Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Canary Islands hotel reviews
  4. Costa Calma hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of R2 Rio Calma

Reviews of R2 Rio Calma 4 stars

Artistas Canarios, 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Spain

#37 of 87 hotels in Costa Calma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 17

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay because we had a car and we went out a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that men were forced to wear long dress pants for dinner. Women could wear shorts.Most of staff at the Restaurant should take a course as how to speak to the guests. Some of them behaved & sounded very rude and aggressive. The atmospher very dead and hospital like. Management should do something to lift it up for a happier place.

    The property was nice, even though it was a little older than I expected. The food is good but could become repetitive after 5th day.Piano bar was nice but could be a little longer.The shower was really nice with lots of pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Gardens beautiful, pools lovely, staff great food excellent. Very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillow arrangement of the bed in the room. Would liked to have seen the no sun bed reservation enforced as people got around the rules. waiter service for pool drinks would have been a nice touch. People letting you down on the dress code.

    Beautiful hotel lovely staff excellent food, however very cut off needed to walk forever to get anywhere or a taxi was required. however would return as could not fault the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    A lovely hotel that needs a bit of "polish" to make it perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poorly trained staff [wrong order delivery], "black" over cooked bacon, fried eggs cooked on a plancha, detail, detail

    Ambience - views - surroundings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    In the room there is only one socket, if you need an iron...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room there is only one socket, if you need an iron you have to go to reception to pick it up and pay a deposit for it. WIFI costs 1Euro a day. Four Stars???

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant and relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the Dining Experience was not satisfactory. Difficult to find a table most nights. The hard working staff were cheerful and did their best due to inadequate staffing. It was quite common for food, cutlery and plates to run out.

    The gardens and pools are magnificent. Plenty of interesting areas to enjoy and partake the beautiful surroundings. Very peaceful and tranquil

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful hotel and surroundings - ruined by poor catering management and lack of dining options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only ONE restaurant offering buffet meals. We went for dinner at 9.15pm, walked around the tables twice and neither my companion nor me could find anything to eat. There was NO cold meats, NO cheeses [Fuerteventura known around the World for it's goats cheese], NO entree seafood [a small island in the Atlantic ocean?]. The hot table offered a few pieces of fish in breadcrumbs, one spoonfull of a sad looking beef in sauce and some small pieces of overcooked duck!. NO pork, NO chicken, NO beef. There was so little to eat the chef put a few small fish fillets on the plancha followed by a chicken and vegetable mix that would have been great in a kebab shop. Perhaps the worst buffet meal we have ever come across!! The a la carte restaurant is only open Thursday through Saturday - We stayed the wrong night!!!

    A beautiful hotel built in an Italian style with a stunning reception area with huge coloured glass windows, arboretum, beautiful gardens, etc. etc. The views out to sea and west to Morro Jable and onward to Punto Jandia rate as "World Class". - - - Just Fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for a lot of extras

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Room very comfortable, food very good, staff excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room very comfortable, food very good, staff excellent, polite, attentive and efficient. Hotel is situated in a quiet out of town area for relaxing quiet stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    The buffet was very good and changed daily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In contrast to the rest of the buffet, the dessert buffet was very uncreative and unappealing. But, hey, one doesn't go to the Canary islands for the buffet, right? The walls are not soundproof at all, so your night rest relies on the neighbours and there's no inside storage room for bikes, which meant we took the bikes to our room.

    The buffet was very good and changed daily. There were always fresh fruits, lettuce and vegetables available. The hotel itself is very nice, with a special architecture and a great multi-level pool design and nice coast trails. There is no sand beach at the hotel, but many within an adequate walking distance. The location outside of Costa Calma may be for the better or the worse, if you are not there to party, it's nice (go out for a night walk under clear sky).

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.9
    The hotels is very well equipped and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not where it is shown on your map! It lies well beyond the easternmost end of the beach. There are no bar or any other amenities within walking distance of the hotel.

    The hotels is very well equipped and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Huge restaurant and great meals, big &very clean room, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was at top of the hill. But after a couple of days we got used to it.

    Huge restaurant and great meals, big &very clean room, nice view, great design of hotel and surroundings

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    5.8
    Pool area and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I am not impressed with the hotel at all.We stayed only 1 night but that was enough.Payed 200 Eur for 3 people and with Sea view that was extra to pay.We got the worst room ever.I am not picky person but i would not put my dog in that room..The only window that they had was 1 door to balcony that ment to be with sea view if i leaned over the balcony maybe i could see the sea..Went to reception and they gave us a really small room and brought extra bed.Worst experience ever.So not worth the money.Never staying there again.We had to pay 8 EUR for drink at check out and my partner gave 20 EUR note and at the reception they gave him back only 2 EUR instead of 12 EUR be careful and always check the change they giving you.

    Pool area and food.Most of the staff was great.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    gorgeous location, beautiful hotel, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    front desk staff needs lots of training on customer service

    gorgeous location, beautiful hotel, good food

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.6
    The gardens and outside space were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening entertainment was poor and finished very early.

    The gardens and outside space were beautiful. Photos cannot show the full beauty of the place.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    the animation team it was inexistent/the refeaption and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the facilites,

    the animation team it was inexistent/the refeaption and bar service not the best

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    Nearly every aspect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard Bed.

    Nearly every aspect. Great Pools and Food.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    3.3
    Kids entertainment team
    • Family with young children

    Swimming was dirty, staff where unfriendly, didn't provide things that I asked for the list can go on...

    Kids entertainment team

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 17

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse R2 Rio Calma traveller photo gallery