Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Riazor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida Barrié de la Maza, 29, 15004 A Coruña, Spain

#24 of 32 hotels in A Coruña

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    7.9
    New building, great location near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we receive was not clean, not ready when we receive it. The people from the reception asked the cleaner to make it ready. After finishing the room was still not clean. They gave us another room with witch we were happy in the end.

    New building, great location near the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent location right over the Beach and next to the city...
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View (1 or 2 beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location right over the Beach and next to the city centre and it’s restaurants and shops. The hotel has been rebuilt last winter and has just reopened. The renovation has been a success: All looks new and design. In the room, wooden floors, great deco, everything new, and still the same unbeatable views over Riazor beach! Breakfast was variated and healthy.. WiFi easy and powerful. The gym is small but complete, several modern and new cardio machines, free weights, benches, two multi-exercise machines. All new.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    San Juan Festivity at the Riazor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn’t like, and this is just a personal opinion, it’s the main lobby stairs design... unless it was still under remodelación!!

    The Riazor was remodelated to become a 4 stars hotel. I chose a room on an upper floor with views to the sea (extra charge of course!), and definitely the view was outstanding, specially the sunset. The room was super spacious, very comfortable bed and pillows and all seemed brand new! Bathroom big with nice toiletries. I visited the city specially to enjoy “las fogatas de San Juan” and could see a lot from my window. Personal very friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi not the best

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Magnifica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excelentes vistas sobre la playa, Habitaciones excepcionales

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View (1 or 2 beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seaview

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good location & comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    About the only room we stayed in that had a kettle but no teas or coffees !

    Good location & comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for beach restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Newly refurbished hotel and we were first to sleep in beds which were very comfortable. Good breakfast and lunch buffet selection too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.4
    Professional staff but not very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View (1 or 2 beds)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast; the lack of atmosphere; unwelcoming

    The view from my room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location close enough to centre of old Part. Close to bike. Rental rental of bike important. A bilkable town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    3.8
    Hard to think of anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car parking underneath the hotel is 12euro per night.it is practically impossible to exit during the day by car. There was an stench of urine at the garage door and in the lobby of the hotel. To be frank we could not get out quick enough.,,

    Hard to think of anything

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    3.3
    the view on the Atlantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small rooms dirty very old fashioned everywhere damages. Unfortunately we had here a staff telling lies We asked for a double bed but on more than 100 rooms they claimed there were only 6 ?????? double beds and of course they were occupied

    the view on the Atlantic

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Indifferent service when we arrived. Room sparsely furnished with no view at all. Garage although under the hotel was only accessed from outside. Got very wet parking the car.

    Location

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    10
    Definitely worth paying for the ocean view, amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room seemed to need some renovation. Everything was old and you could feel it hasn't changed in 15-20 years at least. Very clean though.

    Definitely worth paying for the ocean view, amazing! We also enjoyed a great breakfast buffet. Staff was polite. Good location.

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2016

    6.3
    The view is why we come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff seem uninterested and bored. The room was too hot and the TV from the room next to us was so loud we couldn't really sleep.

    The view is why we come back

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2016

    6.7
    Location was really good, the room was clean and warm and ...
    • Group

    The bed was hard and pillows were too thin, the breakfast was overpriced for the quality of the products on offer,

    Location was really good, the room was clean and warm and the shower was very powerful.

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    8.3
    Supreme location, next to everything: city centre, sights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Oldish, but bearable, clean and maintained. And the view compensates everything.

    Supreme location, next to everything: city centre, sights and beach. Great views on the bay, it's totally worth the seaview supplement.

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2015

    5.8
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's an old hotel with poor installations. The bathroom is old and dirty. The glasses had a nice mushroom colony inside, even though they have a "sterilized" tag.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is quite old, everything needs a renovation, especially a bathroom

    Very good location. Very helpful staff on the reception. Hotel's own parking.

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    8.3
    Location was excellent, hotel a bit dated but great value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to re-login to the free WiFi every time you return to the hotel. Only a small problem but quite annoying.

    Location was excellent, hotel a bit dated but great value for money. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    6.3
    The views from the sea-front rooms are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is very dated and there is a lot of noise, both from the street outside (especially fridays and saturdays) and from within the hotel, where the sound insulation is very poor.

    The views from the sea-front rooms are excellent.

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2015

    8.8
    The staff were lovely and happy to help in any way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a family room as it was my husband, me and our two children (6 and 3). We had to book an extra bed to be put in the room, which was fine, but instead of having a double bed and a single, we had two single beds pushed together to form one bed and then the extra single bed. Considering my husband and I had to share a bed with the kids, it would have been nice to not have the crack going down the middle. Because of that, we had terrible nights sleeps. One of us was always stuck in the crack and the pillows were really flat (but the cleaning woman gave us another no problem, so that was nice!) However, the extra bed that was given to us was actually comfy! The shower was REALLY small, but it did the job. The air conditioning wouldn't go down past 19C. We had rented another room for my mom and dad, which was on the ocean view side and because of that, they didn't have an air conditioning unit at all. They did say that had a lovely breeze, BUT because they had to have the windows open all pf the time they heard people down on the main street all of the time. Also, with regards to the ocean view room, it has a huge balcony on it, but no table and chairs to sit an enjoy it? They couldn't do anything out there. Some nights we would have loved to have just stayed at the hotel and had dinner (kids being tired) but dinner was expensive (17 Euros per person!) compared to all of the lovely restaurants around for less expensive.

    The staff were lovely and happy to help in any way. We spoke broken Spanish so it was nice that they could also speak to us in English. The room was a nice size for us (family of 4) and the air conditioning was helpful. My mom and dads room was an ocean-view room and it was a great view! Breakfast was OK, not terrible but not the best continental breakfast either. The hotel was close to the beach. Free wi-fi was great!

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    7.1
    Location and cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very very poor. No English breakfast, no eggs, no fresh juice. With 10 euros per person you can have a entire meal outside. All the furnitures are very old and maintaince needed.

    Location and cleanness

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2015

    8.3
    Sea view was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noises from the room above in the morning, as if they were moving furniture or refurbishing the room.

    Sea view was amazing The biggest bed I've ever slept in. Very confortable.

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful beachfront view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing.

    Wonderful beachfront view. Spacious, comfortable room; good firm bed; excellent shower. On-site parking in the basement (daily fee). Walkable to old town.

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2015

    5.0
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom. Bath??? Like the base of a shower cubicle. Corridor smells of cigarette smoke. Unusual for Galicia -- reception staff not the must friendly.

    Not much

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    7.9
    The sea view with big open windows was great allowing you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average.

    The sea view with big open windows was great allowing you to feel like you are outside by the sea. Definitely go for a sea view room.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    8.3
    Being on the waterfront and within ten minutes' walk of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving in A Coruña is a nightmare, or it was for me, since the signposts are so few and it is surprisingly easy to get turned around. We actually made it to the hotel without missing a turning, but we were lucky. Getting out if the city we got lost!

    Being on the waterfront and within ten minutes' walk of the older parts of the city; having some parking! (which cannot be reserved, I gather, though at low season there was no problem getting a space and then just walking everywhere); generous, buffet breakfast which enabled us to make a couple of cheese and ham sandwiches on croissants for a snack lunch later.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in an excellent location,nice comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very rude lady at reception on checking in. She was taking about me to others whilst i was standing there, not knowing i could understand every word she was saying,and seemed quite shocked when i challenged her in my fluent spanish. There is an urgent need for her her to have some customer service training.

    Very nice hotel in an excellent location,nice comfortable beds. Would have scored this hotel a 10 if receptionist had some manners.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2016

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No view. At back of hotel

    Location. Staff.Breakfast. lounge

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    10
    Bed was comfortable, clean staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed was comfortable, clean staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    10
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative

    Everything was excellent. We are definitely coming back!

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dated building in need of refurbishing

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2016

    7.9
    The staff basically was very polite and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The breakfast buffet could have offered more for the money. There was no queso fresco!

    The staff basically was very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    3.8
    Vie from window
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Everything else

    Vie from window

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2016

    8.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellent location. Almost entirety of A Coruña is accessible from the hotel, and the ocean views are fantastic. Good value for the price.

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2015

    10
    I love Riazor Hotel it has been my third time, would...
    • Family with young children

    I love Riazor Hotel it has been my third time, would definitely recommend, staff, cleanliness and location superb

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    10
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great view

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2015

    7.1
    Situation, machine a lentree (info, photos etc ) rodrigo a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Situation, machine a lentree (info, photos etc ) rodrigo a la reception tres professionnel et agreable

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    8.3
    Lack of phone charger sockets in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of phone charger sockets in the room

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    8.8
    rooms, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff in reception Sharp

    rooms, clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    8.8
    fantastic view of sea from bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a thing

    fantastic view of sea from bedroom window.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    8.3
    Beach view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast ordinary

    Beach view. Parking under building

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2015

    8.8
    tinned fruit for breakfast, awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    tinned fruit for breakfast, awful

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2015

    8.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were poor - no filling. Lack of english spoken or understood by hotel staff.

    The location was perfect. Classic hotel decor and feel.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    8.8
    Fabulous views from the sea facing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 803 needs updating and is a little small.

    Fabulous views from the sea facing rooms. Great service in the first floor bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    10
    The location was excellent,staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was excellent,staff friendly and helpful...I liked everything about Hotel Riazor

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    8.3
    Staff friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly and efficient

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    9.6
    Location and ease of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and ease of parking.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    5.4
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old, rooms could need a refurbishment, too expensive for the quality of the hotel

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No draft beer in bar! Bar closed at 11-00pm! No SKY News on TV! No security safe in room!

    Location. English spoken in reception.

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    8.3
    I loved Corunna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I loved Corunna. Was a great place for just walking

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    7.1
    Very clean rooms across from the beach and shops, restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very clean rooms across from the beach and shops, restaurants

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    9.2
    Views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Views. Staff. Location.

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2015

    3.3
    The staff was careless and rude, if they even acknowledge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was careless and rude, if they even acknowledge you. This hotel and the just the city itself a very poor experience.

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2015

    10
    The location, looking out into the sea & close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, looking out into the sea & close to the old town

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    9.6
    The stunning location and lovely historic buildings like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stunning location and lovely historic buildings like the Tower of Hercules

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location!!

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2015

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Location is good. This is a standard, clean, 3 Star hotel. You could pay a little bit more for one of the three 4 star hotels nearby.

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2015

    9.6
    Everything and the service is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would benefit from having tea and coffee making facilities in the room's

    Everything and the service is superb.

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2015

    7.9
    Location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, location

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    10
    Nice location, very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, very close to the beach. Very nice and helpful staff. Definitely worth paying extra money for the sea view.

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2015

    7.1
    The situation is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi isn't very convenient

    The situation is good

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2015

    10
    Great value, perfect location and superb views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All great!

    Great value, perfect location and superb views.

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2015

    9.2
    The view from the room and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very poor

    The view from the room and the location

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2015

    9.2
    Great price, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great price, great location. Helpful staff, clean room. Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2015

    10
    Great location, excellent customer service.
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!!

    Great location, excellent customer service. I will most defiantly be recommending this hotel

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Browse Hotel Riazor Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: