Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Refugio de Juanar 3 stars

Sierra Blanca s/n, 29610 Ojén, Spain

#3 of 4 hotels in Ojén

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Silent night, perfect peace, nature on doorstep, pool and great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could have been better but it’s good to have a break from comms in a place like this.

    Secret gem. Arrive have gin and tonic on the terrace then relax by pool. Dine on venison for supper. Next morning packed lunch provided and climb La Concha for 5 hours. Return to cool off in pool. Paradise,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok value fof money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and bedroom were cold and we were inly guests eating so lack if atmosphere

    Frienfly member of staff and love walkjng from hotel. Very wuiet at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    If you want some of the best scenery in Spain and a few days off the grid, this a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the evening meals, the food was poor due, mainly, to bad presentation and a perceived lack of creative cooking skills. A more basic lunch menu was much better. With classic Iberian fayre and more popular international easy dishes

    Location.. Location... Location... and the chestnut ice cream.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    We wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard the hair dryer didn't work and the fridge in the room didn't work and the breakfast was a waste of money

    The peace and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    I would never contemplate staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard. The menu offerings were dismal at dinner and breakfast. The pool was not clean. The surrounding area was unkempt as was the exterior in general. This did not represent value for money. Charmless.

    Staff were generally communicative. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    In the mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building you can smell some mould in the room and bathroom not great

    If looking to stay away from all modern things this will be the right place for you, a lot of character and lovelly food hence the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    Boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple standard (2 adults+ 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peaceful, Very good staff, moderate food option.

    The Hotel is totally exile, nothing there close by. No public transport, no groceries/shopping, nothing to see nearby, nor does it have beautiful nature/landscape & very far from habitation/people. You will get bored soon. The hotel doesn't have any facility to entertain urself: no TV, no AC/Fan, no indoor/outdoor play. It's hot day time. Won't recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    3.8
    Peaceful but two nights would be enough, very boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not very friendly, bathroom not particularly clean, (long black hairs on the floor), room very dark even in the middle of the day, tv in room but only showed a few Spanish stations, wi-fi only available in bar or restaurant, in fact in our room there was not even a phone signal, restaurant menu very poor, nothing for vegetarians (chips salad or egg). The walks outside were either uphill or down and were very difficult in the summer heat. We booked and paid for six nights but left after only four. If you read and you are happy with hours of quiet and solitude then this place is for you but not for us after four days we were totally bored.

    Nice setting, very peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    2.5
    Appalling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appalling location, literally middle of nowhere (takes 30 minutes (a 30 euro cab) just to get to the nearest village), run down, no charm, falling apart. Unless you have a car - *DO NOT STAY HERE*.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    The tranquility of the location, the excellent walks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor internet connection, outdoor facilities not maintained well. Despite being more than 20° they hadn't prepared the poolside, it was quite abandoned.

    The tranquility of the location, the excellent walks available. The restaurant was very good quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Decent restaurant at the result and nice hiking trails in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for low quality. Room was very dark. Light switches were messed up and one of the light bulbs was dead (and room was still dark after it was replaced).

    Decent restaurant at the result and nice hiking trails in the area. Free parking right in front of the reception. When we complained the room is too cold, we quickly received a radiator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Such a nice place in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi in the room was weak but there is plenty of it downstairs at the bar.

    It's such a great place in the middle of mountains, out of mobile coverage, surrounded with hiking paths, nice nature. Very nice people, good foods and drinks. Great relaxing 4 nights for us, a good find.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.4
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple standard (2 adults+ 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access impossible on Sunday due to lousy parking along access road. Synthetic towels and bed linen No attempt to clean floors after messy Sunday lunchers Food poor Understaffed

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    The dinner was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was amazing. The setting superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    You are really disconnected from the world in a beautiful serounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection

    A great place to stay, we dined at the fireplace, we hope everything remains like this..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    A relaxing couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connectivity is poor in the bedrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    No internet or phone (Mobil) signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet or phone (Mobil) signal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English translation are extremely poor.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Isolated, "hunting lodge" type of accommodation. Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Peace and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant. Will go back to hike surrounding area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp!

    The fact that they fed us late even though the kitchen had just closed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Lovely situation and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A duvet instead of heavy blankets!

    Lovely situation and staff. Nice rooms and good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Helpful staff and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.8
    it is very peaceful but one night was enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food not as good as it used to be.

    the log fire it was so cold and the rest of the hotel was baltic

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    8.0
    great short stay relaxed location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the courtesy of all the staff, both in reception and in the dining area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Isolated bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet but hey. Live without it.

    No traffic noise. No light pollution. No loud guests. Fantastic mountain location. Great walking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very far from the town

    Friendly staff. Good for relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.8
    The area was stunning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was cold. Very few staff only one was welcoming BREAKFAST WAS DREADFUL. Cake and toast and a bit of processed ham. Diner in evening as bad it was cold. The dining room also cold and had to ask for the heat to be put on.

    The area was stunning . The house was beautiful with lots of potential.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    The hotel is quaint and charming and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms are a little antiquated and in need of refurbishment . The beds are uncomfortable and the bedding is old fashioned . Need good mattresses and duvets and comfy pillows.

    The hotel is quaint and charming and the location is beautiful for nature lovers The staff are excellent and went Out of their way to accommodate us.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    3.3
    Localization was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There ws no one at the 24 hours reception at our arrival and departure. I was really unhappy with the room, it smelled of smoke although a non smoking room was booked and the bathroom was dirty. Breakfast was ok. At home we had to get angry again because too much has been debited from our card. We have asked by email, why too much has been debited from the account, there was no answer until now. That was probably the self-granted tip.

    Localization was nice

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.4
    The location and the rustical decoration of the hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell all over the hotel, especially in the dinning room and bedroom corridor, uncomfortable beds, very old public toilet looking bathroom.

    The location and the rustical decoration of the hotels interior(besides bedrooms).

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Location was hard to find but worth it as in a lovely quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bar closing too early & could do with a pool bar but not a major issue

    Location was hard to find but worth it as in a lovely quiet location, we stayed in the apartments which were clean & comfy. Good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    Lovely location and the room was big enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no air conditioning so the room get hot and my daughter bed was uncomfortable . We also had mouldy toast for breakfast

    Lovely location and the room was big enough

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    6.7
    Position in the middle of nowhere - but actually perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff not amazing

    Position in the middle of nowhere - but actually perfect for who wants "silence in the mountatins". The good point is that in 25 minutes you get to la playa and citylife!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    3.8
    The location is very peaceful and the hotel very traditional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival we waited over 10 minutes for a member of staff to come to the 24 hour reception desk. As the staff were all talking in the kitchen. Once in the bedroom we soon realised there was no air conditioning or fan. Which in temperatures of over 35 degrees made it very uncomfortable. Being in the countryside and not having fly screens, meant , if we opened the windows we would have been bitten to death with all the flies and mosquitoes. Unbelievably they had made the beds up with 4 layers. A throw, a bed cover, a thick blanket and a cotton sheet. We went to eat lunch on the terrace. Which was lovely, once again, when the staff had finally finished talking amongst themselves. When going out in the evening, again nobody was on the 24 hour desk. So we took our key with us, as otherwise anybody could have gone into our room. Not very secure. Given the fact, there was a large car park, I was not happy when another car had caught my car door. The cleanliness of the bathroom floor, wasn't great and there was a leak from the bath. On checking out, yet again it took us a little while due to lack of service by the staff.

    The location is very peaceful and the hotel very traditional. Glad we only had 1 nights stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    Superb location, lovely temperature, the silence of nature,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mini bar did not work

    Superb location, lovely temperature, the silence of nature, great walks under the trees, good pool,dinner on the terrace outside with a fox....great fun!!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    We loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    We loved this hotel. The setting amongst the hills is fabulous and the quality of the food is excellent. The staff are so friendly and will do anything to help.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    The forest location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant menu is very old fashioned, with nothing for vegetarians at all. I am used to this in Spain, though, and the staff were happy to cook what I asked for (variations on egg and chips...)

    The forest location. The garden. The tranquillity. The friendly and accommodating staff who were all very sweet. The breakfast. The visiting fox! The car park.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.8
    Location, bed comfy, bar/restaurant/reception staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning staff not as thorough as they should be. Drawers not checked in wardrobe, toiletries not topped up, toilet paper not topped up. Chef / Hotel would benefit from learning how to cater for vegetarians.

    Location, bed comfy, bar/restaurant/reception staff, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    9.2
    The staff were amazing: very attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    We ordered a meal from the menu in the restaurant: both were fish dishes and were highly priced. We were very disappointed with the quality, taste and presentation. I would definitely not order from the menu again: next time I would play it safe and order a bar meal of grilled meat & chips (difficult to get this wrong!).

    The staff were amazing: very attentive and helpful. The rooms were immaculately clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    7.9
    Location and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner on the half board is very limited choice. If you stay more than one night, it gets boring. When we phoned for help getting transport back, potentially in a dangerous position, we were essentially abandoned when they told us the Marbella cab service wasn't available and offered no further help. They could improve their offering by helping walkers with transport solutions.

    Location and ambience. Very generous gin and tonics. Good wine selection

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    5.8
    well placed for a walk in the sierra Nieves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    baltic no central heating that worked 2 electric fires needed to warm up the room similarly cold in bar and sitting room big open fire if you can get near it overall ok but remember to take your thick pullover and winter pyjamas decor a bit 1950s but charming after I got used to the cold

    well placed for a walk in the sierra Nieves helpful waiter dinner very good food exceptional value i thought dinner menu 3 courses for 26 euro exceptional partridge consommé delicious partridge figs in wine to finish did get to the cheese interesting good value wine list

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    EVERYTHING :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    EVERYTHING :)

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    5.8
    Good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price, this hotel was more expensive than the others we stayed at.

    Good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.5
    The waiter was very efficient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lady receptionist was awful.

    The waiter was very efficient and friendly. Close proximity to various mountain trails.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    the tranquillity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    little bit difficult to find

    the tranquillity

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Great get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great get away! Good location for trekking experience

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    In the nature, nice forest, fox peeking around the carpark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, poor address info

    In the nature, nice forest, fox peeking around the carpark

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    5.8
    The poor internet, too hot in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The poor internet, too hot in the room

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    Really pleasant staff, homely feel, super relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really pleasant staff, homely feel, super relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.9
    Firendly staff and cozy ambiance within the resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is over-priced

    Firendly staff and cozy ambiance within the resort

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: