location, location, very clean rooms, good breakfast, excellent free coffee all day. Staff very helpful. The parking rate was very good compared with other locations in downtown. No problem with the WiFi. Very good support in bed and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice hotel to stay with in the heart of Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, only I suggest a variety in breakfast would do good.

    We liked the breakfast, the staffs were very attentive and very helpful. Everyday there were mineral water. They cleaned the room everyday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Relax in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A superior room means view to the palace, but is still very small on the 7th floor, and not necessarily the 22 sq.m. provided in the hotel information.

    Good breakfast and location with a view of the palace as requested...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lifts are old and funny.

    Very close to the center. Very close to the fantastic royal palace. Underground car parking is just next to the hotel. Good breakfast, free coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have rooms with street view, might be a noise (we stayed at first floor).

    Excellent position (5 minutes to metro) and 10 minutes to Royal Palace. Excellent breakfast and good amnesties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    We arrived way earlier than normal check-in time, but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived way earlier than normal check-in time, but the receptionist managed to let us get in the room. Moreover, we asked to switch the room to the upper floor, they tried their best and we got a nicer room :) Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very good location, good staff, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toiletries in the bathroom, i had to write that they should put two of each because we were two persons in the room.

    Very good location, good staff, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets had to be changed 3 times to get cleanned one due to spots on it, staff dont care abt the overall experience

    The view from the room and breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location not to far away from Gran Via and Madrid Tour Bus stops. Stayed in a room at the back if the hotel which was quiet. Rooms were comfortable, cleaned every day and fresh towels to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice, but nothing fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the staff was nice enough and the facilities comfortable enough, nothing was spectacular. A great place to stay if you're looking for good value and no frills.

    Great location! Within walking distance to Gran Via and Royal Palace!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Spa Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for the kitchen to be opened as it was locked shut when we went into the room. Parking is on street parking. At Times it is hard to find a car park close to the hotel.

    The indoor swimming pool and the sauna. Breakfast had a wide selection with a few things changing daily. Every guest received a chocolate rabbit at breakfast on Easter Sunday. Large well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended Madrid stay. Exceptional value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything for this comment.

    Set in a very busy area, the quietness in the hotel was amazing. The room was very well appointed as was the bathroom. Everything was spotless. Busy location meant a good location for outside dining and other facilities. Two busy railway stations within reasonable walk, one uphill, one downhill. Very comfortable guest lounge with DIY coffee/tea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Book a palace view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internal adjacent bedroom noise.

    Palace view, ease of check in, early check in permitted, breakfast, staff friendliness. Wifi speed was outstanding. Value for money for Madrid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    very pleasant stay, wonderful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was not god isolated, heard noise from the corridor and the next room. But late in the evening and at night, it was very quiet.

    large room, with a comfortable bed. all you needed at the bathroom. Very good location. nice breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. We will stay here next time in Madrid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    I would stay again as the location is good but do think it’s time for the hotel to renovate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was lumpy & the heating was erratic as it took ages for the room to warm up. In fairness to the hotel they came immediately to check the heating and offered us another room which we decided against as we were out & about and did not want to waste time moving rooms. The rooms also look a bit tired & dated but are very clean which is always good.

    The location was fantastic close to Principe Pio metro/ train station. Also close to the Royal Palace & within walking distance to other attractions. The staff are courteous & helpful, the breakfast buffet decent. The room was very clean & this is something I am very particular about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and great value for money in the centre of Madrid
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price charged for a pet was excessive and taking advantage.

    This hotel is right in the centre of Madrid so great for public transport, we drove and used the parking under the hotel (at €20 / 24 hours a good rate compared to other hotels). Reception staff spoke clearly (in Spanish and English) and were very welcoming and friendly. Room was excellent size and bathroom was large, clean and with good shower and bath. Very comfortable and large bed. Breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit, buffet of eggs, bacon, sausages, hams and cheeses and usual juices, pastries, cereals and yoghurt. The public areas of the hotel are dated - but this added to the charm and in no way detracted from the stay (the now unused bar area really was like stepping back to the 60's). Cannot believe the quality of our room, the price charged and the fact that this is in the centre of Madrid - cannot think of anywhere else you could find this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    I love it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I saw some antes in the floor in my room.. it is not my first stay in Principe pio.. but it is the first time I found ants! (Not so many)

    Excellent bed and shower.. very good hospitality with the free coffee, tea, water..etc..in the lovely lobby. And free water in the minibar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great people, classic style.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no daytime facilities - just a primitive coffee machine. We would have loved there to be a cafe so we could sit and work downstairs enjoying A "Cafe con Leche" while working using the free wifi. Otherwise, excellent!

    The bedroom was lovely, sheets were great quality and the bed comfy. The classical style of the hotel fitted well with the location it is in. The location was simply amazing - cross the road and you're at the palace, but we were able to park our car in a garage next to the hotel with special hotel rates, and get straight onto the highway system to travel around, and out of, the city really easily. The staff were friendly, professional and their proficiency in English was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to find the hotel when we arrived. Needed better instructions for finding it on booking.com

    Bed was very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location 5-10 minutes away from the royal palace / theatre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel will have no hesitation in staying again if we go to Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing really perhaps tea making facilities in bedroom

    The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice The location was very convenient being near Royal palace not far from Metro station and easy walking into town Plenty of help from staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.2
    The location is good to look around the city by walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got my 100 euros stolen which was in my suitcase (well hiden inside my book) in the room we stayed the night before the check-out. I called the front desk immediately to report but I had to wait for the manager come in next morning. We had no single news from the manager next day until we checked out at 11am. No one cared about what happended until WE CAME DOWN to the reception and ASKED. The manager was not at all professonal handling the whole situation with no proper gesture that was supposed to be made, rather he kept repeating on saying it is not possible this happened in this hotel(?? What is that supposed to mean?). So far no update from the hotel about the process of the investigation. For us, the disappointment came more from the lack of respect and professionalism of the hotel staffs than about the money that was stolen which we know we will never have it back.

    The location is good to look around the city by walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    It's ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough clothes hangers No face tissues in the bathroom. The drawers in the cupboard were all broken No hooks to hang in the bathroom

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    The stuff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    The stuff was super friendly and helpful. There is a private underground parking next door. The location is convenient to two metro stations. The coffee and tea facility in the lobby at all hours is nice to have, as well as little snacks and apples. The lobby is big and nice and the common areas are very pleasantly decorated. The beds were comfortable and room size was average.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable. Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee/tea making facilities would have been appreciated. But it is available in the foyer. Could hear people in next room. They were arguing at 2am but when I yelled at them....they heard me and shut up.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    The room view is amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room view is amazing! The hotel is really clean, the staff lovely. Is an old structure and maybe need to be modern but As it is so clean is ok. I really appreciate the towels that are new and really soft, the bed and blankets perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Super city centre location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual experience very different from the nice photos on Booking.com. The hotel is old, rooms and hallways a bid warn, needing a renovation.

    Super location, walking distance from city centre. Very friendly reception staff. Big comfortable beds. Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Great location, pleasant surroundings, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one thing, the pillows were slightly uncomfortable.

    The location was ideal and the staff were very helpful. The whole experience at the Principe Pio was perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A balcony in the room

    The location is perfect. Once can walk to all the important tourist destinations. We stayed in the room from which the palace is seen and the view is awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    Terrible. Not as in pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible. Peeling wallpaper at the entryway and stained carpet and walls. I arrived very late but cancelled the rest of my stay.. Front desk staff were understanding and apologized but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value, excellent location, friendly English speaking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great value, excellent location, friendly English speaking staff, very clean rooms and comfortable bed. Within walking distance of Plaza d'Espana and National Palace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    It was okay, quite basic. The only thing nice was the view of the Palace from the bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is small. No restaurant.

    The view in the room was nice, but room was smaller than I expected. There is no restaurant in the hotel, so be prepared to go out, or order food for delivery, but not healthy food, just junk food. Staff were pleasant. Looks like a nice hotel from the pictures, but rather a disappointment for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff very friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot even with heating off. Room 316. Not sound proof could hear next room tv and guests talking. Had to open window due to heat.

    Excellent staff very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Best value for money in Madrid - Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not much, they have an un-stocked minibar - not sure why, perhaps better it was! They clean the rooms very late - came knocking at 4.30pm.

    For the money, the hotel was brilliant, central, opposite the Royal Palace with good facilities around it. I stayed for 6 nights - top speed wifi, comfy bed, quiet room. Happy happy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    A royal accommodation in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs a bit of renovation, however very clean. The room's air-conditioning/heating wasn't that effective...it was too hot in the room (during winter) and couldn't leave the window open due to noise, being on the main road.

    Very central and easy to access with metro/train and close to main attractions. Lovely view of the Royal Palace and garden just across the road. A large selection of food offered for breakfast, including local delicacies. A coffee/snack desk at reception area available 24/7. Very helpful staff and receptionists.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We stayed 2 nights in this good hotel. The most important for us was the bed! The bed was actually massive it was enough space for two persons! The room was big and very clean! Also we had small problems but reception solved it very quickly and it was super! Location is very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Staff extremely nice, super clean, very central and breathtaking view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful!! It was very good to be greeted with huge smiles after a long day of visits and same during the check out. The view of course was breathtaking especially at night. The bathtub is big, so perfect for a relaxing bath. The bed was very comfy and everything super clean. We would definitely come back and highly recommend it! Also it isn't far from the centre at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location to explore Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing missing is a small bar, or even a vending machine for some drinks and snacks.

    Perfect location to explore Madrid. Less than 5 minutes away from Gran Via, and right next to the Royal palace. The staff was absolutely great, welcoming, and kind. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a base to explore Madrid! We got a room at the back of the hotel. The view isn’t great, but it’s quiet, which is probably a difference from the rooms at the front, facing the busy road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    I could hear every word (even through earplugs) spoken in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear every word (even through earplugs) spoken in the room next to mine... and other things. The staff wasn't able to manage this problem. It wasn't worth half of the price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Great Weekend Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is dated. Bathroom drains are a bit whiffy sometimes. It was suitable for a short stay with the purpose of sight seeing and exploring the city. Coffee and Tea facilities in the hotel room would have been great.

    The rate for our 3 night stay was very good. Room was reasonably spacious. Good location. Staff were efficient and friendly. Generous 12pm checkout. Reception stored our luggage after checkout - late return flight. Quick walk to the Palace. Close to Plaza Mayor and the Mercado de San Miguel. Great location for Tapas walk through La Latina, Malasana. Easy access to Bars in both Malasana and Chueca. Close to Gran Via. 30 min walk to the Museo del Prado, Retiro Park, San Jerónimo el Real, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia museum. Taxis are affordable in Madrid and it's worth checking out Chamberi and Salamanca for restaurants and bars. Tip: For Street food Mercado de San Ildefonso, for Great Seafood like a local go to Mercado de la Cebada (check opening times), Churches have opening times, unlike other cities we've visited. Principe Pio station is well connected for trains to the airport and metro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    I like the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location is superior Good breakfast Clean., not noisy room Always free tea and cofee near reception You should know - most of the rooms have window to the inside courtyard. May be not best view but very quiet, Some of rooms have superior view on King Palace but it can be noisy because of the street with cars and motos. You can choose!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good.

    24 hour cappuccino machine in the lobby. Easy walking distance to attractions but close to the metro as well. Beds very comfortable. It's a good room for the dollars we paid. Most rooms in Madrid are higher in price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drive and stop at the main door of the hotel,my wife go to the reception and ask where is the carpark, the man in the reception just told her park the car on the street and said the hotel do not have carpark. I decided to ask myself, I said where is the car park that your hotel mentioned during booking? at last he told me I can park the car at the carpark next the hotel and charge 20 EUR for 24hrs. We are disappointed, how does he treat guest like this . We stay 3 nights, 1st night stay at room301,extremely nosiy, you can hear people walking stairs clearly,totally can not sleep. 2nd day in the morning,we request to change a quiet room, very efficiency, we change to room 322 but we can still hear people talking in the room next to us. Breakfast is just ok but lack of choices.

    Location is good Staffs are nice except the 1st day we check-in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    It was a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem with a tap that put the bathroom floor all wet and after my indication to the reception the next day the towels were replaced but the water still was in the floor

    The size and confort of the room, the location and the fantástic breakfast and a fantastic serving hours

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s little bit overused hotel, some things in the room were quite old. I think the breakfast is very poor, for the price should have more variety!

    Good location, comfortable bed, very clean!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    decent sized room, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    decent sized room, comfy bed. Good sized bathroom and nice quality toiletries. There is a coffee machine in the lounge of the hotel, you can help yourself day and night and it is decent tasting coffee. Hotel is just up the road from Principie Pio train and metro station, there is also a large shopping centre with shops, cinema and many restaurants next to the train/metro station. Staff at the hotel are polite and helpful. Decent choice at breakfast with help yourself buffet. All in all, a good value stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, good for price, but no gym, sauna, steam room - very false advertising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel advertised a gym, sauna, steam room and massage When I arrived, all were closed for Xmas/New Years except the gym , which I was never told Why would they need to close them for this period? The gym was a joke - one broken running machine, one weights machine , one exercise bike, no air ventilation

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel looks good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location in a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts a bit small but I am being picky!

    Very friendly hotel, staff were onhand if you needed them but never a continuous presence like some other hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Book with hotel direct not booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was brilliant, upon request of a cancellation the hotel replied to my email to say that I could cancel the booking as I had a sudden hospital appointment to attend. Booking.com said that the hotel said that I couldnt cancel the booking. We continued our stay rather than lose the full amount of money. For reference I can prove that I am going to hospital 13/1/18. The hotel was lovely very good for sightseeing too.

    Didn't have breakfast - can't comment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    I love how the hotel was in the center & everything was walking distance from the hotel. Loved view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked about free breakfast the staff said it would be downstairs the next morning, but when we were eating the next morning, a staff approached us and I was getting charged for the buffet breakfast. I wish this could have been clarified and explained better when I had asked the night before.

    After booking I had questions about transportation via train & I was in email contact with them. They were nice enough to respond & help me find my wah to the hotel from the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great! It is walking distance to the metro, to the Palace and to Gran Via. It was a great choice because of the price we paid and the quality of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Terrific stay in well run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cafe.

    Staff were excellent, being cheerful and most helpful throughout. Only a 5-10 min walk to the palace and plenty of restaurants near the Plaza Mayor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear some noise from other rooms and the corridors. The room service can be a bit slow at night but they are very polite.

    Booked it for a last minute emergency. It's well-located, clean and all-round good and correct accommodation that offers you more than what you paid. The breakfast is very good and varied. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel, perfect location and very helpful staff. They explained us everything about the city and how to move around. Free coffee machine in the lobby as well :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Good quality/price option!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom smelled a little bit. Still it was spacious and with great amenities.

    The Hotel is well located by metro and "train cercanías" and walking distance from the city center. Nice big room with views and incredible bed. Bathroom was fine and so the staff (not exceeded expectations but they were correct). Would go again as it is a great place to stay due to its quality/price relation.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Principe Pio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: