Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4 stars

Campillo de San Francisco, 3, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#15 of 86 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1086 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Nice end to Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position just a short walk to the Cathedral square. Room was very nice, with the hotel having some lovely historic features. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a good quality

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Amazing staff who were really diligent in answering even the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing staff who were really diligent in answering even the oddest of requests, like trying to find my hat in a nearby town! Incredibly helpful, polite and kind. Great superior room, stunning position. Smart and helpful cafe staff, remembering preferences day to day. Just stunning staff in every way. Beautiful historic building wonderfully renovated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this hotel and I stay here every year after walking the Camino Santiago. The location is great and the hotel is beautiful with a fantastic staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be a bit more modern/ old shower Heating / ac in the room not the best for a 4 star hotel.

    The hotel is an old monastery only 100 m from the Cathedral so for the end of the Camino is a great location. Staff is amazing . I reserved 2 extra night due to the kindness of receptionist Olga that helped me with car rental and other services Restaurant serves good food and with good price Great the pool area and relaxing area Breakfast really good with a lot of variety for cakes and fruit . Good wi fi and also office working point with printer and computers

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay very much, the location is excellent. The hotel somewhat outdated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were outdated, the room was quite small and so was the bed. The air condition was very noisy, and the bathroom needs some renovation.

    Location is fabulous, and the setting in an old monastery is wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    The San Francisco Hotel Monumento is the place to stay in Santiago de Compostela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    The San Francisco Hotel Monumento is a great place to stay. It is an old Convent that is just 2 blocks from the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela. The Hotel is beautiful with great service and a great restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel , in a quiet space of its own
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pkexiglass glass separation for the shower wasn 't wide enough , and the water from the shower spray flooded the bathroom floor a little.

    Breakfast , ambience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice big room with nice stuff and good breakfast.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpfyl and friendly stuff. The breakfast was really good with lot of options. Nice and clean indoor pool. The building was like a museum. I would like to stat there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From memory at time of booking Booking.com did not offer the available reduced rate for Pilgrim Pass. The hotel directly offer this reduction and thought this could have been passed onto those booking through booking.com

    They took care of our bikes, they stored and handed them over to the hire company. Provided bag storage whilst we seen the sites. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!!!! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here four times at the end of our Camino. It is a lovely hotel, with spacious clean, comfortable, and modern rooms within a beautiful old monastery. The staff are extremely helpful and breakfast is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite its great location it was overpriced and whilst it had a swimming pool, the water was cold and the hot tub was out of order. At breakfast the staff aren’t very willing to serve you coffee. It’s as if they want to retain control of a self service buffet and make you wait as long as possible for someone to sever you a much needed coffee before you continue on the Camino

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Nice and relaxing hotel, one of the largest rooms we’ve stayed in definitely worth staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in your room.

    Great location, just a short walk to attractions and restaurants. Beautiful hotel nice and clean with friendly staff, we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been comfier. Very limited changing space in pool area.

    Perfect location with very friendly and helpful staff. Superior room had lovely view out of front of hotel and town. Good breakfast choices. Light and airy indoor pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing about this place. I treated myself to a stay here and it was worth every bit. The staff were so welcoming warm and friendly. The room was amazing. The bed was so comfortable. The three course meal at the hotel restaurant was delicious plus they brought me dessert with birthday candles. Also the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. I highly recommend choosing Hotel San Francisco.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Historic building in heart of Santiago de Compostela. Have stayed before, stayed 4 nights this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with valet parking, elevators and air-conditioning. Very attentive staff. Breakfast buffet had lovely variety for all diets. Beautiful historic building well modernized. Stained glass windows in common areas. Our room had view of courtyard. Quiet. Stayed 4 nights: would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    My favorite hotel in recent memory!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was an amazing hotel, incredibly beautiful and unique and so relaxing. There are so many places to enjoy, the terrace, the pool, the lobby and lots of little sitting areas throughout the hotel. It was one of my favorite hotels in recent memory. We booked an extra night because we enjoyed it so much. Free & easy parking and breakfast was included. I cant recommend this hotel enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located just a few meters away from the cathedral, but in a more quiet area. Nice covered swimming pool. Convenient outdoor parking. The hotel itself is a real museum: there are some many public spaces, paintings, antique objects. Good restaurant with special menu. The deal I got by booking four months in advance was very good, which makes the value for money incredibly high. I would not hesitate going back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Possibly our favourite hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    One of the best hotels were have stayed in ever. I'm 56. My wife and I have been traveling for over 35 years together and on different budgets over time. This building, the staff, the location, the food and just about everything was the best value for money experience we can remember. The 4* convent menu for €20 was simply incredible. The room was enormous and had a view on both sides of the premises. We could have stayed for much longer only we had booked ahead. Amazing. 100% recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Yet another outstanding visit to Santiago, all the better for staying at the San Francisco Monumento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing we did not like. This hotel is brilliant!

    There is nowhere else in the whole of Santiago de Compostela that I would ever stay - this hotel is amazing. Everything is designed and delivered with the clients in mind, and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed here a few times already and it is great to meet the same members of staff - it says a lot about a company that staff are happy and enjoy where they work. The choice of breakfast items, both standard and gluten-free, is outstanding (and do try the Tarta de Santiago now they have a gluten-free option also!). We stayed in a superior double room with shower (you can request a room with either bath or shower, we prefer showers) which was clean and comfortable and both had a really good night's sleep throughout our stay. We didn't have a chance to get to the pool and jacuzzi this time, but we were busy enjoying the fiestas for the Feast of St James and visiting family. Which is another great reason to stay here - the hotel is very close to many key landmarks (not least the cathedral) but at the same time is a short enough distance away to be quieter and calmer. Walking everywhere in the Old Town is very easy and you are never really far. We would recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    It’s the parador in Santiago!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s expensive!

    Room service was very tasty. My room was very comfortable. Nice bathroom amenities. Their breakfast is absolutely the best with lots of good variety.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Post Camino Luxury
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the character, location, pool and Olga at the front desk. What an exceptional staff member, although they all were attentive and friendly but Olga was awesome. Beds were comfy, rooms were quiet, towels were large and fluffy and the pool was an awesome experience of weightlessness after carrying a pack for over a month. We loved our stay, thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel for a short or long stay in Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently is difficult to find the parking but we just drove to the front of the hotel and the staff parked for us.

    Beautiful historic building nicely renovated. Very central position - just a 3 minute walk to the central square and cathedral. Food in restaurant was traditional and good - though as we ate at 8pm and most Spaniards eat much later, the room felt quite empty. Nice indoor pool with spa bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    An amazing hotel in the centre of Santiago very near the Cathedral and main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a beautiful hotel in the loveliest part of Santiago so near the cathedral and the main sights. The service and amenities are impeccable. The breakfast was delicious. Cannot fault this hotel one bit. Would love to come back and stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The property is perfectly located in the Heart of Santiago,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property is perfectly located in the Heart of Santiago, the property is beautiful and has some fantastic facilities. The staff were amazing, really welcoming and very friendly and with the added addition of on site parking it was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A great place to stay after the Camino.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would appreciate a vegan/vegetarian menu in the restaurant.

    A very nice, warm and quite room, a delicious menu in the restaurant, a good swimming pool. Close to the Cathedral. Next to the church.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    This was our second visit to this hotel. Love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location with peaceful surroundings. Large, comfortable rooms and friendly, attentive staff. Good breakfast. Swimming pool and jacuzzi great to relax in after lots of walking and sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a beautiful historic building (part of a Franciscan convent) within easy walking distance from the Cathedral. Staff went above and beyond to accommodate special requests and make our stay perfect. They also gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and other tips. The breakfast buffet is outstanding with a wide range of Spanish specialties. There is even a pool and hot tub with scenic views (albeit located in a separate building and a little cold for the children).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    I would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It’s location was perfect. Our room faced the setting sun n we had great views. Hotel staff were so friendly n helpful. There is a Church next to the residence n so if you need to pray, it’s convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was that there was a fault with the hot water in my room

    Absolutely stunning hotel. The conversion from historical convent to 5 star hotel has been done faultlessly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turned out to be quite pricey compared to others. In May, you can stay in really nice less expensive hotels in Santiago.

    Loved the idea that this is an historic building transformed into a working hotel. It’s a quiet, sophisticated space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely incredible experience and so welcomed after...
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Absolutely incredible experience and so welcomed after completing the Camino! Loved everything about it - swimming in the pool, dining in the restaurant, and drinks in the cloister! So awesome to stay in a converted monastery! Staff was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Good apart from rudeness of one member of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar & restaurant were fairly basic in what they offered for a four star hotel & didn’t seem very popular. One waiter had a poor attitude and was rude which we reported to the manager.

    Location & comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    I liked its historical beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not helpful and made me feel like it was a bother to help me and they just wanted me to go away. I left my sunglasses in the room where breakfast is served and went back shortly later to find them and the staff member quickly said no, they were not there. Very rude.

    I liked its historical beauty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel situated next to Santiago cathedral.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel situated next to Santiago cathedral. Very calm and comfortable. Excellent service and amicable staff. Hotel restaurant serves high quality food. Best hotel in Santiago!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay at the end of any Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The converted monastery is right in the heart of Santiago but offers an oasis of calm. It has been meticulously converted and the attention to detail is impressive. The beds a large and very comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    It made a most memorable stay and feel able to recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything surpassed our expectations.

    The whole ambience and locality of the hotel was excellent, managing to blend the expectancy of modem comfort and service with the subtle recollection of its past heritage as a religious house welcoming the pilgrim and stranger. The level of hospitality was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    A very nice experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea /coffee facilities in the room would have been nice .

    It was a unique experience as it was an d convent. It was beautifullly decorated. The breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Outstanding hotel, superb location, but with NO decent WiFi connection.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - WiFi simply did not work; useless - Parking area not covered - Pillows are terrible

    - Location (mere 150 meters from the Santiago's Cathedral) - Historical building renovated - Staff service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    The San Francisco Monument Hotel is a great place to stay in Santiago de Compostela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent. The history of the building and its being adjacent to the Cathedral of San Francisco is extraordinary. The rooms were large and comfortable. The heated pool and jacuzzi are a major plus. And one must not miss the fixed menu ( “Convent food”) recommended for the day. The meal was very delicious and portions were sumptuous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Expensive for what it was, well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there had been a friendlier welcome to the 3 pèlerines staying there! It would have been good to receive a welcome pack of little things we had done without for weeks!

    Breakfast and having a clean bedroom to myself after walking over 1700km on the Camino!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful spot! Wonderful staff! Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing not to like about this hotel: LEAVING! :)

    The location can't be beat! So close to the square and so many shops and restaurants. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic! So many fresh pastries, breads, cheeses, sweets, eggs, bacon, juices, cereals... everything! The pool and hot tub were absolutely wonderful. Just the right temp and really beautiful views from the covered area. The history of the building and the overall ambiance make this hotel a can't-beat choice! I stayed there to relax after finishing the Camino de Santiago (all the way to Finesterra) and it felt great to pamper myself after achieving such a monumental goal (walked over 900km in all). The staff is so friendly and spoke great English. They recommended great restaurants and arranged for taxi pick-up right in front of the hotel. Everyone was beyond friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    This hotel was a bit overrated for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet, while extensive, served the usual cheeses, cereals, fruits and bread, but the hot items, like scrambled eggs, sausage, and fried eggs, were cold every morning. The room that we had was relatively basic, with only one comfortable chair.

    The hotel was convenient to the center of town, was clean and had an interesting history.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    A good match for iconic Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The museum guide to the hotel's museum was off-duty & they had no one to take his place. They provided a map though. Of course we would have wanted to hear details...

    On rating hotels, I check the bathroom first. When a hotel provides a pullout flexible makeup mirror, it's already better than most. Spacious bathroom, his-hers toilets, clean floor, flexible shower door, extra towel racks & space to lay out women's accutrements... what more can one ask for? The room was clean, spacious, had a high ceiling & blackout curtains for that restful sleep. The history behind the hotel plus its quiet atmosphere is a good match for Santiago, a city never without visitors from all corners of the world. Travellers who obviously do a lot of walking & in its small sloping streets will find this hotel absolutely relaxing! That it has an adjacent historic church w daily mass is another plus. Good buffet breakfast too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    My stay was literally magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was literally magical. Had high hopes and they exceeded my expectations. Staff, ambience, food everything was amazing. Best hotel experience I’ve ever had. Best combo of historic location and modern comforts and decor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Do not hesitate to stay at the San Francisco Hotel Monumento!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything!

    The staff was exceptional. They provided courteous service; answered all of our questions; made recommendations for restaurants and tapas bars; circled highlights on a map that their city offered; even printed our flight boarding passes when it was time to leave. I cannot recommend this facility more highly. The room was excellent and the hotel location was perfect....literally just a block from the cathedral and plaza.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location very clean nice pool and hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room Air con noisy Beds quite hard Breakfast cooked items not very hot had to chase for replacement items

    Great location very clean nice pool and hot tub

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Simple accommodation but good value. Food excellent, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control the heating. My bedroom not too hot once I opened the window but my sisters single room was very hot even with the window open. Found the beds a little hard. Bedding very brown but I guess that's part of the monastic feel. Pool very cold.

    Great location, not noisy . Very friendly staff. The food is excellent. We had dinner there, huge portions. Dining room echoes a lot, a few rugs might help! Great choice of food for breakfast which was top quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could have been served when I sat outside in the courtyard. I wanted a cup of tea before a tour started. Waited an hour, was completely ignored by the three wait staff; I was alone. There were several big parties, all the tables were utilized and chairs filled.

    breakfast was very good. attendants very professional. dinner was too expensive for the dinner served. Go out on the medieval town = much better deal and experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Good alternative to the Parador...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not like the setting of the bar. Not cosy, just a part of the breakfast room.

    A good alternative to the (overcrowded) parador de los Reyes. Very friendly staff, modernisation of this antique building very well done, discrete but effective. Location excellent, just behind the parador, at 300m. from plaza d'Obradoiro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    The staff is friendly and attentive, the property is completely modern and elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel should commuicate with guests that arrive by car how to approach the property and negotiate the restricted streets

    Amazing breakfast buffet and property Best hotel in Spain!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Did not want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Impossible to fault.

    We stayed in 5 very good hotels in Spain and this would have to be the best of the best! The building (an historic convent/monastery is simply stunning). The area is quiet but near to everything you wish to see in the old town. Cathedral is a 5 minute walk. Staff are excellent particularly Veronica in the breakfast area. She had a smile every day and was exceptionally friendly. Daniel in the cafeteria / bar was very good and also friendly. The room was a very large size compared to other hotels and the bed and pillows were so comfortable! Cleaning staff were superb - very friendly and did an amazing job. The room was spotless every day. The courtyard where you could have a drink or a meal was so soothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A fascinating hotel because of its historical interest,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fascinating hotel because of its historical interest, carefully converted from a one- time convent. Extremely comfortable. Staff could not have been more helpful. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Unique hotel in the middle of Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in an old monastery. The rooms and restaurant were amazing with lots of original features. Very friendly and helpful staff and the parking was excellent. The location is unbeatable, right in the centre of Santiago with all the main sites on your doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Magnificient building. Friendly, helpful staff. Fabulous location. One of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding the place. Terrible (non-existent) signs. It took us three attempts, asking people, to get even close to it. Dinner in dining room was good but not great. Should have just eaten in the bar/cafe/breakfast room, or better still in a lively Santiago eatery.

    What a place! Be sure to spend some time walking around all the spaces, courtyards, public rooms, adjacent church, and see the Roman ruins underfoot (under glass walkway). The staff was as friendly as could be. The breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful presentation, constantly replenished, and wide assortment. Location: three minute walk to Plaza de Obradoiro (Cathedral, etc.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, generally modern hotel inside historic convent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed unfortunately convent-like, that is, rock hard. Also, room temperature controlled by reception -- very annoying!

    Comfortable, generally modern hotel inside historic convent building. Good location close to historic sites, good local information provided in handy paper format, good food in the restaurant and cafeteria. Valet parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in Santiago de Campostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were upgraded to a suite upon check in. The staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was very good with multiple choices of foods. Attractions were nearby and easy to walk to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice and confortable to visit Santiago and Galicia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting of the room could be better. The pillows could be better in line with the rest of the room.

    The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant is nice. The room is very good altough the bathroom of our bedroom was small. The free parking is excellent and all the staff was very nice. The pool is nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service food staff loved the swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One comment we only booked for 4 nights

    Staff very helpful and very nice the gentleman on the front desk was extremely helpful, he even printed the time table for us for santagio train station to pontreverdra a big thanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    it is a beautifully restored hotel and well worth a look...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee at breakfast is not great ... but you know you're scraping the barrel when that's all you don't like!!

    it is a beautifully restored hotel and well worth a look around. The staff knew we are Irish and greeted us with a few words of it, which was lovely. We were coming off the Camino and so a bit exhausted, the staff had moved our bags up to the room for us and everything was ready for us ... felt like total luxery!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    I was there four days. Wish it could have been eight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing here I did not like. I will certainly be back! And while the San Francisco Monumento's prime competitor, the Parador, has a better location, the Monumento is just 2/3 the cost. That finally sold me.

    This hotel is five star, from the staff to the appointments. The lounge was particularly lovely for reading and writing, and the restaurant is first class! It also has an awareness of history, which I loved!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location at the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable. No duvet, just blankets. Might be because it was summer time, but the weather was cool and the room quite cold.

    Excellent location at the heart of the old town. Beautiful monastery converted into a hotel. Unique experience. Spa/pool area was nice. Friendly/helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    One night in santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to inner historic city and also outside walled city for shopping. Restaurants and places for tapas nearby. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Was fun to see the pilgrims arriving and at cathedral plaza.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel for a trip to Santiago, the main square is 5 minutes walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, other than we had a mosquito in the room on our first night!

    Excellent location, quiet and great breakfast included in the room rate. The small pool was an added bonus facility which we used twice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    An unforgettable stay in Santiago de Compostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    Amazing hotel in fantastic location for visiting City. Hotel Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Hotel unique in build and connection to the old part of Santiago and spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfast - lots of choice - parking a real bonus - as was the swimming pool and jacuzzi! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Could not fault it in any way!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Stunning location. An atmospheric Jewel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was also located in cafe area, would have preferred a separate lounge area.

    Stunning location. The plain exterior belies the contemporary and tasteful interior. Very atmospheric,in keeping with the fact that it previously a convent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    The hotel is stunning and the staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is stunning and the staff were brilliant. We were at the hotel early and going to a wedding later that day. Even though check in isn't until 2pm they found us an available room and checked us in at 10:30am. This meant we had a room so we could get ready for the wedding. The breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to promote their restaurant more so people like us don't get fooled and it at the local parador which is totally overpriced for what they offer.

    Great property in a old monastery that has been internally renovated with beautiful glass elevators and well appointed rooms. Location is also near everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Pilgrim Perfecto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our 2nd stay in 2 years after having walked both the Camino Santiago and the Portuguese Camino both summers. We saved the best stay for last and looked forward to relaxing at this beautiful hotel after a long Camino adventure. It was well worth the wait and price. The hotel staff appreciates tired pilgrims and treated us with kindness and went out of their way to help and offered valuable suggestions on where to eat. They showed us to our rooms and explained how to work the AC, the TV and phone and even offered to carry our backpacks upstairs. The room and bathroom are very welcoming with a comfy queen bed, soft linens, extra blankets and pillows. We found 2 chocolate candies on the bed each night and appreciated the treat and nightly service. The bathroom is modern and very clean with all the amenities. The hotel is very historic and has a quaint, but modern inside feel and both blend well to make for an enjoyable 2 night stay. The location is great and close to everything with the Cathedral being only a 3 minute walk. It's not on a busy street so the quiet location makes it very nice for weary pilgrims and guests. We had made earlier arrangements with a luggage transport company to take our bags thru from Porto, Portugal to Santiago. The hotel stored our bags safely and had them waiting in our room upon our arrival. The full breakfast was included in our stay and is a wonderful buffet for us vegetarians with lots of fresh fruit, a variety of homemade breads, hot eggs, tortilla omelette, and offerred different breakfast dishes of Spain. A wide selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh squeezed juices and hot beverages were also available. Usually on the Camino we grab a quick bite of something cold before heading out early on the day's walk. It was so nice to enjoy a hot, leisurely breakfast and to not have to put on your hiking boots and rush out the door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    A Quiet Oasis in a Beautiful Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a weak wifi signal in my room.

    This beautifully restored building was quiet and perfectly situated. The rooms were well appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Hotel San Francisco Monumento - a perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything really

    The staff were fabulous, welcoming, helpful, cheery and spoke wonderful English. I was very impressed. Splendid location. Great breakfasts and nice food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    An excellent choice in Santiago de Compostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dislike having a shower over a bath although this is a common feature in Spain. At this hotel the major problem was water escaping onto the floor due to an inadequate seal on the shower screen despite ever endeavour to prevent this while using the shower.

    San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers a unusual combination of a modern hotel within an historic building. It is in an excellent location for visiting Santiago de Compostela with good access to the cathedral for peregrinos arriving on foot on the camino and departing via taxi to the airport. The bedrooms are comfortable with all necessary facilities including a bar fridge. The buffet breakfast offers an excellent choice for all diets, including some food allergies. The staff were helpful and unobtrusive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Luxurious short stay in centre of Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrace bar wasn't open until 12am as advertised and instead was in the breakfast cafe, which had no ambience for a late nightcap!

    Beds were very comfortable, excellent size room - very spacious and we had a great outlook onto the front of the property. The location is superb - close to the cathedral, lots of restaurants and sightseeing. You definitely don't need transport to get around! Breakfast buffet was great - good selection of food and drinks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Our Camino trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors can be a bit noisy but after 30 plus on the Camino it was not a problem. Sometimes had to hunt staff down during Siesta time.

    A great location and what needed after walking over 400 miles. We were close to everything and things at hotel went as we expected. The staff went out of their way to obtain a present for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Celebrate having completed the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inadequate lighting for reading in bed.

    Great location; better than average food, although a little pricey. Front desk staff and waitstaff (in all venues) were very good--among the best I encountered during two months in Spain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Hotel is part of working monastery and profits go back to do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor thing was wifi signal strength in parts of hotel and on upper floors.

    Hotel is part of working monastery and profits go back to do good deeds. Staff were amazing nothing to much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: