Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rua Villar 3 stars

Rúa do Vilar, 8 - 10, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#6 of 86 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 696 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback to the hotel was the very poor Wifi. There was no connection in the room and even in the sitting room the connection was slow. For such a wonderful hotel for international travelers it is surprising that they don't have full wifi coverage for the entire hotel.

    Everything about the hotel was great. Wonderful staff who were very accommodating and friendly from the reception staff to the housekeeper. The location is perfect in the center of Santiago. The room was great and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Bacon and eggs for breakfast!! Sandra and Christine still there....nice to be back and so close to everything. We were able to get our room just after 10am!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Good value for money in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cathedral bells kept us awake through out the night, unfortunately that is to be expected and not something the hotel can do anything about. The pillow on the bed was a long continental style pillow which we are not used to. Difficult to find, had to abandon the car and take a taxi as not possible to drive near the hotel.

    The staff were all excellent. We checked in at 1.00 am in the morning and the 2 members of staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly.The room was well decorated and furnished, better than the images suggest. Good coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Right in front of the cathedral Hotel Rua Villar has the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Right in front of the cathedral Hotel Rua Villar has the perfect location. Staff could not do enough to help, they were all wondwrful. Rooms were lovely, comfortable with everything you need available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything about Hotel Rua Villar!

    Hotel Rua Villar is located in a great spot - close to the cathedral, cafes, restaurants and shops. Sandra was lovely! She checked us in and made sure that we were taken care of the entire time. The hotel had an elevator, great AC, spacious rooms, and many other amenities. Room service brought us coffee in the morning - so great! As pilgrims, this was one of our favorite hotels!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great little hotel in the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    This hotel is steps from the cathedral in the old city. Couldn't be a better location to explore the area for a day or so. The beds were comfortable, room nice, good little view out of the casement windows.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. They made our stay comfortable and so friendly. Highly recommend when staying in Santiago de Compostela. We stayed in same room two years ago and it stall has the charm and comfort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this place! The staff was super friendly and the rooms very comfortable. The price is a bit higher than our usual budget for hotels, but it was worth it and a perfect way to treat ourselves after a long Camino :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in a great hotel and cuty
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was right around the corner from the cathedral, it was lovely and comfortable. The staff were great especially Sandra who made us very welcome and was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable in centre of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. No coffee or tea making facilities in room.

    Very comfortable hotel, well located in old town. Room spacious and clean. Large Bed very comfortable. Enclosed balcony overlooking one of the oldest streets. Staff very friendly and keen to assist.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only suggestion I have might be to have the cafe open for longer hours, as some of the other hotels in the immediate area did.

    You can't beat the location, that's for sure! However, the staff at the front desk bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable in every way. Not only were they helpful and competent, but they were fun to talk with and to get advice with places to visit, directions, etc. The room was lovely and the bed was probably the most comfortable bed we slept in as we toured Spain. We shall return to the hotel if we ever visit again!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel with unbelievably kind staff. Huge superior room and great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is noise on the street at night, but in return you get a great room in a central location.

    The staff very helpful and lovely. Felt they went beyond what was expected and very lovely to our 3 year old The location (3min walk from the cathedral) and room size were fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean & Comfy Rooms & Exceptional Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Stayed in one of the superior rooms and thoroughly enjoyed playing cards and drinking wine in the evenings while looking out of the gallery windows. Beds were comfy and the room was clean, and the staff was truly exceptional - especially at the reception desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location just next to the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound isolation between rooms with noise due to wooden floor. Once the people in the top floor went to bed it was all quiet and we got good sleep.

    Great location just next to the Cathedral. Check-in was the best of our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and quiet for rest after walking the camino
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlocking the door was difficult and we needed help 2-3 times. Bedside lights did not seem to have individual controls- bith were either on or off.

    Location, helpful staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The perfect end to my Camino! Ten out of ten!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both day and night shift staff at reception was exceptional - I left feeling like a friend! The room was spectacular, and one could not ask for a better location. I would walk another 800km to arrive at Hotel Rua Villar again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    perfect accept for check in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in. I booked this room at the last minute and was happy that they had a room available on booking.com. At check in I the two staff misled mecwhen they really didnt need too. I asked twice was the room on the front or back. No answer! I actually wanted a room on tbe back as it would be quiet....no answer. 2nd question. Does it have a view? I was told yes...( I wasnt bothred as all I wanted was a quiet room) When shown to the room it was tiny, with a velux window. So if I stood on a chair and put my head out of the window and looked left I could just see the top of one of the catedral towers! I said to the guy. Why did you tell me rubbish when I checked in at r.eception. He said ' thats what you get when you book last minute!' and then left me in the eoom as quickly as possible. The point is I didnt need a front facing room or a view but why tell me lies?? As you can see in my previous hotel reviews Im normally quite tollerant and willing to give the benefit of the doubt... So why refuse to answer and then say there is a view when there is not! Totaly unnessesary!

    Good location near the Cathedral in the old city. Very nice decor & on the whole excellent service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    It’s location & the friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the cathedral shops & restaurants

    It’s location & the friendly, helpful staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble to them. I came back for the second time & the staff recognised me & made me so welcome. Really great hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    John on Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear conversations of people in room next door including gent snoring. Walls thin.

    Very welcoming. Atmosphere very relaxing. Walking distance to everything. Price reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful resting place after a long day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house was absolutely beautiful, the food was gorgeous but most if all the owners are so friendly and helpful. Tnx to the cycling tips im finding our camino cycle much easier today!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    If you can get in - book it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing it was perfect.

    The best hotel of our Camino - supportive, thorough staff who covered everything from baggage storage while on Camino and when we had a late flight , kept our bags and we were welcome to use the mezzanine level with comfy couches to relax. Taxi picked us up (they organised) for flat E21 ride to airport. As for the room, think grand hotel - spacious, elegant , comfortable with very detail looked after including soft throws if you were relaxing on the couch when it was cool. Little sun room with chairs and table overlooking the street— and double doors to block out the light and sound. Big bath and shower and fluffy towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is very romantic and extremely close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The authentic wooden floor is unfortunately creaking. That can cause some problems in the morning.

    The hotel is very romantic and extremely close to the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage destination. Rua Vilar is a wonderful and quiet street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Super location in the old town within 2 mins of the Cathedral, staff super efficient & friendly & we
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bells of the cathedral made it a little hard to get to sleep!

    Super location in the old town within 2 mins of the Cathedral, staff super efficient & friendly & well appointed rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    beautiful hostal/hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy room for the price charged

    beautiful hostal/hotel; wonderful location; for the price, one would have expected the room to not be so noisy from the upstairs rooms (at least on the mezzanine level room that we had)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional staff. Great location. Smallish room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small with a loft dropped ceiling on one side. They used the space well though.

    The staff was exceptionally accommodating and helpful. Location was just steps from the Cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We arrived mid afternoon and found everything in place for our stay. It was a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wanted to stay longer!

    The staff at this lovely venue are some of the best hotel staffers I know. They each go out of their way to help anywhere they can. No request is made to seem unreasonable. cheerful attitude, excellent English skills all around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, fabulous location - fabulous and very helpful staff - great coffee too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great - there was nothing to not like.

    Very clean hotel. The room we stayed in was a superior with extra space and a settee and armchairs and coffee table. Great decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great stay - I would strongly recommend this hotel for a great experience in Santiago de Compostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I didn't like about this property.

    We stayed in a superior room - great space which overlooked the street and all the Easter weekend activity. Fabulous location - just around the corner from the cathedral - an extra bonus. Great staff, very friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Will stay there again and recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise in the street at night.

    Excellent location. Brought good memories of my visit to Santiago in my younger years, as my mom is from Santiago. I remembered where to go, amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place. Very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The church bells in the area ring all night.

    Great location. Lovely rooms. Spotlessly Clean. Friendly Staff, so helpful. Good breakfast. A treat on my last day of the Camino.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, modern facilities, wonderful staff right next to the Cathedral. Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not one thing.

    The quality of the bedding, the bathroom with a bidet, the proximity to the Santiago de Compostela Cathedral are all a plus. What set it apart of others was the excellent customer service. The staff was friendly, helpful and went beyond what is customary to help us have the best experience ever.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay in a central location, close to the Cathedral. The staff were great & very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most difficult thing was getting to the hotel with our luggage because it is located in the old town & therefore pedestrianised from 10.30 a.m. until quite late in the evening (not sure of time). There is good indoor parking nearby but unless you can arrive in the window of time that allows you to drive to the hotel & drop off your luggage, we found it a struggle especially as it is uphill from the car park. Having said that, it wouldn't deter us from staying in the hotel again.

    The location of the hotel. So close to the Cathedral, restaurants, cafes & interesting shops in the old town. Everywhere was within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really nice and friendly. Very approachable, and spoke English well. They went to the extra effort to keep in contact after I left something behind. It was a pleasure to stay here. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    I'd love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small. But considering the age of the building, I think it was pretty good... top floor has a skylight window that opens.

    The only thing I regret is that I didn't stay longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location but lacking in some ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI and beds. The WIFI was non-existent. And I mean non-existent. Everytime I visit Santiago every place I starlet at claimed the WIFI is “down”, but being “fixed”. That usually means “after” you leave. The beds have no support and caved in.

    The staff. Cristina and Sandra were the best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    A gorgeous little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi reception, but we partially solved that by having breakfast and afternoon refreshments at Cafe Casino - back down Rua Vilar.

    Fabulous location next to the cathedral. Friendly, helpful staff. Our room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay to immerse yourself and enjoy all aspects of Santiago de Compostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything we didn't like.

    Wonderful little hotel, beautifully appointed, with delightful staff who couldn't do enough to help. Excellent room facilities given the age of the building and its position. Fabulous location, in the heart of everything we wanted to see. The carnival outside was a fun bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable rooms - really enjoyed our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better, but it was fine. Also, WIFI didn't work that well.

    Beautiful and comfortable hotel room! And a great base for exploring the city. We absolutely loved it here and would stay here again. Great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Well situated for exploring the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the noise from the timber floor in the room above.

    A great location in the heart of the old town. Parking was close by and very convenient. Staff were very helpful to make our stay extra special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    The reception staff made me feel so welcome I would not hesitate to return or to recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception Jose, Sandra and Christina as well as the boys in the restaurant are excellent and really excel, at their jobs, their local knowledge and efficiency at booking tickets for me, answering all my questions nothing was to much trouble and always done with a smile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave!

    Very comfortable hotel, friendly staff and a great cafe/restaurant too. We ended up eating there twice, in spite of only staying in Santiago for 1 night. The location is second to none, right by the Cathedral. We were blessed with staying in a superior room, it even had a balcony with seating. Such a shame to only have stayed for one night. The lift was great for my elderly father-in-law.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard, as was the pillow. The room was small and dark. There were no windows to the outside, only to the courtyard. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the position couldn't have been bettered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    This has been our 3rd stay at Hotel Run Villar.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This has been our 3rd stay at Hotel Run Villar. It is excellent. The staff are professional, caring and ultra efficient. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds ever so comfortable. It is a quiet haven and will always have a special place in our heart.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and very convenience given the location by the Santiago Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion, breakfast time starts very late (8AM). It would be best to start serving breakfast a bit earlier. However, they offered the option to get some coffee for early birds having to check out before breakfast starting time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Excellent, in the heart of the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location in the heart of the old town, friendly helpful staff, great room with balcony over the street. We enjoyed the buskers' music in the street below, but were able to close the windows to block out the noise when desired. Lovely ambience, basic breakfast, very comfortable room. No kettle or coffee machine in the room but staff were always very willing to give us a jug of hot water to take to our room to make our own hot drinks. Thanks Jose for your travel tips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    All staff were very friendly, well informed and efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have a bar area for coffee / drink later in the evening

    All staff were very friendly, well informed and efficient always with a smile

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real view. Far from parking of you're with a car. Recommend skipping breakfast here and getting it somewhere else (cheaper).

    Great room, very comfortable bed. Large bathroom. Super friendly staff. Staff goes out of their way to tell you about the city and point things out on the map.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Best location from which to explore town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like all of these old buildings it was noisy. Could hear everything from the room upstairs and even though the owners have gone to a lot of expense trying to block out street noise, partying in the street kept us awake till after 3am. A back room would be a better choice.

    Beautiful hotel, large comfortable rooms. Right in the middle of the best of Santiago de compostela. Easy walking to everywhere. Great staff. Easy walk to airport bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    We had a most enjoyable stay in hotel and would recommend.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if there were any snacks / coffee etc available , or if bar available in hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and had good English . Location very central , room space and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Great stay lovely city to visit very walkable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being an old property there was noise through the walls and ceiling. If you can cope with this. great place to stay near the Cathedral and places to eat. Well decorated and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location, I was given a beautiful room on the 3rd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, I was given a beautiful room on the 3rd floor with a big bathroom and a full-sized bath! Heaven after finishing the Camino de Santiago. Lovely old beams in the ceilings and a well laid out room. Friendly staff who very kindly organised me a taxi to the airport the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.3
    A major disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was next to the gents toilet used for the downstairs cafe. The room was quite dark with a window facing a ventilation shaft. Far too expensive for what it was. There was a strong, very unpleasant smell coming fom the bathroom. Reception acknowledged the problem but didn't do much about it - spraying air freshener only hides the smell for some minutes, but doesn't address the problem. Emergency lighting on the ceiling above the bed made it hard to sleep. The cardboard fix provided by the night reception didn't cover it properly and came off during the night. It's an old building, so it can get quite noisy. It didn't help that there was lots of movement in the room above on a Sunday morning. We didn't like the attitude of the management and most of the reception staff (with the exception of one woman at the reception who was nice), they came across as rude and arrogant as if we are being unreasonable complaining about the smell. Overall, a major disappointment. We left after one night.

    Atmospheric old town house, very close to the Cathedral. Some of the more upstairs rooms looked quite nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent boutique hotel, situated in the centre of the old city. Excellent staff, very helpful. Good double glazing and air conditioning. Handy for cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    A great hotel in a wonderful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little light on at times.

    So close to the Cathedral you could hear the bells. Lots of good restaurants close by. Good to do a 2 hour walking on the first day. We did a free Blue Umbrella tour with Mary that was very informative .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous place with fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The is a great hotel. To be honest, I loved the fact that the cathedral clock bell was kept in the wardrobe, or so it seemed, with a little bell at the quarters and a big bull of a bell on the hour. If you are not keen on this medieval accompaniment to your time, here is an opportunity to broaden your mind.

    The welcome at the hotel was charming and uplifting; the staff were marvellous throughout. We ordered bocadillos to take with us on the train and they arrived with our breakfast and were delicious. (And, frankly, cheap.) The room was in the attic, which we loved (most rooms aren't in the attic and the ones at the front have little balconies which look great). It was cosy and comfy and had all the facilities. There's a café downstairs so it's easy to get coffee and drinks at any reasonable time. The position is great. You can get to the cathedral in two and half minutes and the street is one of those beautiful Santiago stone charmers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location - from front door you can see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be improved - its a café as well as a hotel breakfast room with a section specifically for hotel guests which is OK but meant staff were serving café customers as well as us breakfast residents. Need to look at small, practical things - have hot water so you can make your own tea instead of having to go up to the counter etc. They have scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon available but not a huge range of other things but you wont go hungry

    Location, location, location - from front door you can see the cathedral so you're right in the city centre which was a good thing as it rained solidly the 3 days we were there. Reception staff extremely helpful regarding both the city and ordering a taxi for us on leaving. Hotel in old building but renovated very well while keeping the character of the building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Very close to cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and quaint unfortunately the floorboards creak and we were kept awake by people moving around above us. We were overlooking the street and quite s bit of noise through the night

    Very close to cathedral

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, welcoming end to the Camino. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a small boutique hotel, it just doesn't have the extras like a gym or business center.

    The staff really tried to help us out with getting a left item on a previous Camino stop transported to the hotel. Always went above and beyond. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Small personalised hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but nothing special

    Excellent staff, extremely helpful also it is abeaitifully presented hotel, thoughtfully decorated to phasise the lovely timber throughout.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful value a few steps from the cathedral door with attentive staff and well priced cafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seriously, nothing.

    The staff were extraordinarily friendly, upbeat and helpful at all times. The hotel's location is absolutely perfect for both the cathedral and our favourite little squares for cheap pilgrim menus. The room was quirkily/interestingly designed, old fashioned, spacious and comfortable with an armchair and a bath. Seemed a little pricey when booking compared to the pensions on the camino route but in the end worth every penny and more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Magical hotel in a historic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good!

    This hotel has the aura of Santiago de Compostela's historic charm coupled with modern amenities in the room. My stay was very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. I also liked that they covered each other's duties during the busy periods eg during breakfast. The location is strategic in the old town - just steps away from the Cathedral and surrounded by excellent restuarants, yet not directly above a bar or cafe so you won't be disturbed by noise if you fancy an early night. Rather magical!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Good Location and class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was some way off and trudging through cobbled streets with suitcases wasn't great. Couldn't park outside to drop off cases as it is in a pedestrian area with very narrow streets. Had to ask for hairdryer - thought that was a given in hotels.

    Great location for the old part of town. Very pleasant staff and a reasonable breakfast although we didn't go for the 'set menu'.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Super helpful staff added to the comfortable stay, had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super helpful staff added to the comfortable stay, had a very enjoyable time. Our window had a side view of the cathedral and one evening a 3pc 'busking' musician gave us lovely music like ave maria and instrumental music which we enjoyed from our window. Great location to restaurants too yet was quiet where it was located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, nice staff, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location literally steps away from the cathedral, friendly front desk and staff, interesting building in the historic center. Very nice bathrooms. Everything works / recent renovation in this older building. Great price!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we stay more time

    Everything Cristina, Jose and Mrs Santos in the front desk they are extremely helpful, Javier in the breakfast was excellent,great breakfast, location the best, we will be back. For sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Stunning hotel in wonderful location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too hard and I couldn't shape them into a comfortable position.

    Gorgeous place with loads of character and class. Lovely place to stay. The afternoon/ evening receptionist could not have been nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    A Gem near the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The boutique hotel is a gem. The location is outstanding, the staff is friendly, and the facility is clean and modern, while maintaining a sense of local charm. I've stayed here twice ... and hope to return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Outstanding. Home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most hotels in the historic centre, there is no parking but the hotel has arranged a discounted rate at a parking garage 5 minutes walk away (S. Clemente)

    Staff were outstanding. The hotel is decorated tastefully with a fantastic rustic charm. The location is perfect, in the centre of the old town with lots of restaurants and bars nearby and only 100m from the cathedral.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Perfect location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were fantastic and our room was ready very early which was very welcome after completing our Camino Frances. Big comfortable room and bathroom (with tub) with great insulation and curtains. Very convenient having the breakfast bar downstairs. Very close to great restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff (especially Christina) were super, super courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was stunningly Old World, but with all the modern necessities... and the included breakfast was fantastic. Location was probably the best for anyone wanting to explore the old town on foot: right next to the Cathedral, and on the same block as plenty of authentic little restaurants, bars, and shops. Next time we're in Santiago de Compostela, we're definitely staying at Hotel Rua Villar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so helpful and perfect location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful- would highly recommend after the camino- so close to cathedral and the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be softer but slept well regardless after bunk beds on the camino!

    Staff location presentation cleanliness all excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Location, beautiful room, quiet and relaxing. The customer service and friendliness of the staff made our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb location. So convenient to visit all the sights of Santiago. Lovely comfortable hotel with wonderful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: