Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of RF San Borondon 3 stars

Agustin Espinosa, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Spain

#11 of 108 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could have been more options for the breakfast but still alright

    Great price/value ratio. It doesn't have that old and moisture feeling like other hotels in Canary Islands. They clean it perfectly as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast; abundant ham, meat, sausage, but fish was missing Dinner; normal quality, but higher price compared to the rivals Difference in room-types; sunny / shadow / cellar / ours without balcony

    Nice garden, the singing birds, beautiful pool-view, overall cleanness, good coffee, helpful and diligent staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nobody to help with the bags and no lift to our 1st floor room. It is not to be recommended for the elderly. The 'spa' consists of a coin op sauna which never heated properly, the only pool is outdoors and unheated, there was no laundry service, our room had no balcony.

    Proximity to town and to many restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe cost extra. Room 1001 was right next to lift and staff office so lots of noise from hallway at night and early morning (6:30). Bar area not exciting. Ugly brown blankets in between lovely white sheets. Pool should be heated. WiFi not reliable.

    Lovely quiet pool area where it’s hard to believe you’re so near the centre of town. Good breakfast. Rooms generously sized. January it was almost entirely populated with older couples so overall was quiet though nearly full occupancy. Very clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutelly nothing for us.

    New hotel. New facilities and clean and big room with balcony. Very clean bathroom. Best value for price. Very helpful staff. 3 minutes to ocean. 3 minutes to intercity busstation. 35 min to airport. 15 walk minutes to Loropark. Good simple but wide breakfast. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is poor. I wouldn't stay here if you're a remote worker like myself. The clientele here are almost entirely made up of retired germans. Not a huge problem for me but I did feel the odd one out (being a 27 year old remote worker). Good that it has a fitness room but it's very basic (rarely a priority for those on vacation I suppose)

    Modern room, very quiet, decent pool, comfy bed, fantastic shower, short work into the centre of town & beaches, ok fitness room, decent enough breakfast (although it's very... german shall we say - lots of processed pork & cheese)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not expecting a view of a graveyard or a balcony that was too small for a family to sit on to eat breakfast,and enjoy the view! Very noisy at night and a very strong smell of smoke in both rooms and the corridor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice and clean hotel in great location! we stayed 5 nights, room was nice and peaceful, even it was on street side. Staff was friendly, breakfast okay, pool area nice. We'll come back for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning in the room would be beneficial, we were there in October when it was still very warm at times. Because of this we would be unlikely to choose this hotel in the height of the summer

    Very comfortable beds. Size of room very good. We had a pool view with balcony which was very good. Site kept beautifully clean by all staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was in the 3rd floor and in the evening it was quite hot in there, so we had to sleep with open windows. There was no AC or fan. It was also difficult to find free parking place in front of the hotel.

    Nice small hotel located in a convenient location about five minutes from the beach and five minutes from the center. The swimming pool in the yard was great. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is ok, but nothing special - every day the same. Coffee isn't ok :/

    We liked swimming pool and good location. They don't have own parking, but you have a lot of parking spaces araound the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really have a problem with the wifi. It only worked in the restaurant area and even there it had a bad signal. I didn't like the fact that the pool was open only from 10 am to 6 pm. It would have been nice to relax at the hotel pool after a day of wondering the streets of the island.

    It is situated near all main attractions in the area ( Lorro Park, Playa Jardin, city center). Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con ( i did know this before booking tho), €3 per day for use of fridge (which they keep locked!!!), €3 per day for use of safe, and wifi is chargeable too!!

    Spotlessly clean throughout. Fabulous location close to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room there was no air conditioning. It was very hot to sleep.

    Good hotel. Beautiful building. Good rooms and a swimming pool. Delicious breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking around is impossible, breakfast is very poor, and I don't feel any nice atmosphere there...

    The location was good and general style of the hotel is also;) all stuff in the room was new, shower is good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C or fans in the room, so hot, we had to go and buy a fan.

    Very friendly helpful staff, excellent swimming pool with steps and rail, clean, and quiet, best of all the beds, so very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Aircon, I get that but no fan either??? Come on, how bad can it be just to provide a 20euro fan in the rooms? This is a newly renovated hotel, so this is unforgivable and a drop dead issue for me. I wont be going back if its too hot to sleep at night. Other hotels in the area fall within the same budget price, are in a better location AND have aircon in the rooms.

    Lovely room, beautifully decorated, very nice balcony overlooking the pool, newly renovated hotel. The pool area is beautiful and the pool a good size, and very quiet. The bar was very nice and good prices for a drink or snack. Breakfast was ok, a fair selection but nothing outstanding about it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast could have been served for longer. This was vacation so I missed around half of them.

    The room was very clean, nicely maintained and in general very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the poorest room due to a booking with booking.com, located downstair under the street. Pretty warm in summer, no A/C , and noisy... No view. Some member of the crew are not really helpful. The breakfast was ok but nothing exceptional

    The proximity with the city centre and the standing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The reception staff should be trained for English and German at least.

    Maybe the best hotel and location for a beach and sightseeing. The most comfortable beach in the island is just 5-10 min. of walking. Rooms have been renovated recently and the best part (rooms with a huge balconies and kitchen) are located at Concha building. Nice and green territory with a good swimming pool with sea water. Many good restaurants and cafes are few steps ahead and a compact, but nice "old city" is near. All attractions of Teneriffe are at comfortable distance by car. Easy to find a place for a free parking near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We've booked room for 2 persons and on arrival we had no idea that we need ask for normal double bed. So as a result we've got two single beds and it wasn't comfotable for a couple at all! Also our room wasn't cleaned last day, so it's very disappointing. No air conditioning. Very loud at night, hard to sleep in the mornings after 6 a.m. it's also so loud outside!

    Pool was nice and location is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, within walking distance to everything but also on a quieter street so perfect for relaxing out on your balcony with a glass of wine in the evening. Room was very clean and recently refurbished. We stayed in the studio apartment which was perfect as the kitchen had everything from a juicer to a filter coffee machine and everything in between including all the basics; kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, all utensils, cutlery ect. Balcony was large and very private compared to the regular rooms which had smaller balconies. We didn't eat in the hotel as we were room only and were out and about for most of our meals but the restaurant always looked busy at dinner times so that's a good sign.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms in the side building have graveyard view. It is not problem as its really small, and pleasant looking graveyard, but i prefere some other view when on vacation.

    Hotel is beautiful from the outside and in a nice location - 300m from the center and 300m from beach jardin. Pool is nice and big, sometimes crowded. Rooms are spavious, with kitchen included which is great. Nice and big terrace to relax on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking a little difficult on the street but ok. If you come for work then pool and gym hours of between 10am to 7pm are very restrictive to impossible.

    Very pleasant hotel and good value for money. Location perfect for Puerto Cruz. Very short walk to town and beach. Rooms large and comfortable. Nice pool and surrounds. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outlook of the hotel was super classic romantic! Inside nice modern, staff very friendly, room ok and super bedcomfort, little cute terras with vieuw to the swimming pool and garden. Breakfast njammie .....Afterwards I'll send some pictures, because that was done with my tablet! Also from the other places I would like to write and schow pictures later on! Marianne Mees

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English television in the room or at a dedicated place

    In the room it would be improved if a transfer was placed on the patio door to prevent walking into it and hurting yourselves

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should pay 3 eur per day if you would like to use the fridge in your room

    Definitely great location perfect for rest! Quiet hotel really close to the beach and center :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath towels left on second day. I discovered this when we arrived back at our room at 10.30 pm. When I contacted reception to request the towels there was a comment along the lines of " will you be needing them at this time of the night" which I thought was rude. The receptionist then went on to say housekeeping started at 7.00am. I asked for the towels to be left outside the door. In 5 minutes there was a knock at the door and the towels where handed over.

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in reception were very helpful and friendly. But don't expect a good service in the bar close to closing time as they like to close promptly.

    The location and the view are fantastic. The rooms are very clean, spacious and modern.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet is available ONLY near reception, ONLY paid and ONLY for cash. We were confused.

    Very nice hotel with good location. Very minimalistic and clean room design. Few minutes to go to the city centre. Swimming pool with salt water.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room could also have air conditioning and free WiFi. We did not eat at the hotel (not because of the earlier reviews), so no words about that. We used our own kitchen instead for breakfast.

    A great place to stay! The studio was excellent, clean and large for two people. The kitchen was functional. Large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was good and functional, but the water pressure could be better. We got a big balcony with Teide and sea views. I could give a fourth star. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is quiet and the pool area is really good. The location is excellent! Easy to access by a bus (Bus number 343, bus stop Puerto de la Cruz). Excellent value for money. I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast - don't eat there. It's, lets say, almost uneatable. - Also lack of aircon and fridge in the room.

    + cleanliness of the room + size of the room and the bathroom + comfortable bed + Pool with salt water.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi could be free and have an extended range. The shower tray was not quite angled enough, so a small puddle of water formed on the bathroom floor during showering. Minor things though.

    Booked 5 nights in the San Borondon based on the previous good reviews, and the hotel didn't disappoint. A clean, well managed, recently refurbished hotel in a great location for the old town and the Playa Jardin. The breakfast buffet was good, the pool was well maintained and a good size, the rooms a great size, and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bathroom, which you could see mould already building up on walls- even though it was recently renovated. Staff unfriendly and the hotel lacked atmosphere.

    Beds, super comfy. Really Clean. Nice decor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very central. Very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really great value for money, calm, clean, more modern than other properties in Puerto, and nice pool area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation could be improved in the bathroom. Quite damp after a shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    i loved everything about this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper is always better

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, very comfortable beds, great pool area, surprised to find a gym there

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good location, room and studio facilities with helpful staff. Great pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room

    Nice room, the structure is nice and modern, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very close to the beach, just a 5 minute walk

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an oasis close to the bus station with wind protected sweeming pool often in spring on Tenerife

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Th location, pool and comfy beds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok

    Great location. Comfortable beds. Beautiful well kept building and gardens.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation modern with a superkingsize bed, very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully furnished

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the staff were very helpful, the majority particularly in the dining room were not.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no way of changing money

    everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything is really great

    very new and modern room, good location, clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    sunbeds uncomfortable, not clean and some were broken

    location good, very well maintained, rooms good and good size, poolside very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred not to be on the ground floor

    Pool was really clean room was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt really cater for English guests at Breakfast.

    Overall a good hotel. Will return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view on a cemetery is very hard.

    Minimal but clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no wi-fi in rooms!!! also, the "luxury " rooms didn't have a proper balcony

    the newly renovated rooms are great. the staff are very friendly. great pool and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a leak in the bathroom which left water on the floor, and the hair drier came apart.

    It was quiet, the position was good for where we wanted to go and the staff were pleasant and helpful.The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double deluxe room was amazing!totaly refurbished spacefull and bright!the hugde bathroom with a shower,view to the pool and big white double bed was perfect! Definately would go back! Personal smiling and friendly!for that price we've got a super offer!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the room. Hotel is next to the graveyard, if you would walk out the balckomy you are in the graveyard. The food was horrible!! I am not picky, but really horrible! Staff in restaurant didnt speak english. Apartment dark, very little facilities for cooking, dirty and rusty shower. Very noisy when someone walk in the corridor. Personal advise, don't ruin your holiday,..

    The only thing, I liked was leaving the hotel. Fortunately after 1st night.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one English TV channel

    Recently updated esp. bathroom.Breakfast fresh and varied

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    I have to pay for the Wifi. And the cvality of the WIFI was bad

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very charming place

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor quality breakfast

    lovely modern room - tastefully decorated

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food was not good paid wifi only in public areas gym was awful and the jacuzzi only filled during peak season

    location and room staff were friendly

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse RF San Borondon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: