Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AR Roca Esmeralda & Spa Hotel 3 stars

Ponent,1, 03700 Calpe, Spain

#11 of 13 hotels in Calpe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 739 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in prime position for the beach- I woud definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it would have been nice to have Tea and coffee making facilities in the room for that first cuppa - if they were there somewhere I couldn't find them

    Nice spacious room, comfy beds and very clean all round. it was great to have air con in the room which was effective and quiet. Very spacious balcony. The hotel was situated perfectly for what we wanted, the staff were extremely helpful on the front desk. Breakfast was good, absolutely everything available for all nationalities and needs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Good Beach hotel with many Spanish pensionados
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room and bathroom is outdated and need renovation. Very poor WIFI! Breakfast very busy.

    Hotel has a perfect location. Right at the beach and close to several restaurants. Good breakfast. Rooms and other areas were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Calpe is beautiful and the beach great. Hotel excellent location. Shame about the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the best sea view as advertised. Its side on . Balcony in full sun with no blind, therefor useless in the late afternoon. Room very old and tired furnishings. Spa closed for refurbishment, we were not told this at the time of booking. All other facilities were very good, food as expected, last comment , no UK TV channels, not even the world news.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had everything you need. The staff are all very friendly and helpful The gym is big for a hotel gym if you are into fitness and the indoor pool is a good size when not warm weather. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great holiday stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wi-Fi in the room was sometimes intermittent and a bit slow, but was absolutely fine in the hall, so it did not really matter.

    Great location right near the beach, excellent food (I've taken full board), friendly staff, outdoor swimming pool - this hotel has all you need for a nice vacation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is aimed towards older couples. The restaurant Managers customer service let's down the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Manager of the restaurant was extremely rude to me. I was enquiring about what meals I was entitled to as I had paid full board.. she started the conversation using perfect English and when I told her I didn't understand fully what I was entitled to.. she starting ranting in Spanish. Her facial expressions and what she did say in English were very rude. I told her I thought she was being rude and she used a hand gesture to tell me go away and started laughing. She ruined my whole experience of my stay in Rate AR Roca Esmeralda & Spa Hotel. Instead of leaving refreshed after a nice stay i felt upset/annoyed that i had been spoken to in such a rude manner. I complained about her manner towards me to the receptionists, they apologised.

    The rooms were nice and big. The pool was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and comfortable hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym poorly equiped. Pool packed with kids on lessons both afternoons I was there. No tea/ coffee in rooms. Having to pay upfront on check in which I found surprising.

    Rooms airy. Good value for money overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Good, but I hoped for little bit more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough info at reception about spa/indoor pool - was not available for children - had to go to other hotel for swimming pool where children were allowed

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Standard spanish resort hotel, excellent location, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo of Penon rock on the description page is impossible to see from any of the rooms, it was taken from the private apartments facing the beach at the taller building next door, I thought I was going to get that view.

    Standard spanish resort hotel, excellent location, good buffet food, easy parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Stay was good and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was to have a negative comment the rooms could do with up dating.

    The room was kept very clean,the food was excellent,all the staff were very sociable,as I lived in Calpe for many years before moving back to uk I was not disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    I will defiantly be going back to this hotel . Due to overall satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    I was very happy with this hotel x I really wish I was able to speak more Spanish x the bar area was very comfortable .. the price of the drinks were excellent.. the position of the hotel is fab .. the room was spacious .. clean towels daily and comfy beds .. the only slight issue was the pillows .. but I still managed to sleep well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location with direct access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing, Will return to this hotel for a longer period.

    Good location with direct access to the beach. I got half board: buffet breakfast and buffet dinner were really excellent. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. I only stayed for one night in the low season, and that was great value for money. It was easy to find a free parking spot in the street nearby, but I guess in high season you need to reserve a paid parking spot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    WE REALLY ENJOYED ALL PARTS OF OUR HOLIDAY FROM THE SPACIOUS...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A FEW CLOUDS ON THE LAST DAY !

    WE REALLY ENJOYED ALL PARTS OF OUR HOLIDAY FROM THE SPACIOUS CLEAN ROOM TO THE BREAKFAST,GYM AND THE BEACH WHICH IS ONLY A 2 MINUTE WALK AWAY AND IS LOVELY AND SANDY WITH ALL THE RESTAURANTS ,BARS AND SHOPS BESIDE IT !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Exactly what I expected when I booked. Clean, friendly, good location, but a bit 'tired'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was too expensive.

    The hotel was tired, but it was very clean and very cost effective. It had a swimming pool (free - but you have to buy a swim hat) and spa (available for a very reasonable E6.50). Gym etc also available. Right on the beach. Highly recommended for a good cheap and cheerful hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, hope to go back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub singing on Monday night, it was bad.

    The hotel is situated next to the beach with a good view of the Penon de Ifach. This rock dominates the view form both North and South of Calpe. The rock is within a protected park and is accessible for those with an adventurous character. Please do a little research before you embark on a climb. The area is support with good supermarkets for fresh food and good local wine. Would we return, well, yes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Fine and comfortable with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told that they couldn't guarantee an adapted room until I arrived at check in. Totally unacceptable I'm afraid, room was agreed once I refused to pay via various emails. Bookings.com should show hotels on their website that have adapted rooms that we can book without undue risks.

    Easy access for wheelchair users. Breakfast fine . Good sized room for wheelchair including wet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Great family oriented location with wonderful beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The promenade & bars/restauarants were "invaded" in the evenings by fake goods sellers along the promenade. After one night this became tedious and an tiresome.

    Great location at the end of a promenade just off a great beach. Great family oriented location with a beautiful view of the Rock. Lots of bars & restaurants stretching from the hotel to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Easy access to the sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was a "Bun fight" could be organised better.Didn't use it on a number of days as just too much hassle. Next time we stay will not take breakfast option.

    Easy access to the sea front

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Good aircon, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated and bathroom needs upgrading, rust round plug on bath and cracked tile on floor.

    Good aircon, clean room. Very reasonable charge for safe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    Good value at 49€/night double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No change of bed linen Noise on the road side and coming up from the swimming pool where there are outdoors games

    Refrigerator in the room Spacious room Confortable large double bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    Great value at 45€/night double. Will come back again at this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a nice view of the sea, many other other rooms might have just a mountain/Mercadona view No sheets change on a daily base Kitchenette was locked

    Large rooms, large confortable double bed Ergonomic furniture including a hidden table Good tv chanels Nice balcony

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception not very friendly.

    Good position. Food good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Awesome place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music in pool bar was sometimes a but overbearing.

    Location was fantastic. Amazing views. Great staff ATM

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is really good and the price is also nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old and dirty at walls and floor.

    The location is really good and the price is also nice compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Size of the room and terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building site next to the hotel

    Size of the room and terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    perfect going back real soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    All ways great service and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ever one and every thing.allways

    We stayed 8. Nights and have been back here for about 12years all ways been great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tied accommodation

    View

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    dated and tired but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dated decoration

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    It was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps it was a bit worn out

    It was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    It was ok for time of year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English tv

    Only had room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    A top economical hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the sea front with some good views from rooms

    Good value for the money !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    A RELAXING BREAK IN MID WINTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE DECOR WAS A LITTLER TIRED

    THE HOTEL IS NEAR THE BEACH AND EVEN IN WINTER TIME RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS ARE OPEN

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely but would not stop there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of the food in the buffet bar a bit disjointed.

    Large rooms - clean sheets and towels every day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Although the rooms could do with updating they were scrupulously clean, staff excellent food great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a refurb.

    Food, Staff, friendliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, view and parking excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    would stay there anytime in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Dining Hall and facilities poor, good food ruined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dining Hall and facilities poor, good food ruined. Only used restaurant on the night of arrival and the following morning, there after we dined out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.0
    The sofa and chairs were quite dirty and smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa and chairs were quite dirty and smelly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tlc to the hotel

    The staff were friendly food was good facilites were great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.1
    The Hotel punches above its 3 * rating with its food.
    • Group

    Specifically booked a room with a bath and a room with a shower, and received confirmation from Hotel. Received disabled rooms x 2, no bath in either. Furniture and décor in rooms both showing their age.

    The Hotel punches above its 3 * rating with its food. Easily as good as most of the 4 * we normally prefer.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted to play cards whilst we had a drink in the bar one evening and were told to sit in the outside area that we could not play cards in the seating area of the bar! We thought this was most odd?

    Location was great. It was my birthday celebration and I asked if we could have a balcony with sea view. We were actually given a lovely room with a sea view and the balcony faced west so when we returned in the afternoon our balcony was flooded with sunlight. As this was the 1st March it was very very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    2.9
    I liked leaving the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was terrible, smelled bad and was in poor shape. Shower didn't drain, mini-fridge didn't work, patio door lock was broken. No English TV channels, hotel staff was rude. Food in the buffet looked disgusting, it looked so bad I didn't even try eating it.

    I liked leaving the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    All meals where good buffet selección.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is looking s little tired, but staff, good, and cleanliness excellant.

    All meals where good buffet selección. Hotel is ideal y situated clase by local bus stop, súper armes and a Great promanade,

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.5
    The room and balcony
    • Business trip
    • Group

    We were only there for one night. Parking was nine euros and I was not told where the car park was. left it out back and nearly got towed away.

    The room and balcony

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where to begin? Outdated, down at heel, tired old property. Paper thin walls so impossible to sleep. Uncomfortable mattresses. Dreadful old bathroom with crumbling grout and brown ceiling tiles. No wifi in rooms as promised. Not a single English language TV channel. Both these things reported to reception, and we were told we were incorrect!!! There was wifi and CNN. Not so. Just ghastly.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable bed and a very tired looking bathroom.

    The location was very good. Breakfast had a wide variety. Wifi being free was a plus but slow.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Ambience was good and the facilities I used
    • Solo traveller

    I was annoyed with the lack of an English TV/radio channel.......Spanish/French/German/Russian & Dutch but no English!! Oh breakfast.......I don't like my bacon and eggs cold!

    Ambience was good and the facilities I used which was very little, I was happy with.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    7.1
    Did room only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gym looked OK for the area, but was not included, and the owner wanted 5€ just to use the matting to stretch on after my swim.

    Did room only. Wasn't quite what I had hoped for but for the price and location no real complaints. Staff were nice. Pool and sauna area was quite good (take a swim cap).

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Location- close to beach, restaurants whilst also being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location- close to beach, restaurants whilst also being relatively quiet. Rooms spacious we had a sea view. Fridge and air con in room.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.6
    All perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car park we had to pay. Never had to do this before. Exc

    All perfect for us.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.3
    The view, the gym, the scrambled eggs.
    • Couple

    The furniture in the bar is too worn.

    The view, the gym, the scrambled eggs.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    large room, nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food a little expensive. building work next door.

    large room, nice view.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Good position, comfy spacious rooms value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no dislikes

    Good position, comfy spacious rooms value for money

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing! And that's a first!!!

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    views, staff, position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    noise

    views, staff, position

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.2
    The room was superb with the requested sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was superb with the requested sea view. The breakfast selection was extensive. The spa facilities were good.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: