Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ramblas Hotel 3 stars

Ramblas, 33, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#470 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1947 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellant

    Staff very friendly and helpful for anything you needed. The location is superd and bar staff attended to us outside with great pleasure and enjoyed our company.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Best location for getting around Barcelona close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location for getting around Barcelona close to everything. Hotel a little dated but if you are using as a base just perfect. Good continental breakfast included!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, but room 300 without window is akward.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 3rd floor without window - akward. Somebody started cleaning/collecting beds or something every morning 4 am, making awful noise. Terrible slamming doors. We didn't get much to sleep.

    Staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was very simple, the price we payed was too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything, room with windows is not too much to ask, also the breakfast was far from good , also they need to improve the isolation , lifts too small !

    The breakfast was very simple, the price we payed was too high, we got room without windows, it was very load, you could hear everybody in the hall, also the cleaning ladies in the morning, it was only location that was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought the price was too high.

    Convenience, felt safe, enjoyed the breakfast. The people at the desk were very helpful for our bus trip to Andorra. They arranged the cab to get to the bus station. They arranged the bus trip. Because of the language difference, this was a very big help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in central location - ideal base for exploring Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very firm and thus I didn't sleep very well (I prefer a soft bed). Unfortunately the bathroom did not have an extractor so it was very hot and steamy after a shower. Also, I was disappointed there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room - I took my own tea bags, expecting a kettle and cups, but was told we could not have tea or coffee in the rooms.

    Good central location, and wonderful views from the upper floors. No problem with noise, even though the hotel was in the centre of Barcelona. Hotel staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Let me think .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everywhere mold on the walls, old elevators, old furniture, stinks incredibly to sewer, terrace full of pigeon droppings, dead pigeons everywhere,terrace door didn't close . Water stinks like hell , broken tiles in the bathroom full with mold ........... Jesus and this for 185€ / night ???????????????ripped off...... please avoided .

    Let me think ........................................................................................................................................................

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    It was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra garbage can in the room. There was just a small one in the bathroom. A chair in the room would be nice. Larger bath towels and add a facecloth.

    Our view was spectacular and the terrace was a bonus. Breakfast was great and the staff and service at the Grand Cafe was awesome. I did not rate it as a romantic destination but the room was functional and clean and to be honest we used it as a home base to explore the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect as it was centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast was horrible. The bathroom had a strange & dangerous set up. The toilet & tub were on an elevated platform that was approximately 1 1/2’ high making it difficult to get out of the tub with wet feet onto the slippery tile. The hand held sprayer in the tub was mounted way too low for a tall person.

    The location was perfect as it was centrally located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    basic hotel ok for a few days, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed very basic & too hard. The room, no.110, was badly affected by noise from the metro. Mould on shower wall tiling.

    Location very good, good value for money, helpful reception, breakfast choices good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Fine, it was a place to sleep and nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 300 had no windows. It had a random set of patio doors that led to some type of alcove which had litter in it. The beds appeared dirty and the shower was faulty.

    location and reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    The Hotel was pretty expensive in comparison to the service, condition of the Hotel & area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to sleep the first night with the window open because they did not fix our Air Conditioning and on the 7th floor it gets quite warm. (Heat does rise!!) Unfortunately got woke up by loud people and gun shots multiple times during the night until about 4 am. When asked for a medium well steak I did not expect it to be medium rare.

    Breakfast staff was good. The coffee and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Loved Barcelona but not the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The location was great. Easy to get to all historical sites. The breakfast was okay but not great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds and pillows are hard and uncomfortable. There are no amenities in the room except a little fridge. No access to bottled water unless you purchase at a store. No store connected to hotel. No access to hot water for tea or coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Rambla hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom dated. No water provided. Very cold with no heating. Breakfast poor,same everyday

    Excellent location. Close to metro. Clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Staff are helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly stuff, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First night: room without window or aircon! Absolutely suffocating! Second night (1 week later) room with a balcony towards an interesting back garden. So first night was an absolute minus, second night was great. If anybody happens to end up in such an unfortunate room I suggest to ask for another room - I didn't think far enough...

    Friendly stuff, location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out and check in not that flexible especially when you are with family you should give atleast 1 hour bonus time for both

    Room was excellent ,spacious for 4 people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value , perfect location, would return there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy internet (we were on the room over the lobby facing Ramblas). We used the adjacent restaurant's internet

    Ideal location. Nice room but a bit small for two large suitcases. Actual fresh squeezed orange juice for breakfast. Large breakfast variety. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was Wonderful! I will stay here when I am next in Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything. Perhaps a little more water pressure in the shower.

    Breakfasts were included and were superb. Our room had an incredible view of the roof of Gaudi's Palau Guell, probably one of the best views in the city.The location is directly on The Ramblas, close to the harbor... The staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and took the time to make sure you understood what they said.The surrounding restaurants had Many choices,from a Flamenco show with dinner,to some of the best seafood. Elevators service all floors except for the breakfast room but they are happy to serve handicapped people in the upper dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Good object at the perfect location, although not for light sleepers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My first room was really poor - dark and noisy. When the neighbours above were using their bathrooms, it was like stones falling down, apparently a sewage system issue. After my complaints they moved me to another room which was far better (and had a window!), so all in all no penalty points to "comfort score" from my side.

    Very good location - no doubt about it, for a walker like me it was close to everywhere. Breakfasts were decent, good option to save time and money instead of looking for sth outside every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    See comments above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked out onto la Rambla but the terrace doors did not close properly! It was extremely noisy so we asked to move rooms which they were able to accommodate. The next room was much quieter at the top of the building. Unfortunately there was no air con, the beds were really hard and basically the room was really basic! I would not stay here again.

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    The only thing I liked of this “hotel” is the roof top, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably 4.6 points out of 10 it’s too much, it deserves 0.5/1, just for the location. The room was terrible, hot and dirty; the bathroom smelt everytime like a sewer, the washing basin was broken and the water flooded out on the floor. The bathtube couldn’t drain the water during a shower, so me and my friend had a shower in the same dirty water. We told everything to the staff but they neither try to fix it. Every 5 minutes there was a huge noise from the washing basin, like a washing machine, so our nights were sleepless. Another incredibile thing was the absence of the light for 30 minutes in the night. During my life I have never met a worse hotel than this. If you’re planning to go to Barcelona avoid this place, probably if you go sleeping under the bridges with homeless people you would feel like a king comparing to Ramblas Hotel.

    The only thing I liked of this “hotel” is the roof top, the rest was horrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing quite good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Unable to use proper glasses in room. Rooms poorly insulated so could clearly hear guests and room facilities next door.

    Breakfast was good. plenty of selection. Loved the fresh orange juice. Bar prices good for Hotel. Free use of safe.Towels changed daily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Central hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated on La Rambla close to everything,staff extremely pleasant and helpful.Breakfast was buffet and plenty of it. If I do return to Barcelona I would defiantly stay in this hotel, but would upgrade to a room with a terrace. We had a wonderful time :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Amazing, thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the end no last minute room, guess that’s why they a great hotel, they busy

    Staff helpful and friendly and happily charged my phone as I forgot my charger. Helped me rebook my flight so I could stay an extra night. Top marks x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Barcelona is nice to visit. Full of things to see. Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the guys at the reception were not friendly at all. And on the first night they asked us for the city tax without saying what was it for or anything...just "€10 for the city tax". Made me feel so uncomfortable. But I paid and then went to read online and realized we were supposed to pay less than €10. But I guess the left is extra tips for them. The position is good even though you need to think it's right on Las Ramblas so it's extremely noisy until early morning. Hard to sleep. And the windows need to change...there is some air coming through and makes you feel cold. It doesn't close properly so noises and wind come inside easily. And in general is old fashioned hotel. But for the money we spent, it was fine. I wasn't expecting an modern one. And breakfast was nice.

    Breakfast was nice, lots to choose. And people organising it were nice. The position of the hotel was good, close to everything. Casa batló was a 20 minutes walking. La Pedrera at 30 minutes. All the Barrio Gótico very close, La Boqueria, the cathedral, Plaça de la Catalunya. And La Barceloneta área at about 20 minutes as well. So it was easy. Ended up walking a lot despite we had the hola Barcelona card, but it was worth it. It's nicer to walk and explore. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Bad internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection was bad. We asked to change rooms, the first one didn't have wifi coverage at all and the second one had internet only by the door. The pillows were very uncomfortable. Very bad sound proof of the walls. We could hear our neighbors as if they were in ours.

    Location is perfect, especially if you're in Barcelona for a short stay. All the main attractions are walk-able. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was great. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Rooms with terraces worth every penny for sunrise and sunsets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A litte detail about the shower gel and shampoo given in little bags and in small quantities which was really not enough at all.

    The room space and the terrace on the top floor with an amazing view of the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Could find worse but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were uncomfortable and the walls are super thin so any noise coming from other people staying comes straight through.

    Location and staff very friendly/helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.8
    will not be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lifts dodgy,breakfast cold, rooms cold, not enough bedding for this time of year,damp smell, loose flooring , not 1 English channel on tv,s for grand children, noise from bars below all night till 6 am and we were on 8th floor,still kept us awake ,100,s of people outside club smoking and shouting.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    2.9
    Very , very unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the hotel, the location, the breakfast.

    This is the worst location for a turist. Hotel is really a Hostal with lots of prostitutes. Rooms are tiy and not cleaned accordingly. Breakfast is the worst and the attendants are unfriendly and unaccommodating. I've to 54 countries and many cities and hotels in Spain and have never experience such place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had lots of choice but was not to great. The room had a window that looked straight into a wall, wish we had a better view. When we wanted to go to the terrace on the roof as shown in pictures we were told that we can't.

    The location was great, right in the centre of Barcelona and walking distance to most things.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    Very bad experience except for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom plumbing is very noisy and leaky - they have a pump starting to work from time to time when you use the bathroom, and it sounds very loud. We heard the same noise from the neighbors, so it was a general issue throughout the hotel. Also, there is no hanger for the towels. Breakfast was very low quality for the room price. The cutlery is so soft, it was deforming every time it was used. The room furniture is dated, looks like they renovated here and there but not everywhere. We had cockroaches and the cleaning was superficial. Our room smelled like a kitchen almost all of the time, no matter if the window was closed or open. The wifi was wrongly configured, even if we had signal strength, we almost always got the same error, "failed to obtain IP address".

    The only good thing I have to mention is the location, the hotel is directly on La Rambla, close to Liceu metro station, close to a lot of tourist attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location, perfect for me
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was adequate for a solo traveller with all the amenities you would expect. The breakfast was substantial, the staff very helpful, This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it won´t be the last

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room did not have a window so it was like being in a tomb.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.Breakfasts were adequate but beans cold each morning.Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Our room was modern and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had a stinky/moldy smell, possibly related to the bidet and/or plumbing.

    Our room was modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very nice and convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.2
    Horrible! Dirty and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the room is unbelievable! We had sleepless nights. It’s like someone is turning on the hoover every 5 seconds, just horrible! I would definitely not stay in this property again! You can find much better room for the same price on Las Rambla.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Pretty good....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a bit primitive, not luxury. Elevators small and slow.

    Great location for Barcelona. Not a 'modern hotel', but fair considering the age of the building etc. Not bad! And not expensive!! And a reasonable free breakfast included. Nice Manager (Victor).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Have a wonderful. Fell in love with Barcelona. The hotel room added to the comfortableness of trave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator closed too quickly

    Room have a wonderful terrace overlooking many sights. the room was very large. The was clean. Staff was helpful. breakfast was good. great location for walking, get transportation and seeing the sights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.0
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In regard to the overall friendliness of the Spanish people, the receptionist at Ramblas hotel is the exception; kind of grumpy, not very eager to help, very poor English. The room was a disappointment, especially the bed. Instead of a double-bed we got two single-beds, that had been pushed together. During the night the gap in the middle widened. The bedcover consisted of only one thin sheet, but because this alone was not enough (at the end of October), we had to use some unsanitary looking blankets, that were stored in the cupboard. I know that this is common practice in many southern countries, and if you travel in summer one single sheet is also enough. Nevertheless, many people are not used to this - and there are other hotels who actually do try to satisfy the needs of the guests. Another problem with the room was, that it was very noisy (and I am not talking about common street noise - which is to except from the location on La Rambla). At times there was a very strange and loud noise, like an old engine running, which I believe was the sound of the shower one floor above. The second sleep-disrupting thing was the subway: On the third floor you could still feel the vibrations of the subway passing underneath the building (starting at 5 in the morning). If you have a light sleep, this will wake you up every couple of minutes. Other negative things to mention: The WIFI in the room gives you a feeling of 1996, because you have to literally wait minutes for a webpage to open; it's so slow, it is practically not existent. I also advice you to bring your own shampoo and shower bath, because the hotel only provides a small bar of soap and a tiny portion of shampoo. All in all, I wouldn't bother to complain so much, if the room would cost 50 Euro/night. Granted, Barcelona is expensive, but for this price I really expect a little more value.

    The main reason we choose Ramblas hotel was it's location: Directly on La Rambla, in walking distance to many sights, restaurants, the port and Gothic Quarter it can also conveniently be reached by subway from the airport. As it turned out, the location is the only positive thing to mention about this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a great and very accessible hotel, would definitely recommend,great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double bed and got 2 singles pushed together, it wasn’t a big problem just a bit uncomfortable and annoying as they kept separating during the night.

    The staff were really friendly, breakfast was very good, the rooms were neat and tidy, bathrooms clean and fully functional and the view from our 9th floor room was beautiful. Also, the location was 10/10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    2.9
    I couldn't wait to check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible hotel. Overpriced for services. Awful

    Location ok.Everything else was terrible. Room was like a prison cell. No window. No fresh air. Do not stay here. I've travelled the world and never stayed in a hotel that didn't have a window. Just awful. Food average. Hotel staff inattentive. Room not cleaned properly. The list goes on and on. I strongly advise not to stay at this property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Very pleased. Had a great time and satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could have been more upgraded. And the fact that the Tv had a few channels and all were in Spanish. English news and Sports channels to be provided.

    Location of the Hotel was excellent. The Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    Good place but need a lot of improvement
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and no window, the corridors are noisy and the pillow really uncomftable. I feel really stunned when they charged me in advance the room.

    It is really well placed in the beginning of the Rambla and close to Colon Square. The reception girls in the morning are really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.2
    bathroom was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night

    seemed pricey for the quality of room. The bed spreadsheets appeared very old and yellowed. Questioning was it clean. Did not feel comfortable covering with it. Seemed like a dorm room/flop house.

    bathroom was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Location good for visiting the port and market and places of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no drink making facilities in the room and the view through the room window to the rear was not inspiring. We made two visits as we were going on a cruise from Barcelona and on the fist visit we had an internal room with no outside window and on the second visit we had an outside window which obviously made it a bit brighter during the day and on one occasion we had the pleasure of watching & listening to someone practicing his saxophone across the way in what I assume are apartments at the rear of the hotel.

    We liked the fact that it was central, near the port and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Good and memorable.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was God and breakfast was good value. The only downside is that you are in the tourist area and so pay tourist rates for food and drink. But the metro stations are almost at the front door of the hotel so it is easy to get out and across the city of Barcelona.

    Good location for first time visit to Barcelona. You are situated right in the heart of the tourist attractions. However, you will have to put up with the noise during the evening and night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    We just stayed 1 night to await flights the next day .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    We just stayed 1 night to await flights the next day . Only bad thing was pillows were rubbish . So not bad if that's all the negatives . Great location .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, helpful staff but hotel a bit dated .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite basic for the cost, but I guess we were paying a premium for the location on Las Ramblas.

    Great location on Las Ramblas, easy to check in and staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.2
    Barcelona 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The head receptionist Nuria was EXTREMELY rude to guest and the other receptionist. She was very condescending to everyone. I'm a travel agent but will NEVER bring another client to Ramblas Hotel because of Nuria. They didn't have washcloths...average elevator wait was 10 minutes.

    Location and Victor....he is the only postive thing at the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Recomend rear room for best sleep and check for "referendums" / "stikes" before going!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Doors and double glazing on balcony windows DO NOT keep out the noise of night time on La Rambla (finishing around 03:00!!).

    Balcony veiw of La Rambla great, bed comfy, breakfast good, staff helpfull, close to some top 10 reasutrants, Metro and bus on doorstep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    A basic, no frills hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard. Not much storage space. Could get pretty noisy from anyone in the halls or the rooms nearby.

    Liked the location. Room was a nice size and was clean. Our room had a large private patio that overlooked Guell Palau. A nice breakfast is included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Clean room in great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a terrace, which we had a week before, a week in advance and was not given one. They didn't speak English well, nor were very welcoming or helpful with suggestions on seeing Barcelona.

    The age of the hotel and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it to friends.
    • Group
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are old like camp beds. The curtains and bedspreads need to upgrade. The carpet is very old. They need to move the beds a few times a year to vacuum. The breakfast room was dumpy. Felt like an old diner. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The coffee was from a machine and not good.

    The location. The staff was welcoming and friendly, very helpful and pleasant. The bathroom was nice and the towels were fresh daily. Lots of hot water for showers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location

    I liked the location, the room is clean, breakfast is OK-Basic, Beds are old and not comfort, we were 3 in a room and the beds were "moving", the cover of the bed is not clean. The front desk is polite and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and very pleasant hotel receptionists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very pleasant hotel receptionists! Our top floor room was roomy and very clean with a great view of the city from the balcony. It was a bit noisy from the streets and metro but you need to take this in due to its central location. We stayed for one night before catching our flight home. Great location to all sights and restaurants!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    The room, its state, balcony and view were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saw a cockroach on the common table with food for breakfast on 27.09. We had to skip the breakfast due to this fact.

    The room, its state, balcony and view were very good. Location is superb. Staff is helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel is in a great location to stay while visiting Las Ramblas. The staff needs to SMILE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a restaurant and bar, but difficult to say exactly when bar was open etc. We did get the breakfast included. Never at in the restaurant

    The location was the best part. Rooms were clean but it was a no frills place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Location and age of hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready when promised, had to wait another hour. The second stay was given a room without a view, even though we specifically asked for the same room for our return stay.

    The terrace was wonderful. Had it one night,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    internet connection was extremely slow to non existent . my wife had a very expensive shirt whose sleeve got torn by a metal frame on the main room door that was protruding way over the door frame , (see attached photos) we went to the reception asking for some sort of compensation , only to be treated in a nasty and disrespectful way by the clerk lady at the reception who argued that such occurrence is impossible (again - see photos for proof) when we insisted - she sent a maintenance guy to the room with us who saw the problem and promised to advise the reception about it, but when we went down to the reception a few hours later, they completely claimed no knowledge of it. needles to say - we won't be coming back anytime soon. Shmuel Peleg

    Location, Balcony .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Very Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poky, no view, wifi didn't work, plumbing very noisy - sounded like a garbage compactor evey time loo was flushed or shower/tap used - nowhere to hang towels, aircon ineffective, breakfast very ordinary, could hear metro trains even 4 floors up. Very disappointed, especially for the high pricetag. Would not recommend.

    Central location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacks an ironing room, were you can iron your shirts.

    We really enjoyed staying at the hotel.The room was spacious clean and comfortable.Staff was very helpful. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Hotel is very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Old hotel, but location and staff more than make up for that. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The general feeling of the hotel was that it is extremely old, like something from the '20s. Still, the bathroom was new, the AC functioned well, and the room was clean. The location of the hotel and the friendliness of the reception team really help.

    We liked the location, and the staff at the reception were extremely friendly. Breakfast was o.k. Nothing really wow but ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    Interesting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception so rude and unhelpful. shower not working - complained every day and it was finally fixed on last day. No apologies. View over the balcony of what looked like squatters.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    hotel with a character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    on the last day when we put luggages in the lagguage room we saw one cockroach crawling I stepped on it and killed it. That happens in big cities but it wasn't nice to see.

    First of all fantastic location, elegant hotel, room extremely big and clean, newly renovated bathroom, they provided toothbrushes with toothpaste for all of us, Breakfast was great, kids loved it.. we had a problem with closing our window because one part was broken and they send a handyman quickly to fix it. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Location on Les Rambles and close to the port was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with no new furnishings. Air conditioning was barely able to keep up with the heat and humidity outside.

    Location on Les Rambles and close to the port was good. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location. Helpful reception staff. Breakfast not great. Room needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could definitely do with refurb, dark and tatty and bathroom chipped and not 100% clean. Wifi was flaky and breakfast could be a lot better? Also staff in breakfast room were quite grumpy, but there was some fairly rude guests, so this may be why!!

    Beautiful frontage to hotel in fabulous location, reception staff were friendly and helpful. Balcony was big and spacious although only a small table and 3 chairs, but did have a good rooftop view of Gaudi building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value hotel, perfect for accessing the central tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like.

    Located at the bottom of La Rambla so very convenient. No parking at the hotel but plenty available close-by. Friendly/helpul staff, clean room and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    The perfect place to stay for a proper fun trip in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect!! The stuff was super nice and helped us with everything we needed. Plus, the breakfast was great with a lot of options ! Was a pleasure to stay there !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    3 Night Minimoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room with a terrace on the 6th floor which was lovely but there was some noise from something on the roof which was distracting at night unless you had a few sangria's before hand.

    The location on the Ramblas was ideal - two metro stations within 3 mins and a short stroll to the marina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    We loved being in las ramblas but the hotel was in need of modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and pillows like cardboard. The noise from outside was very loud despite the windows being closed. Double galling would be a good idea.

    The location was good. The facilities and decor was very very dated and of poor repair.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, near old town and metro links, enjoyed exploring Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfortable. Noisy due to main air con unit for the hotel being directly above our room.

    View from the terrace. Friendly helpful staff. Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    Good location but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La Rambla is very dangerous at night. Some of the hotel staff were quite dismissive. The room was dirty. The back door lock to the terrace in my room was broken and they were not interested in putting me up in another room or refunding me as I was prepared to share a room with my friend in her room.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Location right on the main street is the main reason to book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location right on the main street is the main reason to book here. Staff were friendly. Breakfast included was amazing. Best coffee we have had. Rooms very small. AC didn't work very well. Window in our room looked straight into a water storage tank. They stored our luggage for a small fee. Restaurants and all entertainment right out the door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice looking and well placed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In order to have a great view of the Ramblas, you'll have to endure through all the street noise. Needs better pillows.

    It's well placed and has good quarters. Mostly quiet and with a lot of movement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    Unless you are truly stuck for a place to stay, find somewhere else to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic interior Double or Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything,in the breakfast area their were cockroaches crawling across the floor, the bread was stale, the fuit was tinned and facilities were old and outdated.

    Nothing, the hotel is not what I expected from the information on the web site.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ramblas Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: