Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Izan Puerta de Gredos 4 stars

Carretera de Los Llanos, s/n, 05600 El Barco de Ávila, Spain

#2 of 4 hotels in El Barco de Ávila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful rooms and easy to reach by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dining room could be more cossy and less noisy. Let reception speak atleast a few words english and have some information in english.

    Beautiful rooms and easy to reach by car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    A beautiful setting and nice rooms but a few drawbacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is could be a really fabulous, cool country hotel but unfortunately it isn’t somehow. The Spa is expensive and seemed to be full of local small children having swimming lessons. The restaurant is in a really unattractive overlit basement (why? With such beautiful views?) and although the breakfast was ok the dinner wasn’t very nice at all (pork escalopes with a massive chunk of goats cheese and onion jam-no veg or salad-weird!) and you really have to eat there as it is so far from the village.

    The lobby is really stylish and attractive. Our duplex room was well appointed, spacious and quiet. The staff were keen to help despite having very little English. The scenery is beautiful, but the hotel grounds were in need of a bit of maintenance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Aspiring to be a boutique hotel, but doesn't show much concern for guest comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Okay we got a good deal, but it felt like the place was run to rule rather than for the comfort of guests. It was a cold, wet, windy night when we arrived, but when we went down to the bar/foyer for a drink before dinner, neither of the two huge fireplaces in the foyer were lit. When we asked the waitress to light it (I even offered to do it myself), she asked the manageress and the response was no, they only lit it on special occasions. It was my birthday, so it felt pretty special to me. The waiting staff did their best, but we were very disappointed by the restaurant too, it was in a windowless room down in the basement and didn't match the photos at all. The food was ok, but probably not freshly prepared (suspiciously long menu and very few customers). The decor of the restaurant was awful, like a 1980's shoddy motorway cafe, garish colours and formica furniture. It was not the same romantic room shown in the photos on the web. We asked the staff if there was another dining room - they said yes, for special occasions like weddings! I'd recommend they served dinner in the ante room with tables and chairs off the foyer, it was much nicer and not in use.

    Beautiful setting on the edge of the country town of Barco de Avila. Impressive old building with a beautiful entrance hall. Nicely decorated with a stylish mix of old and new in most parts of the hotel (not the restaurant). The food was ok, and at least the restaurant was open on a Sunday evening. The waitress and receptionist were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were warm even in the middle of winter. The hotel could be amazing if they paid more attention to the little details of the guest experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to walk around or just stay in the hotel and enjoy the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only pitty is that they dont have room service.

    Everything was great, place, the views, the village. In fact it is the second time we went there. Our first night, the mattress support did some noise, and after saying it in reception, they changed the whole bed the same morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful retreat in Gredos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not particularly friendly nor welcoming, felt a bit cold. The walls in the rooms are extremely thin, so thin that we could totally hear the neighbor snoring! And this is a bit disappointing for a 4* hotel. The spa only has 1 shower in the changing rooms, it would be appreciated if they had also the shampoo and gel amenities from the room also available at the spa.

    Beautiful and tastefully decorated. Comfortable beds, good bathroom. We got a room on the second floor in the main building and it was lovely, with wooden beams and slanted roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb setting, great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly surprised to find they'd charged my credit card in advance although since i booked the room with only 24 hours notice at a non-refundable rate that was perfectly reasonable. I had planned on paying cash but no matter! The Booking.com entry mentions walks in the woods but we couldn't find any woods, let alone any walks, at least not connected directly to the hotel.

    Unusual country hotel in fantastic setting - 360 degree amazing views. Attractive grounds, plenty of seats, paths, strolls. Lots of (free) parking, 24-hour reception always staffed. Our room was in one of the separate, outer buildings that resemble some kind of 21st century hunting lodge. Lots of wooden paneling and the oddest semi-enclosed balconies. Powerful air conditioning, comfortable beds, spotless room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, horrible food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food for lunch and dinner was simply horrible. Also acoustics. From the room you could hear the noise of doors opening and closing.

    The place is nice and well located. The rooms are spacious and quite nice. We liked the SPA as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    A peaceful retreat in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room with chimney
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic place to unwind, peaceful beautiful location. Accommodation perfect, plenty of space and a log fire to finish off a relaxing evening. Staff friendly and helpful and delicious food. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    A very nice place to get away and relax. Beautiful scenery and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room with chimney
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite uncomfortable. very thin walls between rooms. Spa charges.

    The room itself. Beautiful surroundings. Staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Recommendable for couples and families to disconnect from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just recommendable, I'll come back soon. Great breakfast, location and staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for a relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff. Good breakfast. Perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Food at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear everything from the next room. Having to pay extra to use the gym or the pool.

    Food at the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Critical Voyagers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. Did not like the spa.

    The location , the room was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    wonderful and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was expensive for Spain, but good quality, but still not comparative enough

    wonderful views, quite and lovely room and hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    nice place, close to central town, good food, big open place and nice building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    have to pay for the swimming pool

    Location, Building, Surrounding, Open Space, well keep it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost to use the pool was prohibitive.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    Great place to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit of a walk to get down there if you're coming from the bus station. No taxi service from there. But the hotel did arrange for a local taxi driver to take us to and from period the hotel was a bit out of the way. But I guess that's what you want

    Great place to get away from it all.5

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.8
    peaceful and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    evening meal extremely poor (but very cheap - ok for 10euros!! - but would prefer better and pay more

    peaceful and quiet location very comfortable room good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is in a lovely location though the GPS coordinates...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and service was only average. No happy good morning smiles as we passed the reception desk. English spoken, but not very well.

    The hotel is in a lovely location though the GPS coordinates still (much worse discrepancy 5 years ago!!) do not quite bring you to the correct site. Our room this time was in the main building and was very nice. We had a corner with two different views, and could hear a Nightingale singing.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    En general todo excelente.
    • Couple

    En general todo excelente. Nos ha encantado la estancia 😊

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.3
    The hotel location, restaurant, service, rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Matress was not the best

    The hotel location, restaurant, service, rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Green spaces and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy room. You can hear everything, doors closing, people etc

    Green spaces and views

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    muy bonita rehabilitacion de una finca antigua
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    muy bonita rehabilitacion de una finca antigua desayuno exquisito vistas tamano y diseno de zonas comunes e habitaciones

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: