Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rio Bidasoa 4 stars

Nafarroa Behera, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain

#19 of 38 hotels in Hondarribia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 716 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive @ 12/13 € each

    We enjoyed our stay but because breakfast was 12€ each we went out for breakfast and paid 23.50 for breakfast for 4 people. We came back after our evenin* meal & were surprised how cheap our drinks were.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant was closed though self service coffee was available. This hotel closes it's restaurant every Monday it would be helpful if it had an arrangement to book tables at another restaurant near by. After a long days driving we could have done without having to decide where to eat in a town we did not know.

    The rooms are spacious and well equipped even down to a coffee machine which is unusual.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was not open although booking.com listed it as open Tuesday thro to Saturday we were offered food in a bar that was awful and the bar did not open until 19.30

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person at reception was so helpful when we asked for help to choose a where to go to eat with our 7 year old son. She recommended tapas bars, restaurants and places to see and explaining how to get there. She spoke fluent French (my husband is French) and English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Top-notch hotel. I can recommend it for either a long or a short stay. And one more thing, food in their restaurant is great , price-wise as well as taste-wise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely hotel but it need soundproofing we could hear everything from the room overhead, showering, toilet, snoring etc.

    The large terraces are super. breakfast is excellent but expensive. I've never had to pay so much for breakfast in a Spanish hotel before. Very nice staff. Good snack bar and lovely gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved a room with a balcony. What we got was a roof garden! Complete with wicker sofa, chairs, and coffee table, deck chairs etc.. Espresso machine. Excellent restaurant .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Breakfast was excellent with eggs and bacon cooked to order. Lovely gardens with swimming pool to relax in. Very helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little annoying (sprayed water and no stream), amenities were not including bath gel and shampoo (these were provided through a dispenser and were low quality).

    Staff, location, WiFi worked well, dinner was good and inexpensive, nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't secure

    Location was great. A short walk and a lift ride took us to the top of the old city. Views were spectacular. A true find for us, we loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The major downfall was the bedding, lumpy mattress and pillows. For a 4 star, this certainly needs to change. We didn't sleep much that night. The breakfast was decent however, fresh orange juice as opposed to bottled would have been much better. Those details matter

    The hotel was nice and updated; close to the airport and located in a quaint village town with its own charm and next door to a park. We stayed for a night being that our flight arrived late. One could easily walk from the airport to the hotel, a good 35 min walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is very institutional in feeling, and much too well worn. Carpeting in the halls badly needs to be replaced.

    The effort to be eco friendly is appreciated. The front desk was friendly. Food at the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds were really comfy and the room was spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a fab location, near to centre with great bars and food, close to the port and also very close to the old town. A beatiful place with the prettiest houses I have ever seen would definitely stay here again 🙂

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed slid away from the heaboard as the legs slid on the wooden floor. Consequently one could not read in bed and lean backwards Noise insulation was very poor so noises from neighbouring rooms on saturday night were disturbing

    Lights in the room were excellent Coffee machine made excellent coffee in room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent, after we insisted on a move to a room with a double bed as requested at booking! Were originally put in a room with 2 singles pushed together

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been useful to know that our arrival coincided with a festival as parking was difficult and the hotel restaurant was closed

    Friendly service and very good location. Have stayed there before and would do again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At best this was a 3 star hotel with 2 star standards. The price reflects the small number of rooms available in the area. The hotel is tired and run down. The gardens are in a poor state and the surrounding leisure facilities are in a poor condition. It has all the appearance of an hotel run on a tight budget with minimum staff. I would not recommend the hotel unless it was an emergency better off travelling into France and make daily ferry crossing at 1.80 euros a time from Hendaye.

    Very little. It appears to be the only hotel in Hondarrabia with a car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant not open on Monday eve except for sushi, we were tired and could have done without the walk into town.

    For us it was a one night stop over on the way to southern spain. Easy access from Motorway, secure parking, quiet and a pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First, we had a room with a terrace, other reviewers have said it is shabby, not only is it shabby but the outdoor furniture provided (one wooden table and ONE wooden chair) are not just shabby but downright dangerous. How much would it cost to replace these??? They also provided two other very low outside chairs (could not be used with the table) which are almost impossible for people of a certain age to extricate themselves from. The safe in our room did not work (we were promised it would be fixed on the next day but that did not happen). There were mould marks on the bathroom ceiling. As others have said there is a lot of noise from other rooms at night. Shame

    This could be a great value hotel, good location, pool looked nice (though we did not use it) a number of outside seating areas, pleasant staff. However there are just too many things which are not quite right

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    4 * hotel without a fully functioning restaurant on 2 nights of the week. It didn't matter because there were lots of good restaurants nearby. But arriving after a long drive and being told the restaurant was shut wasn't a good start.

    Staff went all the way and then some to be helpful. Always smiling and ready to assist. Room was large and comfortable and impeccably serviced.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls which made the place feel more like a pension not a 4 star hotel. Didn't feel like it was worth the money. A lot of noise from the street, windows not well isolated. I didn't have a room facing the garden though. Noisy ventilation work, which also blew the fuse, on the roof which started early and the noise woke me up. I thought someone was in the room since it was so loud.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. I never post reviews but this hotel deserves a bad one. There is no excuse for such bad accommodations and service. I've been to youth hostels that are way better and cleaner.

    Nothing. Although they advertise for free parking when we got there they had no spaces and when I asked where we could park the guy shrugged his shoulders and said "I don't know". The room had two twin beds that they could not make into a large bed because at 2pm they had no staff on site (some four star hotel!) and finally when we got to the room the ac didn't work. The attendant kept telling us that they were going to restart it and after four tries and another wasted hour he had to admit that it was not going to happen. SO we left and found another real hotel. Need to also mention that their pool was so dirty that my 6yr old daughter who lives for pool time would not go in it. Do yourself a favor and stay away from that place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking, and the staff warns for this in advance

    We had a very spacious suite, perfect for a family. Great bathroom. Good quality baby cot, with suitable bedding. Great location for both the old town as well as the fishermen (restaurant) area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was ok but slow in the room.

    The rooms were a good size-we even had a little terrace. The breakfast was fantastic incl the breakfast staff. They went to great care withour gluten free request. Great location and advice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hideous dark brown bathroom decor - looked grubby and scruffy

    Location was great and the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym. Pool was not open. Thin walls.

    Coffee. Apples. Clean place. Good staff. Parking was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I

    I liked everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived quite early and there was no problem with us checking in to our room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem, unless you arrive early. There are only 21 spaces and the surrounding area is also somewhat difficult.

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and bar were closed ruing out single night there

    Staff was super, hotel handyman helped fix a big problem with trekking pole.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellente situation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location comfortable friendly nice food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good hotel in a quite neighbourhood nwith a pleasant walk to the restaurants bars etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled egg Sad restaurant was closed

    Nice espresso coffee - and a choice Excellent wifi Excellent staff on reception and in cafe/bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to believe this hotel has 4 stars. Very basic facilities. Don't do breakfast there, it is a rip off

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel at great price. Don't stay on the French side, much cheaper here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to criticize

    Location Room very comfortable Hotel services Parking Kindliness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in a very beautiful town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was closed for the duration of our 5 night stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with terrace. Swimming pool. Close to beautiful"old town" (via lift).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better air conditioning

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very helpful reception staff and good car parking facilities. Also had a lovely swimming pool with garden and loungers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms very plain, no pictures

    Position near old town, provision of fresh fruit on each floor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and very helpful Location was ideal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely everything. Room clean spacious good aircon. Look v v welcome. Staff super helpful. Try the lunch. Superb

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing, all was great.

    Very comfortable beds, clean, big bath with great shower, good TV.Also, nice breakfast was available to purchase.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel poorly maintained

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very courteous staff, great location and good pool!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very convenient as it is very close to the airport

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice quiet room overlooking the garden. Easy parking. Short walk to town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful, clean with modern facilities. Fantastic breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were prohibitively expensive Unknowingly landed on day of festival and there were no eating facilities open for us - and car parking was overfull, as was town, so had to park 4 streets away. .

    Room, facilities, etc all very good. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room and balcony. Enjoyed the pool. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Good to be able to stroll along the promenade to the centre of town; or up to the old town.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Great location for relaxing outside of San Sebastian. Wonderful small town atmosphere with some amenities of larger city. Very friendly to non-Spanish, non-Basque speakers.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Our room had a lovely view of the church and old town. Also very close to the airport which we walked to early morning. The room was very well appointed and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was lovely, but we would have preferred the loungers, etc to be next to the pool rather than in the garden.

    Fantastic spot for a stopover if travelling from France to Spain

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As peak holiday season there was not a parking space when we arrived, After three drives around the town and being unable to find a parking space we returned to hotel and were lucky enough to get a place to park that had become vacant. Didn'r move car again until time to leave. Restaurant closed Sunday and Monday evenings,

    Good location, close to old town and public transport. Excellent restaurant in which we had a superb meal, very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning (or if there was it didn't work well) . A room beside the pool, currently not in use , would make a perfect gym. The facilities in the hotel are sparse.

    Good quiet location minutes away from the old town and the busy square . Pool small, but perfect for a refreshing dip. Hotel supplied extra towels for swimming. Great size room (junior suite). Clean. Reasonable parking.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant looked expensive and lacking in atmosphere so we didn't eat there. Great Tapas in the centre of town.

    Free Good speed WiFi and coffee in the bar area were nice touches. Location was quiet but not too far from main attractions.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi did not reach our room (located on sub-zero floor and had quite funky smell).

    Very nicely decorated and spacious room, helpfull staff, close to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were maggots in the freshly squeezed orange juice. When we discreetly told the young waitress, she simply changed the jug, did not apologise nor offer recompense. The omelette was runny and luke warm inside.

    Free wiFi, comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for the airport, and the pool was like heaven after a day of travelling. Staff were happy to call for a taxi in the morning and it arrived quickly.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had booked a double room but found two twin beds pushed close to one another but made as two separate beds. The fact they didn't have a double bed as had been booked wasn't ideal. Free WiFi also didn't work on one of the two days.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Impersonal staff, few facilities, inadequate outside space, noisy location, soleless room, air conditioning broken down, could be cleaner. Not liked and we won't be back.

    Close to town

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The location, the staff, the restaurant, the complete hotel was outstanding. The location is very close to the center of the old town. Great place to stay and to also visit San Sebastian by bus from there. The staff personnel excellent. We had a room with a great terrace. Well worth every euro.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was clean but it could have been more thoroughly cleaned. We missed fresh coffee at breakfast as this has been replaced by a coffee machine.

    The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and provided a lot of information about the town. The breakfast was lovely with good quality products, particularly the meats. This is our second visit to the hotel and we were not disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, lovely hotel , staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a lot of parking.

    Staff very helpful, a good sized room and bars/restaurants a short walk away.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lounge room, coziness, feels like home

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything very good

    the service was always excellent

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Very nice and clean, the staff was super nice, and the restaurant amazing! Every thing was nice and clean.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: