Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal San Juan 2 stars

Avenida Jaime I, 110, 03560 El Campello, Spain

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Our family stayed for couples of days due to beach vicinity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No-one notified us about ongoing construction noise from neighboring site. When mentioned to hotel stuff, at least they managed to shift construction starting working hours to 8 00 am, so kids had a decent sleep. During day time we were out anyhow.

    Our family stayed for couples of days due to beach vicinity. Clean rooms, friendly stuff, good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely area/people/ sea/beach safe & ideal for young children. Ideal for a short family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are no lifts, so the Hostal is probably not suitable for the disabled ,the ederly ( although I personally am 70, but fortunately very fit so the stairs were not a problem) or families with pushchairs/ prams / wheelchairs. The area itself is beautiful, hovever there is very little "night life" so dont expect a "Benidorm" atmosphere.

    Staff excellent. Helpful. Clean comfortable room. Nice outside Dining, casual area outside near pool. Great view of sea and coastline.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    The San Juan hostal is really classy place close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like everything in this place - this is the only stuff what I would improve - that from many countries we are just not used to the timetables in restaurants. For example when you miss your time for lunch between 13:30 and 15:30 you can not order any meal until 8 PM what is the dinner time and this happened to us. It is actually not only for this hostal but generally in this area in Spain what I realized. So guests be careful when you are hungry that you will not miss the times. However there is supermarket 10 minutes by walk from the hostal which is opened from Monday till Saturday so you can get anything there :)

    The San Juan hostal is really classy place close to the beach with good restaurant and tram stop right in front of hostal. All you need to enjoy your holiday. Definitely recommend. Location is awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Everything would have been fine if not for the building site next to the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was literally next to a building site with heavy vehicles and machinery working from 8am everyday during my stay which made it unbearable to be in the room for any length of time during the day

    Close to beach, tram stop. Room cleaned and spotless every day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location very clean and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room was very hot needs air conditioning however I was able to change to a cooler room

    This is the 4th time I have stayed at hostel San Juan fully recommend staying

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location right across from the beach and next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right across from the beach and next to the tram stop of Muchavista! The room was slightly dated but the bathroom was newly renovated up to today’s standards...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    It was okay, for the pricepoint it was actually excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You receive one pillow per person which is quite thin and uncomfortable and there was no sheet. No A/C and the fan was really weak. The windows are looking at each other so you can see your neighbor and they can see you which is really uncomfortable.

    Excellent location for the beach. Bathroom was good. Cleaning was very good, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    It was an enjoyable rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The lack of Air conditioning could be inconvenient in hot days or nights. It was an ej

    The food is very good. The staff were helpful. The location suited us very well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    The big problem that we was facing in this hotel no AC...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big problem that we was facing in this hotel no AC,second point the location of the hotel the best one in this are but suddenly the owner look like he doesn't want to do effort and to invest more

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly, the location was perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a quiet area so wouldn't suit party going people... more suitable for a relaxing break.

    The staff were very friendly, the location was perfect for our needs, close to beach, restaurant & supermarket. The tram was ideal as we were able to travel to Benidorm & Alicante for day trips. Would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    We shall certainly return and would like thank all those hardworking people for making us want to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A constructive criticism would be the price of table wine per bottle when compared with local supermarkets. It was dearer than you pay in the UK. The Hostal would do better to perhaps reduce the size of the portions and to bring down the cost of wine and with the menu of the day offer to include a drink and bread in the deal. This would increase the turnover from passers by for the same outlay.

    Excellent location , extremely pleasant helpful staff, unparalleled room cleaning service - immaculate. Food to a very high standard. Lovely little swimming pool and no bickering over sunbeds. The beach is renown for being one of, if not the finest, beach in Spain (even Europe perhaps). Beautiful fine, white sand, sea that is crystal clear, above all with no sign of jellyfish. At least during our stay there was no question of crowding. There are wooden walkways half way down the beach, a strong presence of lifeguards and foot washing facilities on leaving. Trams passing in both directions give a half hourly service northerly, past Benidorm, and southerly to the centre of Alicante. They are clean, reasonably comfortable and punctual. In my opinion they are much safer and quieter than the ordinary road that they replaced. Needless to say, they are pollution free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was nice and satisfactor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I don´t have anything bad to say. I will certainly visit there again if we travel in same area again.

    Breakfast was nice and satisfactor. Hostels milieu was very pleasant and rooms and other places were clean. We had familyroom in second floor and especially the bathroom was modern. The stuff were mostly kind and helpful. Especially one waiter and one receptionist, both were men :) And of course the location was brilliant! And my kids loved the pool :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    The Hostal San Juan was comfortable, clean and situated in a very good place for my visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hairdryer in the room would have been handy! The walls were thin and I was disturbed by some noisy families coming in very late at night.

    The location was ideal and as a solo female traveller, I felt comfortable and safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a perfect stay here at Hostal San Juan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a perfect stay here at Hostal San Juan. The staff are super friendly and the overall service and cleanliness very good. The breakfast is just Continental which was good, however I would prefered to have been given the choice. But overall a great value for money. We will definitely stay here again in the future! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    The location is fantastic right across from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The Hotel needs a good lick of paint and rooms upgraded to reflect the high cost they charge for meals. Particularly breakfasts, which were a rip-off. Ive stayed in 4* Hotels which are cheaper! And Hostal San Juan is nowhere near 4*.

    The location is fantastic right across from the beach. But there is nothing in Muchavista so you need to use the tram (adjacent) quite a bit. Very few spoke English, and hugely popular with the Spanish, which depending on what youre after is either a good or a bad thing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Charming place right next to the beach, and a real taste of Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    You do have to walk a little to get to a range of cafes and restaurants, but there's enough close by if you're not worried about having too much choice.

    Great breakfast and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    price/value ratio is pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wi-fi available at rooms. No A/C

    location is excellent (beach just in front). Restaurant meals also good. Staff support and assistance another plus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Very nice time with the family in the hotel San Juan , quiet place. Hotel very clean, food delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice time with the family in the hotel San Juan , quiet place. Hotel very clean, food delicious ,personel very nice:) Highly recommended :) Milena z Markiem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning only inadequate fan. Cost of room too high .

    Paid far too much for room, disgraceful really, no air con or basics such as hairdryer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Excellent location is all this place can offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking shower water into the bedroom, Claustrophobic bedroom, smelled stuffy and old. Tiny TV No air con just a fan on the floor. Small swimming pool Catered favourably towards their locals.

    We booked early for a sea view, and was placed at the very end of a long corridor of rooms, no view at all, except the car park brick wall. the shutters opened inwards so they were a hazard, the shower leaked water into the bedroom, the smell in the room was stuffy and old. The staff were fair, the breakfast was catered more for the locals, but at least the dining room was nice. We only stayed one night as it was too claustrophobic for me. We didn't get to use the pool, as we didn't even unpack.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    sore arse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no covers on sun lounges just the hard plastic bed.when i asked about covers for the lounges i was told put a towel down.no wonder nobody lasted more than 15 minutes before they left.my only fault with the hostal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked this hotel. A good location with easy access to the tram to Alicante. The front desk staff were very nice too. I would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Real homely feel, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals did not have a lot of choice for vegetarian, but excellent otherwise

    Staff, rooms and breakfast were really good. Staff especially helpful. Lovely pool and real Spanish feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Basic hostel with inflated prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we booked halfboard, on arrival we wasn't told about any procedure about our dinner arangments,breakfast, etc, on arriving for dinner later that evening, we had chosen what food we wanted , the starter was ok, but the main course a fish dish came out on a plate ,looked very nice but unfortunately the fish was raw,when we bought it to the attention of the waiter he said " its raw is it not "he then removed the meals and he didn't offer to replace them, he offered us dessert which we declined . We spoke to the owner who said because we ate the 2 pieces of potato , and drank the cheap glass of house white wine what came with it she would not refund the cost of the evening meal. Which to us was totally unacceptable.We then cancelled the following nights evening meal and just had the breakfast which was rubbish,done so cheaply, you wouldn't believe. We then went to bar area and ordered a plate of chips because we where hungry,and to be honest the chips where coverd in grease .

    The location close to the beach,3 windows in one room, nice and airy,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Overall good ratio price / quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No WiFi in the rooms; only in reception area. 54 steps to reach my room on the 3 floor... The address on the Booking.com website is not complete and not in the GPS !!!

    In front of the beach , small swimming pool , free parking for the motorbike. Good restaurant in the facility with an excellent daily menu at a very good price of 15 Euros for appetizer, main dish and desert.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic beach hotel - my FAVOURITE location in Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing.

    Perfect beach hotel, it doesn't get any better than this! The name of the accommodation suggests it is a hostel, but in fact, this accommodation is a hotel, and a very good one! This hotel offers nice, convenient, clean basic rooms. The staff is extremely friendly and the stunning view to the beach is brilliant! The hotel has an own restaurant, but you can also find some very good ones within a 5-10 minute walk down the beach. Very efficient public transport (tram) runs directly in front of the hotel (no noise problem). A supermarket is also close to the hotel (10 minute walk). For me, this hotel and Alicante, are a PERFECT location to relax and enjoy. I'm a very frequent traveler and have visited a lot of places in the world: this location is one of my favorite beach locations I love to visit over and over again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Great stay for a value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just in bed and breakfast option for 9 days breakfast Could be changed cause was nice just every day the same

    Excellent staff amazing view so closed to the beach very clean and the best sangria in hotel bar

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    No air conditioning and no lifts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and no lifts These are essential!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice relaxing week at fantastic beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    could do with a small fridge in the room.

    location great for beach,Alicante,El Campello

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, friendly hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, clean hostel in a perfect location for the beach and trams provided easy access along the coast to Alicante.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room or lift as on 3rd floor

    So good we have booked again for September 2018

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    5th till 11th July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room. The small unit with trimmer on,was addiquit for the room, too small.

    Location was brilliant. Tram outside. Very cheep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent friendly hotel and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had one night there

    Service was fast and friendly. The waiters and bar staff were great at their jobs and very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Very noisy in the room caused by neibourghs, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the room caused by neibourghs, poor breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    We were right in front of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurants in this area in the "off-season." This includes mid-May!

    We were right in front of the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    A perfect holiday in a perfect setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed everything.

    Beds were most comfortable7

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    It was easy to get to, the view and beach amazing, it is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator

    It was easy to get to, the view and beach amazing, it is a bit older but a great value!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    hope to be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lovely sea view from the restaurant, entrance hall and my room; short distance to the beach; wonderful coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke English very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airconditioning available.

    Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke English very well. Very close to the beach!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    The staff is amazing ,location is perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing ,location is perfect . Strongly recommended !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Amazing view and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no internet connection in the rooms

    Great location, amazing view from the window and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and the hotel itself immaculately clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the main amenities

    Staff very friendly and the hotel itself immaculately clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard for my liking, others might prefer it that way.

    Just over the road from a lovely beach and the hostel looks really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, delicious food, beautiful ocean view and very convenient location with the tram stop right in front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Loved the location, the pool and the staff were super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing I would say is the bedrooms requires Air-Conditioning, especially in August, but saying that it was a great holiday, you can not have it all....

    Loved the location, the pool and the staff were super.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    Ideal location for the beach, local bars and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal location for the beach, local bars and excellent transport network. Free car parking also. Very stylish restaurant with excellent food and service.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Great location if you like playing volleyball on San Juan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I struggled to sleep as the room was very hot even with windows open, and unfortunately the soundproofing is so minimal that when my neighbour coughed I woke up thinking someone was in my room :/

    Great location if you like playing volleyball on San Juan beach. Clean, modern, very friendly staff, good value, and with secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.3
    Location at beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Property a bit old with no sound proofing !

    Location at beach

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    excellent service , friendly staff ,great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little cold in the room in the evening

    excellent service , friendly staff ,great location

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect. Staff all friendly. Breakfast brilliant. Room very comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Staff v friendly, location good, hotel v clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Staff v friendly, location good, hotel v clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is very small. No aircondition.

    Excellent location. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    No AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No AC

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Narrow stairs, no lift. Wifi only in reception area. No conditioning system

    Very good location. Beach nearby. 1st line is 1st line.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    The best iv stayed in near the beach and the tram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best iv stayed in near the beach and the tram.a brand new hostel wud highly recommend .great food and cheap

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: