Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VIK Hotel San Antonio 4 stars

Avenida de las Playas, 84, 35310 Puerto del Carmen, Spain

#79 of 232 hotels in Puerto del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Food in the restaurant was lovely, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole hotel needs an major update. Rooms extremely old fashioned and carpet smelled musty. Pool area could do with renovations as paint flaked and tiles broken.

    Food in the restaurant was lovely, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Will definately return to hotel for another holiday and recommend it to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated and could do with a face lift.will

    Food was excellent. Staff very friendly Pool areas very good. Nightly entertainment excellent.a

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is right on the beach so you can watch the waves...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a bit dated.

    The hotel is right on the beach so you can watch the waves from the comfort of the pool. We had breakfast and 1 meal included, the food was always good and varied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic holiday, really enjoyed staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have loved a cup of tea/coffee after dinner, but it was not available.

    Staff were very helpful, food was fantastic, entertainment every night in the bar. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed with the food in the evening meal this time (this was our 3rd stay at this hotel). Vegetarian options not great (salad or one hot meal) and deserts seemed to be the same every night and once gone were not replaced so get in early! Some meat dishes (according to partner) were tough or needed seasoning. We’d book breakfast only if we stayed again. Although we stayed in a superior room with sea view we’ve had better rooms at cheaper hotels just down the road. Didn’t expect to need to pay to hire a fridge and kettle. We’ve stayed in standard rooms in this hotel previously and couldn’t see any difference. You’re really just paying for the location with this hotel. In need of an upgrade now to keep up with its newer rivals.

    The location is perfect. On the beach and walking distance to bars and restaurants. Pool areas are also great and the hotel is very clean. Lots of loungers (although that didn’t stop the unnecessary 7am towel brigade).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Rubbish
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no other children for my 6 year old son to play with an no entertainment for adult I’ve been miss sold the hotel it’s for over50 year old people not children

    There was nothing about the hotel to like it was miss sold to me

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location but this hotel needs an overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff do not go out of there way to be friendly. The lounge area where the entertainment is on nightly, needs a total refurbishment, the chairs are thread bare . The pool side bar closes quite early which is a shame if you want to chill

    Location is very good and the choice of food, although buffet style is very good if you like buffet. The pool side entertainment is very popular which is a nice way to spend the day at the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Quite polite and helpful reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some small issues: No wi-fi in the room, dated decor and furniture. Some of restaurant staff should improve their customer service skills.

    Quite polite and helpful reception staff. Various ant tasty food. Very good location for rest and travelling around the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall an excellent Hotel and a great place to stay on Holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If we were to find a fault it would be with how we were treated at reception on our arrival. We would have expected to have got a a better welcome especially when we were new customers to this Hotel. We noticed that guests who have been there previously got a better welcome in the restaurant at dinner time and we thought everyone should be treated the same at the very least. The person getting cards signed for meals was quite surly.

    It was my first time staying in the Hotel and I was very impressed. The entertainment was excellent with a good variation and plenty of animation activities throughout the day. It is ideally located with bus stops and Taxi's right outside the Hotel. The food was excellent and such a varied choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have a good view, also the staff at reception were not as friendly or helpful as they could have been. We had to get our card key changed about 5 times in a week.

    Food & Entertainment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced and overrated.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very friendly and wi fi was only provided in one area of the hotel. Furnishings in the public areas were shabby.

    The location was very good. Dinner was not good value for money. Drinks were expensive. Room facilities like the safe and the fridge required extra payment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Room a bit tied but very nice sea view great friendly staff would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid £233 per night half board then were told we had to pay an extra 2 Euro to use the safe in our room it’s not the money it’s the principle we had a fallout in reception not what we wanted shame

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved the heated salt water swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Twin room was a little small although we did not spend much time indoors. Fan in the bathroom did not work.

    Loved the heated salt water swimming pool. Location of the property very convenient. Food and restaurant service was excellent. Beds were made and room cleaned by 9.00am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice views but needs to improve some basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in shower. Had to pay to use the minibar (empty). Cleaning ladies very noisy in early hours of morning banging doors etc. Despite putting out a do not disturb sign cleaners still came into room.

    Gorgeous views and walking distance to new town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Plane cancellation led to booking at San Antonio hotel. Stay was superb except the welcome was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were quiet cold and did not greet us hardly at all. Much the same on our departure. There was no drinking water in the room. On my departure I was charged 4.50€ for a bottle of water!! Sad for such a beautiful hotel. Most apartments on Lanzarote provide water to drink in rooms provided

    Food and staff in restaurants were excellent. As a Coeliac the staff were very helpful and there were many lovely items of safe food. Room was superb although a tiny bath. I am 1.88 m and could not fit in thw bath?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    We had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds are like BOARDSand they would badly need to get new PILLOWS are a disgrace.

    The location of this property is excellent, always entertainment in the evening and food wise plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    expected a higher standard from this 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the staff are very good but the hotel overall is getting quite shabby and run down looking.The reception area seating is quite uncomfortable and it was very cold to sit in for any length of time.I don't think ill be rushing back to me it is only 3 star quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    We loved the sauna, the steam room would be great to have also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to store luggage while waiting to be collected for the flight home. A kettle in the room to make tea would be lovely in the future.

    The under blanket was not very clean. The bed was ok but I don’t think sheets were changed all week. I loved the food it was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Hotel very good second visit and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a four star hotel you don't expect to have to pay for use of fridge.Bed a bit on firm side as were chairs in room but bare able

    The staff were all pleasant and efficient the entertainment very good and food faultless.the location good with walks either side of hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Good but could improved on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charges for basic requirements Nowhere warm or cosy to chill out

    Room was ok but didn’t expect to pay extra for safe , mini fridge , tea coffee making facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Good food excellent service in a slightly jaded hotel in good location but with uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is in need of a revamp décor wise and fit out as it hasn't seen much in that regard for many years, Its a bit tired but that said a lot of the guests seem to like it the way it is and appear to return very frequently. It is very clean and well kept, One thing to note is that we found the beds very hard and if you have a bad back you might consider someplace else.

    The food was excellent with a wide choice and freshly cooked. The fact that you can interchange dinner with lunch as an option on half board. The hotel is on the sea with location 3 kms from the centre of Puerto del Carmen. The 3kms walk is good for exercise and fitness, needed if you enjoy too much food in the restaurant. Staff are very helpful and the entertainment at night is welcome especially for the guests of an older age profile.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    The Hotel is in an excellent location the staff are nice the hotel public areas are a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a Superior Room which turned out to be just a renovated room (what will happen to the price of this room when ALL the rooms are renovated?) The view was over the tennis courts so not even a Sea view or even a GOOD PARTIAL Sea View room was given considering we paid for a Superior Room. When I complained about this to Reception they offered to change the room to a GOOD PARTIAL Sea View (not even full Sea View) renovated room for an extra €108. My advice, don't bother paying extra unless you JUST want a renovated room which only means a bathroom with no bath (we didn't mind this as we like to have showers) a more sturdy bed and laminate flooring that's it! There's nothing more to the renovated room than that so if you care about a sea view room (some people don't as they feel they won't be spending time in their room anyway)save your money don't upgrade to the renovated room just book the normal room until all the the rooms are renovated then choose accordingly to your expectations of your room view preference.

    It's a good hotel in the sense there are areas where you can relax that are not necessarily around the pool. They have a lovely terrace with umbrellas if you want to be shielded from the Sun, but still want to enjoy the warmth of the day along with the Pool,Sea and Beach views. There are plenty of Sunbeds, in season get there early though, as most of them will have towels on them placed there by other guests so they can have a Sunbed when they come back from an excursion, shopping etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Except for the problem with the bed, stay was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Returned from holiday home with sore shoulders and back as the bed mattress springs were protruding. Mattresses need replacing.

    Friendly atmosphere in hotel, excellent location and food. Prices have increased a lot since last stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and I would recommend it to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    seats in bar not very comfortable.

    Food quality is excellent. Restaurant staff most professional. I keep returning to the San Antonio, being there three times last year and will be back in a couple of months for my second 2018 stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Good pool and location but disappointed by many aspects of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable. 11euro charge to hire safe was excessive (I've never had this anywhere before). Charge to use fridge also unacceptable.

    Nice pool. Good location. Decent food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Most relaxing, good food and entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music at night a little too loud and perhaps could be turned off when musicians take break and let people talk for awhile

    Nice walks along beach and down promenade

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed my stay in The San Antonio Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the Staff have very poor people skills especially on Hotel Reception and in the Dining room, a warm welcoming smile would not go amiss, those Staff under rate the Hotel. The food for the evening meal was getting repitive after the 3rd evening. The décor in Hotel is drab it needs a facelift.

    Facilities in hotel are very good, lovely sea view bedroom balconies, the beds are very comfortable. Great breakfast variety, nightly entertainment good, hotel daily activities suitable for all guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.8
    Reasonably enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel is a bit dated and would do with renovation. The carpet in our bedroom was stained. We received 2 identification cards (one each) when checking in. For the first couple of nights in the Restaurant we only needed to produce one card to identify our Room Number......3 or 4 nights into our Holiday, we were approached by a "gentleman"......looked like restaurant Manager as he was dressed different (Jacket/Tie) to other staff. He was rude when we only had one room identification card. We accept there must be rules but this rudeness was unacceptable. Other Restaurant staff were very friendly.

    We got good value and the staff at Reception were vey nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Looking forward to going back again sometime this year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was excellent,our third time back to the San Antonio The staff in the dining room especially Michael and marcel were very friendly .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    We will NOT be staying in the San Antonio again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was small and very dated. The guests in other rooms and TV's could be overheard. No sound proofing. The staff in the restaurant were NOT friendly. Too many people in the restaurant....like a cattle mart. The floor levels in the hotel meant that there were a lot of steps everywhere. The hairdresser charged 30 EURO for a wash and blow dry which is an outrageous price!

    Location and view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Lanzarote sunshine in January
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally, nothing.

    From the moment of arrival to departure the overall experience was extremely positive. Staff were always happy to oblige and to be of assistance. The location, on the sea front, made it an ideal facility for a holiday and the Half Board offering was first class.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    From the moment I walked in the staff were very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 28 nights

    I liked my complete stay

    From the moment I walked in the staff were very friendly and helpful . I cant fault the organization and professionalism of the staff over the Christmas and New Year period .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Pool area and facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Found the bed was very hard. think they should up grade the beds to the big comfy ones that you can get. The hairdressing salon was expensive. they should display the prices on a notice board. I have very short hair and it cost 25 euro for a blow dry. it didn't need much drying, (15 mins) I just wanted a bit of body in my hair which I couldn't achieve with hairdryer provided in the room.

    Pool area and facilities were great. staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    A hotel in great location and amazing food with poor WiFi and balcony design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is only in one area and is very poor. There is an extra charge for tea/coffee facilities in the room, for use of the fridge and the safe. While our room did have a sea view as advertised, you had to stand on the balcony to see it because as soon as you sit down it disappears due to the balcony design which is a real shame.

    The hotel was very well located. The food (we went half board) was amazing and varied every night. The beds were very comfortable and facilities clean and managed well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    I travel on my own to hotel so i feel safe and.secure.there, the.staff.from.the.frontline.to.the.cle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im not happy with the policy of holding a Deposit on your card,it states free cancellation, so I dont see the purpose if holding an amount and then if you cancel within the time framed,you have to wait for the refund,?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Hotel has excellent location right at water's edge -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked the option of B&B as opposed to Half Board as all that food can be a little overpowering!

    Hotel has excellent location right at water's edge - most enjoyable stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location but beds soooo uncomfortable i would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff in the restaurant are horrible rude. They come and ask for cards while you are having your meal which is annoying. They never smile, just shrug their shoulders and grunt and cannot speak any English. Beds are like lying on hard cement. Would not stay again because of this

    Excellent location. Food was lovely. Right on the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointed in this hotel. Wouldn't class this hotel as 4 Star very very old and dated. Would'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very disappointed in this hotel. Wouldn't class this hotel as 4 Star very very old and dated. Wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone between the ages of 30-50

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The requirement for gentlemen to wear full length trousers to dinner. Why is this requirement not extended to ladies, why the gender discrimination?

    Lovely bar and great food. Overall a nice hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Our fourth stay, hotel very good, needs updating, entertainment the same every year, needs to change
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    . The buffet in the evening could have been better, although there was plenty of variety, the quality could have been better, sometimes the meat was tough, maybe using cheaper cuts, very little seafood

    They upgraded us to a room with a large balcony and superb views, it was my husbands birthday, lovely surprise, with cava and fruit,. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Not bad but the food poisoning took two days from my holiday. I am a person who rarely gets sick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I and several other guests got food poisoning. When I mentioned this at reception the lady told me that this due to a stomach virus and nothing to do with the hotel. This is a rediculous answer. In hot climates if food is not attended carefully bacteria will grow in the food and cause illness. The hotel staff refusing to acknowledge this simple fact indicates that they do not intend to deal with this problem. When I informed the staff at the desk that I am a medical specalist the lady receptionist told me that her doctor was also a specialist and that the problem was due to a virus. They have a problem which they seem to be ignoring.

    Room was ok and the location good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Will stay somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food buffet ....good variety ....but quality of cuts of meat were suspect...they need to source a better supplier for their meats...they have a lock on fridge ....so you have to pay for fridge in your room ....room carpets need to be replaced with laminates....as some of the carpets were well passed their best before date...4.80 for pint of heineken is probably doulbe the norm ....no wifi in rooms so everyone has to go to lobby ....a bit strange for 2017..... a lot of staff at front desk are young and inexperianced ....this place needs a good shake up ....

    good location next to the sea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Meets all we want from a short holiday. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the first floor and thought the drinks machine was noisy but managed to sleep after a while.

    The staff even remembered us from our last visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant but not great for me personally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given my slightly limited mobility and the fact that I was travelling solo I did not like every meal to be buffet style, "waiters" were just "plate clearers" , the wine waiting was abysmal, there were too many steps to negotiate and lifts needed understanding.

    The staff, the wide choice for mealtimes, the friendly service at the poo bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    The sea view from our bedroom was very good,which was also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was not much that we did not like. Both swimming pool were very cold. The sea was great to swim in but the area where you could get into the pool from outside the hotel is very stony. Maybe some effort could be made to clear some of the stones and make it easier for people who want to min the sea to do so.

    The sea view from our bedroom was very good,which was also south facing we had sun on our balcony from morning to evening. It was good that we could get directly from the hotel to the beech. The food was very good wit a different theme every evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Lovely views, lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in reception and restaurant inconsistent. Some staff very helpful others grumpy and unhelpful. Inconsistent quality & variety of food in evenings.

    Location, cleanliness of pool areas, balcony in room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Great food and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel room was a bit tired. It is in need a bit of modernisation. Charging for the use of the fridge in the room is a bit much. I've never come across that anywhere else.

    The best thing about this hotel was the quality of the food. All meals were excellent, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great variety in the menus. Top class. Pool areas very nice. Kids loved the mini disco too. Will return again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, great food, very clean , great entertainment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friendly staff, great food, very clean , great entertainment at night , great pool and beach access perfect location , bus and taxi's outside, room cleaned spotless every day. Amazing hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    We have stayed probably 8 times approx, we feel we won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found some staff at reception poor ,we had same guy at check in and out ,never welcomed us made absolutely no effort ,on checking out was abrupt,did not engage us in any manner ,we were disappointed , I want to say other reception staff were excellent

    Food was pretty good , some selections quiet poor for IE Chinese one evening very poor , overall quiet good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    A most relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is poor, and only available in lobby

    This is my 4th visit to this hotel, this year. Feel quite at home as staff are friendly. Food is good. Room thoug dated is very clean and comfortable with a lovely view of beach and sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    enjoyable until we had to leave and was forced to book a taxi even though I had paid for shuttle bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    transfer on shuttle from hotel to airport on return trip. had to book a taxi. could not get through to book the shuttle bus . staff in hotel did not help to arrange it.

    food.location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would say, that hotel needs to be updated. Some decor looks really dated.

    Very good food, good location, very friendly and helpful staff, got nice room with sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Our sort of hotel, with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some room maintenance was needed in our 2nd room (we did 2 two day stays in our 11 day trip) but the 1st room was very good. On the left wing of rooms, some stairs before you could reach a lift with your luggage was a shame.

    The hotel was built with good quality fittings and we think it was good to look at. It is close to many shops although cafes seem to be in short supply. (coffee can be had in the many bars) Views over to Fuertaventura are fine from many places on "The Strip".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location , instant access to the beach , infinity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were very outdated. Double room ended up being a room with 2 very uncomfortable single beds dressed separately & pushed together. The tiles in the shower had mould on them. The sun chairs around the pool were very uncomfortable also.

    Excellent location , instant access to the beach , infinity pool was amazing & always a great selection of different foods available throughout the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    2.5
    Overall an excellent holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet could do with a change on bedroom and mattress a bit hard and a double bed instead of two singles

    The staff were so helpful and really friendly . Hotel is in a great location..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    No wifi in the room, over price for the condition of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, over price for the condition of the hotel it's 80s place with 2017 prices, every little extra they want to charge you like a fridge in the room 12e for week

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    A good stay but hotel looks a bit tired and needs to be modernised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times staff were a bit pedantic and clearly wanted guests to comply with their directions rather than be put to any bother. The exception to this were the cleaning staff who were excellent. The majority of guests were elderly although this may have been related to the dates we visited which were not during school holidays.

    Good options available for breakfast. Rooms very clean. Hotel in a good location with access directly to the beach. Lovely swimming pools.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Fabulous location and lovely pools, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One or two of the staff at the pool side bar could have been a little friendlier. I went into the gym to check it out and there is no way I could have spent much time there as it was unbearably hot but that's just me. Also some of the staff in the restaurant seemed to have 'favourites' and were very polite to some people who were returning guests but barely spoke a word to others and seemed to be reserving tables I was just about to sit at a table when I was informed it was for 4 persons and not 2. less than 10 minutes later a couple were directed by the same staff member to this table. He also took away the wine menu just as I was about to sit at another table and spoke to us not particularly well We let it go as it would have taken a lot to spoil our holiday. we laughed it off, but I would have been upset if my parents were treated as such. Also you cannot take food or drink from the dining room. It would have been nice to take our coffee up to the reception area Also noticed that reception staff are multi lingual which is fantastic

    The décor of the property is a little dated but shouldn't really matter We have just come back and would like to advise that this property caters to an older clientele The majority of guests were over 50 and the hotel is suitable for those with mobility issues. Its not the liveliest of hotels and the entertainment was not suitable for us. But we really loved the location and we were happy just to use the hotel for sleeping or sitting by the pool. It was the perfect location for a relaxing vacation and the range of food on offer is superb the hotel is really clean and it appears that the staff are cleaning most of the day, toilets in public areas are spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs modernising and the buffet needs more options because you are eating there every night.

    Excellent location and staff are brilliant. Facilities are excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Ticked all the boxes, wonderful relaxing enjoyable holiday in San Antonio hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fridge in the room should be included in the cost of the room. If you are all-inclusive - Safety Deposit Box and Fridge is in included.

    Location excellent, we had a renovated room and it was perfect. Just one thing you have to pay for the fridge -€12 to have it opened and use it... we were half board and just felt this was an extra cost that the hotel didn't need to pass on to its guests. The food, rooms, staff were all excellent. What stood out was the professional shows each evening and also the activities during the day. Lovely atmousphere. We had a wonderful week, will definitly be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no aircondition in the restaurant or the cocktail bar making it extremely uncomfortable There are to many seats in the restaurant making it extremely difficult to pass through Drink expensive

    The food was very good with a varied selection The room was lovely with sea view Staff were friendly and helpful Pool area very good and very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 14 nights

    WiFi unreliable - sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't - should be 100% reliable, and ideally available in rooms as well. Some of the male waiting staff were incompetent and borderline rude.

    Food excellent, particularly dinner in the evening - great selection, good quality. Nice staff. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    A lovely place to stay with great food and efficient reception staff . Rooms are well kept .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager of the bar staff was a disgrace - his gruff manner, the way he treated and publicly gave out to them was embarrassing. The staff themselves were hard working, friendly and engaging. He needs to be removed from front of house role. Ramon stood out as an exceptional bar tender and should be promoted. A beautiful hotel but is a little tired - whole pool area needs some refurbishment - flaking paint at pool tiles, rusty leaking water fonts and a gym with alot of equipment out of order

    Air conditioned rooms Food selection was excellent, fresh and well presented

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    very
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No WiFi in room. Signal in lobby very weak. Restaurant and bar very uncomfortable.aur conditioning not working. No tables outside for dinner

    Room lovely wit big balcony. Great food. Location excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Ok, but things would need to be upgraded for the money we pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It the overall hotel needs to be upgraded, we have now stayed there over the past 10 years and no improvements have been done,, even for kids and adults they could do a little more at the pool during the day, also the night shows are boring.

    The pool, but beds in very bad condition, you could relax,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    I would definitely stay here again, but it would have to cost less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 1 member of staff at reception was not very welcoming, and being on my own I found it very off putting.

    Food good and staff very friendly. What is meant by genius perks at the Vik San Antonio Hotel?. The rooms are quite old, and the one I was in had quite a stale smell in it, that never went away even with the patio door being left open a lot of the time, but in spite of this I do like this Hotel. I have been here before, but for 1 person in a room, I think it is quite expensive. I have heard this from a few people before, so I would prefer a better price when i'm on my own, it's fine when I am staying with friend. I do not use the pool or the fitness centre so i cannott coment on those.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful as my daughter has a gluten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in bar and lobby wasn't great especially at night.

    Staff were very helpful as my daughter has a gluten intolerance . Food was lovely great selection for dinner . Staff work very hard .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Restaurant manager very rude I was seated alone every night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff attitude

    Restaurant manager very rude I was seated alone every night half board he used to check my card which I took of if my purse to give to him and he just threw it back on the table afterwards ...he seemed flustered but that was hardly my fault he seemed annoyed I wouldn't order a drink with my meal every night but I only like a glass of wine later on...apart from that the San Antonio is lovely as always, my third stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok but had but much better in other Lanzarote propetties
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar staff were very rude The food was ok but lots of pork or lamb very repititive over the week Life guard rarely seen Pool area tables and beds were very dirty even first thing in morning Pathway round pool very slippy could easily cause an accident Wifi rarely worked All Spanish n German tv channels

    Good pool and size of bedroom Great shower in bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean, Quality hotel but slightly dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the entertainment could have been better but I only experienced it twice in the hotels defence.

    In answer to the questions above, I could see the beach from my balcony it looked clean but I never went on it. I wasn't aware of a fitness centre at my facility so can't comment. The room was suitable for 1 it was a little dated and I would have liked a kettle so I could have made a drink in my room, but overall the room was okay for 1 person. I had a sea view so I can't complain. It was however only from the left of my balcony not looking straight over the sea as you would suggest a sea view would be. But pleasant all the same. Overall the Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean, slightly dated but quality furnishings. I enjoyed my stay and would go back again if visiting lanzarote in the future. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Ticks all my boxes for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun beds. Comfy sun beds with mattress would be lovely

    This hotel is the ideal location for a relaxing holiday. Everyone so welcoming and helpful at the hotel. Location perfect right on the beach best of both worlds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with my elderly mother and before arrival I emailed the hotel to ask for special requirements and they did everything that I asked. Evelyn who works in the bar was exceptional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Lovely area tired hotel & grumpy reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff rude and grumpy. Wi-Fi was only available in public areas & only worked for 3 out of 10 days

    The breakfast choice was very good. The cleaning staff were very nice & our room was cleaned yo a high stsndard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    The views from the hotel are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The heat in the bar at night meant we could not stay and have a drink while watching the show. The heat some nights in the dining room was unbearable. There was no airconditioning in these areas and it was very warm.The cleanliness in the bathroom near the pool could be improved and the smell is terrible there at times.

    The views from the hotel are amazing. The staff at reception are always very patient and helpful. The staff in the diningroom are very professional. The choice of food in the restaurant is very good. Gianni is brilliant,.Enjoyed all the sports especially the dancing in the pool at 12:30. The rooms are cleaned every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Best Puerto del Carmen Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking.com stated that we would be allowed the facility for keeping our room on. This was a blatant misrepresentation of the Hotel

    The ambiance was superb, food variety was excellent and staff were helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse VIK Hotel San Antonio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: