Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Monte Igueldo 4 stars

Paseo del Faro, 134, 20008 San Sebastián, Spain

#38 of 56 hotels in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1919 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    2.5
    Horrible Hotel Holiday 😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin, waking up to the phone ringing non stop from the front desk in error after traveling was incredibly inappropriate, then not having the phone work when we tried to order room service was frustrating. There was a very limited menu in their restaurant (1 salad) for a vegetarian and highly overpriced considering there was 1 waiter for the entire restaurant. The lobby bar tender was nearly never available, coffee in the morning was not an option and in order to have a bottle of wine opened in the room we had to bring it down to the bartender in front of all the guests. The pool was not worth a visit, the hot tub was cold, the deck and pool were filthy and the lifeguard was also the bartender. Making coffee on the 3rd day was nearly impossible for the lifeguard, food was not an option although there was a full menu on each table. My recommendation is that the hotel hire more hospitality professionals if they wish to continue having guests stay above the 1980’s kids amusement park. If you are interested in comfort the lobby sofas would likely be better than the boards they consider beds. Incredibly disappointed and upset to have spent so much money for such an overall poor experience.

    The view from the lobby deck was gorgeous however had we stayed in town and taken the funicular we would have experienced the view minus the hassle of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    What a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not alot of food options and as you are up away from the town this could be improved. The breakfast was very poor and 19 euro ea h which was a huge disappointment as it was just continental

    The location is stunning and that's what I want for... that certainly didn't disappoint. Immaculately clean hotel and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant and will stay in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is situated in a fantastic place overlooking the sea and the town with amazing views. I have stayed here before in the past but since that the rooms have all been refurbished to an excellent standard. The bar on a night time is so relaxing and is a great place to have a night cap after a night out in the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room. Not much food variety and food. Twice forgot to make a poached egg at breakfast. Not enough staff

    Location. Views. Superb rooftop pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Fabulous location and views. The hotel is not 4 star in terms of the rooms, facilities or service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of rooms was poor and the '24 hour service' could not even provide a spoon on request. I also think the hotel should put on a shuttle service to and from San Sebastián a few times a day as cabs are expensive and you cannot walk down.

    Fantastic views of San Sebastián and a lovely pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Amazing views, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive and not included in room rate.

    Wonderful views, rooms were clean and comfortable, pool area very relaxing with plenty of beds and parasols.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    I liked the room, it was spacious with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner, it took 1 hour to get the appetizers... they were very tasty but very late. Take care of your beef ribs, the fat on the dish is just too much and the cost is very high for what we got.

    I liked the room, it was spacious with a great view. The people at the reception tried to guide us through-good job! Restaurant and Housekeeing Staff where very nice and welcoming!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very good but it had a Window to nowhere. The window opened onto a completely enclosed inner courtyard so the room didn't have fresh air. The hotel told me that single rooms were all the same. :(

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    If you're considering visiting San Sebastián I would highly recommend this hotel. do it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that wasn't up to cart h.

    Everything I am an Accor member andi would recommend this hotel actually everyone. Member or not should find a way to stay at this outstanding place in San Sebastián . A truly magnificent hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked 2 sea view rooms we were disappointed not to receive these also one of the rooms was a disabled room and therefore did not have a bath. Very disappointing.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The room, the view, the pool, the terrace bar the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get into the pool after we had checked out. We were not flying until later that day so could not by food and drink either as it was no cash and chargeable to room only. Breakfast was pretty poor for 18 euros.

    The room, the view, the pool, the terrace bar the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    bar closed just after midnight,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar closed just after midnight, came down in morning and our glasses( and other guests glasses and empty wine bottles) still left in bar/seating area on tables- looked poor.. cheaper rooms a bit small, bed not that comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Leaves a lot to be desired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were slow to make eye contact or greet us first any time we approached the reception desk. We used the funicular multiple times per day during our stay and felt that this should be provided free of charge to hotel guests. The pool was not open despite the sign at the entrance to the pool stating otherwise. Shampoo and shower gel were replaced by housekeeping but body lotion was not. Housekeeping did not remove the cold cup of coffee from the previous day.

    The views are spectacular. We had a drink in the reception area watching the sunset. Taxis were easy to book at reception. We booked a premium room and the view from the balcony was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee provided for Nespresso coffee machine was all decaf. Asked for full strength, nothing. Asked again 24 hours later and it was eventually provided. Beer in bar seemed short measure as much sloshed out of the glass when filled by the barman.

    Absolutely fantastic view. Didn't eat there so can't comment. Fantastic roof terrace, very sheltered but no pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    A week of bad weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to and from the hotel in to old town is more difficult when you don't have a car. There is bus which is about 8 minutes walk away, however it is not a direct route and takes about 40mins. Also Breakfast is very very expensive at 19 euros per person, we only had it once!

    It was clean, comfortable and our room was cleaned and made up everyday. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared with the other accommodation we used - it's a chain hotel and maybe a bit impersonal. Wish we'd had time to use the pool and other facilities.

    Couldn't really fault this. We had a sea view room which was spacious and very comfortable. Lounge area is terrific with views across down into San Sebastian and out to sea. Was able to park car easily; there is a funicular down to shore level within a few minutes walk - alternatively a regular bus service (no 16) which runs from around 300 metres down through the amusement park close to the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    comfy beds, nice rooms and clean, great location on top of mountain for the nightime,friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    This location is amazing views. The staff friendlay and spoke all Spanish, french or english. Parking excellent, Room clean and modern, beds comfy., with fridge. Taking the funiculaire was great in the morning then walk towards old town via beach or take the #25 bus to the old town. We took a taxi back at night only cost $10.00 Euro. excellent trip in the Le Basque. Would return for sure, the people on the streets and the buses, restos, were very friendly and happy. We stayed 3 nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Picturesque. Lovely deco or with loads of original features. Theme area could do with some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed and theme rides. Was further out than anticipated. Cost taxi every night to get back to hotel.

    Beautiful spot. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location above San Sebastián bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the funicular but we were there on a Thursday and it didn’t start running until 11am Still wonderful way to get down to the town

    Amazing location above San Sebastián bay Lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    There was indeed an amazing view if you pay more to stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was aware it wasn’t an easy place to access on foot but even tough with car and gps we did have difficulties to reach and find the place on the 1st time. Staff was alright but nothing especial and not what you expect from a place like Mercure. If you have to pay for a breakfast it is a real rip off.

    There was indeed an amazing view if you pay more to stay in a room facing the sea. Clean and comfortable as you expect from Mercure hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Parking was close & free, great location & views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disinterested staff on reception & bar, they kept disappearing.

    Parking was close & free, great location & views from public rooms over the bay & city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views and location, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant had very limited food options. Could have done with bigger cups for coffee / tea in room but apart from that the hotel is brilliant we will definitely be going back and staying longer!

    Location was excellent, rooms very clean and good size. Beautiful views all around the hotel just wish the weather had been better for us to appreciate it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous views, ideal location, relaxing lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to be told about local activities like the fun fair being open on May Day

    It was rather noisy so we changed rooms. Fabulous views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The view was stunning and the design of the lounge, bar a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Without a car taxis are required to get the restaurants of the old town. The location also limits options for breakfast, you have to take breakfast at the hotel..

    The view was stunning and the design of the lounge, bar a restaurant takes full advantage of that view. Funicular Railway down to the beach very convenient. Friendly ad efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    3 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    G&T's were expensive : ) Lift down the mountain only opens at 11am...

    Truly spectacular views... Staff were so helpful... Lovely 25 minute walk into Town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Customer service needs to improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the service I received during my stay. On my first night I ate in the restaurant, there was some confusion over my order and the way I was treated by one waitress was awful. I have never been treated so rudely by someone. When I complained in the restaurant my €4 bottle of water was taken off the bill!! I then went to reception and informed them what had happened and he just just nodded and said ok. No apology was offered by any member of staff at any point. It ruined the 1st night of my stay as to be treated like that was very upsetting. Over my 3 day stay I limited my interactions with staff and didn’t eat in the restaurant again. Also the funicular only runs between 11 and 8, so if you’re not driving you are restricted as to when you can get down to San Sebastián. I wasn’t asked did I enjoy my stay when I was checking out, the couple after me were given a card and asked to rate them online. I don’t think they wanted to hear my review!!

    Amazing views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent views, very nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a corner room with windows forming the corner and it was just amazing, felt like we are floating in the air above the ocean. And then 2 chairs with little glass table made our night, sitting there watching the ocean and then the lighthouse with a bottle of wine... Also very clean and nice bathrooms. As the hotel is on top of the hill It’s a far away from all the life if you don’t have a car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    OK just about sums it up, some good points and some bad, but could easily have been so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was poor, slow service even though not very busy. Same limited menu two nights running. Consequently over priced for what was on offer.

    Nice location and good rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Time to relax and appreciate the wonderful view and the changing weather over the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was expensive and we wanted to get a coffee in the bar. The bar was not open until 11.00 which was disappointing. The staff did eventually help and get us a coffee but it would be good to have coffee available behind the bar earlier than 11.00.

    View of San Sebastian.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall our stay at this hotel was very positive and I highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude younger lady working in Karousel at back of hotel shocking attitude. The breakfast is very expensive so didn’t buy it. Also the pool is closed till June.

    View spectacular and room spacious. Espresso machine in room appreciated. Beer and beverages in bar fairly priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Thought about extending the stay another day because of how nice it was staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like having to show my reservation to the lot attendant before making it to the hotel.

    The view was fantastic, was what led me to booking here and did not disappoint. Staff was so pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Great View, Tiny Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hart to get to (main road was blocked due to road Works - no notice) Bed too small (I am 6 foot). Room feels outdated, something you would find in the 70s. Very small.

    Amazing View. Nice Lounge. Breakfast. Price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    A superb location with 1 little niggle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in bar area till after 11am if you didn't have breakfast other than the coffee in your room you couldn't get a proper coffee a.simple thing like a coffee machine should be in place in such a great establishment

    Views were amazing Miguel in the bar was.great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location but subpar staff and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are basic. We paid for a double bed suite and ended up with a standard room with two twin beds pushed together. The staff wasn't willing to change our room. The pool is closed and the entire fourth floor is under construcion. It would have been nice to know that before we booked because it definitely would have affected our decision.

    The property is in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel with the most beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t book the cheapest room as you may have a room without any view and not renovated

    The view of room with balcony is amazing, the surrounding are beautiful. The hotel is not that far from san Sebastien city center. You’ll have the most beautiful view ever, seeing San Sebastián, the ocean and the mountains

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful on the whole but prior to arriving at the hotel I tried to get in touch with them via email to organise something special for my partner's birthday and the response wasn't very helpful.

    We personally loved the location of the hotel, although it is a fair walk to the old town (approx. 3 miles) the walk was wonderful (when it wasn't raining!) - along La Concha beach! It truly is a beautiful city so we loved the walk. The view from the hotel is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Great mountain location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other entrance closed at 6pm with a barrier across so be aware of that as it's on a winding mountain.

    It's location and excellent food. Great parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    We knew that the view from the hotel should be great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is hard to get to the hotel at night when funiculare already stopped working.

    We knew that the view from the hotel should be great. But how we underestimated it! It was so wonderfull! Room and service was also at top level.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was pleasantly warm and sunny, yet the pool area was closed. Management policy could be a little more flexible with pool hours during early autumn. Other guests mentioned the same annoyance. I feel the hotel should also look at modernizing its decor to attract younger more affluent clientele. It needs a clean, fresh modern up to date look. Just need to look at current hotel decor trends in Madrid or Barcelona. This younger market is underestimated by traditional hotels. The millennial generation especially are dictating consumer trends. San Sebastian is renowned for its food offering....unfortunately not for its hotels. There is perhaps only one hotel in the outskirts of the city that meets with current market trends. Many younger travelers are visiting San Sebastian for the food and other festival experience. They are also willing to pay to stay in hotels that offer more than average service, decor and ammenities. The patio area, although having fantastic views was completely underutilized. Its a great pity as outdoor patio lounges or rooftop areas with views are currently in demand worldwide and can almost guarantee extra income for hotels with bar and light meal offerings.

    The views from the hotel patio was incredible. Staff were warm, professional and efficient at check in and upon our departure, Great value hotel for the location. The corner room we were offered was comfortable and spacious and also had superb ocean and city views. Sunrise was beautiful. The in room coffee pod machine was welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    The location and stupid rules spoiled our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You are stuck at the top of a hill with limited, convenient options to explore the Town, when the Tram from the Hotel isn't available . So,before 11am you have to drive into town or take a Taxi as the walk is extremely hilly and difficult. After 7pm you have to get a Taxi back ( 12 euro min ) because it is impossible to walk back up the hills, especially if you have eaten and had a couple of drinks. The photos on the website and the information about the location in relation to the old town are extremely misleading, There is no mention of the restrictions with regard to visiting and returning from the Town. Incidentally, you can't get a coffee before 11am either, unless you pay 18 euro for a full breakfast and there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. We made various complaints , but didn't get any response from the Manager .

    There is no doubt that the location is spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    I wouldnt recommend the place in general.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room from the first day had nothing to do with pictures, old and with separated beds as I didnt ask, since I was going to celebrate my anniversary. The views from the second day where really bad.

    The room from the second day was nice, and the views from the first day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    It wasn´t as expected.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had two rooms the one from the first day was old and in separated beds.... when I explicitly asked for beds together...

    We had two rooms the one from the second day was good but the views where not from the mountain as it said, it was from amusement park right beside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit of a hassle going into town from the mountains. Although there is a funicular, it only runs from 11 AM to 7 PM, so if you don't drive you will have to take a taxi into town. It is an approximately 20 min walk downhill. Ultimately, it is worth going through the hassle for the views.

    The hotel has a spectacular view of the beach and city, and it is gorgeous to look out during breakfast or in the evening. When we first arrived the staff was very helpful and gave us a map and some good suggestions of what to see at San Sebastian.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t clean when we opened our unit. When it was cleaned there were numerous items/ trash of former guests left behind including a toothbrush. We wondered if we had clean linens

    The views were amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Great views of the sea and city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is tricky to get up and down the hill without a car/ taxi. It is about a 20-minute walk down the hill. It is possible to take a funicular down but its operating hours are limited.

    The hotel is at the top of Monte Igueldo hill and has an amazing lookout onto the San Sebastian city. There is a great view of the Playa de la Concha at sunset. The rooms are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Rooms were spacious and there were great views everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were spacious and there were great views everywhere. Rooms were a little stuffy and sound travelled easily between rooms. The hotel is on top of a mountain with gorgeous sunsets and views of the Atlantic and city centre. It means lots of walking or taxis. There is a trolly/funicular that runs up and down the mountain every 10 minutes from 11:00am-6:45pm, which helped cut down on taxi costs. Two roads lead up the mountain to the hotel, one closes at 6:30pm, so if you drive, make sure you avoid the entrance with the lighthouse. We got stuck at a barrier late at night in our rental car. The hotel bar service was so so, but the food in the hotel restaurant was delicious! Well worth it, but in some seasons they aren't open until after sunset (8:00pm) and that's definitely part of the experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    The views were fantastic and breakfast was realy good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather inconvenient but if it wasn't in that location you would not have the stunning views

    The views were fantastic and breakfast was realy good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    I arrived exhausted after driving from England, and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was surprisingly expensive so I didn't have it.

    I arrived exhausted after driving from England, and was upgraded to a lovely room looking over the sea and San Sebastian. Wonderfully comfortable beds, and charming service from reception and the bar staff (Miguel). Had simple tapas at the bar with amazing views over San Sebastian, and recovered enough to continue an epic drive the next day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short!!

    When we arrived there was a mix up with our booking, Mercure had accidentally cancelled our booking. The young lady at reception was excellent, she sorted out another room for us the same as we had booked. The staff are very helpful and friendly and no question was a problem. The view amazing!! Loved the cable car access to the beach.. If we ever return to that part of the world again we would definitely stay here. Bronwyn.. Australia.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Amazing views
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like at all the breakfast. If I had known before that it was going to be such a poor selection of foods, I would have not gone at all. Coffee was bland, pastries were tasteless, only 3 types of fruits and the orange juice was just undrinkable. The following day we skipped the breakfast and got it in the town which was much cheaper and better quality.

    The view from the hotel is spectacular. I dont think you can get better than this.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    The best view, ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has the most amazing view of San Sebastian. I didn't want to leave the property to go explore! The breakfast was good, with many options, and the funicular below the hotel is very convenient. I will definitely return to Hotel Monte Igueldo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Room with a view, fantastic one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit outdated interior in the room, small room Remote location

    Fantastic view from the hotel Very nice outdoor pool Good restaurant in the hotel Funicular ride down to the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Great views, terrible breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is totally overpriced and not worth to buy it. There is nothing warm to eat, range of the products to choice very limited and cold coffee. As for 4 stars hotel it should be cleaner.

    Localization. Although it is really far from the center and there is no public transportation the view from hotel is really amazing. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Just loved the hotel and San Sebastian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food not served at lounge bar until 7.30pm. would have liked something a little earlier. Apart from that all good.

    Bed extremely comfortable. It also has a top sheet not just a doona which sometimes can be too hot. Great views, lounge area of hotel a wonderful place to sit with a G&T and enjoy these amazing views. Good swimming pool with an attendant to help with your requirements and again great views. Loved it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Positioned on top of the world of San Sebastián- high quality hotel and staff made this special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving into an unfamiliar city - it was tricky finding the hotel.

    We were given a corner rm - the views were outrageously great. The rm was very nicely finished with high quality bed and Manchester. The lady who checked us in was very very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Best view of San Sebastain ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to get a parking spot because of the daily parking for the amusement park

    Spectacular view from the bar, restaueant, and commom areas of the hotel. Restaurant served meals that were much better than I expected. We arrived before late but before dark (road to hotel at night may be little difficult) Only stayed one night...hotel is not near enough to walk around and enjoy San Sebastian but if you are traveling with children it would be great as there is an amusement park right there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    The staff and facilities were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is somewhat isolated from town. When the funicular is not running you have to take a taxi. The food at the hotel was poor especially dinner.

    The staff and facilities were nice. The view was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.9
    Panoramic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything , we travel extensively and thought this would be a beautiful place to stay but sadly not 😏outrageously rude staff , extremely dirty and shabby , nobody about to serve even a coffee . I would never EVER recommend this "HOTEL"

    Panoramic view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful view of San Sebastián.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a tad small.

    The view was spectacular. We loved the balcony. The room was furnished very nicely and the bathroom was spacious enough. The grounds were really nice and it was really nice using the funicular to get into town. If you have kids, they will LOVE being so close to the little amusement park adjacent to the hotel. Despite the proximity to this park, the noise level was quiet. We would stay here again if we ever go back to San Sebastián.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    Stinkiest room ever - don't go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had never, -until now- made a negative comment on a hotel I stay in (around 50 nights a year), however I have to mention the horrible experience at Mercure Monte Igueldo. I went with my mother and I requested TWO beds, they gave us a disabled room with a smell of putrefaction. The staff acknowledged the terrible smell and provided a chemical spray to use in the toilet but were unable to change rooms, with the only other option being a room with one bed. As a result of the unbearable smell my mon and I ended up having a terrible night and unfortunately for us, any good thing that the hotel might have offered, did not matter anymore due to this very serious inconvenience, they should NOT be selling this room (131) to anyone, I felt I have been robbed to be charged for a room with a hideous smell.

    Location and views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    Stay away from this place- you better sleep in a another town close to San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location: Its very far away from town. its on top of a mountain. Its not possible to walk from the hotel to town so the only way is car or taxi. Facilities: With nothing around the hotel - cafes , restaurants you basic rely on the place to provide those services. I arrived 11Pm fro check in and there was no food available . NO restaurant, no room service and no minibar with snacks. For a hotel that charges 240Euros a night i believe this is not acceptable. I slept hungry. I was at reception to ask for booking a taxi and the two people on the reception start fighting because they both didn't think it was their turn to speak to the next client. A fight! no an augment all happening in front of me. I speak spanish and they thought I could only speak english so it was BAD! Breakfast if you don't arrive there before 10 am - it finishes at 10:30 - you won't find food replaced. you still pay the same. you have about 6 staff people standing up at the front door of the restaurant but all the tables are full of left overs from previous clients and they are very abrupt on the way they approach you to make sure they have you room number. They don't care about replacing food but only about your room number. Then at 10:30 they switch off the lights and basically tell you leave the room. Internet is poor and doesn't work everywhere inside the hotel. for a 4 stars hotel... unacceptable. In general a bad place. expensive and not worth the money and time. Ive stayed in many places and I travel a lot around and this one was truly poor. They live in the past and think because they are in a exclusive location - and perhaps a symbol of status in the past - they can rely on this only to make the place survive. Hotels are about service and people mostly.

    I wont be back there. I don't recommend this hotel. Nice size swim pool but cold. Very nice views from San sebastian town but you can go there just for the views , you don't need to stay that far away from town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Recommendation for romantic holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To get the hotel, there is another route which is not guided by navigation at night time.

    The location is perfect to see the beach. and the breakfast was also very nice. If you like to be in sea side, definitely it is right choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Hotel with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with amazing views. Our room was a good size and comfortable. Staff good and most could speak English which helped us. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Would love to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms we had were a bit tired including mine. Which was a shame as I was the person who booked it. The other rooms had been refurbished.

    Stunning views and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    View was astonishing but not 4 stats Mercuree
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to attract attention. Once you did service was OK. The prices in the bar were very high for food but good for drinks. To add breakfast it was £18 each. Not good value and the quality of the baked goods was really poor.

    The view was beautiful. The room was good but not at 4 star standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Could be a great hotel with a little more effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired and some areas could do with a make-over. It was impossible to even get a cup of coffee in the morning, the breakfast food was running out and the lady assisting couldn't have cared. Very little option in the room, only decaf coffee and herbal teas. Our room smelt of smoke so we changed rooms (but then lost our view). Another customer was at reception with the same problem.

    The view from the hotel over San Sebastian is spectacular. The reception staff are friendly and very helpful. Taking the fenicular railway down to the town is much better than taking a car

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the amazing view, being on top of Monte Igueldo, the hotel is far from all other points of interest in San Sebastián

    The view from the lobby is absolutely breathtaking!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was quite expensive, and access is slightly tricky after 10pm if you don't have a car, as the amusement park entrance is closed then, so you have to start back at the bottom of the hill and take a longer route up.

    Reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    Views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a baby cockroach in the bathroom when ee arrived in the evening. The room was chilly and could not warm it up with the manual heating. The bathroom was not equiped for such a hotel type (the shower was poor, no ckeenex). The overall experience was not up to the expectation we had for such a hotel type. We felt it was overpriced - weying on the fact that it is uniquely located.

    Views. Hall / common sitting area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    breathtaking views - arrive via funicular for best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the first floor is partially obscured by a low roof, but remains stunning. The sound proofing in this hotel is not perfect. The 1st floor opposite the gym (room 120) was especially loud. 2nd night on 3rd floor was better view and quieter.

    The view is breathtaking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Bright and Clean with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bright and Clean with friendly helpful staff. Restaurant food very good. Room had a wonderful view over San Sebastian and beach. Hotel is accessed via Funicular and no. 16 bus from centre of San Sebastian. Lovely place to visit. Most enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing in San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 2.5/3 star property. It is dated with poor amenities. Management seems more concerned about rules being followed than creating a welcoming atmosphere for guests.

    Most of the front desk staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The views are exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very hit and miss throughout hotel. There are 2 wifi address's and you have to constantly alternate between them to change the page on screen - sort of speeds as old dial up.

    Spectacular view from hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    A beautful hotel, fantastic views, a wonderful place that will always hold fond memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilège Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel lacked a little atmosphere and is more suited to mature couples, who visit to enjoy the breath taking scenery.

    The hotel offers stunning views and a fantastic quiet pool area. However, the hotel does not cater well for children. The restaurant menu was unsuitable for our 13year old girls. We ordered from the bar, but it was extremely limited for choice. Whilst we enjoyed the bar food, we choose to eat off site for the second evening of our stay. The funfair attraction immediately below the hotel was a bonus for the children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Superb location and great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was a bit apprehensive about the location when we arrived as getting to the hotel involves a long drive around a mountain road. However when we got into the hotel the views of San Sebastián were amazing. Also we found that the Fenicular provided an easy way of getting down to the town along with the ease of getting a taxi. The swimming pool is superb and is like being on top of the world with great views all around. We also found a bistro bar which is attached to the hotel and provided good value food and drink for lunch. We had dinners in the tapas bars in the old town with a taxi ride back. All in all a great experience and one I would recommend trying

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: