Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sands Beach Resort 4 stars

Avenida Islas Canarias, 18, 35508 Costa Teguise, Spain

#36 of 74 hotels in Costa Teguise

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 822 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place could do with a face lift / modernization, including the furnishings,

    the Beds 🛏 was ok ,, all I needed was in place , shower bath 🛀 functional,, nicely equipped,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to not like really.

    We used this hotel for 1 night before flying home , have now found a real gem for our next visit . The facilities and staff are great . They cater for all ages and abilities and have a safe areas for little ones. There were a lot of families staying at sands. With the five different mini complexes it is easy to find what you are looking for , great walks along the beach front as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They just make up the bed instead of cleaning the apartment and we had some dead cockroaches every morning and then we still see the dead bodies.

    Apartments are cozy and the gym equipments are great. Also the sports activities are very interesting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Renovations on the apartments during peak season and not telling the guests. Especially when you wake up to work being carried out on your balcony. Inside the furniture is outdated, needs upgrading.

    Plenty of pools and space around them, Gym was clean and quite to get in a good workout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like liked it all ,everything met our expectations.

    Excellent position . Near beaches,eateries and shops. Room was comfortable with good facilities. Staff at reception were very pleasant as was the lady who cleaned the room who told us she had worked at the hotel for 13 years.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The studio apartment was dark and very basic, the bed was too small for two people and a lot of things I.e lights, sunbeds were broken. Ended up having to pay to upgrade the room which was slightly better although still found broken things and dark rooms

    The beach was lovely and staff friendly. The gym was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi mostly don’t work an tv is poor and very few not Spanish channels (no bbc or itv ni eurosport)

    Really good apartmants and all the instalaciones, very clean and pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably a bit out of the way so limited as where to eat but we found a few decent eateries .

    If you like being squeezed next to other people then Benidorm for you . So much space and the 6 pools were very clean . No honestly really good and an English pub opposite.👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and needs updating badly. No where near worth the price. However it was also dirty which is unacceptable. Our patio gas a dumped lilo, the kitchen floor had dead insects and the bathroom wall had hair and the floor dirty and had pubic hairs. The resort was half empty but we were put in a horrible room as far from reception as possible with 2 small kids. We asked if we could park on road close to the room (which was down a gated road) as there were only about 4 cars in the whole road and it was €20 for one night!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in the room seems a bit on the cheap side, and could be better with a bit of a revamp. At least new beds, matress and pillows. Blackouts for windows would definetely help if you are seeking to have a late morning sleep.

    Room is functional and simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the rooms were adequate they were outdated. The worst thing was, where we were located all the people coming and going ( from 5am ) with their suitcases was so noisy with the wheels rolling on the tiles.

    Area is lovely, lots of shopping, restaurants and bars, Lovely beaches. Great bus service. Jump on the bus to Puerto del Carmen about 40 mins, if you like all the above you'll love it there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave us the wrong room - 2 bedrooms instead of 3. Got a refund after complaining for 3 days but still waiting on any kind of apology. Evening entertainment not as family focussed as it used to be. Lots of local add on fees which can add up - pool side loungers, wifi, safes etc

    Good buffet meals which catered for most appetites. Beach front apartments are lovely. Reasonable kids club activities which keep the littlest ones happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit better kitchen equipment such as a coffee caffitier utensils. Next time we wudbring a small washing up liquid tea towels etc...

    The pool areas lots to choose and the studios very spacious the resort was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment in the Soleil bar was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel, in particular the singer called Claire was terrible. In fact she was so bad it was almost comedic.

    Brilliant location and amenities. Staff unfailingly friendly and helpful. Kids club very good, lovely staff, my youngest went by choice nearly every day of our holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We went for the half-board option but we were very disappointed with the selection of food at dinner. Also there were no drinks included - not even the local beer/vino and we had to pay for bottled water at dinner that was free at breakfast. The onsite supermarket was very expensive but the opening hours were great in case you were stuck at any stage.

    We really liked the layout of the complex. We had a beach-front apartment which was great with the children but almost every apartment in the resort was facing a pool and everyone had their own sunbeds. The staff were really lovely and helpful and very responsive. The view from the Mai Tai terrace was lovely and we were only a stones throw from the main beach. Main shopping and restaurant areas only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains that covered upstairs and downstairs windows were clean but not hanging right and the dingy colour spoiled the appearance of the lovely windows Furniture was dated but you had all that you needed

    Plenty of room in the apartment, kitchen was good to make meals for the children, every thing was clean And having two bathrooms was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. Oh the bed. Last time we had an appalling fold down studio bed. It was awful. I felt crippled from the first night as did the other half. This time we booked a one bedroom apartment on the basis that a permanent bed (not fold down) would be better. No. After seven days my back was awful, I contemplated sleeping on the sofa. I finally sorted it on day 7 for the remaining 4 days by using the padding foam I’d used to pack my bike in.

    I love the 25m swimming pool with lanes. This makes Sands worth visiting. I quite like the buffet but at 24E you’ve got to be sure you’re hungry before you go!!! Rooms are functional as a base for training and it’s worth requesting a non-disabled access room if you don’t want to spend the week navigating around access bars in the bathroom as we did last time we stayed. Good amount of space in rooms to store and construct bikes and dedicated bike wash area in back lane. Housekeepers come in daily to freshen it up with new towels etc and bedding a few times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated and generally not the cleanest. The beds are also quite uncomfortable. The ramps around the resort for wheelchairs and buggies are far too steep and treacherous in the wet.

    Good gym and training facilities on site, and a well stocked supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose self-catering but catering was impossible as the pull-down bed was fixed against cupboards and cooking area. There was a huge sideboard where the bed could have been instead. Nobody wants to sleep beside a sink on holiday.

    Loved location and quiet yet easy access to restaurant. Staff v helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the older rooms need a little TLC.

    Myself and my wife went to the Sands Beach in late March 2018. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved the private beach with the beds. The pool areas looked lovely and well maintained but we spent all our time at the beach. The Mai Tai pool bar staff were really nice, especially Noel. We had breakfast every day there, (only €3.50 per person). The room was nice and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Only a short walk (10 mins) to the main area with plenty of bars and restaurants. Great value for money. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned studio, still has a brown bathroom suite! Could do with a general upgrade inside. The bed was pretty uncomfortable and could be bigger as the room was spacious enough.

    Nice and quiet, lively pool areas and reception staff were lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture needs updating

    The staff and location are amazing. The amenities are great but the rooms need updating. They are outdated. The views made up for it though

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 29 nights

    1. Internet reception in room was poor and subject to an extra charge of 25 euro per week. 2. Some maintenance problems and holes found in sheets on several occasions 3. More flexible dining hours would have been welcome with freshly cooked meals availiable throughout the day.

    Excellent view of beach. Our room overlooked lido which has its own beach and restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glazed tiles that surrounded all ares were lethal when wet , we slipped on many occasions . The staff that ran around in the electric buggies went far to fast around the apartments. If a small child had run out of an apartment to the pool they would not have stood a chance .

    Very nice clean , happy complex . Would recommend to families especially.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could do with a snack bar round the pool

    staff were so friendly and helpful the apartment was so clean and had everything we needed will be going back soon

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reason for stay - flight cancelled due to severe weather at home. Aware of resort and fortunate to be able to accommodate us at short notice and at a particularly stressful time. However, poor service received from reception. Advised room would be available after 14.00 which was really appreciated . Returned to be told another half hour ? Ok still grateful as before check in time of 16.00 . 45 mins still waiting in reception and had to check again... yes available? Would have been left waiting if no enquiry made. Room ... although cleaned was overwhelmed by smell of bleach and needed to open windows /doors. 1x sun lounger? Queried and advised 1 per 1 bed apartment ??? Overall poor condition of this apartment , bathroom had no shower gel, shampoo etc , had foul smell , needs some updating , well worn furnishings. Given our circumstances it was a brief stay and although grateful for occupancy it was not one I would choose or recommend .

    Facilities available were excellent ... Good selection of activities available Supermarket was well stocked , choice of fresh goods .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants all over the kitchen worktops and sink so I wouldn't want to use the kitchen to cook, dated furniture and short beds, I'm only 5ft 3in and my feet were off the edge of the bed.

    What you would expect from a 3*, although the apartment was dated, the majority of it was clean and comfortable. Great location as it is within walking distance of many bars and restaurants which was a good job as the kitchen was crawling in ants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartmentvwas a little tired. Wardrobe doors hard to open. Window leaked in rain but they came and fixed it so no harm done. Self catering equipmemt poor. No tea towel, no whisk, no wooden spoon etc. We asked for a coffee pot and they gave us one so that was good.

    The staff we're so friendly and helpful. Loved the look of the resort and location. Loved the pool- one for each set of apartments.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner in la hacienta restaurant onsite was limited and expensive. I recommend walking or drivimg to any of dozens of nearby restaurants or cooking in apartment instead.

    Beach front one bed apartment number 26 was in the perfect location for us. One minute from the Mai Two pool and bar where full English breakfast was incredible value at €3.50. Two minutes from private secure car park and 3 minutes from reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    not only did we have to pay for the Wifi (E6 per day or E25 per week) unless we sat in the bar, but it only applied to one appliance, so that to transfer from phone to ipad we had to load one, log out, log into other and then download. A real pain.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room leaked from the roof, not much of the hotel was explained of what there was etc, the room was nothing to what I thought because of the pictures on the website, only one double bed.

    The beach was a 2 minute walk and staff were friendly and spoke good English

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resort bars and restaurants were understaffed while we were there in February. I understand that it was quiet, but there was still a need for more staff. The resort was lovely for a relaxing weekend and caters well to older people but i think we would get quite bored as a young couple here for too long.

    We arrived early and were able to use the resort facilities including the pool, sun loungers, restaurants and bars while we waited for check in to open. The Full English breakfast in the Mai Tai restaurant was great value for money and having a supermarket onsite was very handy for snacks, sunscreen and much needed Aloe Vera lotion. The rooms are full apartments including kitchen and living area and the layout of the resort is beautiful. The resort was also nice and quiet in late February

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put all in first tx

    Apt/room ok but quite dated / old fashioned The wood areas in the rooms looked really bad you could paint them white or cream or you can put a oil treatment to enhance the wood after sanding For a winter letting too cold & drafty Would be nice place to stay off season Restaurant s too far and dark, awkward to get too. Didn't get to try buffet had meal first nite in little island place quite nice setting I went to reception to ask re internet staff a lady quite rude just said not included in your stay That's really out of date in any large hotel Also patio door didn't join well and hard to lock Loved the area and whole set up would probaly be fine in April may June not too packed I was staying in Mala for a holiday my sister resides there just fancied checking out that end of costa Thinking of buying a retirement property already have one in Portugal on the algarve Look forward to a trip another time We can't predict the weather

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant staff, great facilities, catered for sporting needs. Lovely lagoon/beach bar-restaurant, main restaurant for breakfast and dinner good. Good bar area. Upgraded for a good price to a nice suite/apartment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was very tired and well used. Its very much in need of some TLC. Sofa and bed where uncomfortable and felt damp at times.

    The outside space was good in the resort. Thank goodness for the small fan heater

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors and windows fix them ...put heaters in for the time off year . at night only

    Bed was to small ..Bed cloths wear very good ..Bed not for a man ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately our 2 apartments were out-of-date and in need of refurbishment. Plenty of bedding on request for cold nights in February. Seat cushions kept sliding off the sofa bed - most uncomfortable. We had to ask for cushions to lean on. No chair in one of the apartments. Doors needed refitting, wall hooks for towels or clothes were loose, broken shelves in fridge, water came in through the window and skylights after heavy rain, very poor reception for most tv stations with British programmes the worst. An uninspiring buffet menu for dinner though plenty of choice. Heated pool hardly any different from unheated.

    My husband and I travelled with our two adult sons and we each had a superior triple room on the beach front. The size of the apartment was good. Our sons particularly enjoyed the gym facilities. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was in poor condition Sofa was really really awful Apartment was cold Pools are unusable in Jan weather too cold

    Beach front location Away from main resort centre Outdoorsy feel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately my accommodation did not get the sun as I was on the wrong side and could not change as no other accommodation available but I will know which numbers to book in future.

    The staff were particularly friendly and could not do enough for you no matter what the request was from local information to on site queries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been an oven in room & clean comfortable sofas to sit on.

    English breakfast in mai tai was excellent & great value for money. Nicely laid out resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited utensils in apartment . Apartments need a little decorative attention. Bath over shower would be unstable for older clientele . A little over priced

    Good variety of cusine available. Suits all tastes and prices

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The first studio I was given was grotty and smelly and not of a suitable standard. Old and worn with a terrible smell of damp. I paid extra to be moved to beachfront on third day and this was so much better. Newer and fresher and totally different.

    Evening entertainment good. Quiet at night so good for sleeping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to upgrade to accommodate us. Though the apartment was spotless it was a little dated.

    Apartment was spotless. Good location for us but if you wanted other shops and restaurants it is a little distance walk. Great walking opportunities and Bus route was good into arricife station and then change. We went on grand tour which was a good day out. Weather during day was lovely and hot out of the wind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not check in until 4. got fed up waiting. pool wasn't heated. lot of small bugs in our room not a great deal to do here and had to walk absolutely miles from car park to room .

    The room was good as bedroom is seperate to kitchen and living room and walks straight onto a beachy area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom needed airing every day as there was a damp smell. No real evidence of damp on any surfaces though.

    Location was good for us, not noisy but near enough to centre around 15 - 20 mins walk into main square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a huge complex and although fine for our stay I would not like to stay at a really busy time as could feel very crowded.

    The staff are one of the greatest assets of this hotel particularly at reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drink prices in the bar are very expensive.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, with excellent English. Great sports facilities. The resort has a very relaxed feel with great facilities and very clean. Highly recommended and would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a room near the reception due to my husband's health. They put us at the furthest point at a laned sports pool where it was constantly full of athletes using hotel facilities. Not impressed by that. Very poor customer service a gala day took place for sportsmen. Could not even sit outside as people were sitting on our veranda.

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There wasn't anything.

    I found the resort wonderfully clean and the staff very attentive. It is at an amazing location and our four children were very happy there also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, run Down Apartments. A little pricey in December for the standard of the Apartments. I’ve stayed in far more modern AirBnBs for way less money. Coffee was awful.

    Lanzarote is great if you want winter sun, the island is very fake in general but very beautiful if you get away from the resorts. The Apartments at Sands Beach are ok, they need some renovations as they are beginning to show their age, the sofa was very old and barely usable. The bed was fine but in general they are very old and run down. Having said that the staff are very welcoming and there was nothing as such wrong with the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once or twice the water was cold for showers , entertainment in the bar was very poor especially new year's Eve

    Very spacious apartment spotless clean , rooms cleaned every day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    mice in the room so we were moved to another room which was right under the bar. So noise was a problem along with outside lighting coming through the skylight. The bed was also in need of replacing. We were on a training holiday so a proper night sleep would have been great. In short i think the rooms need some money spent on them. we will not be returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is quit a walk from the beachfront to the main entrance and reception. We rented a parking place so we parked our car a few steps from our room at the beachfront.

    The room was big and clean, all the needs are there. It was actually an apartment with the service of an hotel. So everyday the room was cleaned, towels changed etc. The pool at the Man Tai is heated so our kids enjoyed it very much! Our room at the Beachfront is really to recommend! Kids playing at the beach and we as parents enjoying a drink in your private terrace. Loved it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a studio and the bed was a fold out one from the wall, not very comfortable Room was very bright during the night, sunlights, stained glass, thin curtains all let light in Kitchen items very limited and no tea towel provided Had to pay extra for restaurant sun beds Very old and dated Entertainment was entertaining for the wrong reasons

    Rather big complex with 6 pools and a beach inlet Supermarket onsite was handy but we walked mostly to the cheaper one down the road Close to airport (about a 25€ taxi) Onsite tennis court

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The are some items like microwave kettle that are outdated and could do with an upgrade. Also would be nice for the property to provide with some clothes dryer railings

    Amazing resort for families with kids. we had a 4 year old with us and she had a great time.. the staff are amazing and for every request our query was dealt with promptly...we will definitely be returning to this place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in general was expensive on the property. We tried to get Christmas dinner in hotel restaurant. Was told it was 59e plus tax which was rather expensive. Got it down town later for 35e and was excellent.

    It was a lovely location by the beach but also lots of pools. Bus stop was just 5 minutes down from hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the apartment was never warmer than lukewarm.

    The hideaway bed in the cupboard made the apartment much more spacious during the day. Extra blankets as the apartment was chilly in the nighttime.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening entertainment for adults was pretty poor and failed to connect with the audience. The Beatles tribute band was good but dated and the Flamenco show was cancelled. There was nothing modern, no disco and everything stopped around 10pm. Altogether rather disappointing.

    The apartment was comfortable, spacious, well equipped and had a beautiful view. The hotel’s facilities were fabulous with swimming pools, an excellent gym, a children’s entertainment program and helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bar/coffe area in reception, maybe...tiles very slippy..."heated" pool not so warm!

    friendly helpful staff. quality accommodation, excellent view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed in the room could have better and firmer mattress. We tried the food in Lido but it was not the quality we expected. Breakfast was good value in Lido but not the buffet. we tended to eat outside the hotel.

    All facilities, staff and access was very good. nice location and good to see you continue to sponsor and support organising the Lanzarote Marathon. Pool and cleanliness excellent. Reception staff were really helpful organising a hire car at very short notice. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of WiFi without payment or sitting in a bar area. Plastic sheets on beds. The sometimes unhelpful attitude of the lady at the trips desk. Poor standard of accommodation. Advertised as 4 star instead of 3plus. Damaged steps. Unclean and broken outdoor tables and parasols. Healthy diet in smaller bars. Leaking windows in wet weather. Shelving and rails in cupboards and wardrobes too high to reach.

    Very quiet in separate areas. Francesca and Jenny who undertook a lot of activities eg yoga, stretching, Zumba, Pilates made the holiday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Beach View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches, ants, power cut and only generators to reception. Wifi was poor and chargeable. Was told on arrival to book direct in future and not with booking.com Card machine broke in the shop. €7 charge for some sun beds. Cost us €17 to do 1 wash of clothes.

    The hotel charge a €300 bond to your card for services. And calculate things wrong. And then it takes upto 20 days to get the money not spent unblocked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the dirty knickers left by the previous occupant in the first room we were offered. We were instantly moved. The view out of the bedroom window was a 15 feet wall. The man made beach surrounded a filthy lagoon that nobody would even paddle in and which was surrounded by a huge black wall for the sea side promenade. The actual local beach was too rocky to access, but there was a lovely beach about 5 mins walk. There are extra charges for sunbed towels, wifi, the room safe and access to the pool beds at Mai Tai. The hotel supermarket is expensive.

    The rooms were big and spacious with lots of storage space. There were 6 different pools so different options. Sunbeds are free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little dated but didn’t affect our stay

    Very clean the staff were helpful. We used the gym every day the facilities were very good. We used the hotel supermarket which was reasonable price wise. Cost us 1.60 for 5 litres of water which was same price as the surrounding shops

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was basic and could with an upgrade. But i was still able to have a workoit. That was the only 'negative' about the resort.

    Accommodation was clean and spacious. Had everything I needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    DANGEROUS: The room service always left our door open. It is not a hotel, just tiny, smelly and dirty apartments. The bed was very little, uncomfortable and a pull-down. The bedsofa was dirty, old and the cushioning ripped apart. No flatscreen, just an old tube TV with 2 German and English channels. The remote was broke. The staff was very rude and accusing when we asked for help. Everything they do just costs extra.

    Nothing to be honest

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The apartment we stayed in, Canarias 13, was tired and needs a bit of tender loving care. It is the same as when we first used it almost ten years ago. The furniture is looking old, the sofa-bed very used and uncomfortable (as a sofa) and the general feel of the apartment was that it needs updating. Where do you find CRT televisions these days except Sands Beach? They're all flat screens now! Rules are rules so why not enforce them? i.e. no reserving sunbeams, no inflatables in the pools etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic Hotel, great location and facilities. Very efficient and hardworking on cleanliness and services. Superb children’s entertainment and fitness traing centre. Wonderful staff looking after your every need. A bus stop away or a taxi and your off on an adventure. Great selection of fresh foods available within the hotel and a small walk into the lively part of town. Perfect setting for water sports, cycling hiking and running. Great place for all members of the family!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    more plush furnishings in room. pictures of rooms looked better than they were, even in our standard apartment. kitchen could have held an oven , we didnt have one, so limited for cooking. sunbeds were uncomfortable around our pool {plaza canaries} , could hire mattress for them , shouldnt have to.

    spacious rooms . we had a 1 bed apartment . straight outside was the pool . quiet. no fight for a sunbed. shop onsite very handy. cleaned everyday while we were there. very well i may add.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the bathroom tiles had hair pieces from previous guests. The fabrics (sofa&pillow) were smelly, like they haven’t been washed in a long time. The sofa was especially dirty and we were not comfortable to sit on them at all.The bed throw had a blood mark on the middle of it. The tv had only one English speaking channel, so after the day out you could not even really chill, no chance to watch a movie etc.. the walls are thin and the neighbours were watching tv very loud.

    The reception is beautiful, clean, welcoming. There is a supermarket inside the hotel for essentials. Lots of shops around the area. All you can eat buffet for €18/person, vegetarian options and tons of variety, different mains every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lagoon is impressive, but water is not deep enough and there were a lot ago fishes swimming there but no people. I missed salty pool. Jacuzzi wasn't hot enough.

    It's huge. There are 6 plazas with 7 pools and lagoon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit "lazy" cleaning of rooms, but as it is self catering it was fine. Too many "extra charges", eg. daily charge for onsite parking, for use of safe etc.

    Great location, Big rooms and good facilities in and around hotel. Staff friendly enough. All in all, good value and great for kids

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booked a superior apartment but the one we were given was very poor standard. It was in very rundown condition and patio doors didn't close properly and were very stiff - when it was windy the wind blew right in to the villa. Kitchen was very poorly equipped - oven had no shelves or trays and there were no utensils for food preparation not even a knife to cut up fruit or anything else. Bed was extremely uncomfotable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Rooms bit dated. Ridiculous prices in on site supermarket. Drinks prices in on site bars crazy. Nearly 8 Euros for a gin and tonic unfair when bottle in duty free shop down the road about 12 euros. Take or buy your own

    staff ok.Nice setting. Decnt sporting facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Whilst we don't go away to watch TV, it was advertised that sky TV was available.... there was only 3 English Channels one was Sky News, the other showing documentaries on USA and Australia. Finding the apartment when arriving in darkness is not suitable, on arrival it is a confusing complex with limited lighting along the way.

    The apartments were well equipped and comfortable, clean and first impressions were good. We were located in Plaza Verde overlooking the length swimming pool which is for proper training not dipping in to cool off, next time we would insist on being in one of the other Plazas. The onsite supermarket is stocked well albeit more expensive than 5 mins down the road (which is expected) We didn't eat but the menu looked expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sands Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: