Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural La Paloma 2 stars

Carretera A-333 Km 63, 29315 Villanueva de Tapia, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Villanueva de Tapia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located on a road so front rooms not so scenic and slightly noisy with window open. Also everything at breakfast was prepackaged except the fruit

    Rear terrace and view from the back of the property lovely. Nice rustic atmosphere in decoration and layout. Andres was very helpful and charming. Evening meal fresh and tasty if slightly expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff. Personal experience. The food was incredible, especially the dinner, we ate twice at the hotel. Breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant is closed on Monday, which is fine but just hang the note earlier ;)

    We travelled by car and the hotel has just the right location to visit Granada, Cordoba, Antequerra, Ronda. The room was big and cozy, everything is clean and nice. There is a big lawn outside and a barbecue. Dinner in the restaurant is very much worth having.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain at all

    Friendly and very helpful staff and owners, we had diner and breakfast there, quality was great, brekkie had all we needed from fresh juice to coffee, croissants, bread to toast, yogurts with cereal. Room was clean, our shower room was huge, very nice (room nr1). We were closest to the stairs but didn’t hear a thing from the other guests. It is fairly close to the motor way, couple of km, so good for a stop off for the night and close to Iznájar but priced very well. Bed was good quality; not too hard but certainly not too soft.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No such thing.

    Food at the restaurant is amazing and the owners are really nice and hospitable. Will definitely stay at this hotel again when coming back to Andalucia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was as expected.

    Fairly basic room and shower room but warm for this time of year. The lovely lounge and bar were very comfortable and made up for the room. The food was lovely, we really enjoyed the 2 evening meals and pleasant breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had a very enjoyable stay on the outward and return journey. Hotel is spotlessly clean, excellent evening meal and breakfast. Staff were excellent and accommodating to our requests. Easy access not far from motorway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    Fabulous rural location and views. Pet friendly. Excellent food. Wonderful restful lounge and bar area. Feeling of tranquility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite basic, with very limited wardrobe/storage space. Sheets were too small for the beds. Single sheets for single beds would have been nice.

    Location and hotel were great. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was very good. Restaurant food was good, if slightly limited and a bit pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much. The dinner menu could possibly be a little more adventurous or representitive of the local area.

    The staff were always on hand, but in the background and non-intrusive. As a hotel Rural, as expected, it was in a quiet location in a good geographical setting. It is not the kind of place to book if you want to party but that was perfect for us. Room adequate and clean. My companion and I wanted a place we could sit and talk with a glass of wine without being in crowds of people, which I am pleased to say, is what we got.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best properties I have stayed ever. The owner is really nice and makes sure everything is okay. The property itself is really cosy and nice. I'd love to use the swimming pool but we were there really short time. They have a list of activities they do in the area or they can arrange for you, so definitely you will not get bored. We went to El Chorro- Caminito del Rey, that it was relatively closer as Ronda is. The food and the restaurant were amazing!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much to do in the area. There are some hiking trails we did but they take you through a hunting area. The gun shots gave us a feeling of unease. Good base though to go to Cordoba or Granada.

    Great restaurant and service. It's closed on Monday which we knew. We were told the bar would be opened but is was not. Wasn't a problem, we drove to the nearest petrol station and got some drinks. Pool was still open and lovely. Rooms are good, bit noisy but no problem since it is not a big hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Spain experience was one week driving around Andalusia and one week in Mallorca. This was our favorite place, of anywhere during our two week vacation in Spain. The building, rooms, and views have endless charm. (especially Loved the lounge area with the bar) to top it off, the food at this restaurant is.... absolutely amazing. It was the best meal we had anywhere in Spain, and we plan to return. If you can't get a room, make a point of eating here, you will not regret it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A magnifying mirror in the bathroom would have made make-up/contact lens insertion easier: the depth of the vanity unit means the wall mirror is too far away for these tasks and the lighting fairly dim.

    Easy to find right on the A333 a few minutes drive up from the A92 motorway with parking behind. Although it is next to the road, my room had wonderful across-country views and it is not a busy road. Bathroom had a shower cubicle, plenty of towels and a shelf for toiletries. The hotel has an informal atmosphere - the bar/reception is not specifically staffed, but Giacomo is attentive to guests' needs and appeared immediately I entered the reception area. Everywhere is beautifully kept and clean and I enjoyed a glass of chilled wine on the terrace on arrival. The swimming pool (12x7m) is down a pathway so footwear is required; towels are provided. The restaurant offers the possibility of eating inside or outside on the terrace. Food was well-presented and high quality reflecting the owner's Italian nationality (ravioli, focaccia); there were enough staff to provide an attentive service. Whilst appearing small, breakfast offers the usual selection (fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast, jam, cheese, ham and hard-boiled eggs) as well as coffee from a proper espresso machine, and is very good value at 5€.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was amazing!!! The food....sweet goodness. I recommend that anyone passing through the area stop and get a bite to eat. The lunch and dinner we ate were two of the best meals I've ever eaten. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The hotel its self was quaint and had lots of character. My only issue is that like every hotel I've stayed in in Europe the bed was hard. I'd stay there again and recommend it to anyone traveling through that part of Spain

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Pool yet to be filled.

    Close to main roads for exploring the area. Friendly staff. Family run hotel. Main meal in the restaurant was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. To be nitpicky the pillows were a bit hard.

    Room was lovely, beautiful interior to hotel. Gorgeous dinner and very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we do not speak much Spanish it is harder to talk to staff.

    View from room. Good size room comfortable bed. Efficient Manager. Good food.Warm on a cool night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Very welcoming and serving proprietor. A Hotel Rural which has sufficient and very tasteful facilities. Dinner was excellent, all the food was fresh and house wine quality Ribera.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't however receive my "genius" free drink on arrival! 5 euros for a large beer!!

    friendly greeting upon arrival and attentive service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mmmmmm......... Nothing

    Lovely room, very well decorated, clean and spacious. Good size bathroom. Owners/staff all very friendly. Set in beautiful countryside, great views. Great food in their restaurant. Everything you could want for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not disappointed with anything

    Staff very friendly and attentive throughout visit, made to feel very welcome and comfortable at all times. The little extras I asked for were provided. Our second visit and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    The hosts were very accommodating and helpful. the pool was very clean and well maintained. The food in the restaurant was of a high quality. Even though the hotel was near a highway double glazing kept the noise out. A wonderful experience all round.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con noisy and not very effective.Not quite as rural as it looks close to road which whilst not heavily used was a bit noisy although our room was the closest to it.

    the evening meal on the terrace was excellent. The two owners were very welcoming and informative.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    The location was perfect for exploring the area. Very clean with friendly staff. Would like to return

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being to stay longer

    We are now regulars so that speaks for itself

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great. Owners were really friendly and very helpful. Took great pride in their hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for us

    The owners were really nice. Breakfast had a lot of choice. Room was. Comfy. Nice hot showers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrass was not so good.

    Nice hotel, with friendly hosts. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful cottage in the countryside, with a very friendly welcome and a great breakfast... You can easily park your car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything could not fault it staff room dinner breakfast all brilliant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is wonderful. Makes the whole stay, plus a great restaurant on premise. All is very well run.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, quiet and friendly. Exvellent food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was excellent and Andres and the staff all very helpful! Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uk TV channels I couldn't find any english speaking channels in our room.

    Views and Spanish feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food

    The food at the restaurant was ok but nothing extra. The breakfast included to many plastics and a lack of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was quite slow.

    The staff were very helpful, hotel was extremely clean, it was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe an idea to add memory foam toppers on the mattress

    Pool excellent ,friendly efficient owners spotlessly clean !lovely friendly cat!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only served breakfast from 8.30 which is late if you want to get up and go. "Rural" also describes thr location, middle of nowhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo

    This place is simply top value for the money. Restaurant is a must door. Breakfast average.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more vegetarian choice or flexibility with existing menu

    Great location. Wonderful hosts. Dinner was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt comfortable being a solo traveller

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all facilities available on a Monday.

    Great views. Friendly staff. Fantastic home made pasta dishes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a lovely tranquil place. We are regulars now

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing environment and excellent food. The staff went out of their way to make sure you were well looked after.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beauty & calm of nature, in the middle of olive trees fields, only 22mns away from Antequera. Lovely staff, and a big swimming pool!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel, with the friendliest and most helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing The bed was so hard , 🤐

    A lovley place . Great place to chill

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Beyond amazing value for the cost. Serene oasis. Very clean! Delicious restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was nice as soon as he greeted me gave me a classic Spanish beer after a hot long drive that was perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is without a doubt the most comfortable I have ever felt in a hotel and we didn't want to leave after 3 weeks. Giacomo and Andres do an outstanding job of making you feel Iike part of their family and it has a wonderful atmosphere that begins with a perfect cup of coffee at breakfast and continues throughout the day to the end of a 5 star dinner. Our room was spacious and so well cared for by the housekeeper who greeted us with a cheerful smile each am. The hotel is centrally located and offers many walking trails and sites for all interests. Go and stay--- you will not be disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. If I were to say anything it is probably that a new mattress may be on the to buy list as it was a bit hard.

    The owners of this property were really lovely. They were kind, helpful and very professional. I felt like I had made new friends. The restaurant was really good and great for relaxing after a busy day. The pool looked very inviting and if we had come earlier in the year we would have enjoyed a swim.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location was lovely, staff very helpful and cheerful. Situation excellent for access to the interesting villages/cities around. Hotel came up to expectations and was ' Spanish' Dinners were very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I hadn't realised that the hotel is not close to the village.

    Really good experience with friendly and helpful staff who have exceptional language skills. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, and whilst not cheap, very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was clean however the surrounding area needed a bit of TLC & the poolside furniture looked a little tired.The hairdryer in the room only operated in bursts of 10 seconds.

    Friendly,helpful staff,dinner in restaurant very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences

    Easy to find but not too close to a main East/West route. As regular guests we feel more like family than hotel guests. The staff will do anything within their power to make your stay enjoyable

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very customer focussed without being over the top. They managed to approach guests in a warm, natural and friendly way. and the food was magnificent.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Giacomo and his Partner were very friendly and helpful. They did their best to make You feel at home. We enjoyed the Restaurant and the peaceful setting.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Couple

    TV was not working when we visited but this was not the fault of the owners the service ewas being upgraded in the area

    everything except no TV on our visit

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All great

    Lovely rural hotel, very welcoming staff. Bar was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we have stayed at La Paloma many times on our way to and from Portugal and will continue to do so - the owners are friendly and welcoming l

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Comfy rooms, very friendly owners, great breakfast, swimming pool and close to multiple big cities. Recommended

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere of the hotel is pleasing, with friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts were very welcoming and friendly and also helpful. We got some nice tips for our trip. Food was excellent! Would recommend to everybody

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi

    Rural setting

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great stay in this hotel that directly felt like home with a great fireplace. The food and wine were lovely.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Hotel Rural La Paloma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: