Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2 stars

Gamboa, 12, 36202 Vigo, Spain

#1 of 40 hotels in Vigo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next door was an outdoor bar that was very noisy on Saturday until about 2 am. The same bar was very loud until midnight on Sunday night. Our room faced out on the street where the bar was located, if we had asked fora room at the back of thehotel we could have avoided this problem.

    Staff was very helpful. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful hotel manager. Comfortable room and beds. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Close to the port to catch the ferry over to Cies Islands.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was simple, but we both still enjoyed it. On the Saturday night there was some noise from the little pub below but not enough to keep us awake. We also had a few drinks in said pub and the locals were very friendly and entertaining!

    I cannot rate Hotel Puerta Gamboa highly enough. My partner and I stayed for two nights on our first trip to Vigo. The staff were wonderful, both father and son could not do enough for us. If like us the friendliness of staff is a main factor in choosing your hotel, then this one is certainly for you. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and they shower is fantastic! We had a small balcony overlooking the old town and we were lucky enough to be visiting during "El Dia de la Reconquista" so had a wonderful view of the battle re-enactment right from our balcony. You could not chose a better location to explore the old town. There are many wonderful pubs, restaurants and cafes a few yards away and the harbour with ferries to Islas Cíes just round the corner. There are also regular buses to the airport and beaches within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was that it was a bit pricey in comparison to some other Vigo hotels.

    Very helpful staff which gave the hotel a real personal touch. The location was excellent, very central and our room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except coukd be cheaper but it is quality so....

    Location- handy for old town and the rest, early breakfast on request, useful info. Re trains, nice toiletries, good gluten free bread and soya milk on request. Love old building with modern touches, comfort and cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect!

    Comfortable, exceptionally clean, and located in a perfect spot. They really went out of their way to make us comfortable - this is a hotel that cares!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative comment which I would make is that cutomers of the bar next door drink on the street and become increasingly noisy as the night goes on. But usually by midnight things quietened down and it did not stop me sleeping.

    The owners could not have been more welcoming ot helpful. The hotel provided economical high quality accomodation for a six day work trip. The underground carpark , 200 m away, offered at 15 euros per day, was very secure and essential in a city where car parking spaces are at a premium. There were many restaurants and taperias within close walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    So nice owners, that really made me feel at home and introduced me to Vigo in the best possible way! Small and cosy hotel with a great interior, original stone walls, modern bathrooms etc. Very high quality, and perfectly situated in the old town, near the harbour and the shopping streets. I will return!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome from Fernando and José Manuel. Fantastic location close to the old town and marina, clean and nicely appointed bedroom. Enjoyable breakfast. Excellent hosts who were happy to recommend restaurants and places to see. Thoroughly recommended place to stay and hope to come back in future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful family run business. You can walk to everything. Friendly, helpful owners. Gave me a free ride to the train when I left. Would be very happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Gamboa! The position is very good,a perfect starting point both to the city centre and to other destinations. The room was very comfortable, well equipped and perfectly cleaned. But what makes this accommodation a really good choice is above all the staff:friendly,careful and always helpful,trying to make everything possible to satisfy each request. We thank them all and hope to come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Appeared to be invisible to the lady who sat in the breakfast area. The mother? No smile, no greeting of any sort.

    Very helpful, young owner, who spoke excellent English. Pleasant attitude. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What makes this hotel special is the personal attention of Fernando and his father. We booked on the basis of great reviews from other guests and were not disappointed. Parking is available close by and the hotel location is excellent, right in the middle of the city centre and walking distance to many great bars and restaurants. The hotel, whilst small has been renovated to a very high standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bar next door which could be noisy but it didn't bother us and it wouldn't put us off staying at the hotel in future.

    This family run hotel is really good on all levels. Very friendly and helpful owners. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Vigo. Fernando and his Dad couldn't have been more helpful and we enjoyed chatting to them during our stay. The hotel is in an excellent location near the port.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here one night, on the first night of a week-long road trip through Galicia and in hindsight should never have left! Fernando & his father were so friendly, so good at making us feel welcome & Vigo has so much to offer (thee-us!) we wished we spent the whole week at Hotel Puerta Gamboa. At the end of our trip we drove 30 min. out of our way from Cambados to Vigo airport just to thank Fernando & his father again. A Guarda was laid back & slow, Ribeira Sacra was beautiful, Santiago was a spectacle, Finisterre was cool, Muros was kind of run-down, and Cambados was quaint but nothing & no one was better than Vigo & Fernando, who knew more about Brooklyn soccer than I did. Go Celta & Cosmos!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have more choices but since its a small family hotel, the limited spread is understandable.

    Very good location and very friendly staff. Brilliant chocolate cake!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We took a chance on this hotel to try and stay somewhere that wasn't the generic hotel facade we were used to. We were glad that we did! The original stone walls (1850'ish) are visible throughout the hotel, which are lovely. You are welcomed to the hotel by the owners and the vibe is relaxed, friendly and welcoming. We arrived down at 11:30AM and Fernando offered to make us breakfast. If you want to try a local hotel that is not another vanilla hotel - give this a try.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very family/friendly hotel spoke good English. Lovely tapas bars just around the corner from hotel. Bar next door so you can drink with locals. If arriving by motorcycle can park outside hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The hotel is located in a lovely, old restored building and is very central without being too noisy. What really sets it apart though is the excellent service provided by the hosts José Manuel and his son Fernando. You can really tell this is a family run business. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and staff is absolutely great. Nice bathroom: Super service if you are there by car (you can drive in front of the hotel and after check in they park your car)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The neibourhood is a bit noisy, if you are sensitive you can prepare with airplugs.

    A hidden gem with 2 stars and they have aircon. Every day clean sheets and towels. We stayed in two different rooms more than 2 weeks, charming, cozy and personal rooms, nice and clean bahtroom. After 30 years of travelling we met the most frendliest father and son, who keep this hotel going. Recommended!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding was a little outdated, and the double bed was just two twin beds put together.

    Bathroom was very modern and clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the heart of Vigo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    People were extremely friendly. The rooms were very clean and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on arrival is confusing. You’ll need the owners to come out and lower the barriers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fernando and his family went over and above to help us make the most of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street party while we were there - ear plugs are a must.

    Lovely comfortable room right in the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not long enough

    We were greeted by the owners and they were most helpful to the point of hands on assistance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect

    The owner gave us a free coffee on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was in a great location , the room was lovely and could not fault the cleanliness. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nada

    Excelente todo impecable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and attentive staff and very attractive decor, very central on the edge of the old city and well-located for the bus network.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location of family run hotel. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast of fresh fruit, pastries and omelettes or eggs which ever way you like. Good coffee and very friendly service. Great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were alway happy to help and very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host Fernando was extremely helpful and spoke wonderful English. He even parked our car for us in a local car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small but totally fine for what we needed

    Very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location and simple but tasty breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Great staff Beautiful hotel Comfy room Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location in the historic part of the city and in a few minutes walk from the port. Wonderful room design. Very clean and comfortable. And of course excellent staff: very feiendly and helpful. Feels like home. I definitely recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The great location in the old town means that it's noisy at night on the weekend

    Excellent location. Fernando and his father were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Fernando speaks English well if your Spanish isn't good.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    A very welcoming proprietor who really made our overnight stay a joy. Father took us to the railway station early on Sunday morning. Very good dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome, family run hotel. Extremely accommodating, they couldn't do more for you. Lovely rooms, great location to get around the city and to the beaches and islands. Easy, flat walk from the station with case. Highly recommend, would love to return.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central close to the port were you get the boat to islas cies (som we ET must) very friendly staff especially Fernando who helped us a lot with hour stay.. best place in vigo if you ask me

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's very little not to like.

    The staff (who are also the owners) are the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across, making the atmosphere a real home from home. The original granite building combined with glass and wood is classy.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness and helpfulness of owner-staff. Cleanliness and decor of rooms. All was excellent and made our stay memorable. Easy access to public transport to get to beaches as well as ferry to Islas Cies - a must-see while in Vigo. Recommend highly

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff are just great. They accommodated by dietary requirements in dinner and breakfast. Hotel is located in a convenient spot. And in a nice neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This mini vacation was post-Camino & just what I needed. The rooms are well put together & unique to this hotel. The location just a few steps from the harbor & marina is outstanding, & the staff went out of their way to handle all my requests. They even drove me to the train station when I left.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small especially as the bed took almost all space, but seen the size of the I guess constructed in the end 19th C'y house and the excellent quality of the bed/matrases, that's forgiven.

    The very friendly staff took their time to explain us the city, and were very caring to see if there was anything we needed. We asked for some specific restaurants and their recommendations turned out to be great. Toilettry articles were of a good quality which we rarely saw in our trip through Spain. Great location for both tapas and shopping. Parking discount and very close to the parking itself.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice small hotel, very friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The friendliness of its owners and its cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Helpful staff, like a boutique hotel. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The people, the restaurant, the facilities, which are in an old building but up to date.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was most helpful and friendly. The location was close to the harbor and the center of Vigo.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The family owners are delightful

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location in the old part of Vigo. The hotel is an old stone building, beautifully renovated. Friendly helpful owners.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff the location

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The friendly staff, the comfortable bed and the central location.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff good position stand up to the good reviews

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Very helpful staff and general ambiance

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Well designed rooms, large bathroom, super helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Personnel is very friendly and rooms are well kept. All very new but in old style.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: