Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rey Fernando 2 stars

Fernando III el Santo nº 30 6º, 15701 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#73 of 75 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 825 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were too soft (yes, that is possible) and you could hear other guests at the corridor. Room is a bit sober. That's all!

    Staff speaks English, which is nice. Location, 1 minute from the train station, is great, and there are cafés and restaurants all around. At breakfast you'l get fresh orange juice if you like!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member that helped at checkout was extremely helpful and gave great recommendations on where to eat and hang out. There is a lot of great food spots and shops close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive, but there are cafes across the street for half the price.

    Nice hotel on the sixth floor of a building. The owners are very attentive. Parking is provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, free breakfast with croissants, muffins, bread, cheese, ham and jam. They also have a little bar that has beer and soft drinks. They stored my luggage, no problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and nice room, really nice bathroom with great shower. Helpful staff and good wifi connection. Unfortunately I had to leave very early, they ordered a taxi for me, so I cannot rate the breakfast but I really liked my room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room was very small and dark (but I knew the size from the picture and description) therefore not really comfortable. Bathroom was something coming from the 1970's, really worn out. I paid for breakfast, however it only starts at 8am and on second day I had to leave earlier than that to catch my flight and there was no alternative offered.

    Nice friendly stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, so that I could hear everything that happened at the reception and in the corridor. Also, there were people speaking loudly that was coming from the patio through the window.

    I liked that the hotel is quite close to the bus station that leads to the airport, as well as the proximity of the city centre. The room is comfortable and nice. The windows are overlooking el patio, which doesn’t allow the noise from the street get into the room. The staff are nice, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    seventh floor. It's a normal flat adaptated to have several privat rooms whith bathroom

    you find there what you need for spending one night. Just that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating didn't work in my room, so it was pretty cold. But it was only one night, so I didn't really mind.

    Near the busstop (3-4 min walk). The staff was very helpfull and friendly. Clean room! Got a 2p room for myself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing noteworthy to comment on - the place is exactly as advertised and in good condition.

    The hotel was chosen for the location to the train station due to our early morning departure. The rooms were clean and tidy and desk staff members english was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful city center is uphill, but as we wanted to be near to the train station due to an early departure it was compromise.

    Cosy room, near to the train station. We needed a hair dryer which was not on the room, but the receptionist had a spare one + they also ordered a taxi for us in no time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found an small insect in the room and we couldn't watch the TV properly laying down in the bed and we couldn't move it.

    Was quiet and confortable, shower with hot water and good pressure. The staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N.A

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and they allowed us to store our luggage in th foyer until we could pick up at the time we left for the airport. It was a definite bonus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like everywhere we have been during this Camino trip in Northern Spain, the bed is too soft, and there is no air con. However we were able to leave the window and shutters open all night which kept the room cool. And we were safe.

    We asked and got a quiet room. I've being staying in a variety of hotels in Spain including 4 star but I slept best here. One of the people at reception can speak English. Also you have access to the dining area during the day so you can go in and bring food and use the microwave etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have very poor sound insulation. I couldn't sleep due to noise from other rooms until after 4am. The guests in neighbouring rooms were talking at a normal volume and we could clearly hear what they were saying... it's not just that we could hear that someone was talking, we could understand clearly what they were saying even though they were talking just at a normal volume. The noise prevented me from sleeping until after 4am. The room was also quite hot even though it wasn't very hot outside.

    The room was clean. The staff seemed friendly. They give you a big bottle of water when you check in which I thought was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not in the old city centre, but is very near (15 min walking, max)

    Hotel cleanliness Personal Kindness Bike Storage available bars and restaurants near

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air condition, but we have got cooling fan on request.

    Very friendly and very helpful staff! Good location, supermarket just a few steps away and only 15 min walk from a hotel to the old center, very nice and not expensive little restaurant (cervezerria) just opposite the hotel serving tasty, huge portions. I loved calamares with curry rice and a huge salad!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning or maybe a fan in the room. Otherwise no complaints. Great place to stay.

    Excellent service, great location. Parking onsite. Will stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location next to the railway station. Lovely staff. So welcoming and great with our 2yr old. Breakfast was delicious and just what we needed. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really for the price.

    Staff very helpful as we had some trouble with our Classic Car and told us of a tool shop. Fresh orange juice Secure parking under ground for our Classic Car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water from the tub faucet was off-color. Okay for bathing, but we did not fill our water bottles here.

    Perfect location near the RENFE station, since we needed to catch an early train the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is the best. Staff are wonderful. Room was ultra clean and comfortable. Great value for money and in a terrific area just outside the old town centre. Thank you for a lovely stay. Marie

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected to pay in cash but the hotel insisted that the payment was consummated by credit card at the time of booking. Was I wrong to expect to pay in cash even though the reservation was made by credit card?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel as it was very near the railway station (3 minutes walk) as we had a 6 am train to catch. It was basic and a no frills place but we had a good nights sleep. The staff were very helpful indeed. Still within walking distance though of the old city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly service, they found my wedding ring left behind in the rooms after checking out and kept it for me! great 5 stars touches as a complementary bottle of water on arrival and coffee in the morning :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without going into details -Bad rest & horrible customer service. Doesnt deserve a 2* Hotel rating. Absolutely not recommendable.

    Close to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel booking was for a room with a double bed and a single bed. The hotel does not have any rooms that meet the criteria offered on booking.com. The owner lied and blammed booking.com staff for the error. We were disappointed because we left single bed accomodation for something that wasn't even possible and we were left out of pocket as a result. Most disappointing that I did not get what I paid for.

    Location was ok. Walking distance to railway station, old city and shops.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged in Australian dollars rather than euros which means i paid more ( between 5 and 7 euros) than the alteady inflated price. Poor hotel practice.

    Good location because it is close to station ; maybe 15 min walk to old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was very hot & there was no air conditioning.

    Location & secure parking for the motorcycles. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite simple, nothing luxurious, but definitely fits the purpose.

    Good location some 15-minutes walk from the historic Old Town and just a 5-minute walk from the Railway Station. Great place if you don't want to stay close to the old town, which is overwhelmed with tourists. Lots of nice local bars around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were guests arriving all the time, during the night inclusive, and I could not sleep with all the noise made next to the reception and on the corridor.

    It's a 3 min walk from the train station and a supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to property - unclear how to get in & go to lobby. If someone hadn't been there to help us, not sure we would have found it.

    The staff was very friendly & helpful. It was very clean & quiet. Easy walking distance to old city & sites we wanted to see.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked better in pictures., staff was not friendly, room was smelly.

    close to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were too basic but doesn't matter if you just want to sleep there

    Basic but good enough. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night with people coming and going.

    Hamdy for station. 15 mins easy walk to old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Location - walking the camino- comfortable - city centre - near station-great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super close to train station, very convenient especially when we arrive late at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Car parking in basement below for €8.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too basic.

    The convenience of the breakfast in the café across the street at a cheaper price than the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location to train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from the city center

    Very clean, nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast option and the hotel is on the 7th floor of an apartment block

    near to the train station and also near the airport bus route.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed help to work out how to use the lift.

    Great access to train and airport bus. The walk into town is manageable, I did it several times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally located near railway station but a good but direct walk from centre.

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loose shower head!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the location close to tue city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place, VERY close to the train station and ca 15 minutes walking from Santiago Cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast for 5€, friendly staff, good location near railway station but still within easy walking range to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind staff Location, close to train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect very central. Staff friendly and accommodating. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin stairs

    Nice and helpfull staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent small no-nonsense hotel. Helpful and friendly staff. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 bed a bit small

    nice people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Just a little bit away from the olde town

    Very clean and comfortable with very welcoming and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was way too hot in the room and was very hard to sleep. no air con

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Que la entrada al hotel no era visible

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea making facilities in the room

    i like someone to welcome you in.i had that.its not always so now.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location near train station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricy

    Location was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the reception of the hotel because it's on the 6th floor. Tricky one.

    Location and price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good little place to stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was basic- bit more comfort!

    The location was great- right by station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, excellent services and staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were poor and room quite small.

    The Staff were pleasant and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    thin walls - noise from the next room, walldrobe that smelled like from other century

    Nice approach of employees, quite good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being near the lift

    Close to the railway station, quiet location. 10 minute walk to the old town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy lift - I am not used to old clunky elevators

    Accessibility and away from the tourists

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the train station, good breakfast included, good price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station. Very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: