Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Costa Salada 3 stars

Camino la Costa, s/n, 38270 Tejina, Spain

#5 of 7 hotels in Tejina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paella really wasn't good.

    Amazing view from the balcony, meters away from the ocean. Same for the swimming pool. Relaxed checkout till 12. Restaurant and breakfast. Wellness available for good prices. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation, lots of things broken (whirlpool, lights etc.), mattress very uncomfortable (cheap springs), breakfast very basic

    Magic Location, nice pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, whilst adequate, did not reflect what one could expect for the price paid. There was lack of choice. Two or three bowls with artificial fruit were standing on display in dining room in stead of fresh fruit. Coffee was not really nice.

    The proximity to the sea and the view from the bedroom balcony. Small size hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Mobile network only 2G/EDGE or not at all, in some corners at the balcony I got shortly 3G. -Wifi even more poor - Could be easy for hotel to fix!

    +Room (no 2. above the restaurant), open seaview and sunset over the sea (from Feb to Nov), amazing relaxing sound of the sea +Food and service in the hotel restaurant +Warm whirlpools at the sunset +Could go back there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is absolutely wonderful. Very peacefully located right above the sea, with a pool and infinity pool looking out over the Atlantic. I was in the junior suite, which was marvellous and really cosy, with a big terrace. Could have stayed here for much longer and had the most wonderful, relaxing time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is out of date and in some areas could have helped an update and some extra cleaning. I would rate it lower that its current rating (it is more 7,2), thus the price is a bit too much in comparison to other hotels we have stayed in Tenerife and Spain main land. The rooms need to be fixed. Breakfast is very basic.

    We loved the location of the hotel next to the see and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The pool area was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charm of this little hotel is that it literally is in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by banana and papaya plantations. The real disappointment was the restaurant. Very unimpressive dinner, average breakfast. If we had decided to stay longer...which the room and pool certainly beckoned there was no lunch service available.

    A truly superb location with a delightful pool, comfortable room and very friendly staff. Fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The perfect hotel if you really want to disconnect at every possible level. Located in a beautiful but sort wild part of the Tenerife coast. Although I wouldn't dare to take a bath on the rocky beaches just down the hotel, the swimming pool is so well located you will surely prefer staying there where you have even more incredible views over the coast. But most impressive thing of the hotel is feeling the see that close to you. I have said you can possibly disconnect at every imaginable level and that is also true because there is no WIFI and a really irregular network coverage, so take it easy and for what is worth. A unique opportunity to avoid being bothered. It is also appreciated that the hotel has a restaurant where to have dinner at night as there is no other in some km. The restaurant team in the evening is a reduced one: waiter and chef but still we did not have to wait much to be attended. My recommendation if you are having dinner is to take the daily menu: fresh meal at a more than reasonable price. And of course take the chance to taste some canarian wines, which can be found in the wine menu. And make use of the terrace whenever you can! Staff is really friendly and considerate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could make more of their restaurant. Some wines not available and the food could have been higher quality, especially breakfast which was buffet - there is nowhere else to eat without driving.

    Pool & Jacuzzi, crashing waves viewed & heard from the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only available up at reception, not in the bedrooms or restaurant. Evening meal was ok - that close to the sea you would have thought there would have been plenty of fresh fish, but unfortunately not. Huge potential, somewhat unfulfilled.

    Fabulous position on the headland. Great for a one night stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very dim lighting in bedroom No bar facilities- then we were charged for drinking water in our bedroom

    Location is fantastic Well off the beaten tourist track Great Atlantic Coast views from bedroom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in jaccuzi was not hot enough

    Very nice hotel on the cliffs. The pool was perfect and food as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Situation exceptionnelle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic coastal location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to relax with a nice sea views. Really friendly staff, great food in the restaurant and lovely pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals were adequate but not that interesting

    The location was quite, and peaceful and very attractive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gated entrance -average food - long drive from town

    Wonderful views over the sea with lovely swimming pool and fantastic mountain views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    took too long to run hot water in the morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi on property except in reception area, need to fix that

    the location sia absolutely dramatic, percehd on the cliffs of the northern coast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic location on the coast with splendid views of the sea. 3 course evening meal great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understood that we had booked a room with a bath and ended up with a shower, but it was not a major problem.

    We liked everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great terrace above the rocks. One of the most awsome views.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little challenging to find.

    Fantastic location at the edge of the sea. Very attentive waiter and excellent dinner. Swimming pool and hot-tub were a welcome treat.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Coffee at breakfast didn't have the X factor.

    Perfect quiet retreat. Bags of character. We loved our little apartment and the views. Fantastic value and quality food in the restaurants. Could have stayed a week.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Hotel rural Costa Salada is amazing - a hidden gem with spectacular views on the ocean. It is peaceful and quiet, a bit remote so you will definitely need a car. The food at the restaurant is delicious and homemade. Breakfast was lovely. This place is perfect for unwinding. Staff was friendly. We had a great stay !

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing but be prepared that the hotel is in the middel of nowhere which makes it so special.

    A hotel with a soul and a magnificient location in front of the ocean. The hotel serves delicious breakfasts and dinners as well. In Hotel rural Costa Salada, you feel more a guest of the family than a customer.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked the "Two-Bedroom Villa" which was more a one-bedroom apartment. Villa seems to be a rather big word for what was on offer... The whole place was pretty run down (lights partly didn’t work, kitchen was randomly equipped and parts of it didn’t work at all) and dirty. We had planned to stay 7 nights over new year’s eve but were pretty disappointed and frustrated of the quality level of both the property and the staff. We finally changed our flights and left the place after 5 nights to get home for new years eve. In summary this was the worst money/value relation we ever had and the first time we shortened our vacation. One bedroom had two separate beds, which were totally fine for the kids. Unfortunately, the room was pretty dark, as not lights were working and the room had just a small window facing the wall in the back of the house. The other room was part of the living room and divided by a curtain and equipped with a TV. The living room had a Sofa (dirty) and two chairs. The kitchen was rudimentary equipped and more than heating water was not really possible. The location of the villa was on the same level as the reception and didn’t provide the spectacular view other rooms of the property had. The villa also had no real outside place like a terrace. The pool area was pretty nice, but again run down and dirty. We didn’t get any pool service at all (towels, etc) The restaurant is nicely located and I can’t tell if good or not. After looking at the breakfast buffet (very rudimentary, toast and jam) we got our own food from the supermarket had breakfast in the apartment. Communication with staff was either difficult, lack of English language skills or reduced to a minimum. For example the receptionist took not even 5 minutes to introduce us to the villa. We did not get an introduction to the rest (pool, restaurant, …) of the property.

    We liked the location of the Hotel, directly on top of the cliff facing the sea. However, the area is very remote and finding good restaurants which are somehow close is a challenge.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel very remote, access requires taxis or rental car. Some days no hot water in shower in the morning.

    Hotel in beautiful setting at the coast; pools and rooms overlooking ocean; dinner at the hotel restaurant very nice. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative was that the building lost power one night, the emergency lights came on and we thought it was a fire. We tried to leave via the main stairs and door (both with green signs) and found them locked. No one had told us that this happened overnight and that we should have exited via the first floor door above the stairs.

    Good location on the coast. Access via agricultural estate. Peaceful, evening meals very good as was breakfast. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The closest restaurant is 30 mins away while the hotel restaurant does not serve lunches. Dinners were ok, but not great. Wi-fi is only available at reception but there is no area to seat there. I had to work from the car all day. Sauna not working, water in the swimming pool freezing cold.

    Location is amazing for rest - right at the sea-side, very quiet, far from any cities or villages. Very beautiful coastal area. Very friendly stuff trying to accomodate all needs.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A rather disappointing repetitive breakfast plate. Necessity to go up to the reception area, some hundred yards or so, to have access to wifi.

    An exceptional location on the cliffs, a kilometer from a small public road. Simple elegance of apartments in rural style, vintage furniture of the hall and the dining room. Likable receptionists take excellent care of you and fetch you to the main building in an electric car. You enter the dining room, equipped with old furniture and paintings, to the tones of a Schubert quartet and are served by a waiter of outstanding manners.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant. I had a menu but it was quite small so had to go and find something to eat afterwards because I was still hungry

    The view, the location. The room.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Since the moment we arrived we loved it! Breath taking ocean views and sounds around! I couldn't imagine more perfect place to relax! We were traveling a lot during our trip in Tenerife but once arrived in here we even to canceled the rest of the trips to enjoy absolutely amazing surroundings for last 2 days before taking flight back home! Had beautiful home cooked meal on terrace in the evening! Staff during the stay also was so helpful with everything! This place deserves 10+score! Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the food. breakfast was dull, shop bought tortilla, and nothing fresh, supper was ok, but only ok, at least its cheap and the setting is wonderful

    location, location, location, feels like a million miles from anywhere.... wonderful staff who couldn't have made us more comfortable though very discrete.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is strongly exposed to the salt-rich atmosphere. This becomes obvious when looking at e. g. windows and sun shades. Fungus on shower curtain.

    The hotel is very remote at the coast, not in walking distance to the next village. I enjoyed the sight. Wifi only at reception, not in the rooms. Again, fine for me during holiday.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jacuzzi broke down - it was great on the first 2 nights after stiff walks in the Anaga, so such a disappointment on the third when we found the 'out of service' notice up & we left before they got it fixed. Hope it's fixed when we return!

    The location - out of this world! Small onsite restaurant with good value meals. Lovely accommodation (upgraded to junior suite ;o)) Pleasant helpful staff who were there when you wanted them but not at all intrusive.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Length of time waiting for evening meal. Though waitress did her best and was very apologetic.

    Wonderful location, friendly staff, nothing was a problem for them.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The service restaurant and breakfast makes you lose points to the structure ... shame ... if there was a good service restaurant and breakfast would be great!

    Structure placed in a very charming, with ocean views, comfortable suites!

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast coffee

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location. A very quiet area right on the sea - literally. Loved the food, the pool and Yairo the waiter was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short but steep walk from the car park, but OK if you are reasonably fit.

    Great views and sounds of the sea. Romantic setting.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel Rural Costa Salada traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: