Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rey Carlos 3 stars

Avenida de Tirajana, 14, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Spain

#130 of 166 hotels in Playa del Ingles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 849 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not sure how to start with this question. Hotel in general is extremely old in terms of everything. Room door is an old traditional key (they don´t provide two keys), old and terrible furniture and beds, Kitchen without microwave, lighting system at bedroom very poor, TV remote control needs to be obtained after paying 10.-€ in cash as deposit, they were doing some extremely noisy whole renovations in several rooms (this is terrific when you are on vacations and want to decide when is better to rest). Regarding restaurant, I couldn´t believe about food quality. Dinner buffet was extremely below the expectations and below the lowest standard. I can understand and even see a good option to have a very modest buffet with some essential type of food, but here, even the most simple was very bad. And tiemtable of dinner is 18 to 21h (perhaps they didn´t realize that they are in Spain and probably at least one more hour would work better for the customers) WIFI is available for only 20.-€/week. Is that a joke in the 2018? Of ocurse, no information about bandwith, giving me the idea that this information was very old and without any kind of commercial sense and/or focused to the people that perhaps need to work with a good bandwith. In general, I won´t consider this hotel in the future and of course I would say that this is not a 4 star hotel at all.

    Pool is the only thing of this hotel that is well considered although they allow people to "reserve" sunbeds (and they are not occupied by anyone) when most of the pool is empty of people. Hotel´s staff was kind and very polite and did their best although the multiple inconvinients of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffets are limited, repetitive, and the ingredients are cheap. The interior is very dated (but then again, so is everything in Maspalomas.)

    It runs well. They know their stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Refurbishment work was underway and we were not notified of this prior to our visit. We had to insist upon a room move and - despite a complementary bask of fruit - the drilling did spoil the trip.

    Location and the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Separated beds in the double room, Deposit required for TV remote. Old fittings (but it adds to the vision of the owner I guess - ye olde castle..)

    Great place, interesting décor would travel there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only English in the hotel. No labels on the food later on which could be dangerous for anyone with allergies, and the majority of it was inedible anyway. The waiters didn't even know what we wanted when asking for water. Had to leave room halfway through the week as workman had started refurbishing the room next door, drilling and hammering from early in the morning. Swimming pool was in badly need of repair and the whole hotel was like a 60s/70s throwback. At one point we thought it must be a listed building because if not it should have been condemned. Would definitely not recommend to English people.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud noise from hotel building work every morning at 8:30am. Hotel didn't even tell us about this and would not move our rooms. Food was okay, apart from so many flies and the poor member of staff who's job it was to stand at the buffet each evening wafting the flies away. Booking.com no help when you make a complaint.

    Good location, nice pool and gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food was below the standard of the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was OK, but dinner was poor except for the salads - but that was probably good for my health! The meat and fish were badly prepared and overcooked. Why not some Spanish dishes such as paella? I have to say that the half board option was not much more expensive than bed and breakfast, so at least it saved a lot of time looking for a restaurant in the evening.

    Very nice hotel and excellent value for money. Great staff, location, cleanliness and facilities. Free WiFi in reception was a bonus. TV in room had two English news channels - BBC World and Sky. Will definately stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See my critic in the point before! Bad and really terrible bed! It was stonehard like sleeping on a Rock. And a very negative experience at the departure early thursday morning at 7.23. The staff would not let me come inn for making just a simple sandwich. Opening time was 7 minutes later at 7.30. So very bad an experience!

    Everything was okay BUT the bed was very horrible . Really bad and I did not sleep the first 2-3 nights even the staff gave me extra blankets to make the bed softer. It was StoneHard. And the Bed is in my opinion the most importing thing in the Hotelroom! And very very bad and so disappointing at the departure at 7.23 Thursday morning that the restaurant would not let me come inn for my breakfast .... and they would even not aloud me to make a sandwich for my travel? The opening time for the restaurant is so late as 7.30. So it was a very rigid administration of the opening times!!!??? I was the only guest standing there at 7.23 but they could in no way give me the permission to go inn and make a sandwich even everything was ready on the Tables in the Restaurant. So I had to buy breakfast in the Airport even I allready had paid in the Hotel. And first time I have experienced a big Hotel open so late in the morning. Bad..Bad..Bad!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    From the photos we were expecting a kitchen, what we had was some kitchen units, plus a coffee machine, not even a kettle to make a cup of tea! Plus there was only 3 plates and knives and forks, so you could not even eat breakfast cereal

    The balcony was lovely with full afternoon sun. The breakfast was basic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist, an older gentleman, was initially really rude.. maybe had a bad day.

    Nice pool, spacious rooms. A bit dated; but the place has a real character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed is not comfortable, also out bedroom was next to the elevators and the corridor, where noise isolation is none-existent, so if people are talking, it feels like they are in the room with you. Drinks during the dinner are charged additionally.

    Nice pool area, decent breakfast and dinner, nice staff and balconies in the room. Rooms are spacious and clean (although kitchen unit is basically useless :) ) Location is close to Dunas de Maspalomas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I wrote in the box request when I did the booking please I’ll appreciate to be far from the Trolley Maids storage as they will make lots of noise when getting the trolley to clean linen etc....and stay away from the lift too. Please! After all of that they allocated me wall / next to the maids /linen room and lift.😡 I did complain and they offer me a different room with out any problems I told them about my request but they didn’t read it!!! This guy works as receptionist for the same hotel for 30 years😡 he told me.🤐 The maids talk very loud without any respect for the silent card at the door. From 8:00

    Very comfortable beds linen ....and some general willing to help staff. The buffet food very good and the chefs and waiters waitresses very welcoming at the breakfast and dinners ,,,, location brilliant!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and furnishings were dated. Tea and coffee making facilities were poor as had to boil water on a stove rather than a kettle.

    Good location, outside space was well kept and rooms and property was clean throughout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have preferred a second pillow on the bed. The room was a bit dark and dated but we weren't in there much!

    The location was ideal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with a good range of food and there was plenty of seating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the room the charge for the drinks at the dinner that carve if you want a controller remote for the tv they charge far the air conditioning they charge for the WiFi! So for what I paid for!?

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think there was anything to not like this time.

    Great hotel if u looking for a quiet place to relax. Nice breakfast and dinner. Deferent every day. Not like in some hotels u eat every day same food. It was my second time and definitely will stay there again. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated furniture, feels like going back to the 60s or 70s but overall is good, everything you need you have it. Also, the rooms are very spacious

    Location is fantastic. Staff was helpful and friendly in reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Midway between the Dunes and Yumbo, perfect location Very clean Very nice staff Nice breakfast I'd recommend getting the half board as the dinner food is good and from fresh ingredients unlike most of the restaurants in the aera

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to say really enjoyed the stay and would of loved to stayed for newyear so overall it was lovely . Lovely hotel and staff.

    Loved area and staff very helpfull and friendly. The grounds and hotel really nice .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was clearly stated in listing that you can cook at Rey Carlos - when you move in you get informed that at most you can cook tea or coffee. Instead of double bed we got 2 beds. Breakfast was not worth it - the fruits looked and tasted like they were beyond expiry date, coffe and juice were made of powder, sandwich ingredients looked like they came from Spar across the road and by coincidence were the ones that were at discound that day/week.

    Location was great for busses, beach and shops. The balcony (great view) and bath were awesome. Garden was very cute

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pictures on booking.com are false advertisement. Pictures show a modern room and kitchen, we were in a very outdated room with a medieval feel which was not shown on any 'Room' pictures during my booking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is unbelievably 70’s but that was expected.

    Location midway between the dunes and the yumbo centre. Value for money was excellent. £60 per night including a decent breakfast. The rooms are pool/street facing and the shower was excellent. Good pressure and hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - hotel is getting old, - food at restaurant was just terrible, - not possible to controll A/C temperature. When A/C was turned off it was too hot when it was on it was way too cold. Returned home sick.

    - friendly staff, especially cleaning lady who was always smiling, - big room, huge comfortable bed, - room cleaned every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unfriendly, not a nice atmosphere. Spent most of the time away from the hotel. Food was awful

    The lifeguard at the pool was the only friendly and welcoming person

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mode of payment, poor coordination between staffs, unavailability of free wi-fi internet facility inside the room, poor air-conditioning inside the room.

    Food, ambiance, location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Needs some updating e.g. bathroom could do with a refit

    Food was excellent, staff were very pleasant and efficient, location was great for the beach (so long as you're happy walking over dunes), handy for the Cita and Pepe Chiringo. Wifi and safe in room were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked for 3 nights and only stayed for 2. Feel very mislead by photos on booking.com as these show lovely "suites" and the "suite" we were given was awful. Room 408. Hotel exterior looks nice, however once you are out of reception area things go downhill fast. (I will add photo's later) This hotel needs a total internal renovation, several issues with our room - living area tv socket hanging out of wall / very dangerous electrics / light in living area hanging out of ceiling / air con in bedroom didn't work / electrics very old / kitchen area and facilities awful / hairdryer in bathroom produced smoke when switched on so unable to use / shower curtain too short and water flooded bathroom each time used. Living area / bedroom décor and furnishings all very old. Food choice and quality very poor. Overall extremely disappointed with recent stay, price paid does not reflect standard of hotel. I spoke to other guests in hotel and they all were not at all impressed with rooms and food in particular - no one I spoke to said they would return which is a shame as hotel in good location and staff very nice.

    Staff friendly Good location Pool area nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very old, the furniture has the awful smell. The bedroom has the window to the corridor, there are no feelings of privacy. We felt totally uncomfortable there. The wi-fi is not free, you have to pay 4 euro per day. The sea was very far, not just 500 meters how it was written on the website. The swimming pool is very deep. I would not advise anyone to stay in this hotel.

    The staff of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is to expensive for what it was. I paid 100€ for 2 persons one night, we had to sleep in separated beds. The furniture is old fashion, not the best for going with your couple unless you are a german 60 years old couple.

    The place is well ubicated. It was clean, the staff is good and the beds are confortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general the whole hotel needs updating the whole place seems in places that it is falling down and is very old fashioned.

    The food was good and the size of the room was very good.Staff very polite and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No real entertainment, very quiet, buy maybe that was time of year...as mid March

    Although the hotel was a little dated in decor, the rooms were lovely and clean and actually liked that it was a bit more Spanish in appearance/furnishings. We were half board and the food was lovely. Would not really recommend as a family hotel but couples would be ok. We were just looking for a relaxing getting away in the winter sun and thoroughly enjoyed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds could have been a better quality and the decor was very dated.

    Generally the hotel was ok ,but a bit dated , but very clean and well kept, and the staff were extra polite. The food was not the greatest but they did try. The hotel location is very central to lots of other resorts , all easily accessed by the bus service that stops just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the whole place needs a complete reform as the decoration and all of the furniture is very old and worn out.

    the location was perfect as it was close to the bus stop from and to the airport and close to the beach and the centre of town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a hotel catering for Germans so not much interaction with other guests

    Cleaning staff very good. The shops were good too especially the hairdresser and nail artist

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    property is quite old, need refurnishing. Very bad beds and rooms from mid 70s. Not at all worth the money you spend

    breakfast, live shows post dinner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like paying extra for WIFI and safe. Only 2 English tv channels - both news! Ancient TV sets.

    Large rooms. Good breakfast, Pleasant pool area. Cava at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was nice, hotel was central so close to shops and bars. Really good value for money. Pool area was good. Our room had a lounge and mini kitchen attached!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel shows its age in places, like the electric sockets, but it must have been built to a high spec originally and is well maintained. There was nothing we did not like about it.

    Apartment was spacious, comfortable and quiet at night. Food was good, well-cooked and with varied choices for dinner. Style of hotel is unique and adds to the relaxed feel of staying there. Pool was great for circular swimming! Location is convenient for the dunes and beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went half board! Food was slapped up without care we thought, we didn't manage a full main course and walked out to find a much better restaurant up the street! Wifi was 30 euro for 2 vouchers for the week! The cleaning lady dumped my voucher and I hadn't it memorised so had to just use the free wifi at pool side! While we found the staff very courteous they didn't help with the wifi problem at all

    It was like an apartment with living room and bedroom! So we both had our own rooms! Fridge was an excellent advantage!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works going on, staff irrresponsive and evasive when problems were raised. No seniors available. Power cut for 7 hours without Internet, tv, lift. Water supply cut - all African not European standards

    Room comfort good. Breakfast good. Kleen pool, helpful and security conscious staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Paying for internet use,and limited T.V.,but for the price we paid I cannot complain. The bar area needs updating.

    Great position,nice pool area with central island with cafe.Walk in jaccuzi,ideal for people with disability. The staff were very friendly and helpful.Bedrooms have a seperate lounge and kitchinett.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sausages no pancakes

    Food was of a good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, apartments. They are very tired and need refurbishing. Aircon was not working and it was badly needed

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages were on the small side and no rasins or sultanas to add to cereal

    Yogurt and fruit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing woth complsing about.

    Old style, home like rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms

    Interesting design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was terrible!!! Close down the kitchen!

    Price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi in rooms. Have to pay for every drink. The dinner not includes drink.

    Good pool and jacuzzi. Good location next to dunes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were very dark n depressive and no plug sockets to use

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Rooms were very dark n depressing with no where to plug anything in

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think the evening meals are not as good as they used to be! Breakfast has improved!

    Always have a good time here - 15 years?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I waked up on smell of the food every day at 6 o'clock in my bedroom it was really bad and the bedroom was uncomfortable at all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old room interior, dirty Jacuzzi, no facilities for children

    Pools, Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated room. Same food each night not much choices.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed/pillow a little uncomfortable, kitchen could have done with more crockery and cutlery

    Location, food, ambience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you like to be transported back to the 1970's stay here

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and the pillow wasn't very good.

    Food was really good, good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. But quirky !!!

    Food very good, nice selection

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to dislike

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite dated

    Good location reception guy very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee.

    Excellent variety of foods at breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Orientation of the building to the sun.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decor place Needs some Tlc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No standard windows in bedroom. Food could be better.

    Location, halfboard included in price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was always the same. No chance.

    Great location and staff helpful. Liked the pool and jacuzzi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was not so good.

    Staff, pool and balcony !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice quite rooms,self service breakfast and dinner. Would recommend this hotel as good value for money and good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI did not work

    The breakfast buffet and the dinner were good!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenettes badly kitted out. No implements to cook with.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything..

    Very friendly staff and very clean..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fixtures and fittings are VERY outdated and I lost count the times I banged into the bulky sharp edges of the furniture. Also after day two the housekeeper fathomed out I was staying on my own so was only left with one set of towels. Food offerings at breakfast were at best was mediocre. No selection of fresh sliced melon etc....just a pile of apples and browning bananas. Fried eggs cooked in batches then placed under a warming lamp, so you had to catch the chef when he was cooking them to ensure you got a freshly prepared one. Limited amount of pastries and that's even more the Germans have swooped them all up!!! I've stayed here twice now and will more then likely not return unless some serious investment & renovations takes place to bring the hotel plus it's services into a more modern offering.

    The hotel itself is spotislessly clean and is in a good location. Ten minute walk to both yumbo and the dunes. Housekeeping were the friendliest of all the staff in the hotel with a cheery buenos Dias when you pass them in the morning. It seems the hotel mainly caters for the German market which is fine by me as you are not being surrounded by British larger louts.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am so sorry but this hotel does not respond to 4 stars level. I am sorry. This is hotel with 2+ or 3 stars, no more. This hotel has old style but it must not have old furniture and other facilities, bath. Staff on the reception needs to be informed how they can resolve any customer's issue. Staff is not supportive. Sorry, but it is true. I cannot recommend this hotel for my friends as a good hotel. My rating is so so.

    - good location - clean hotel, clean rooms - fantastic view from your terrace - breakfast & dinner are good - prices for drinks at restaurant are acceptable - pool, nature around this hotel is amazing - daily fresh towels

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdated interior and design

    Location is good. Good price/quality ratio at the discounted price. It is definitely not a four-star hotel anymore /this is still indicated on the building/. Good for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room a little bit noisy because near to the lift and many people passing

    Good location, big room with living room and a little kitchen. Clown. Quite good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is very Grand hence the name. Unfortunately the only down side is the heavy furniture in the room's is not suitable for young children & some of the hanging light's are in a strange place & very low , there was 4 adults and my 3 year old grandson. All of us banged our heads and my grandson hit the leg of the coffee table and they have sharp point's on the legs/feet. Otherwise we had a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel

    All the staff & hotel I can't fault. Pool area clean and well maintained We stayed B&B breakfast & restaurant area very good. Pool bar staff are fabulous

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: