Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurante Toruño 2 stars

Plaza del Acebuchal, 22, 21750 El Rocío, Spain

#11 of 17 hotels in El Rocío

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 499 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Atmospheric town..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over the years, the decor has become a little tired. The toilet was a bit temperamental.

    The atmosphere of El Rocio. Good restaurant with plenty of variety. Views across the marsh from our window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    The only reason you should go to this hotel is because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel just isn't great.. it's quite expensive, the rooms are tiny with very little facilities, beds are short and uncomfortable, breakfast is just horrible (seriously, don't get it.. just buy something somewhere else.. it's really really really not worth a cent of your money), staff isn't rude, but neither are they nice..

    The only reason you should go to this hotel is because of the environment.. El Rocío is so unique and the nature surrounding it is great.. however, if you can find a different hotel.. go there.. it's probably better

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Location and style of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was cheap and cheerful including toiletries and furniture Beds very uncomfortable Air conditioning was antiquated and just a cold (well not so cold) blower. This could be a fantastic hotel with just a bit of money spent

    Location and style of hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    Until you visit this town you can't comprehend it's strangeness. Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom smelled - obviously a drains problem. Breakfast buffet had mostly gone by 9am on the day we left - when I asked for yogurt and juice and cake, which had run out, they just shrugged.

    Amazing views of the wetlands from the window. But truly amazing to watch people on horseback drinking and singing flamenco at 3am from the window. Very strange town indeed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for comfort, relaxation and fabulous food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel with great staff in a perfect location. Went there for a couple of days relaxation and could not fault it. The bonus being their restaurant at the side of the hotel- fabulous food with very caring and attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    One night visiting would be ample
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff weren’t over friendly but I suppose the language difficulty may have something to do with that.

    Very basic but as expected., good location and very quiet . Not too many people around

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    OK, but only for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, the bed uncomfortable, and the shower was broken. Breakfast was a dire affair and the reception staff kept on disappearing.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Setting, views, room set-up, new double glazed windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some breakfast items were industrial and not quality, my parents ‘ room had 4 light bulbs that needed replacing ; we didn’t know that we had to drive a while on very very poor dirt roads to access it

    Setting, views, room set-up, new double glazed windows

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Nature at your doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable. The bathroom is strangely configured. The lobby smelled of smoke when we arrived but later on cleared up.

    I loved the closeness to the park. You can see the birdlife right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    The room had a great view over the marshlands and we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a great view over the marshlands and we could watch flocks of flamingoes flying over the water. El Rocio also has to be seen to be believed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    The view from our room over the marsh lake was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very, very thin. We could hear the people in the next room, especially when they were in their bathroom - very clearly! Also people's suitcases in the corridor

    The view from our room over the marsh lake was absolutely superb, beautiful at all times of the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    We loved the hotel , loved the view of the lake . We only wished we had opted to eat out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we had had the option of a second pillow we would have given the hotel 5 stars

    We loved the hotel which was, for a 3 star, very comfortable, clean, good location and friendly with a pleasant bar staff. The whole experience was let down by the restaurant. we had opted for half board, Breakfast was very good. DINNER WAS ALL BAR UNEDABLE, we had the choice of 2 menu's and chose the least worse option. If we had been offered a meal upgrade we would have happily paid extra, we were not. The service at dinner was poor and we ate what we could of our meal feeling somewhat disillusioned by the experience. Though we loved the town, the hotel and the bar we would not return until the restaurant has improved

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location but room could have been more comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shabby furniture in room and hard pillow ( although typical Spanish bolster pillow). No bar in hotel. Room quite small. Lack of vegetarian options on menu of accompanying restaurant.

    Great location by the lagoon. We had the corner room (221) with double aspect views. Large bathroom with powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Air conditioning and heating in room. Room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Well organized hotel, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had liked to sit outside, in the sun. but at the time I was here the pool was closed so I understand.

    English and French speaking reception, Friendly staff and clean rooms, wifi fast connection. Beach was one straight 10 min walk from the hotel, and a little supermarket around the corner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel stay was as good as expected . The town of Él Rocio was unique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the promises in the hotel booklet were fulfilled. Something had broken down a few weeks ago and had not been repaired. It would be good to have facilities to make tea and coffee in the room. Or to have bottled water in the fridge keeping cool. The receptionist had a poor grasp of English, in a place where there is a high number of British tourists for the wildlife possibilities.

    Location of hotel would give excellent views of the marisma when the waters have risen. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Something abit different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy when people are leaving or arriving to rooms Beds very small and short

    Good location in the village Rooms at back have views of wetlands You can park right by the hotel Picnic breakfast available on request Nice Seating area for reading when you need to get out the sun

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Very special experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very special experience. Dusty streets, people riding up to a bar and being served while sitting on the horse. Good food, cold beer. I'll remember this place...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    The position, direct in front of the laguna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not always there, since they work both in the hotel and in the restaurant.

    The position, direct in front of the laguna! The meal, in the restaurant Toruno near the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included but we were booked on a tour before breakfast started. Picnic breakfast provided which hit the spot. Also no hassle about vacating the room. Great location especially if like us your are into wildlife

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Good option for staying in El Rocio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the hotel room (bathroom) had little maintenance issues, because the decoration and furniture is bit old. - quite pricy for the not up to date rooms.

    - the location of the hotel, next to the lake and in the town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location, wouldn't recommend half or full board options, menu choice is extremely limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for the half board option as we were not sure what else was around, as it happened there were plenty of options within the town. The restaurant offered a full menu although being half board we only had a choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and no choice for deserts, extremely disappointing. Hotel receptionist was constantly on her phone chatting to a friend during our checkout :( The rooms have no sound proofing what so ever!

    The location was lovely, located by the lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Exellent lakeside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If we could have had a room overlooking the lake our stay would have been fantastic, as we were here to look at the wildlife, but we had to have an inside room looking at a wall & a dirty roof.

    Great location to the lake, the National park, had good WIFI. the room was clean & comfortable. Nice seperate bar & restaurant across the street. Good dinner menu which we were able to dine outside under cover. Free parking out on the street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    El Rocio is amazing; this hotel is so-so but may be as good as you;ll find there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were half board, so had an evening meal choice of two meat dishes. As I'm vegetarian, on two nights I got chargrilled vegetables as the main course; on the other night I got chargrilled (ie burnt) asparagus. Nothing more. In this part of the world, you expect at least orange juice rather than orange squash for breakfast. The room was sparse, the double bed small, and no plug in the basin, ants at night. With just a little bit more effort, it could have been so much better.

    The location on the edge of the lake is fantastic. The service in the restaurant of an evening was excellent. There was always someone on reception. The rooms were pretty clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    The location is superb and the town has an interesting Wild...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel furnishings need a renovation. When we first arrived the headboard on the bed broke and the knob on the cupboard fell off as did the newel post on the bannister. Two nights later we woke up to no hot water. They patched up the headboard and restored the hot water but they couldn't do anything about the dreadful mattress. The hotel and town project an attitude of doing the minimum effort to get by and fail to provide much useful information about local attractions.

    The location is superb and the town has an interesting Wild West character with sandy streets, horses and hitching posts. But the town has a closed-in feel. Restaurants are so-so but I recommend the Aires de Donana at the southern end of town next to the marshes. The food is excellent, the staff friendlier, and it has a great view from the veranda. The national park is great for birding and has several visitors centers within east reach. The staff running them are remarkably uninformed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    The Wild West, with religious fervour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El Rocío is like the Wild West - all the streets are dust or mud.

    Very helpful staff gave us a picnic as Out tour of Doñana started too early for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Stunning location next to the beautiful Donana bird reserve and lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was basic, which suited us for our two night stay. That said it was clean, comfortable and a great shower with plenty of hot water and heating in the room. Great views overlooking the lake from two windows in this ground floor corner location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.0
    It was nice to have a little balcony overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were pretty laidback and indifferent. The room was very small, nowhere comfortable to sit and the bedlinen poor. Bathroom OK.

    It was nice to have a little balcony overlooking the wetlands.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Avoid here at weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    El Rocio is so busy these days at the weekends compared to a few years ago.It used to be busy at Easter time of course but now the Spanish flock there in their 4 X 4 's every weekend.so if you want some peace and have a quite look around go on weekdays

    Ground floor room so need for stairs

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Stay as long as you can ... you will love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The location is superb and the staff are invariably kind, fun and attentive The restaurant is well stocked with all sorts of wine and the chef produces some wonderful stews, grills and patès . For breakfast you have a wide choice of pastries , but the best start to the day is a tostado with a drizzle of local olive oil and thin slices of tomato ... and a cafe solo!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.8
    Basic hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold on arrival and smelt damp. No heating in bathroom. Poor maintenance. Hotel restaurant very average with unfriendly staff.

    Location excellent in El Rocio and with great views of lagoon

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.9
    Reasonable hotel in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plastic undersheets - I thought Spanish hotels had stopped using these nowadays, but not El Toruño, apparently; no orange juice at breakfast (which is odd because other juices were available); El Rocío gets cold at night in mid-winter and, whilst the room was (eventually) warm enough, thanks to an electric, oil filled radiator, the restaurant was too cool for comfort and the bar/cafetria was frankly cold, with people eating breakfast in their coats!

    The location is hard to beat, with some rooms having wonderful views over the water; good food in the restaurant (though choice is very limited, and much less interesting, for half-board customers; but such meals are perfectly acceptable, and half-board is great value for money)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    3.8
    Dont bother with this place as it is highly overpriced and the recptionist is hard to locate!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extremely cold bathroom with heavy condensation on windows.the rooms had not been cleaned properly and the furniture and fittings are falling to bits.We told booking.com of this problem last year and things have not improved

    Good view from window

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Birdwatchers ideal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and it was all good.

    Our room overlooked the lake where we could see the birds coming and going, which was wonderful. The rooms are quite small and basic but very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.7
    El Roccio is an unusual but interesting "horse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the hotel is much more attentive than the staff at the restaurant. Perhaps they are just understaffed, but despite 3 requests, we waited nearly an hour for the bill and never did receive all the food items we ordered. The hotel itself is old fashioned, basic, but satisfactory for one night.

    El Roccio is an unusual but interesting "horse town". Read up about their annual festival. Because we were leaving early for a tour of Donana, the staff put together a nice picnic, enough for breakfast and lunch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Wild horses in front of my window
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast package to take away so we could join the guided tour starting at 8 AM

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Very short but great to recharge batteries and enjoy nature - Donana is a very special place indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choose this hotel because of the great location to birdwatch. Very special location and will return again in future this being our second visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    A truly unique location that you should not miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three beds in a two bed room was a little cramped

    Location was amazing in a truly unique town that is the wild west meets Christian fervour

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs lack of Wi Fi in room cost was bit much

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    As good as expected for the fourth time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with fantastic views and reasonably priced restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    The view from our room was tremendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room was tremendous. to wake up and see the sun rise over the lagoon is priceless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    View from room over the marshes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner mediocre Breakfast really poor

    View from room over the marshes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    Would want a better hotel next time we visit the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated with bath corroded and tiles cracked.Wifi kept dropping out and on last evening could not be accessed at all.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very basic.

    Great location. Comfy rooms. Very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible place. Never seen anything like it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Cereals at breakfast very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cereals at breakfast very poor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    very pleasant location, staff very pleasant but the hotel was very noisy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy and the breakfast was moderate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Bird watchers heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good apart from slightly noisy air conditioning.

    Such a perfect location, this hotel was a real treasure of a find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location by the Donana Nature Reserve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location by the Donana Nature Reserve. An experience not to be missed. Worth booking a tour of the Reserve.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small rooms and could hear through the walls

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    Lagoon location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor. Very odd place and not easy to find other places to eat that looked welcoming

    Lagoon location Bird watching Local nature reserves

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    Recommended for location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are clean but could do with a bit of attention.

    Nice hotel in a beautiful location and lovely views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Location, view and restaurant all superb, staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view and restaurant all superb, staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommended for bird lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room with fabulous views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and welcoming staff, Fabulous food in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast choice,

    Friendly and welcoming staff, Fabulous food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    A very satisfying stay and a warm welcome at Hotel Toruno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff, very clean and food best in El Rocio. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. The bed was an extremely small double bed and the sheets were too small.

    The view and postion of hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.9
    You get what you pay for, like life.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old fashioned

    the price and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.2
    Doñana stay - the best location in front of the lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise should be taken care. There is no sound proof walls or doors....

    Location and Restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.9
    Something different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Its location being central to the wildlife in the National Park and El Rocio's history and unusual setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    The bedroom with a view over the lake made an otherwise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit on the cheapo side

    The bedroom with a view over the lake made an otherwise average room good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    Its proximity to the lake where we could see the wildlife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and bathroom were very small and the balcony too small to stand on to take photoes.

    Its proximity to the lake where we could see the wildlife.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The resturant was closed. This wasn't mentioned at booking, we couldn't even get a cup of coffee at the hotel. The reception staff clearly wanted to be elsewhere. The breakfast was appalling. One form of miserable cornflake type cereal. A warm pot of cheap yogurt banana flavour only. Stale bread with a toaster that doesn't work and jam but only strawberry. And a cup of coffee fully sneezed into by the lady making it.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    If you're in El Rocío for Doñana then there can't be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you're in El Rocío for Doñana then there can't be a better hotel. Friendly, English-speaking staff, a restaurant with nice food and (best of all for me) a few steps from Madre de las Marismas, which was covered in birds during our April stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.9
    The views from the rooms overlooking the lagoon were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are not big, but adequate. Rooms slightly dated, but ok, bathroom with bath with good shower overhead. Beds were narrow and hard, also for 2 nights there was a mechanical noise (machine) that we could hear. Maybe bring ear plugs! Also ensure you have mosquito repellant as these are a big problem - keep windows closed etc. maybe pack an electric mosquito repellant machine for your room. The town even has a large metal statue of a mosquito!!! Was not so much of a problem in March. Weekends seem to be VERY busy due to pilgrims attending the church, during the week the town was empty.

    The views from the rooms overlooking the lagoon were stunning. Quiet location, check Google maps before going, you cannot drive along front of lagoon past big church. Great location otherwise. Try to ensure you get a room with a view of the lake. Breakfast is serve in a restaurant 20m away which also served great food in the evening. You can park immediately outside the property. Good free Wifi throughout hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. If you are into birdwatching this is a great location, as you can get up early and stand in front of the hotel to watch the wildlife. Breakfast is served between 08.00 - 12.00 and 08.00 - 11.00 at weekends.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Great hotel in a great location by the lake shore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ok maybe the beds were a bit hard but that's a small niggle and no way wud it put me off going and staying there again

    Great hotel in a great location by the lake shore. Great value for money-it's a small town and a really great place to stay as its within easy travelling distance of the Donana national park. I would definitely stay here again. Staff were really helpful and spoke good English -I needed train tickets printed off and they very kindly did this for me. If you are looking for somewhere to go to get away from touristy Spain & just explore the national park then this is the place to go. I hire a car in Seville and drove down-only about an hours drive from Seville

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    5.0
    View out to water good - OK cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic accommodation - small uncomfortable beds, minimal equipment, poor toiletries and old, thin towels. No hair drier supplied. It all needs updating.

    View out to water good - OK cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location for bird watching sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Lift.Furniture very tired and in need of replacement.Towels very thin and need replacing.A bit of money unfortunately needs to be spent.Its a pity because we remember when it was first built and not much as changed

    Excellent location for bird watching sites.good restaurant close by connected to hotel.Wi Fi good.Great views over the laguna.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.5
    The hotel itself is excellently located, however the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meals in the hotel restaurant are over priced and the quality of the food 'is poor to indifferent (the worst food we had in a 3 week holiday to Spain where we ate in 18 different restaurants).

    The hotel itself is excellently located, however the breakfast arrangements in the restaurant across the road can be slightly chaotic, though the breakfast itself is good.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    Amazing place, what an incredible position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing place, what an incredible position. We loved everything about it. You have to go there to see for yourselves. The staff - especially Juan Angelo & Rocia were fantastic. Great food at the restaurant and great breakfast. El Rocio is a must!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.5
    Fabulous location - restaurant good food in the evening and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous location - restaurant good food in the evening and also the breakfast in the morning. However we appreciate it is December and cold, but if there could be a rug on the tiled floor it would make a difference when getting up in the morning and putting your feet on this rather than a tiled floor !!

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful and unique location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Would definitely stay and eat there again.

    Beautiful and unique location. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, and room comfortable. Best air conditioning system we have come across in Spain, quiet and efficient. As a plus the restaurant opposite is superb. try the Ibirico Ham and pay extra for it! Can't be faulted, excellent value for money too.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    3.8
    Only El Rocio, such an awesome, quaint little town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff at the reception desk was blatantly unfriendly towards us (me my wife and 2 kids); plus, our rooms were overlooking a pub and the youths down there kept us awake until 4 AM. Three nights like that. Such a shame.

    Only El Rocio, such an awesome, quaint little town!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.3
    1. Potisitive guy on the reception - although he did not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very basic - the room and bathroon facilities are rather poor, the smell in a room is not pleasant, the beds are not comfortable The lake view "promised" by the hotel adverts was not available cause the lake was competely cut off due to the heat in August. The same happened with famous Donana marshes we came to visit. The guide explained that if we want to see the marshes and the lake for sure, we need to come in March or April at latest =)

    1. Potisitive guy on the reception - although he did not know English at all and I do not know Spanish (just a few words), we managed to understand each other 2. Good location in El Rocio - right near the same name restaurant which seems to be (one of?) the best restaurants in this location given that it is always full of customers 3. El Rocio as such - that is a city fully covered by tonnes of sand (the guide in Donana park explained that in the past these lands were part of the sea but then the sea gone) and full of horses (those I used here both as a major transport and as a way of spending leisure time by visitors from suberbs 4. El Toruno restaurant is very good

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    The town is unique and startling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't speak English well and didn't have info I needed. The restaurant was expensive.

    The town is unique and startling. The hotel has nice and traditional decor. The path near the hotel is easy to walk on and is the entrance to a UNESCO nature park. Unforgettable!

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: