Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of GHPC Portugalete-Bilbao 3 stars

Maria Diaz de Haro, 2, 48920 Portugalete, Spain

#3 of 4 hotels in Portugalete

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 818 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheaper breakfast, a bit of rip off at £14.00. The bar shut at 21:00 on Sunday night. Not much use as there was nowhere else decent nearby. Finding the hotel and how to get into garage was not easy. Needs better signage and allow street level entry. Accessibility was poor as steps had to be negotiated. Overall the hotel had pretensions of grandeur but really was rather second rate.

    The waterfront situation was good. that's about it. the hotel is fairly average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration in bedroom and bathroom dated and worn

    Location location location! Great view across the river from bedroom balcony Lovely comfy bed Friendly helpful staff Dog friendly Near to Bilbao port for morning ferry

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was probably covered in plastic underneath the sheets, so everytime you moved it sqeaked a bit and it wasn’t breathable.

    The location and the view was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The thin walls... you heard every word from next room. Stressed breakfast staff.. when we waited for to be served at the bar, the staff "didnt see us", served person that come after us, so we went to other cafe for to eat.

    The soft towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk to the metro is about 10-15 minutes uphill but it is a hilly city.

    The view from the room of the river and the transporter bridge was spectacular. Onsite parking costs a bit but is secure and in the hotel, rare in this area. Location was great both for the local area and for getting into Bilbao by metro. Breakfast was great the first morning with fresh made omelets but the small staff was overwhelmed by a large group the second day. We ate dinners in the local area and had great food for very reasonable prices. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible food at the restaurant (recycled potato chips, extremely salty burgers, low quality beef cuts), poor and overpriced breakfast, apart from the reception no one else speaks English. I tried to eat at a couple of restaurants nearby the hotel but no English speaking staff and no English menus which was impossible to order and had to leave.

    Comfortable bed, good-size and clean room, friendly staff, good location with river view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Excellent room overlooking river. 3 course meal in evening plus wine for 18 euros each, less 5% discount. excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful and all spoke good English. 10 mins from ferry terminal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area didn't have a lot to offer in terms of attractions - but, to be fair, the bad weather might have influenced that impression.

    The room was clean and comfortable with a good view of the transporter bridge. There was private parking under the hotel but that was quite difficult to get to without prior direction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grand it ain't except for the front façade. Think IBI and you won't be disappointed. If you are travelling by car, you really have to use their garage which is secure and perfectly adequate, but it costs 16 eu per night. The breakfast is very poor at about 14 eu, avoid. I had an inexpensive ok evening meal on first night, my wife's meal was very poor.The room was sparse, 1 chair and 1 pillow per person. Bathroom was ok.

    The man on reception was excellent, explained how to get to the sites via metro, fairly easy once you've been told how. Saved what might have been a terrible stay into a reasonable one. On our second we went to an excellent restaurant called Garbatella, 2 minutes walk from hotel, not cheap but an excellent meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant choices were very poor and not to our liking. The tapas bar food was acceptable but had been prepared many hours ago and the staff refused to replace any of the dishes when they were finished. I did enjoy egg and mayonnaise tapas but there was only one left

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the matters protector was a little too noisy and uncomfortable (so it was removed) but other than that it was worth the money!

    the view was outstanding, the staff was incredibly helpful. the bathroom was exceptionally clean and up to our standards.. and the safety was comforting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Previously we've stayed at the front of the hotel looking at the river: those rooms apparently cost a little more now. We would have liked at least two chairs in the room, but there was only a single uncomfortable one!

    We had a good-sized room with a bathroom with bathtub. We had a view of the market place. We ate one night in the dining room and that was pretty good value. Portugalete has loads and loads of bars and we had a brilliant time checking many of them out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    When we arrived the intercom that allows access to the car park was faulty. The receptionist came all the way down to tell us where to park. He was probably the most helpful receptionist we have met. He even drew a map to show us where the cheapest filling station was. The hotel us ideally situated for the transporter bridge. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food could be better.

    Great staff at this hotel that is excellently situated for the Port. Great for accepting dogs and good area for walking. Love this hotel and Bilbao.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing for a superior room compared to Teruel. No wardrobe doors and when mentioned at the reception they had no reason as to why.

    Room view across the river. Central position for ferry back home. Room a bit basic on facilities but adequate for 2 nights. Excellent reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was expensive and difficult to access and exit. clear instruction with the booking confirmation would have helped considerably.

    The hotel was in an ideal location with views of the swinging bridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses are uncomfortable and you can feel the springs, and the bathroom is a little worn. In addition, it is not possible to have a light breakfast in the cafe until after 8am which is too late for the sailing to Portsmouth.

    This is my second visit to the hotel and it gets better with familiarity. The rooms are of a good size and the hotel is clean, spacious and well located for promenading, shopping and local bars. It is also pet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground car parking tight.

    View of the suspension bridge from bedroom window. Location. Friendly staff. We have stayed here several times as convenient for ferry. Always our first choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark colours in bedrooms.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, pariticularly front reception who helped to plan our trip into Bilbao and evening restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should be able to reserve car park, when you are traveling you have a car full of luggage and I would not have slept if it was just parked out on the street! The hotel desperately needs some lights in the garage! There are no facilities to get a coffee if you are leaving early morning!

    Ideal for ferry

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After dinner we wanted to sit outside on the patio where other people where but this created a problem for some reason...I think it was because of an outside bar.....but we went anyway, it was cooler outside and pleasant to finish our drinks there...

    Position of hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.......

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit hard to find entrance.

    The staff was very friendly and checking in and out was done quickly. The restaurant staff was very helpful and the food was very nice. Location is amazing, there is a very interesting bridge with ferry next to accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit jaded and noisy corridors internally- carpets worn and stained

    Waiter in restaurant was seriously under pressure but despite this was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu had limited choices went to a local one instead. Music from outside bar loud in room until 11pm.

    Size of room was exceptionally high with a good view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Slow Wi-fi connection

    Portugalete is a perfect place to stay for romantic couples. The view from the balcony is magnificent. We were looking at Puente Colgante and Ria de Bilbao every morning, were running by the embankment, breathing sea air and in the evening were drinking excellent wine txakoli with selfmade pintxos on the balcony. The room, bathroom and bed were big and comfortable. The staff was very nice and frendly! The cleaning was every day. There are many small shops and bars near the hotel, the nearest beach is 15 min walk across the bridge, but we prefered wilder beaches, which could be reached by metro (about 40 min). We really liked our stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find the hotel. I was disappointed that there weren't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    The location was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old, beautiful hotel - perfectly located right beside the river and the old transporter bridge, which has been renovated and is working continually. You can take a car or bike over to the other side of the river, and for pedestrians its just 40 cents each way! The rooms are comfortable, the reception area is lovely. There are outside terraces for drinks and food and an interior restaurant, plus a bar with a selection of pintxxo on display. Super underground parking is available which was ideal for our motorbike. Its the perfect location for a ferry crossing from Bilbao to England as it is only about 7 miles to the ferry port. The actual town of Portugalete has lots of bars and restaurants serving local food, or you can make the crossing and dine on the other side of the river. We love it here and will return next time we use the ferry back to England. Its just lovely and the Basque people are very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurants near by unless you catch the bridge ferry across the river.

    Great place to stay especially if catching the ferry. Staff very helpful. Ask for a too with a view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When arriving by car it is not clear where the lobby is and the back of the hotel looks grim.

    Proximity to the bridge and access to the Getxo area. Location beside the river very convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negative feed back

    Beautiful old building, full of character , good location for the Brittany ferry departing early next morning, very friendly and help staff, arrived late but upgraded to a lovely suit, dinner and breakfast great. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitress in the restaurant gave the impression that she would rather have been anywhere, other than waiting on us. A great pity as all the other bar/restaurant staff were happy and helpful.

    Helpful, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed on the night of our stay.

    Second visit and the hotel is very well staffed and reception staff speak very good English. Breakfast self-service and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did think that this hotel was expensive for the quality of the room. There was evidence of water damage in the room; the bathroom door was damaged and the carpet was stained. The bathroom was tired and needed a re-vamp and the door to the room was damaged. At the end of a 18 day road trip this was the most expensive hotel....with the smallest room.

    Conveniently close to the ferry port - only five minutes. Interesting place; the gondola bridge was interesting. The walk along the waterfront was pleasant. We ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed a very good set-menu meal for a very reasonable price. The hotel is in an excellent position on the waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need to be updated but they were clean and presentable.

    The hotel is right along the river front and the room we were in had an amazing view and a little deck. The rooms were quiet. We were above the restaurant patio and heard nothing. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited choice on dinner menu - no vegetarian option for my wife. Breakfast very limited and very expensive at 14 euros per person. Two nights' garage pus one dinner and one breakfast (for two persons) amounted to 99 euros!

    Location very good next to Viscaya bridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to dislike but there could have been a selection of snacks, i.e. sandwiches, crisps etc, on offer at bar and restaurant.

    The room was very clean and comfortable with a balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible not anough choice. My scrambled eggs was dry.overall not good.

    Location near ferry for us.Room was clean if not a little small.overall not bad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the omelette at breakfast the rest of breakfast was poor with a lack of cereals and fruit and only egg and bacon for cooked options.

    Spacious rooms, great omelette at breakfast, dinner was tasty and unexpectedly good, location near port for early sailing, secure underground parking to keep our very full car safe. Portugaleta is a pretty characterful area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tricky to locate and the garage was quite expensive at €16 per night. In addition, the room was very hot with carpets that were a little musty - although this was solved with having the balcony doors open, floorboards would be better and more hygienic.

    The hotel is in a fantastic location on the river, surrounded by bars and restaurants, and is ideal with a pet as there are pleanty of walks along the embankment and plenty of pet friendly parks and terraces. The room had a balcony and a lovely view of the hanging bridge (puente colgante). The hotel restaurant and bar is very good with friendly staff and en excellent menu which was executed brilliantly. The hotel is only 15minutes drive from the ferry terminal so an ideal stop pre-embarkation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike

    Lovely room overlooking the river and the bridge. Great terrace for relaxing after a long drive. Ideal location as only 15 mins from ferry terminal. We stay here every year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired inside, but for one night....

    The location was excellent, we were on a motorcycle ,the hotel had underground parking, which was a bonus, the room had a riverside view, which was nice and the food was very good It is also 10 mins from Bilbao port, handy for early morning sailings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it appears as it used to be a "Grand Hotel" indeed - a while ago though. but still modern appearance and clean, some stains on carpet etc, the elevator could also do with a safety inspection. but the price is great and they certainly do not pretend to be anything better than they are (3 stars). tiny little TV might be an issue for some people, I rather enjoyed the views.

    great location, nice staff, great views, clean and big balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor could do with updating, carpets very stained, rooms very bare with no pictures and no character which is shame because the building is stunning and full of character but the inside does not live up to the outside.

    Location is excellent, fabulous view from the bedroom balcony across the river and of the swing bridge. 10 minutes on a straight quiet road to the Ferry terminal. Staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Car Parking and Driving in Bilbao is a nightmare. I will not hire a car and drive there again.

    The staff were very helpful, spoke good English and bent over backwards to help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with some updating now. We have stayed about 7 times now.

    The hotel's position on the riverside and ease of access to ferry for Portsmouth. We did not eat there as breakfast cost about 13euros and we could get a good continental breakfast at the cafe near the transporter bridge (you must see) nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel car park is underground and has 2 metre height limit, we had a van and had to park some way away on street (which was no problem).

    Very helpful staff, good view of river and transporter bridge from room, restaurant and river front bar on site.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a great location for ferry and has wonderful nearby train to city centre . Gabriel in reception (always smiling) was very helpful . We enjoyed an excellent meal . Congratulations to All staff reception , bar ,dining room , kitchen and cleaning . We will stay again next time we stay in Bilbao .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was sparsely furnished and not very comfortable although our room faced the river & Bridge.

    Location was excellent, for general interest being next to the Vizcaya Bridge and especially for the ferry to uk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant was poor. Good food, when it came, but it was a little expensive. Breakfast only poor to average, we will eat on the ferry next time.

    Location is very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better, no croissants or pains au chocolat. More bar staff needed as service was slow and we ended up getting our own.

    Fantastic location for catching the ferry back to the UK. Hotel was modern inside and clean. Staff were friendly and the desk staff spoke reasonable english. The bar staff on the whole don't speak much english but we managed OK but there didn't seem to be enough of them. The room was comfortable but the breakfast was poor and expensive (13 euros). Private secure parking was very good but not a lot of it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a fantastic location we had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The garage parking was easy to access. Would highly recommend this hotel. Also the hotel is very near the port of Bilbao

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike unless you are an exceptionally fussy person.

    Excellent view of the River Nervión and the amazing hanging bridge across after which the hotel is named.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a huge makeover. Bathroom poorly appointed, shower in bath very slippery. Breakfast was disgusting.Loud music at that time of the morning! NO NO NO!!

    Good large room with bed to match,all nice and clean. Reception staff excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperamental shower: from icy cold to boiling hot and vice versa without warning.

    Large room, nice view of the bridge & the river, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The secure underground parking is worth having if travelling by car. Our room 321 was first class with balcony views to the riverfront and side The reception on arrival was truly professional. Spoke good English and was very attentive.................even offered a glass of sparkling wine whilst checking in. The bar & restaurant staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a good choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so Grand now. It took ages to find it because the name of the hotel is not displayed on the road side, only on the pedestrian accessed river front side. Apart from the morning desk manager, the staff were indifferent. To be fair, it was the hottest day in recent history, guests and staff were dripping and the air conditioning had given up. The main complaint was that the place seemed seedy. The food on display in the bar at night, and at breakfast, looked disgusting - sweaty cheeses, curled ham, and a very poor selection for breakfast. The crockery and cutlery wasn't clean, and every surface in the breakfast room had greasy stains and crumbs from previous meals on them. The coffee machines didn't work properly, nor the toaster. We gave up and left as quickly as possible. However, they did waive the charge for the breakfast.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed in this hotel on previous trips and the facilities and condition is in need of review or updating. The staff are helpful but the rest of the facilities need an update.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat during our stay was oppressive so the air conditioning struggled to keep up. Otherwise, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

    Grand Hotel in a superb location. A rare find! Had a balcony room overlooking the river. Very enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and dated. Difficult to locate even with sat nav, poor signage. I have stayed in much better hotels in better locations for less money.

    Only the situation on the river.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here after arriving on the ferry from England. Easy to find and only 20 minutes from the ferry terminal. The hotel is right on the river and next to the historic Vizcaya Bridge – take a ride in the gondola car across and back. Easy to get into central Bilbao by metro, walking up to the local metro station at Portugalete is helped by using the travelators running uphill from the hotel. Dinner (menu of the day) and breakfast at the hotel were OK. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many good rooms with walk-in showers. Dinner was a separate room for English guests with a very limited menu and no wine list, all very basic, but the staff were excellent.

    Staff were extremely helpful, lovely position, good bar and outside area, very handy for Ferry, good garaging, good views from bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs update

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on the river, large rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice for dinner in restaurant.

    The secure unground carpark was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value and lovely position. Nice ambiance and wonderful meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Very helpful reception staff.... Could not be better

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Easy access to center of town ( escalator), metro to Bilbao and tram to Getxo. Also great for strolling on the promenade along the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough information re parking at arrival.

    Friendly staff especially reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant choice very poor.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner. So salty and not friendly waitress

    Location and views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel good aminities idea for traveling to the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was awful.

    The views were brilliant and the room spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were in need of an update. Bedding quite worn (but clean!) Lighting in room very poor and food was not great.

    The location was good .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpet seemed a little stained

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: