Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Puerta de la Villa 4 stars

Plaza Pequeña, 8, 11610 Grazalema, Spain

#7 of 17 hotels in Grazalema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 669 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice location but hotel needs updating to be rated 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms need renovation. Aircon leaked into room . Promised minibar fridge nowhere to be seen . Towels old and small . Very limited cosmetics , soap etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old facilities. The 4* rate is not at all deserved by this hotel. A spa and pool was announced but they no longer are offered to guests

    Placement. Really near to the very center of the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    This is such a cute town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is such a cute town. Good hiking very close. The hotel was very quaint, clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a great view. The staff was friendly and helpful - we speak no Spanish. We got one room for my husband and I and one room for our sons age 17 and 19 worked out very well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our visit in the end of January (low season) most of the hotel services were unavailable.

    Nice hotel in the center of the beautiful village. Reasonably priced during low season.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location and magic area to visit but hotel a let down.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most else. No facilities incl. breakfast even though they seemed busy. View from bedroom window was a dirty church gutter and wall which you could almost touch. Previous weeks 2* was all but a 4*, this 4* was all but a 2*. Old fashioned and tired.

    Location, bed and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant being closed and the internet did not work.

    Location was great. Luggage storage was a plus. The women at the desk was able to answer all of our questions, (bus info, places to eat, etc. ).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Lots of free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't available at the hotel. Apparently it was the staff's 'day off'.

    Lots of free parking. Excellent location. Great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in Grazalema
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed. Restaurant closed for Monday morning. In fact, in all we could see there was only one breakfast choice for that July morning - fine but busy.

    Very nice hotel in Grazalema, which was bigger than I had expected. Large room and bathroom. Nice small pool with some seating near. Easy, free parking (Sunday arrival) in town parking area close to the hotel. Helpful staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Staff member we dealt with was atrocious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The member of staff we dealt with was atrocious clearly not wanting to be there, she provided absolutely no welcome,and when we asked queries such as why the pool nor gym were not open she was actually rude. I had requested a double bed we got a twin room. We asked if we could change room. She advised us no as the hotel was full, which was strange as we seen only 4 other guests during our whole stay. Rules are if you are a four star hotel hire staff who give clients a positive experience. She was about the rudest most unhelpful person we met on our trip.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location in the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was only in the lobby area but there were couches & chairs available. In addition, the wifi worked in the bar area (which I never saw in operation) where there were tables & chairs more suitable to doing work on a laptop. The signal was good though, so no complaints there.

    The location right in the center of town is perfect. Easy walking, though often uphill, all around the town which is fairly small but interesting. Free parking lot just a few doors down the street (except Tuesday when there's a market). Driving to the hotel was quite easy also. I found a great breakfast place a couple blocks away, Cafeteria Rotacapa. Popular with the locals, very friendly staff, great coffee & one of the few places open early.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Spacious, clean room right in the centre of the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a problem, mainly due to an event in the village. Used the hotel carpark but it was rather difficult to get into.

    Very spacious room and bathroom right in the centre of the village

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    Passable hotel in needed of attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet smelled bad and something in the room triggered my allergies. Facilities closed.

    Good location. Quiet and large room Clean bathroom. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.6
    Do not stay here if you want sleep, wifi, a shower or clean carpets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start? First and foremost: the bell of the church is almost directly above this hotel. Not a big deal except this bell schedule is to ring every 15min and in addition, at the top of the hour. Loudly. Just as you start to doze off to sleep: CLANG!!!! All night. No wifi was available in our room since the hotel has not installed boosters to broadcast the signal throughout the property. Rooms: heavy use of disinfectant smelling cleaners when first entering the room is usually a suspicious sign they are trying to hide something. The rooms were carpeted and the carpets were filthy and stained and likely had a black mold problem. Hence the heavy disinfectant. Air conditioner in room didn't work. Shower didn't work. I could go on, but I think this is sufficient. Do not get room 27.

    central location, which is great because you will likely not want to spend any more time than necessary in this hotel. Staff were as helpful as possible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    The best in the Sierras of Cadiz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was completely satisfied overall. No complaints.

    The hotel staff was very helpful and went the extra mile to assist information about local culture, tours, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.3
    This is a comfortable purpose built hotel with large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps it was the low season but the hotels "4*" services certainly weren't available in March. Not that we needed them, but it was easy to tell that costs we're being strictly minimised. (Though the quiet period was not being used productively either) The silliest thing is the claim of free wifi in all areas. In reality, it is available only in a quite miserable seating area in the lobby. It's not that the property is bad, the value is great for what you get, it's that they are pretending to be alot posher than are.

    This is a comfortable purpose built hotel with large comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a quaint pueblo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Front desk staff were lovely and helpful. Their welcoming attitude made us feel at home. Great mountain view from the room!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely property, staff training needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in could have been better - no clear instruction where our apartment was & no information given on wifi, had to ask later. First night we go to bed & our double bed has a single top sheet which was most uncomfortable, 2 people fighting with a sheet all night. Rectified at our request the following day. No bath plug provided, had to request one.

    Very spacious clean well equipped apartment in beautiful Grazalema.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Descent place in the heart of Grazalema
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi signal in the rooms

    Right in the middle of the tiny village. Free public parking close to the hotel (except Tuesdays due to market). Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed visiting the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not open ..could not buy coffee because we hadn't booked a meal plan!

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We did not spend much time At the hotel but what we found was just perfect. And the staff was very friendly :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Place needs just a touch of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cafe/dining room/bar not operating AND no way to make tea or coffee

    New smart clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money. Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seperate lightning at the sitting desk if you want to work in the room is not existing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    quite retreat with no luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant and no breakfast available

    convenient location and very good beds. The ambient is quiet and the cocks are not too loud in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    great place to recharge your batteries and clear up your mind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was fine.

    Excellent location, near to all restaurants and bars. Very friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    We were not made aware that there were no eating or drinking services available before we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant and bar were closed

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in stunning mountain town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast as restaurant closed this time of year. Plenty nearby restaurants though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    In the middle of the town in the middle of the sierrs mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly at all. Room was tiny

    Very good position

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy if people gather on the street, like we experienced. Plus, the church bell ringing just next door.

    Helpfull staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    A really nice old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really nice old hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    This hotel is in a time warp!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disinterested reception. Lack of assistance about parking information.

    Hotel was well located in the centre of the small town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great surrounding in a nice village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything alright, centrally located in the most beautiful "white village" Grazzalema.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Had a relaxed atmosphere, was very handy to Centro area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a relaxed atmosphere, was very handy to Centro area, staff were friendly, pool was a bonus on a hot day and was a lovely place to stay in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Spacious room with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room with amazing view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Desk staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Great location and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.5
    the location, the spacious room and bathroom, the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi in the room, and an old fashioned interior (but I prefer space, clean rooms and price/quality)

    the location, the spacious room and bathroom, the view... and the red wine

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Spacious room, great view, quiet even though on main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For hotels and value in our 3-week trip in Spain, this was our favorite.

    Spacious room, great view, quiet even though on main street. Excellent value, nice breakfast of various pates included and coffee in nice dining room. Helpful staff, even did our laundry though they don't usually offer that. Free parking in large city lot next door.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    8.8
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi is only available in the lounge and not in the room - misleading as it the booking.com entry says that it is available in all areas

    Nice location. Comfortable room / bed. Open fire in the

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    room quiet with breathtaking view,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi

    room quiet with breathtaking view, very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice room, good beds, beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice room, good beds, beautiful view. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful mountain town with hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room a little small for two

    Beautiful mountain town with hotel in great location.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: