Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Valencia Community hotel reviews
  4. Benicarló hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Sol

Reviews of Hotel Sol 1 stars

Avenida Magallanes, 103, 12580 Benicarló, Spain

#1 of 25 hotels in Benicarló

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 58

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Sol is super clean and pleasant. That is more important to me than location or amenities. That said, breakfast is very good and the swimming pool is also very clean and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, old school hospitality in a charming setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer.

    We loved the property and the hostess was charming. We loved Tula (the whistling parrot) and her parakeet friends. We especially loved the gang of invasive species turtles. Best of all is the breakfast. Get the breakfast, you'll be happy you did.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Stayed at this property at the beginning of our road trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at this property at the beginning of our road trip through Spain, France to Italy it was so good we booked it again for the way down. It was excellent Dora even put water in the fridge for us for our trip the next day couldn’t ask for more highly recommended 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Dora made us feel really welcome and made us a fantastic...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dora made us feel really welcome and made us a fantastic breakfast . Very clean and comfortable and our little boy loved the swimming pool, the turtles, the birds and the futbolín. Excellent value for money .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good and friendly place for if you are on the road.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine until 3.30 in the morning when my neighbours came back. The room appeared to be very noisy and it was if they were standing in my room. They were playing music and speaking loudly. Of course the hotel cannot do anything about noisy guests but the poor soundproofing can disturb your night's sleep if you are unlucky with your fellow guests.

    A clean room and easy to find from the highway. Perfect to stay for a night if you are on the road. Bed and sheets nice and fresh, neat bathroom. Parking in front of the hotel. Friendly reception. Dogs are welcome. Nearby are two bars where you can have a (simple) bite but don't expect too much from this little town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for an overnight stay or even a holiday.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about this hotel to dislike.

    WE stayed here on our way back from The Costa Calida en route to France. This is one lovely hotel. Immaculate bedroom and bathroom. Our hostess was pleasant and efficient and served a delicious breakfast. Our little dog was accommodated too with an area accessible for walking. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Superb family run hotel, will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run hotel, room and bed very comfy, shower room facilities excellent and just a short trip to the town and port. Dora is so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Dogs made welcome as well. What a find!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    A well position family run hotel with easy access to the AP7 and offering great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A family run hotel where nothing was too much trouble, our "laden" car was safely locked away for the night in their garage at no extra cost. They were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for an evening meal and as other guests have said the breakfast was lovely - we came away with a jar of homemade marmalade!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfortable hotel reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls a bit thin and was some noise from other guests, but slept ok.

    Owner very friendly and helpful. Provided a very nice breakfast of boiled eggs, sliced meats and cheese. Hotel is easy to find and provides free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Great family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family are extremely attentive, very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are very well equipped, large and absolutely spotless. 10/10. I would highly recommend.

    Very warm welcome, very clean, great facilities, great hotel. 10/10. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Stop over hotel at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so any noise from the hallway reverberated around the room, no air conditioning in the rooms, so trying to get to sleep on a hot August night was impossible, not great when you have an 8 hour drive the next day!

    We used the hotel as a stop over on the way South, so it was convenienty located to the motorway,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, friendly, good location for town and great for staying with dogs!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con and ceiling fan didn't work so had to open windows wide and was disturbed throughout the night by the road traffic noise. Pillow is the double sausage type which was uncomfortable.

    Staff were friendly and really helpful. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Hotel well placed for accessing all the amenities of Benicarlo town, beach and port. Well worth sampling the couple of restaurants on the port, namely the authentic Indian curries at Ali Baba and the mega burgers at the Biker's Café. Breakfast at the hotel (not included) very good, mostly continental but will do you a fried egg on toast, or boiled egg at your request. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    This hotel deserves more than one star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel deserves more than one star rating. The breakfast was excellent home cooked bread and pastries. A small jar of marmalade to take with you. You could not think of anything bad to say about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Stay here & be happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is the 3rd time we have stayed here over the last 3 years and the owner, Dora, is very pleasant & nothing is too much trouble for her. There is a small Pizza & Tapas restaurant on the site of the BP service station about 100 metres from the Hotel, both of which are very handy. Outdoor swimming pool open from June 1st for summer season. Plenty of parking on site & secure parking available on request. Cooked breakfasts available on request & Dora will spoil you with her home-made fruit cake! Overall we would recommend this Hotel as good value with en-suite rooms (with large modern shower & toilet facilities) in which you can be confident of enjoying a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Erything was loverly after a long drive from roses

    Loverly people at hotel so helpfull our room was loverly had a loverly meal near by thank you so much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Homemade treats add a heartfelt touch to a clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a tough location to safely cross the main street outside the hotel. But although the street is busy, the rooms are quiet.

    Owners are amazing- she makes delicious fresh brown bread every morning for the free included breakfast. She also makes little jars of homemade marmalade with the local organic oranges for each guest to take home!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Great overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was great for on overnight stop but Benicarlo itself was not a place to any length of time.

    Lovely clean white cotton bedding. As we were travelling with a car full of luggage and golf clubs they asked if we would like to put or car in their garage. Very thoughtful!! Even gave us a jar of homemade marmalade when we left.The accomm

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.2
    Really friendly and welcoming.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well situated for the local shops, restaurants, and bars. The owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - we were very impressed that she made delicious gluten free bread and cake for breakfast. She also gave us some good suggestions of local bars and restaurants in the town where we could take our dog.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Charming place, no frills but really clean and comfortable. Family run, very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Well run family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    far from the beach

    clean and quiet free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    A small well run family hotel featuring home cooked breakfast items. Very good for stopping off.Jog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothings

    Excellent and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Better than we expected. Wish we had stayed for more than the one night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean, calm. Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doro was so lovely and helpful person. The breakfast was awesome, all handmade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for 1 or 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near a busy road

    Friendly owner near a nice little town plenty of parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Really clean helpful staff with lots of good recommendations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean helpful staff with lots of good recommendations highly recommended 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hosts. Good facilities, tidy and clean and at fair price! Good tips for restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stopover on way to southern Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy to find; spotlessly clean; good-sized and well-appointed room; lovely and very helpful owner; great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Charming Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good delicious home cooked cakes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    The wifi was very good (according to my daughters).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smelly and very warm, no possibility to cool it (by fan or airco).

    The wifi was very good (according to my daughters).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is excellent!!! The people are reallly nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    motel at the edge of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Teas making facilities in the room would be nice

    The owner was lovely, she even gave us homemade cake and marmalade to take away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    It was a little early in the season so there was no bar or...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little early in the season so there was no bar or restaurant facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Anytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful host. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    The owner was charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was charming. Breakfast was excellent with home made bread and cakes. Spotlessly clean. Would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel what a find, absolutely spotlessly clean, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel what a find, absolutely spotlessly clean, so helpful as well plenty of parking and also a lovely pool - on the edge of town so easy to reach everything

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    Traveling toCosta Blanca, perfect stopover, short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traveling toCosta Blanca, perfect stopover, short walk to town. Lovely clean Hotel with very nice and helpful owners, good breakfast. Most important for us was garage parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely family run hotel on the main route through Benicarlo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely family run hotel on the main route through Benicarlo. Travelling on my motorcycle and made more than welcome lovely quiet location just a stones throw from the town.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.6
    The place was spotless and very well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was perfect !

    The place was spotless and very well maintained My room was spacious with a refurbished bathroom I can't remember owner's name, but she was very friendly and polity

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed with very nice and very clean bed linen.
    • Solo traveller

    Decor could be done with a freshen up

    Very comfortable bed with very nice and very clean bed linen. On the outskirts of town so all no noise from fests that was going on in the town centre. I did feel sorry for people staying in town centre hotels that Saturday night. Landlady is a star.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.9
    We like the bedroom, the bed and the dining room /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was unheated and quite cold. The finishing of the decoration was poor around the door frame. We noticed that the room did not have air conditioning, which was no problem to us in winter but would not be good in summer.

    We like the bedroom, the bed and the dining room / breakfast. The lady owner had good English language and was able to direct us around the town for entertainment and meals. The parrot was very entertaining.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Dora was extremely welcoming and helpful, even inviting me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately situated on very busy road, so very noisy if you wanted the windows open for fresh air. I think I understood that re-routing was to take place in about a month but maybe check this.

    Dora was extremely welcoming and helpful, even inviting me to join her when she drove to the supermarket during heavy rain.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is quite far from everything, BUT it is not at all a problem for those travelling by car. No air conditioner in the rooms.

    Very friendly staff. There is a nice swimming pool in the hotel, also turtles and talkative parrots. Free parking and wi-fi. Great price!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    English speaking staff, free Wi-Fi, A/C in the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A kind of difficult to find the location, especially when you're a foreigner travelling by car - just few indication signs in the town, breakfast could be more sufficient for 4 star hotel

    English speaking staff, free Wi-Fi, A/C in the room, excellent restaurant and bar with evening entertainments, free parking, clean pool, LIDL supermarket in walking distance, calm guests

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    10
    We stayed here on our move down to Spain and found the whole...
    • Couple

    Nothing !!!

    We stayed here on our move down to Spain and found the whole thing delightful. The owner, Dora, couldn't have been kinder and the breakfast was brilliant with everything home made including fresh orange juice squeezed from fruit from her own garden. The whole experience was perfect and rthe hoel was spotless.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    9.6
    Spotless clean and in excellent condition with a very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spotless clean and in excellent condition with a very friendly owner! Really comfortable blankets and beds, and large free parking spot in front

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Always a good well from the owner,good rooms,short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea @coffee making facilities not in room

    Always a good well from the owner,good rooms,short walk to seafront

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Lovely reception, lovely owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely reception, lovely owners

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.1
    Friendliness and help fullness of owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness and help fullness of owner. Excellent advice on local facilities and breakfast tailored to us

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    The friendly reception the caring way breakfast was served,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives.

    The friendly reception the caring way breakfast was served, including everyday different home made bakings!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Very kind owners, very clean room, nice garden, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Very kind owners, very clean room, nice garden, lovely parrots, delicious apple pie.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    For this price the hotel is perfect, espetially for people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit close to the road, but it was not a problem, wasn't noisy.

    For this price the hotel is perfect, espetially for people who are driving.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    8.3
    Lovely big shower with plenty of hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too near the main road, needs air con in the summer months.

    Lovely big shower with plenty of hot water. Clean pool great for a swim.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothin

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    The hotel check-in was quick and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel check-in was quick and efficient.Room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.3
    Very good hospitality by the owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work.

    Very good hospitality by the owner.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 58

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: