Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Room Mate Oscar 3 stars

Plaza de Pedro Zerolo, 12, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#47 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1776 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV was not working - but I didn't need it anyway. There could have been more sockets around the bed for charging smartphone & co.

    Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in the breakfast room. The roof top terrace and its views are great – the waiters are cool. The location is gorgeous right in the centre of Chueca. Breakfast was nice – as was the interior design.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Loved it. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few criticisms - I would have liked a bottle of water every day as tap water was typically Spanish tasting. Room had no view - window faced central shaft. If I paid more I would have had great view- my fault for being too mean! Also website was accurate and clearly said there was only an internal view.

    Clean, modern, stylish, lovely staff, great breakfast. Room seemed sound proof - very little noise so undisturbed sleep in excellent bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Good staff, clean hotel - centrally located. Fun area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel was cozy and staff was friendly. rooms were big and the rooftop pool was great! I didn't know I was booking a hotel in a neighborhood filled w/ gay bars - it didn't bother me. If you're uncomfortable with equality and love for all, this is not the hotel for you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description says sound proof rooms. Traffic noise is pretty much non existent but you can hear people in the hall and bedrooms surrounding. I would not say this is any worse than any hotel I’ve stayed in before though.

    Great location. The room was super funky. Loved the finer details and quirky finishes :) Extremely clean, comfortable and great size room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    I loved Jimmy at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved Jimmy at the front desk. He was very warm and welcoming. I loved the location of the hotel. But most of all, i loved the rooftop pool and bar! It was fantastic to tour all morning and come back to that lovely space for a dip, a drink and a rest! Would try to stay at Room Mate Oscar every time i visit Madrid!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    great hotel; wonderful design of rooms, very contemporary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they gave me twin beds and i wanted a double. otherwise , perfect hotel but a bit pricy

    great design in rooms; comfy bed; amazing view. very friedly and helpful front desk. MARTA WAS AMAZING !!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, shame about the pool staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big let down for us was the pool staff/pool rules. Half the loungers are reserved for paying public (21 euros pp) leaving only about 14 loungers for the 7 floors of guests (this was commented upon by new guests every day of our week stay). The pool bar staff were ALL rude, and on one occasion questioned where i was going when i was nipping to my room to the loo, explaining i was unable to keep my towel on a lounger if i was gone for more than 5 minutes!! We felt that we were looked down upon as we weren’t spending money on the 7euro beers and 13 euro cocktails, and when we arrived with our own water/refreshments it was made clear that it was unacceptable. Guests pay a fair amount of money to stay at the hotel: in my opinion we should have precedence over pool access, and if less focus was put on making £££ (i.e. by bringing the prices at the bar down slightly) perhaps more money would be spent by residents - we certainly would have purchased drinks and food throughout the day if the pricing was more in line with other bars in the area. This was one point for us that really was a let down, as we were made to feel uncomfortable, when the pool was the selling point for us when booking.

    Great location right in the buzz of Chueca and walking distance to everywhere! The desk staff were lovely. Rooms fabulous and clean. Opted for an upgrade to a junior suite at a great price. Even arranged a bottle of cava and ice bucket on my birthday. Lots of lovely little extras (toiletries, slippers etc). All in all a lovely stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was ok but I wouldn't choose to stay here again whilst external pool guests are prioritised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms did not have the tea/coffee makers as per room description but reception staff organised a kettle when this was brought to their attention. It is great to have a rooftop pool which is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel above others although we were very disappointed by the blatant disregard for hotel paying guests in securing a sunbed around the pool. There is a separate area designated for paying visitors to the pool & although beds were free in this area, hotel guests were not ever allowed to use them. We watched each day as these 'fee paying' guests were asked at the bar if they would like a bed in the guest area or if they would like to be closer to the pool, most chose to go close to the pool, taking the 'hotel guest' beds. If you would like a hotel with a pool/solarium I suggest booking a hotel where you have priority over outside guests for beds since in this hotel you are paying a premium for a facility where the staff blatanty ignore the needs of hotel guests in order to secure lots of fee paying guests at the poolside!

    Reception staff were very helpful & the hotel was very clean with very comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, perfect location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I had with the hotel was the view from my room. But this wasn't any problem really as the rooftop had amazing views.

    The hotel is located in a lively area with lots of bars & restaurants. Everything such as the best museums parks etc are in walking distance. The rooms are really comfortable and modern. But my favorite part was the rooftop pool & bar with stunning views of the city. This area becomes a really cool bar/club at night time with free access to hotel guests. We noticed people queing up outside to get in. Also, the staff were extremely friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely excellent room, staff extremely helpful....highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My stay wasn't long enough!!!

    The room was amazing, modern and clean The rooftop Bar was the perfect place to be to watch the sunset Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Former LGBT spot still keeps its charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Planned to have drinks on Sat evening before dinner with friends at the rooftop bar but heard at check-in it is closed due to a private event... This could have been informed during reservation/website. Pool sunbeds 'reserved' but no-one seemed to used those - and all others occupied 5 min after opening.. not nice for a hotel guest planned to spend some time by the pool. Previously popular hotel among LGBT people seemed now to be focusing mainly on straight couples and bikini girls.

    Great location in Chueca. Staff really nice and welcoming. Décor has kept its charm - a bit 2000's but well-kept. Rooms really clean - nice to enter from gloomy hallways. Comfortable beds. Breakfast worth a price with a nice selection of food including local specialities. Innovative minibar selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Would not rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was slow, and the member was a bit unsure not keeping us in the loop, took up to 20-25 minutes to check in. The pool is tiny and has hardly any beds, we went up and got a bed and then was told by a very rude member of staff that we could not sit there because we had not paid more......after paying over £100 a night I was quite shocked. We were on top floor and at the end, we struggled to get to sleep on a night because of people walking up and down the stairs from the pool and also chairs being pulled around the area. To then be woken up by chairs and beds being pulled round the floor again. Was less than impressed and felt unable to use the pool due to lack on manners and space in the pool area.

    The staff at the reception were friendly and informative, always happy to help and provided us with an iron. Quick check out which was good. Cleanliness of the room was good and the cleaners were really helpful. Very central and great restaurants and bars around the area which were well priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, fantastic staff, brilliant value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. The staff were extremely friendly and catered to anything we asked for. The rooftop is lovely too. Cleanliness was excellent and the room was lovely. Excellent value for money, highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    We had the balcony on 7th floor which was great, and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the churros and boiled eggs could have been fresher.

    We had the balcony on 7th floor which was great, and a very nice place to watch the swallows flying over the rooftops of madrid. The bathroom had a great shower area with a sliding door that gave onto the balcony. Breakfast was good but the churros and the boiled eggs, i thought, were not super fresh. overall, we had a great time in madrid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay, right in the heart of the city with amazingly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small gym at the hotel would've been nice, but not essential.

    The staff at the hotel are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were allowed to relax by the pool after check out and take a shower before we caught the bus to the airport (which isn't too far from the hotel).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay but next time would stay somewhere cheaper and pay to rent sunbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lacked lighting in bathroom, half the sunbeds reserved for non-guests who pay - was not always possible to get sun bed as hotel guest

    Breakfast runs until midday, comfy bed, clean room, good amount of mirrors, friendly check in staff, reasonable minibar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Anniversary holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic and excellent value for money. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make your stay perfect. Highly recommended. Martin and Karen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    A fabulous hotel in an ideal location of a beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was impossible to turn the shower on without getting drenched in cold water because the door hinge was on the wrong side but, hey, I quibble!

    A great hotel in a fabulous location just off Gran Via made all the better by wonderful friendly staff, special mention must go to Sandra on reception who made it her job to make sure we had a brilliant time with countless recommendations of where to sightsee and where to eat and drink, every recommendation was a keeper! The room was a good size and spotlessly clean although did feel a little like a case of style over function The bed was large and supremely comfortable and having a good sized room safe is always reassuring.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Stylish and welcoming hotel in the heart of Chueca, convenient to the center; memorable roof bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Design and special touches might be love-or-hate for guests (I was more on the "love" side). My room had the toilet and shower in a glassed-in (but visually screened) enclave; the sink was in a corner of the main space, with very weak light over the mirror. I was alone, but this set-up might not feel private enough if staying with friends. Hot pink was the dominant accent color, for decor and also the free candies-- again, not everyone's taste, though certainly done stylishly. Strangely, my room had no bottle opener, but staff brought one promptly.

    Convenient location for transit and the sights of central Madrid. Exceptionally pleasant staff at check-in and in the restaurant. I was upgraded to a large, quiet room on an upper floor, with a good view and lots of space; but my sense is that the standard of comfort is high throughout. Breakfast was not included, but guests get a discount and a dedicated space in the scenic roof terrace restaurant / bar. The room had some complimentary drinks and a few small (candy) snacks, apart from a paid minibar. The hotel is in the heart of Chueca, the city's main gay neighborhood, and makes a special effort to be welcoming to a diverse clientele.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Superb hotel and staff
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needs some music even on low to improve the ambience

    One of the best hotels I've stayed in for customer service; went out of their way to recommend restaurants, arrange 5 seater taxis etc. Cracking location with the pool as a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    The pool area is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are not natural. I prefer feather and down.

    The pool area is great. We had a junior suite and couldn’t fault it. The staff are the single most impressive thing about our experience. The hotel obviously invests in them and their training. Superb!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at Room Mate Oscar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved our stay at Room Mate Oscar. Great location, walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go; smallish but adequate, immaculately clean room (could’ve had bigger for nominal extra but chose not to); friendly, helpful staff; delicious range of breakfast options, healthy &/or decadent!; great rooftop bar with pool. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Fancy hotel for lovers in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning location in the room was awful, when you turn it on at night you get all air flow to your face and back. If you turn it off, it becomes very stuffy in the room. by the way we have been in Madrid when it was 41C above zero. Swimming pool closes at 7 pm, it is early because it's sunny and hot till 9 pm in summer.

    Swimming pool on the rooftop and breakfast are amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Great location and fab rooftop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good rooftop and pool, comfy bed and staff were friendly and helpful for tips of places to go. No bad word to say! Would recommend this hotel and stay again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent central hotel for a birthday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amenities in room could be updated, for example USB ports to charge items, and update the TV. Also tea/coffee facilities would be a bonus! The roof top pool and bar needs some maintenance and my only annoyance is the rooftop pool doesn't have a lot of sun loungers - half the area is reserved for people from outside paying to use them! So you need to get there at 10.30am when it opens to secure a bed.

    Bed was extremely comfortable, room clean and air con! Roof top pool and bar was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Love is Love ❤❤❤
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool because it is too small if you tall for about 6 feet ypu can only dip and that's it. if you want to swim forget it.. :( It is only for dipping if the weather getting hot. In the picture looks big but it was not.

    The people are great. i celebrated my birthday with them and they gave me a cake. :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous property. Loved my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Really great experience staying here. Everything was fabulous from the location, amenities, checkin procedure, the staff, you name it. The rooms are very modern and they provided a nice welcome gift upon checkin. I'd highly recommend staying here to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Great customer service, comfy room with nice little touches,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the room primarily for the roof top pool so it was a shame to be told it was closed for a private function. As we were leaving the next morning, we felt we had missed out on something we had been looking forward to.

    Great customer service, comfy room with nice little touches, amazing location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if there was some music of a night time at the roof top bar and corridors were very dark

    Loved the style of the rooms and the rooftop pool/bar, very friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Amazing roof top with bar and poll
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very poor compare to the price 235 Euro. The shower and bathroom are very interested comfortable and from some reason were in the middle of the room.

    Amazing roof top with bar and poll

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    I loved the location, the trendy style and comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the 7th floor at all costs. It’s the top floor and I thought would be great views, but it’s the only avenue to the roof top pool, so hotel guests and no guests have to use the hallway to access the pool; the doors are not well noise insulated and after a few drinks, people are loud all day and night... the pool area is open until 2am.

    I loved the location, the trendy style and comfortable and clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff and the decor are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was advertised with a balcony but didn’t have one when we turned up. Also the hotel has a roof top pool, which was one of our main reasons for choosing it but the pool was closed for a private function two out of the three days we were there.

    The staff and the decor are amazing! So so great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location in heart of Chueca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top bar lets public in; the food and drinks are overpriced, and we didn’t want to return there because 2 separate people told us to leave because they were closing. Noise of other guests and neighborhood might be a turnoff for those seeking quiet.

    Amazing location in heart of Chueca. Mod style with great room stylings and plush furniture. Front desk staff very helpful and engaging!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A gem in downtown Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly I liked everything from the property.

    The staff is fantastic! The room was awesome (they also provided a cradle for our baby). The location cannot be better and breakfast was a dream. The roof top bar-pool is super cool and convenient. We will come back when in Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    The rooftop is really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two single beds instead of a double bed the bathroom divided in two parts - the bathroom sink in the bedroom and the shower and toilets in the bathroom

    The rooftop is really good the breakfast is great with a heathly corner the staff is really nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and friendly staff only makes it better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool opens at 10.30am. Would be great if it was open earlier.

    Loved the hotel! It was my second stay in the Room Mate hotels, and definitely won't be the last one. The hotel is in a very central location, close to all main attractions. The bus stop to go to the airport is just 10 mins walk. The swimming pool was a lovely addition to the experience. There is no USB charger in the room, so make sure to bring a socket charger. I haven't brought mine, but the staff at reception was so nice and happily borrowed me one :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Cool pool and fun days with some friends and Oscar! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area, being great, was actually kind of unvailable for hotel's guests as the prefere people coming from out of the hotel to the guests.

    Cool hotel, wonderfull breakfast and really nice rooms (great decoration and very clean and modern spaces)! Right in the middle of Chueca, 2 minutes away from everything (included Gran Via). The pool area, being great, was actually kind of unvailable for hotel's guests as the prefere people coming from out of the hotel to the guests. That was the only downside. Everything eles was just perfect! I sure recomend it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    I would recommend to ask for a room on a lower level to enjoy fully what this hotel has to offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a top floor room, all customers going to the rooftop bar had to pass through the full top floor corridor... to go from elevator to the roof top. A pain!! Impossible to sleep, so much noise. When i was asked next day before leaving at the reception if I slept well I was honnest and answered that consodering the room they gave me they should know the answer. They recognized it and offered me to get free breakfast as an appologize. Nice from them but of course all I needed was a good night sleep. I would recommend to ask for a room on a lower level to enjoy fully what this hotel has to offer.

    Location of the hotel is great, very central. Rooms have a good size and bed was comfortable. I did not try the roof top bar but know they have one!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel like the chain would definitely stay at another room mate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof bar wasn't the best too busy in the night as it was open to the public. Staff at the roof bar could of been more friendly but I don't think they were employed by the hotel.

    We got a free room upgrade with added cava and water as it was our anniversary. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel, terrible room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Junior suite is a disaster - one of the least functional architecture hotel rooms I've been to. Hot water was a problem in one of the days and the internet was very poor. Not sure how the other rooms are, but the junior suite was really a flop. Staff was always friendly and helpful though

    Friendly staff, great location, beautiful design

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    I booked this hotel on the same day of our stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    I booked this hotel on the same day of our stay . I like the hotel because of its modern design and it smells good. The location is good , a lot af reastaurants nearby, at the center of the city. Bed and pillows are comfortable. The staff in the reception are helpful and friendly. They helped us rebooked our airport pick up in Emirates airlines . I will definitely go back and recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel for a short stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather! ;) But the hotel has no fault!

    This hotel has several good points: The staff is all great and very helpful, but we have to thank Cesar in particular for all the help and kindness. We travel a lot and I can surely say that Cesar is the best hotel staff member we've had so far! Location is very good. Walking distance from all major attractions in Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and staff - room a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered an upgrade for a small cost that we took. After checking in we were then informed the roof terrace and pool area was closed for renovations. These things happen but didn't feel great to be told this after paying extra. The only reason we booked this hotel was for those facilities. Additionally the bathroom is an enclosed glass box within the room itself and offers little privacy. I mean we're a couple but hey there's somethings you don't need to know! Room overall didn't live up to the artistic/modern style.

    Fantastic location, right across from a square with bar restaurants and the whole area was fantastic. Really nice reception area and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Had fun - it was too short this time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The taps in the shower are meant to be cool, but they are difficult to manipulate and the shower is not always the temperature one would like. Also, the fans in ALL of the bathrooms make too much noise.

    I have stayed at Roommate Oscar before and like it for the cleanliness and location. The rooftop patio is spectacular!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellent property in excellent neighborhood!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, but lots of street and landscape improvement currently going on in this district. The staff is very friendly and helpful at this property. The beds are incredibly comfortable. You’ll love your stay here!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, very clean and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight negative was the lack of lighting in the corridor, it felt like a nightclub.

    The reception team were excellent, always helpful and friendly especially Angel and Rafa!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Well located hotel with pleasant staff but you’ll be lucky to access the rooftop bar at weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic rooftop bar with great views over the city. Hotel has opened this to the public who queue for hours to get in at the expense of the residents. It seems crazy that having paid for the facility (which is a big selling point of the Oscar) residents get no priority access.

    Clean rooms and friendly staff. Hotel in good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    OK - just
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lavatories with no lock on the door! No bath. The staff I dealt with were not over bright. Couldn't tell the difference between a company booking and a personal one - too fixated on writing down the life story of the customer for the police!

    The view across the square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean, modern, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately on the day we were there the weather did not allow us to sit outside on the rooftop terrace and the music player did not work, so the ambiance was not the best...we left quickly. The bar also seemed heavily overpriced. In the bathroom, there were no coat hangers which I would expect from a room of this quality. The bed was on the softer side (I know this is personal preference.)

    The staff was friendly and attentive (but sometimes a bit pushy) The location is outstanding- short walking distance to the city centre. The room was super clean and spacious- we did not take the upgrade. The terrace has amazing views. I appreciated the refillable toiletries (as an effort to reduce waste) Breakfast had good variety and quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable room, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were absolutely wonderful. However, the receptionist that handled my check-out was quite rude, which was an unpleasant way to end my stay.

    Clean and comfortable room, fantastic location. Very helpful and friendly staff. They even arranged a vegan breakfast for me on arrival which was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    2 night stay with the wife. A great city Prado gallery the highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably one of the best breakfasts at a hotel I've had. The staff go out their way to help. I had a room on 1st floor the bathroom wasn't upto the photos and there was a slight smell. We were moved to a room on the 4th floor and were very happy. Great location and would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Bed very comfortable, staff extremely friendly and room...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom too hot and shower gel etc. too difficult to open! Use something simpler and more eco friendly.

    Bed very comfortable, staff extremely friendly and room lovely;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Love you Mate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Great service. Great staff. Contemporary and very clean hotel. Located in the center of everything. Literally, walking distance from everything. The hotel is quite, no noise, and safe. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. The rooftop terrence is amazing with amazing view. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent, very helpful, friendly, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hotter than expected, we called down to find out the AC isn't turned on during the winter. Once we figured out how to prop the window open it cooled the room perfectly. The breakfast eggs were cold, most days, not sure if they were supposed to be. Still loved the hotel, and staff. Thank you!

    The staff were excellent, very helpful, friendly, and listened to every question. Thank you, very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    I just can’t wait to get back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was to say anything is the splitbin the bed but I never complained about this so maybe in future I would address the staff

    The perfect stay!!!! Myself and my girlfriend live in different countries so we often travel together and stay in hotels! I also travel a lot with Work Andi have stayed in the best and also the worst hotels you could imagine!! Room mate oscar was all round one of the best experiences of a hotel I can imagine! Backed up by the city Madrid. Sandra at front desk deserves a promotion for how comfortable and personalised she made our trip!! I never write reviews but location cleanliness everything was perfect a special hotel can’t wait to be back!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing hotel in a great location! Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and they even brought up a little bottle of cava when they realised it was my husband’s birthday 😊 The room was beautifully designed and very quiet! The breakfast buffet is really varied and delicious with gluten and dairy free options. The rooftop bar is also fab!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms, high prices.

    Very good location in the center of Madrid. Nearby nightclubs, bars, restaurants. The hotel is modern, the rooms are clean (although we had small room without any view outside and washbasin in the room). On the roof there are a bar and pool - but we didn't see none of them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Oscar made me feel so special!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you are ready to walk, party and mingle with strangers Oscar in Chueca is the place to be. Spent a great New Year's party and well we had it all! gay or straight this is an open minded place so relax, have fun and let Oscar take care of you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel with an amazing friendly staff. Will surely be back!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    This is an excellent hotel in a perfect central location. We loved the design of the Junior Suite really. It had everything we need and very comfy. Finally I can say a great coffee machine with awesome coffee in the room! The breakfast was exceptional with lots of healthy choices available. The rooftop bar is a must see! Amazing atmosphere, view and great drinks. What was really exceptional above everything else was the staff! By far this was the friendliest staff I have ever engaged with in a hotel. They were super accommodating supportive and always with a genuine smile on their face. Whether the front desk attendants, the manager, the breakfast room or at the roof top bar. Everyone was exceptional. Special shout out to Rebecca that saved the day to help us in sorting out an ironing mess when we were late for a show and had to leave quickly. She came herself replaced the iron and helped us in ironing the shirt all in less than 20 minute notice and without any extra charge! I have never had that treatment in any hotel. This was truly an example of going beyond the call of duty. Amazing person. Thanks so much for your help that day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location for going out, in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect location for going out, in the heart of Madrid. Friendly and kind staff. The superior room and the bed was realy comfortable and had everything what you need. We loved it and wanna go back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    I am ready to return to visit Oscar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were privated parties in the roof-top bar my last two nights and while I really liked the music, I needed sleep. The street/sidewalk construction in area was not well handled by the city.

    Great: Location, Property, Breakfast and STAFF! They go out of their way to accomodate you and make your stay as perfect as possible. Any issue or question is promptly and courteously addressed. Clearly the employees love the hotel and it shows.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    It was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Alberto who gave us a good impression about the hotel, Sabrina and the night security who gave us the feeling that we should come back, the security guy who always greets us with a warm smile at the entrance, all the staff at the breakfast who were super friendly and helpful, all the front liners at the reception who were always ready to give us suggestions on where to go and eat (I wish I could remember all their names, it was a charming girl with ponytailed hair and a tall guy with thick beard), and the housekeepers who seamlessly cleaned our room daily. Thank you all!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room wasn’t good, however we were offered an upgrade on arrival for more money which we didn’t accept. The option of the sky bar was there to fall back on, so this wasn’t a worry any how. Music could have been louder in sky bar.

    Absolutely superb location for those looking for more than enough to do, everything is easily accessable from this location. Staff were extra friendly and although sky bar is open for everyone, those staying at the hotel are prioritised! Went with my partner and it was an excellent choice, would come back. Spotless rooms and a beautiful hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    just the perfect place to stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    fantastic place, Rooms very clean and modern , very comfortable beds , The rooftop bar was awesome with a lovely view . The hotel, it’s location and all of the staff are simply the best . breakfast is very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Madrid is a great city and the hotel made the stay even more special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over use of chemical deodorants especially in reception

    Very central and easy to get everywhere. Fab rooftop bar was an added bonus. Bed ultra comfortable and lots of great fruit for breakfast. Staff we’re lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to be on a super location. Worth the money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Second time at this property. It was better then the first time and they upgrade to the bigger room was worth it. Staff friendly and relaxed. Rooftop bar is great for pre dinner drinks. Thanks again Room Mate. You are indeed a great chain with a very personal service. I will be back when I am in Madrid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Added to the holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Good central location for various Metro links and walking around the centre of Madrid. Modern clean with excellent staff service, good sized double room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The €15 upgrade was over-hyped to me, I was expecting the room to be bigger than it actually was.

    The staff were friendly and the location was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for a couple’s getaway in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, great rooftop lounge for sunset drinks, friendly staff, fantastic restaurants and shopping in walking distance. The late checkout option (3pm for $25 euro and 5pm for $60 euro) meant that our late flight gave us a whole other day to explore and grab a quick shower before our flight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top pool was shut which was really disappointing as this was the main reason we booked it. Information on closure for winter was not on bookings web site.

    The bed was really comfortable. The location is central for exploring the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    A must stay if in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect had a lovely stay

    The location of the hotel was brillant right in the centre we were in walking distance to everything. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was lovely and clean. Rooftop views of madrid were beautiful cant wait to come back again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    I felt a bit like I was stuck underground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in the room. There was not enough of it.

    I wondered why the property supplied ear plugs ! Then found out why very early on Sunday morning !! My room was directly under the office and I was wakened around 6.45am. This was very disappointing as I do not wish to have to wear ear plugs whilst I sleep. Also the room was very small and quite dark...and NOT cheap. I did however think it was a lovely building in a fabulous location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic facilities and one for a definite return visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression of the hotel from the outside was not great! Not the hotel itself but there were teenagers gathered and sitting on the pavements outside most days and nights which made me think firstly that I had booked some sort of hostel. However they were no bother. Just not the first impression I would want from a hotel

    Staff were fantastic! Hotel was in an excellent location close to the shopping district and other attractions! Breakfast was also good and not expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location but not worth it because you WILL NOT get a good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms WERE NOT SOUND PROOF! Very very noisy!!!!! Inside from other guests and from outside street noise. My 11 year old daughter wasn't allowed in the pool and the pool is why I booked this hotel. So it was rather disappointing that I had no prior knowledge!

    Rooms were cool. Jimmy down in the breakfast room was amazing! A wonderful host! Food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Great location, amazing rooftop and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have any suggestions, under my point of view, my stay was perfect.

    The room was clean, decor was modern and the staff was extremely friendly. The hotel has a cool rooftop with a pool and cocktail bar. I highly recommend it and I would definitely stay again there.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Room Mate Oscar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: