Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Era de la Corte - Adults only

La Corte, 1, 35630 Antigua, Spain

#1 of 5 hotels in Antigua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 224 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The people who run the place make it feel like a home. David and Malole couldn't have done any more, they are excellent hosts full of humour and work hard to make you have the best possible stay. Best hotel we have stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My one and only fault with here is that it is a bit isolated from everything if you don't have a car but bus stop is only 10 mins walk away.

    Absolutely everything!!!! Malone and David just couldn't do enough for us and the hotel is so nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad at all

    Everything was good. A friendly, comfortable and interesting place to stay. Great hosts and a cute room converted from old stables. Enjoyed the pool and the breakfast. Good location to explore the island from. Thank you very much, we'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    I spent a week touring, a great location, central to the island and very comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing. I would happily go again

    Lovingly restored spanish farmhouse. comfortable, friendly, I couldnt have asked for more. I loved it. Great wifi, central island location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We spent there 2 lovely days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent there 2 lovely days. Everything was perfect and Malole was incredible kind host :). The house and the room looked exactly as on the pictures. The place is very peaceful and quiet. Totaly recommend it for couples who are looking for a tranquil holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A place you would like to call home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing "not to like". It's more a matter of taste. This is not an international hotel chain but a former family estate, which breathes life, chatter, happiness and this is great.

    Top on my list are the two partners running the "Rural Hotel", young and merry, genuinely interested in making you feel home. The place is beautiful, like a big open space, in which you meet the others guests from time to time, but also enough space to find your own spot to be alone. You can choose to spend a relaxing day there, or take the car to explore the island. It's well located in the center of the island. Any place which you want to see is easily within reach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in renovated finca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No small fridge in the room itself. The bottle wine we bought in Era de la Corte was excellent but nevertheless pricy.

    We got a warm kind welcome from David and Malole. The first room they offered was a bit dark with an unpleasant bathroom. But fortunately they could offer us another (smaller) room at the open courtyard, with more daylight and a very cosy terrrace corner. Breakfast was excellent and David took plenty of time to show us on map the best places to visit in the surroundings of Antigua. We liked en enjoyed especially the very nice courtyard, really a little Paradise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel with incredible hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel really is home away from home. The second we walked through the door David and Malole were the most amazing hosts. They made sure we had everything we needed and gave us great recommendations for our trip. The house isn’t beautiful and the location is great if you have a car to explore the island. Breakfast is local made bread and fresh tomatoes. Perfect :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, didnt want to leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absilutely best place tp stay on the island. Feels like home away from home, very relaxed and warm. Malole and David are the friendliest hosts yoy could ever have. Everything is spotless clean, beautiful house, charming rooms, great breakfast. Their chocolate buns are toooo good...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    An excellent stay. The owner Maiole and her colleague David were extremely friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was rather cool but this was due to the unusual climate at this time of year. The owner did provide additional heating.

    A beautifully renovated old Finca that has been family owned for a number of generations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Truly wonderful and special place. We shall return. Thank you so much Malole and David.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing we didn’t like.

    Such a unique home. Gorgeous location, quiet with amazing scenery from the roof terrace. Beautiful stunning bedrooms, gorgeous comfortable bed and wonderful family history. Breakfast in the courtyard terrace was delightful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful rural hotel, super nice owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, it rightly deserves the top spot it has in Fuerte. The owners are super nice and relaxed. Breakfast was also great :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    A great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The weather! Unfortunately a rare cold and rainy snap across all the Canary Islands meant that the room was especially cold. No fault of the hotel - it's simply not designed for that type of weather conditions.

    The friendly atmosphere and welcome. We were told to treat it like our home and they meant it. The location is very central but well away from other tourist resorts - you will need a car. The hotel can recommend numerous excellent restaurants within a half hour drive where you are more likely to find locals than tourists.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay away from the crowds in ideal position...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely place to stay away from the crowds in ideal position to explore the centre of the island. Maloloe and her friend and business partner David were great hosts, welcoming, friendly , knowledgeable about the island and nothing was too much. Lived up to description and previous reviews.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing stay in an interesting property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and welcoming hosts. An interesting property with a lot of family history. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean so easy to relax in. The breakfast was generous. A lovely stay with interesting hosts!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Traditional accommodation with great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - rooms are typically a bit dark in traditional Fuerteventura accommodation.

    Very friendly hosts and the arrangements to be picked up and given a lift back from a local ( typically rustic) restaurant. Adequate breakfast..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Taking into account the price/quality ratio we do not see relevant issues.

    The hosts are great and have a good sense of what the different clients want. We are of the more distant kind and while being charming and welcoming they respected our privacy. A good deal of laughing as well !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    A great base to explore the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could be more varied from day to day - eg eggs, different breads, meats etc. Good fruit choice though so not a complaint. Likewise the beds were so firm as to be hard. A bit unforgiving.

    Beautifully restored old farmhouse in a quiet and traditional setting. Very friendly and welcoming. Lots of suggestions for finding interesting places to visit. A great ambience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    A place where holiday-friends and fond-memories are made :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I am demanding... and so the one thing annoying was the shower - the curtains around the shower area clung to me while washing and the shower attachment is fixed overhead rather than being able to move it up and down. A cubicle with solid plastic sides and a modern shower-head would be much nicer... at least for me.

    I liked pretty much EVERYTHING about this hotel! Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Malole and David and, once checked in, they offered a wealth of useful information about places to go on the island. The guest rooms have a nice traditional feel, and the lounge was very cosy. Guests wander through the kitchen (which they can use if they wish) to get to/from the nicely decorated courtyard where a varied continental buffet breakfast (including homemade cakes/buns) is offered; it is a lovely place to eat and relax in the morning. The hotel is located in a wonderfully tranquil location, away from the island's few, ugly tourist traps that cater for the typical masses, and yet it is SOOO convenient for all of the island's attrations - the road network is extremely easy to navigate, it is less than 20 minutes from the airport, close to both impressive coastline and quaint old towns, and the touristy area of Caleta Fuste is also only 15 minutes away (which I only mention for the great restaurant Volcano... and tourist shops if you want them). I have to write a separate paragraph just about Malole and David! They are THE friendliest hosts I have experienced out of all of the many places I have stayed across six Canary islands... and perhaps the world too. They are full of advice, have a great sense of humour, are lovely to chat away to, and go out of their way to help in any way that they can - I am a little bit demanding at times, but nothing was too much. They will make any reservations that you need... and I was lucky enough to even end up having them, and many guests that I had met, join me for my final dinner out. The most informal atmosphere that Malole and David have immediately created in this hotel, especially around breakfast, fosters holiday friendships, and while there I had a great time chatting to both them and other guests and swapping stories and holiday information too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing place to stay with traditional touches and a great base to explore the Island.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peace and quiet, lovely traditional rooms, four poster bed and lovely touches around the place, excellent hosts. Both David and Malole were so welcoming and helpful. Canarian hospitality at its best. Breakfast in the outdoor square was a total pleasure. Loved our stay here, thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long established family -run business. Hospitable hosts, always eager to make you feel at home. Unique country house, with facilities as shown on the web: great swimming-pool to cool off after a long day; lovely big patio to relax, a covered court to sit and read and a terrace to watch the stars at night. Quiet, clean rooms with pristine linen and last, but not least, great varied breakfast. I, with no doubt, recommend this genuine place to anyone who would like to stay in an oasis in the centre of the island and therefore, quite convenient to drive around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our time in this lovely place. Very kind and helpful hosts! Happy to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfectly met all our requirements for vacation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal situation in the middle of the Island when you come...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too short stay.

    Ideal situation in the middle of the Island when you come for the first time for a short visit of the Island. Friendly owners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Clean and cosy room, attentive service. They do everything for you to enjoy your holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional, friendly and very helpful staff. Pleasent location, authentic building just in the midle of the island. True experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Lovely place with wonderful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly and passionate owners, lovely place and ambient, its being quiet, good tips given to us, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Great hosts, really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hosts, really friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    The feel of the whole place is amazing :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The feel of the whole place is amazing :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly easy going hotel with very nice beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room is just a little too small (no space to put your suitcase)

    Personal touch of the staff, felt very easy going.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Malole and David looked after me like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Malole and David looked after me like family. They are wonderful hosts and made me feel very welcome. The property has a lot of charme and character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water running out quickly

    Atmosphere and staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great hosts running a wonderful rural hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    - fantastic hosts creating a relaxed atmosphere - quiet and central location - nice, traditional room looking out onto a cozy patio

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hosts Malole and David went above and beyond to make our stay really special! We felt at home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    8.3
    Situated on the edge of the Village this hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated on the edge of the Village this hotel is comfortable, quiet and clean. There are rooms that open on to lounge/library and rooms that open on to a couryard. Good breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and yogurts. Thank you for providing tea in a Tea pot!!! Wifi available. Walk/drive to village for evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    4.6
    Maria Victoria was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The issues of which other guests have consistently complained, and which could be addressed, have entirely been ignored by Andres. There is still a lack of hot water in the early morning (unless you are prepared to arise before dawn) and again in the evening before dinner. Not much good when you are returning to your room on a cold, wet day in January/February. The breakfasts are monotonously unchanging day after day (plastic ham and cheese). Additionally the room was cold and damp for most of the time.

    Maria Victoria was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.5
    A real hacienda - with original artefacts from the goats...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It can be chilly in the very early morning and evening after sunset (February when we went)- but bring a fleece and you will be fine! Nothing to do with the hacienda - just the climate in the inland area.

    A real hacienda - with original artefacts from the goats cheese farming in the area. Lovely sunny courtyard and comfortable sitting room for the cooler evenings filled with books about the island. The owner/hosts are very welcoming and encourage you to feel that you are 'at home'. Good rooms with comfortable beds and lots of hot water for showers. Great breakfasts, and wine available in the evening to have with any snacks of local cheese and ham you may wish to bring in. Great walking county on the doorstep.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    7.9
    Welcoming staff, lots of character, good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heating and little hot water - but it was February. Not many restaurants around open in the evening off-season.

    Welcoming staff, lots of character, good breakfasts. Good location for mountains and walking.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.6
    An old converted farmhouse with thick stone walls - a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An old converted farmhouse with thick stone walls - a very authentic and cosy place. The owners don't speak much English but they were so nice and welcoming that it didn't matter much that we speak very little Spanish. We can highly recommend this place and if you happen to speak Spanish there is no doubt that you can learn a lot about the island from the owners

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.9
    Lovely historical house, welcoming owners, nice patio area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water in the shower only lukewarm in the morning, room cold in winter, dogs bark scarily but they're ok once they get to know you

    Lovely historical house, welcoming owners, nice patio area, good central location for touring the island but a car needed

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.1
    Nice place with friendly service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heating or air con in the rooms; warm water was most times not warm; the staff speak only Spanish.

    Nice place with friendly service; good to get away from all mass accomodation on the Island; lots of character and feeling

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.2
    Attention to detail shown in the modernisation of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences, but we were not overly impressed with Antigua itself.

    Attention to detail shown in the modernisation of the buildings.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    Great old farm house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great old farm house. Very nicely decorated in an authentic stile. Very nice owners who rule the place

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42