Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prinsotel La Caleta 4 stars

Signe Lleó, s/n, 07760 Sa Caleta, Spain

#2 of 4 hotels in Sa Caleta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like had to pay for water, didn't like we had to pay deposit for old pool towels.

    Childrens entertainers were really great, and our daughter had great fun at the evening childrens disco. Very close to a lovely small quiet beach, wonderful for swimming and sun bathing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room safe was at an extra cost, at a hotel already charging a high price. No convenient sockets to charge electrical apparatus in room (this is the 21st century!). No elevators - ask for ground floor room! Queues formed for breakfast (in particular) and dinner (sometimes) as not enough tables in dinning room to accomodate all their guests. Poor security as hotel site is open in several places for anybody to wander in.

    Clean and bright room. Reception staff and porter were friendly. Good selection of food at breakfast and at dinner. Staff in restuarant were generally good, but sometimes there were not enough of them. Reasonable selection of wines. Good swimming pools etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confuse queuing for dinner at the restaurant as well as it paying system for drinks. Poor quality of bed linnen - can't understand why they don't have proper bed sheets at least size wise. Dated bathroom.

    Nice location, close to the beautiful sa caleta beach. Beatiful sunset view from the restaurant. Good pancakes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I found that people there kept very much to themselves and it would have been nice if they could organise something where people can get introduced and get to know each other The other point is that although the pool was very clean, it needs to be completely re-vamped where the brown marks are at the bottom of the pool.

    I thought the staff were very friendly despite of the pressure they are under to ensure that we have memorable holiday. There was a variety of gluten free food available as well as non-gluten free. The location and the setting is perfect as its only a couple of minutes to the cove. There is a supermarket opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom 3* Firstly and most importantly, we booked a room for 3 adults to share. The room was TINY. I was under the impression that the room would have 3 BEDS (as this is how it was described) not 2 beds and 1 sofa bed. The pillows were very hard and the sofa bed had a large, very uncomfortable dent in it. Given that it is a 4 star hotel, we were expecting something more comfortable. One of the plus sides was that we had a fantastic view of the pool with a nice balcony covered in flowers. Modern and superficially clean room, by this I mean that if you are being particularly picky, there was dust and dirt under the beds, marks on the wall, minimal mould on the bathroom door and tape around the door frame to the balcony was peeling off, but this was relatively minor. We were very disappointed to discover there were no tea/coffee making facilities within the room and you have to pay to use the in-room safe. Unlike other 4* hotels I have stayed in, the Prinsotel does not provide guests with slippers or dressing gowns, I understand these are luxury items but it would have made our stay much more comfortable. Bathroom 2/3* I felt it would be important to review the bathroom separately because this is one of the main reasons for rating the hotel as we did. IT IS NOT NICE!!!! The décor is dated and dark. The shower was horrible – it either pointed out into the bathroom and soaked the floor, or you had to direct it to point into the corner of the bathtub (please see pictures). When you spend all day in the pool/sea water/covered in sun lotion etc. at the end of the day all you want is a nice comfortable shower and unfortunately the Prinsotel la Caleta does not provide this. Honestly, I absolutely hated the bathroom. They have nicer showers by the children’s pool. They do provide toiletries but this does not include moisturiser which is probably one of the biggest requirements having been in the sun all day.

    Staff 5* Absolutely FANTASTIC. Virtually all the staff we interacted with were warm, friendly, and helpful. The only exception was a grumpy server at dinner who didn’t seem to like the fact we had brought our own bottle of water down to dinner (I will get to this later). Location 5* We didn’t venture too far from the hotel but you are less than 2 minutes’ walk from the beach and opposite the hotel is a shop which is open from 8am – 9pm (we would buy all our water from here – 5 litres for €1.50, a bargain given that the hotel charged €2.10 for 75cl of water at dinner!) Food 3/4* The food was pretty good, although the dinner desserts were fairly average. It is a buffet with a different theme every night for dinner and they appeared to reuse the salads for breakfast. We are vegetarian/vegan and there was a decent amount of choice for us at both breakfast and dinner. However, not all the hot food is labelled and sometimes is was unclear as to whether a dish would contain meat or fish and it was too much of a hassle to ask the staff about every dish. If you want to dine outside you need to book the day before via reception. Checkout 5* After we checked out at 12pm we were allowed to store our luggage at the hotel whilst we used the beach. When we came back we were provided with towels, shampoo and conditioner and were directed to the bathrooms which guests can use after check out. I thought that this was a fantastic service to provide

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much we didn't like, would have liked some music round the pool at times during the day, we had this in Egypt and it worked really well. Occasional queuing for meals at peak times, but didn't take long to get a table and you can usually avoid this.

    Very good, clean, and comfortable hotel, the bedrooms are very stylish and have a classy feel. Pool is good, water very clean, although some paint peeling on the bottom which doesn't look great, but didn't detract from swimming in it. Food is nice, typical buffet style with some cooking stations...plenty of choice and lots of fresh fruit and salads etc. We loved the fresh fruit smoothies at breakfast, you choose the ingredients and they make it infront of you. This family oriented hotel has a calm laid back feel, we were half board and although we paid for all our drinks (coffee and tea are free at breakfast) we felt they were a fair price. The small sandy beach is a few minutes walk away (quiet area, not much traffic) and is nice, clean warm water, and again had a laid back vibe. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in room slightly tired - bath bit stained but clean nonetheless. Air con bit noisy and no tea and coffee making facilities in room. Seemed inconvenience to have to formally order hot drinks and water outside of breakfast and dinner times - small niggles as not a lot to dislike !

    Elegant, clean and comfortable- an easy place to stay with excellent staff and beautiful pools and gardens. Food fresh that was well presented and prepared - good mix of nationalities staying and all catered for - great atmosphere and friendly vibe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant staff fab but so busy that service was slow at times. Hotel is a bit out in the sticks, we'd hoped for bars & restaurants to visit in the evening but only found a couple of cafes selling 'fast' food in a nearby cove. Single supplement charged so not a bargain as a single traveller.

    Comfy bed, great pools, food superb. Clean and very well cared for. Staff friendly and helpful when they had time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel - spacious, clean, picturesque location. We've absolutely loved it and will surely come back. 40 min drive from the airport and 5 min drive to the centre of Ciutadella which is a great place to be in the evening. Make sure to visit nearby Macarella beach. Decent selection of food, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a more interesting view from balcony. We looked out onto the street/residential properties. Not bad, just could have been better. But that's the luck of the draw.

    Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. We only stayed B&B so didn't have dinner in the restaurant, But breakfast was nice with nice view. The restaurant across from hotel is fab!! And hotel is only 5-10 mins by taxi to Cuitadella which is a great place to visit/eat/drink.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was the last week of the season so not all the facilities were available.

    Very comfortable bed in a pleasant room. The hotel is very near the beach but in a quiet location. Nice to get freshly made coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite what we were looking for. Mass catering for dinner and breakfast. Good pool, no beach in walking distance.

    A great hotel for families with young children. Half board, breakfast and dinner on a mass scale.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pool beds, people just left their towels before breakfast so it was hard to find a free lounger. The wifi is poor, slow and always requires you to reconnect.

    The friendliness of the staff cannot be praised more. Great hotel and the food was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service, Too slow

    Very helpful staff at the recepción and cleaning staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely Hotel excellent facilities, nothing to much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ideal for families with kids . . . VERY, VERY NOISY !!!

    The cleanliness of the property !!! Very nice staff !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Children in the main pool not the childrens pool

    very clean, two pools, one full of children

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Friendly staff. Excellent food. Fantastic service. Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktails were not good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pancakes only on Sundays.

    Very friendly staff, excellent gym, good food. Nice atmosphere. Location better than the island's resorts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening entertainment wasn't that good.

    Peaceful location. Lovely pool. Good food. Spacious room. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff fab, location brilliant, pool lovely, room comfy, food great, weather fab!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the pool was too cold, even if weather was hot.

    Nice hotel and good quality food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not much. bit of a smell of wee on bathroom floor seemed to some from drain as floor looked clean. one of the waiters was stroppy and rude. no food served at the pool bar from 315 to 7. restaurant room was very stark and white with central buffet so no atmosphere, no menorcan pictures. if you want atmosphere go to the restaurant sa cavora (I think as im home now and cant remember exactly) which is the one opposite the hotel if you exit the side pedestrian exit past the pool bar walking away from the road towards the beach.

    almost everything. great buffet breakfast. good bed but a little soft. excellent large pool. evening buffet was huge and good value. pool bar good service. out 1st visit to menorca. citadella easily the best place to spend an evening and we had been all over the island. there was a bus 3 min walk from hotel which took 5 min to get to citadella (1.5 euros each one way) and we got a taxi back (6 euros) for ease. all in all a great week. recommend la guitarra restaurant in citadella for excellent menorcan duck and lamb.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Before our journey we thought that we'll be spending quite a lot of time going around Menorca. We ended up spending more time in Prinsotel because we were having such a great time there. The pool area is a great place to relax, the buffet dishes prepared were fantastic (and also plenty!), the room was clean and comfortable while the organised activities and evening entertainment were a clear bonus. Strongly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too large for our preference, prefer something more intimate. Only ate in the 'restaurant' one night as it's more like a brightly lit canteen with people coming and going the whole time as it's self-service - not at all relaxing.

    Lovely complex, very clean and well cared for. Bed was about 6ft square and very comfy. Good variety of food for breakfast. Staff were very friendly but some of them overworked, especially the bar area of an evening. Some nice restaurants fairly nearby but some accessible across a beach and path not fit for pushchairs - or high heels!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to see some chairs around the pool - I don't like lying down to read.There used to be a few,this year there were none.

    The friendly welcome from staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were there before the high season, so there wasn't much animation (we had couple evenings with bingo, and once aquagym, however there were many more events in the planning that are available in high season, I guess)

    Personnel was really nice and friendly. Hotel is very cosy with several 2-floor buildings, 2 swimming pools. There are plenty of green space, trees etc. Location is pretty convenient - supermarket, car rental were very close. Beach is very close. There are two ways to reach it - to take "hidden" stairs and you get to the beach in 1 minute or to take a longer way with normal road which takes 5-7 minutes. Both are totally fine and acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi not so good

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful place to relax and enjoy the sea.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi needs improvement

    Excellent and super friendly staff. Great equipment and convenient location.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Prinsotel La Caleta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: