Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Catalina 5 stars

León y Castillo, 227, 35005 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain

#16 of 45 hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1269 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    This was my second visit to Las Palmas and will be where I stay in any future visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was chilly while we were there and the heating system doesn't work very well. This is not a typical problem in the Canary Islands. 8-) It is a large, mostly wood, building so it requires a lot of (expensive) maintenance. They could pay a bit more attention to that.

    This is a lovely old hotel, inaugurated in 1890. The increasing necessity to create a comfortable resting place for those on their way to Africa resulted in the construction of this five-star emblematic hotel by and English company. It's comfortably away from the tourist craziness of central Las Palmas and an easy walk to Veguita, the old town, with it's lovely older buildings and monuments..some date back to the time of Columbus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't give you an iron and ironing services have to be paid for, which I found a little odd and expensive. To access the gym and the swimming pool you have to pay a fee, on the day you want to access it, which was off putting giving that in 5 stars hotels gym and swimming pool are always included in the price. If you stay on the left wing of the hotel ( facing the swimming pool), it can be noisy during the day as there are two primary schools next to it.

    The overall interior of the hotel and the outside area are very nice, relaxing and the traditional design adds extra charm to the place. Have had an upper storey room, which means it was quieter, with beautiful views over the palms and the ocean. It is great value for money to add the breakfast, which gives you excellent choice of fresh fruits, cold and hot food in the morning, some of this is traditional Spanish food that is very well presented and cooked. Coffee is excellent, a good variety of Spanish cakes and even champagne can be served at breakfast! I very much enjoyed planning the day while having lovely breakfast each day, before heading off for a long day out visiting this lovely island. The room and the balcony had great traditional design, well maintained and very comfortable bed. Sometimes in the evenings, I will find small chocolate left on pillow by the evening room service, which was so attentive and nice! I do recommend the spa centre massages, a good selection of sensory ones like bamboo extract or chocolate oil massages, great for your skin after a day in the sun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    A very pleasant hotel for an early summer break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The out door pool did not open until 9 and I wanted an early pool swim before breakfast as this is a usual routine when on holiday. I had not expected to be asked to pay for the use of the indoor pool as I had considered it part of the hotel facilities and not as the receptionist explained to me that the indoor pool was only available as part of a spa package. There was no BBC News channel on the TV English speaking choice list.

    The breakfast choices and dining area was lovely to walk into in the morning. Staff were attentive particularly to guests that needed extra support or like me a solo guest. It would be nice if the coffee in the bar area was free to guests during the morning as an extension to breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Not all bad but wouldn't use again probably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a bit tired and not five star, unless criteria for five star is expensive food and drinks and some stand-offish staff? Windy balcony and "no food in rooms" policy meant we spent less time in the hotel than usual.

    Stylish old hotel in a reasonable location. Nice pool, marred by herdish, loud fellow guests and having to leave the hotel to get there?! Lovely public park behind. Some nice staff, technician who fixed our room safe (follow safe instructions carefully!), bar staff and a few others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.0
    the highlight was the spa the staff were fantastic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faded splendour...carpet in reception threadbare. Staff efficient but not friendly. Breakfast awful, beds uncomfortable and got ripped off by cash machine in hall, not the hotels fault but annoying. Waiter in the bar tried to rip us off on the gin twice!! by bringing a much more expensive one than we had asked for, when questioned said he did not know the prices hmmm!! Bedroom was over something that had a constant loud hum all night. to tired to complain so perhaps they would have moved us.

    the highlight was the spa the staff were fantastic and the facilities excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a cold windy night in March, despite asking wait staff, the door from terrace into the restaurant remained open, ( staff convenience I suspect). Likewise the door to bar remained open, freezing experience. One receptionist left to check in many guests. Chef burnt my Lamb! Bar staff grumpy

    Breakfast super. Lovely building and gardens. needs an upgrade. Some nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The number one in las palmas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st. Welcome drinks- a coke is not a jus for them but is the same price that a bottle of water. In a 5strar with the rate that we paid is stupid to offer a welcome drink limited jus and watter... 2nd. Spa very expensive. 3rd. I had a problem at check in time because i've booked lunch and dinner included and your receptionist told me that I need to contact booking.com because it wasn't included for them. i think in a 5star this is your job and not mine. However i solved my problem and she didnt answer anything. So the only situation that is unaceptable for a 5 star.

    Breakfast was so delicious. All breakfast team make a good job. Lunch and dinner have very quality and very choise during the lunch. Thanks Mrs. Lara for your advice. Pool included. Good Location. We loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Elegant nice hotel, good pool, great location and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, both from outside(ac/air vent from roof) and could hear everything from next room - avoid r.n. 405. No early breakfast package just for extra fee!

    Elegant nice hotel, good pool, great location and clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    A one night treat in a unique and historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the bar and restaurant was 'relaxed' to say the least, although friendly enough. I would also have appreciated a full length mirror in the bedroom or bathroom.

    We loved the beautiful building and old-world feel, it was like going back in time, I felt like we were in an Agatha Christie novel! Check-in was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the room and in the bar. A major Spanish football team was staying there on the same night as us which added a buzzy atmosphere, I suspect it might have been a bit quieter otherwise. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant and the breakfast buffet was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    A very restful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was not a great deal of information on tourist sites tourist tours use of local transport nor how to reach them

    The breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Very beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be more happy. They do look a bit tired of serving free welcome drinks to the guests. If you can’t deliver it with a nice welcome, just don’t do it. I’m happy to not have it instead of having it just because they are push to do it by hotel rules. Reception girls should be a bit more welcome and pay more attention to a new guest other then only local people or regulars.

    Very beautiful hotel. Nice big room. Very big balcony. I stayed in 221 and was a great room, all what you need. Breakfast was very nice with big selection of food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with the right level of grand meets charm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with the right level of grand meets charm and comfort. Very clean and friendly staff. Lobby, bar and breakfast room in all very nicely decorated. Rooms were a little bit small when you have a crib in there but otherwise all in all we had a great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay in a beautiful old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The menu for dinner in the evening. My husband and I would have eaten there but, to be honest, we could not make head or tail of the meals that were on offer. We looked several times but the menu did not change in the whole week we were there. There is an indoor swimming pool but residents are charged to use it.

    There is a good choice of breakfast, both hot and cold, which is taken in wonderful surroundings. Several days breakfast was eaten accompanied to the sounds of a guitar, clarinet etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    I think the hotel is not bring properly maintained. Had been there previously and I liked it better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old, sometimes noisy at night. Blinds don’t work. Too much light pass through the window. not sufficient light in the room at night. Very unstable internet. Shower too small.

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    The Hotel is due for refurbishment shortly. Unfortunately for me , I stayed at a bad time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Intermittent wifi is an easy fix...no excuses. There were some very brusque members of staff in the bar. Breakfast service was not good. The Spa was small and would have incurred an extra charge..not good in a 4 or 5 star.

    The location and setting of the hotel is superb. The cleaners and general staff were cheerful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in room was rather dull but in fact spent little time there

    breakfast was great...music playing whilst we ate! Lovely rather old fashioned hotel in good spot ...ideal for a bit of walking into the centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    It was a super hotel the breakfast was excellent everything you could want, from hot to cold, and the beds was so comfy we had a lovely terrace with views of the local swimming pool, would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Outstanding. Gorgeous, well-equipped with facilities, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding hotel. One of the most beautiful and unique-looking places you'll ever stay, with excellent facilities, a huge, clean room, delightful staff, and full of lovely small touches. A truly special place, much like the island itself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Ideally placed for final two nights of Carnaval 2018. Sadly, hotel closes on 2 May for renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather disappointing, still it was February.

    Regular visitor here. Breakfast, always an outstanding feature, has improved to an exceptional level in recent months.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and serene old-world atmosphere where you can forget the hustle and bustle of city life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was lovely but very cold. Could be heated in winter months. The rooms are not super sound proof. I could hear some furniture being moved around in the room above.

    Beautiful classic hotel. Lovely atmosphere and beautifully furnished and (discretely) scented rooms. Loved my little terrace with a view of the park and the sound of birds chirping away. Beds were super comfortable with lovely linens. I would love to come back here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast with juice pressing machine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Teawater not always hot enough and for halfboard guestst staying more that a week the menu can be more varied. Facility otherwise tip top.

    Excellent breakfast with juice pressing machine. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Might just be the best hotel you ever stop at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually no English speaking channels on TV that you’d want to watch. Bloomberg!! Bar was expensive

    Free Cava on arrival - champagne and honey from the honeycomb with breakfast. The building is amazing. The room was very nice but not quite in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    The hotel used to be magical, it has lost its sparkle (and value)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel now charges for using the underground car park (20 Euros per night). It did not in previous years. Our lonely dinner table was in the last of several rooms (with spare tables), by the kitchen entrance, very disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    A quiet and relaxing stay in a peaceful part of a busy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The public areas were draughty and smoke came indoors from smokers sitting on the veranda. The room I was initially given was cold, but I was given a sunny room (which I had requested when I booked) the next day.

    The buffet breakfast was very good and served in a lovely room. The hotel is surrounded by a park and very quiet. It is located near a bus stop and there are also plenty of taxis outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    As the weather was cool the common areas in hotel were draughty and quite cool in evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold had to request extra blankets and a heater. Breakfast was ok. Should provide coffee and tea to each table as we had to queue for coffee from a machine totally inadequate.

    Room was clean and spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.0
    Faded glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5-stars is too generous. No water cooker, tea, coffee in the room. 'spa', gym and indoor swimming pool are not in same building as hotel, also you need to pay around 10 euro to use it. One jacuzzi in the spa wasn't working.

    The historical look and feel was nice. Lot of variety with the breakfast. The sightseeing bus stops right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for an adults only short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful old hotel situated a short taxi ride from the old town and beaches. Best breakfast buffet we have ever seen. Bar and restaurant staff lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again. Lovely relaxing stay with exceptional breakfast and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we were given was lovely and even had a nice balcony. Unfortunately, the area directly below (within the hotel grounds) seemed to be a hot spot for local youths to gather. They sat drinking, smoking, shouting and listening to music from 10pm until 6am, so we didn't get an ounce of sleep. We requested a room change which the manager did for us without any hassle, which was great. However, I do wish that instead of putting it down to street noise (even though I repeatedly mentioned it wasn't just street noise) she had paid more attention to the fact I was informing her it was local youths congregating and making noise. It would be nice to think the hotel was patrolled in the evenings to move noisy locals on... but nothing seemed to be done about it after we notified the management as I saw the same crowd sitting there every evening when returning to the hotel. Given they were on the hotel's grounds, the hotel shouldn't really be allowing youths to sit and drink/smoke and disturb guests, on their grounds. I should note the room we were moved to was super quiet which we loved, albeit at the expense of our balcony. A kettle and some coffee/tea (even instant) in each room should be a minimum given its a 5* hotel. A free bottle of water daily would also be a nice touch. Finally, a full length mirror in all rooms would be useful (we had one in our first room but no the second)

    Every member of staff delivered exceptional service and were polite. Even roomkeeping/maintenance staff smiled and said hello every time they passed you. The food we ordered by the pool and room service was excellent. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and couldn't fault it. Considering it was included there was everything you could possibly want from a buffet breakfast (hot, cold, cereal, gluten free, range of coffee/juice). Without a doubt the best breakfast offering I've ever had at a hotel. I'd recommend heading down earlier than 09:30 as the hot food seemed to be a little colder after this time - expected given it wasn't far off the end of breakfast. We loved that each morning a different musician played songs during breakfast. Such a lovely touch (saxophone, guitar, clarinet, flute etc.) and totally unexpected. Room was spacious and clean. Excellent range of condiments which were topped up each day as well as the room cleaned. Lots of nice areas to sit and relax. Pool was really lovely and always managed to get a sun lounger. Pool supervisor always brought over mattress and towel immediately after we arrived. Again, fantastic service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had been replaced with an inferior type with no bath setting but we worked around that. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The ambience is a bit "faded grandeur" which we think gives the hotel character although others might say the place needs refurbishing.

    This was our third stay at this hotel and it was just like revisiting an old friend. We were warmly welcomed at check in. The room was very comfortable with a balcony view of the park at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was very good indeed. For us, the location of the hotel is excellent - a few minutes from the No1 bus to go to either Las Palmas centre or Triana. The hotel is situated in the Parc Doramas which is very well maintained and has a reasonable cafeteria.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were ok. Hotel very clean.

    We booked a suit and received a small room which could not be considered as a suit. It bares Absalutly no resemblance to the photos I was given as part of the booking sites. The toilet in particular was tiny and there was no seperte seating area and no balcony or terrace. Watch what you book. I complained and was told they could do nothing until the next day. The rate for the night was high due to it being 31st dec. This was not worth the money at all. Very disappointed We had to pay to go to the indoor pool and the jacuzzi ...for a 5 star hotel tha was ridiculous. Also as it was half board we were looking forward to the award winning restaurant. unfortunately, the menu didn’t change for a week (it could be more) only 5 items per clues to choose from and we got pretty sick of the same old same old. We therefore didn’t eat there every night which is not good for half board. Breakfast was ok, but had better?. Coffee machine dreadful ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Elegance, charm, good, competence, practical, well-situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Very nice 5 stars hotel. Santa Catalina was the first hotel built on this Island. They could keep the charm and classic of history. Elegance, charm, beautiful and competence. SPA very good, professionnal and good treatments like massage. Everything good prices. I recommend this hotel, useful for any kind of visit! Perfect first approach to Islas Canarias. Very close to many different great golf court, beach, historic places, shopping, etc. Thank you Santa Catalina!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    not really a 5* experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel really needs to be renovated, there was only one electric plug in the whole room under the table, so if you need to charge multiple electric devices it's a problem. Floors are cold tiles, it was winter, there is no heater in the rooms, and it was simply cold. Standard rooms are too small (we were 2 adults with a baby), view was of other rooms looking into the room, therefore we had to keep the curtains closed and it was rather dark in the room. The internet connection was very frustrating, sometimes it was so slow, the pages wouldnt load. The serving staff was not really friendly, only the front desk is helpful.

    old world charm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.8
    Way past it's prime
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down place, certainly not a 5 star hotel, more of a 3 star rating, squeaky bed, bad noise levels in rooms

    Cool looking place from the outside, on-site parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Very nice breakfast and breakfast staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There seems to be some coordination issues between different parts of the staff. When we arrived with a delayed flight that was not serving any food, we tried to get some food and were informed by the reception that there was a 24 hour room service, but when we called the room service the made it clear that the kitchen was closed and the available options were very limited. The rooms were also very dark and the interior was in need of renovation.

    Very nice breakfast and breakfast staff! The bar was also nice, but the pianist mostly chated with friends and did not play much, somewhat of a disapointment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable and fitted our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly too much public space allocated to conferences meant less space for guests.

    Good location with lovely gardens. Great ambiance maintained in the public areas and varied international clientele.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    3.3
    This hotel had its days but that’s it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on the outlook of this hotel I believe it used to be the best five-star in town. However now it is just an arrogant hotel with five-star attitude and without the high level hospitality. If you are traveling by your own expense I strongly advise you choose somewhere else. If you are a business traveler then I advise you take your own tea with you because apprently they do not offer you free tea in your room. 1. The shower is leaking because the rubber wore out and all room floor became wet and slippery after a quick shower. 2. All facilities are out dated. 3. Absolutely no complimentary drinks in room, not even a bottle of water! Of course you can have a free drink at the lobby but as I recall last time I had this lobby drink was 10 years ago at a youth hostel, NOT a five-star hotel. 4. The lift doesn’t access to garage, yes, please carry your luggage all the way over the stairs! 5. As part of the policy, you are not allowed to bring your own food/ drink to eat in the hotel or your room. I took a picture of this policy at their reception, because this policy is just simply hilarious. What are you? A prison or a hotel? I thought taking a five-star for holiday is easy and safe choice, however dear Santa Catalina Hotel taught me a valuable lesson. Thank you!

    Parking is free

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    OK for a short stop-off
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was a bit cut off from the main vibrant area. The reception staff were a bit inefficient and all areas seemed understaffed. For a supposed 5* Hotel, having to queue up for coffee is not really acceptable

    It looks very beautiful from the outside, and the pool was nice. The Bar & Restaurant on the terrace were lovely, though the service in the bar was really slow & not very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotels with some hickups
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel saves on the maintenance of fittings in the bathroom. The free wifi is very slow and you have to pay for the increased speed. You have to pay for using the exercise room. I will come again but I would be much more tempted if I felt these things were simply part of the full price. This hotel also charges the cost of the room before you actually sleep in it. What kind of psychology is that? In summary, saving on the wrong side of the decimal point gives a bad impression to a wonderfully set hotel with a great tradition.

    Excellent beds and breakfast, very nice bar and nice wine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    A distinguished, elegant lady full of secrets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Santa Catalina is one of the old hotels in Las Palmas. She is like a distinguished, elegant lady full of secrets. The staff is great, the property has excellent amenities and the restaurant is superb. Definetly a place to return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    The pool area was lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 coffee machines at breakfast which resulted in a snaking queue through people eating. Particularly bad when one was being cleaned. Took over an hour to deliver a club sandwich by the pool. Not enough staff

    The pool area was lovely and relaxing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    The club sandwiches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was defiantly 5 star as you enter the property but the rooms we stayed in( superior double) was only a 3 star in our opinion and thats being generous, the location being the Capitol was very boring and I wouldn't stay again for this reason.

    The club sandwiches

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    I liked the location, the surroundings and the faded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an establishment that pretends to be a 5 star hotel... maybe it once was but is no longer. The level of service is consistently poor from the breakfast room , dining room , bar and pool bar. The staff seem to spend more time attending to themselves rather than the guests. Send the management to a real 5 star hotel for some training.

    I liked the location, the surroundings and the faded colonial grandeur, however.......

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    Historical building, piano bar with live music in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff not very attentive, hot water while showering constantly changing temperature, very noisy due to a school in the vicinity.

    Historical building, piano bar with live music in the evenings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay but missing some services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Free WiFi is so slow you have to upgrade to faster WiFi. This costs additional 6€/day, 15€/3days and 25€/week. - No Iron in the room to iron your clothing. - Rooms are spacious but dated - Wellness Area is outside Hotel and must be paid separately for e.g. Gym and Indoor Pool

    + Very friendly and helpful staff. + Hotel surrounded by beautiful garden + Nice Patio area for chilling and have a drink + Has a good restaurant within hotel complex having dishes at fair prices. + Further dining options at the nearby marina + Bus stops in walking distance + Taxis just in front of the entrance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We left hotel around 4am having paid for bed and breakfast but as it was too early we couldn't have it. Offered early breakfast but would have to pay extra. A little issue but it did perplex us

    Impressive entrance, building old style glory. Loved the bar area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    very dissapointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is not 5* more 3* requires massive investment.Moved rooms 3 times before we got a reasonable room but still had a large crack in the wash basin. The spa is a joke and you have to pay extra to use it. We paid 18 euros for 2 hours and stayed in 10 minutes. Open pool free but not great.We travelled down to 5* hotel in Maspolomas which was stunning and used their pool all day for free.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was slow, and you had to pay for faster WiFi - never experienced that before. The restaurant had very bad food and extremly overprised sine the taste and quality were so bad. The TV didnt work. Dont know if we had to pay for that aswell?

    Great park around the hotell. Very spacious room. Nice balcony. Very good coffe in the breakfastroom. The staff were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in this classic hotel located in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful stay in this classic hotel located in the middle of everything in Las Palmas. The old school grandeur still persists. An absolutely lovely stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable stay in a sunny location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a bit of modernisation but doesn't suffer for lack of it. The service in the bar and restaurants is very slow and inaccurate. This needs to be improved.

    The hotel has a beautiful colonial feel to it. The staff are friendly. The entrance has a very convenient bar area as you arrive, which is great for killing time. The restaurant is good also with a varied menu. I also heard that the spa was good but didn't manage to use it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel with lovely gardens, staff and facilities - highly recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No coffee/tea making facility in the room! It was surprising because it was rated as a 5 star hotel so it should have had this facility for customers.

    Euduardo is excellent! He was the most attentive receptionist I have ever met! He smiled and spoke beautifully all the time! Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable - nothing was ever a problem for him and he was most kind and helpful! All the staff were friendly and really lovely! Beach was close by but the other beach was a bus ride away 1.40Euro. I am a vegetarian so the food was mostly Fish, pork and meat...not a good selection for the vegetarians. The hotel is very clean and a true 5 star, we really loved it! Excellent pool service, clean towels and mats everyday! The breakfast was amazing! Fresh fruits everyday, fresh juices everyday, lovely eggs and a good selection of breads, cornflakes, cheese etc. The breakfast room was beautiful and we even got to sit down in the stunning ballroom to have breakfast! Thank you for a brilliant time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    My second visit and I am going back in September.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some cushions on the balcony furniture. Minibar not restocked and had to ask for more water.

    Staff on reception were very helpful. Breakfast good but not very varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent overall stay - good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom in need of a refurb Hotel about 30 min walk from old town or the big beaches

    Very nice park at back of hotel . Hotel very comfortable and nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Not 5 star
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was there partly for work and partly for pleasure so made two bookings (one paid by work one paid by myself). Unfortunately this caused severe confusion. Despite booking the same type of room I had to move rooms and drag a cot, pram and suitcases through the hotel without assistance. The move included steps unreachable with a lift. This wasn't ideal as we had to bring a pram in and out each day. Throughout the process the reception staff were unhelpful to say the least. Otherwise the stay was fine. Nice pool, nice breakfast, friendly cleaning staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ideally there could have been more storage space to unpack, especially when you are staying at the property for a few days. Check -in was't overall efficient.

    The breakfast was superb. A great buffet and complimentary freshly squeezed orange juice. The rooms are very spacious, with a very comfortable bed. Check-out was extremely efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Overprised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very slow internet. You have to pay extra for faster. If you use the parking you must to take new ticked every day that to validate it on the reception every time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    I would recommend this property and we would return.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woodwork needs repainting and I had a hair in my Spanish omelette one morning 😕

    Beautiful gardens around the property. The room was huge with a lovely view from our balcony and a really well appointed bathroom containing a bath, a shower and a bidet with double sinks. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Historic hotel with 21st century service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    As this was an historic building the bedroom are very large, the balconies also where deep and had a big table and two chairs. The bar and main dining room was splendid. the hotel has been looked after since it was build some 125 years ago and is situated in very large grounds with many tree's around. The pool and Spa was of the highest quality and the pool bar and coffee shop service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Pleased to find the marina and nice restaurants just a short walk from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor for a five star establishment. The shower was in the bath, but the shower-head had to be used to fill the bath as there was no separate tap.

    Large room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Santa Catalina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant was a shade expensive for what was produced although some of the dishes, eg the Tuna, and the Wellington beef were very good.

    Expansive breakfast, restaurant for the evening and a large terrace complete with pianist. Bedroom (twin) was large, good shower over a bath. Very helpful staff who generally could speak English (just as well in my case , as my Spanish is more than limited.). Taxi bay outside hotel always had at least 3 taxis waiting. Taxi fares were quite cheap. There is a bus stop not far away and I gather that those fares are also cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is very charming and has a heritage about it that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are ok however for a 5 star hotel the fact you have to pay for the indoor pool was a disappointment. You could use the outdoor pool but only 9.30-7 and as I was there on business and only wanted an early morning swim this was not of much use. The other very annoying part when I did get a chance to use the outdoor pool was the bar staff constantly whistling to every single one of the worst songs of the 80's and 90's! The staff are efficient and professional but I found them very cold and unsmiling which slightly put a dampener on the whole experience, which would otherwise have been very good. Again, as I was there for business I did not focus on this too much but it would have made the difference between returning if it had been for pleasure.

    Hotel is very charming and has a heritage about it that makes it stand out. Great location and a fantastic breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A Fantastic Stay With Santa Catalina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes cigarette smoke from the balcony below interfered with relaxing on the balcony.

    Breakfast was very good. A variety of food to select from and freshly squeezed orange juice. The facility was maintained and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.6
    Good staff bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not worth 5* rating. I asked for an iron but they said its not available since they have a laundry service. Furniture is old. Location is far away from everything, basically you have to rent a car. Regards,

    Staff r friendly and supportive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    4.6
    Very neglected and NOT luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible hotel, see pictures attached. I spoke with a taxi driver who told me the hotel is going to be sold, that's why it is so neglected,see pictures attached. Painting in the room peeling off. No water, tea or coffee in the room. You have to pay 6 extra euros for decent wifii in the room. No flowers, no vases, no luxury furniture or decor. In the lobby's bar there was a plasma screen with the news on. Rooms are in need of serious refurbishment and maintenance. The pool is so small and unappealing they might as well close it. Don't be fooled by the celebrities going there, they don't pay a penny.. It's a real real shame the building has so much potential. Very embarrassing, I should have asked for a refund!

    The breakfast wasn't so bad although for a 5 star you would expect waiters to at least top up your coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    good breakfast but poor room which does not look like a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had is a small room with one fair size double bed, which is very different from the pictures shown on the booking.com website. The lights in the room are really dark. Facilities such as Gym and Spa are at extra cost.

    good breakfast, nice service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Very nice garden, quite big rooms, the restaurant is good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi in the room is very unstable Looks a bit dated but for me it is part of the charm of this hotel

    Very nice garden, quite big rooms, the restaurant is good and the terrace is very nice to have a drink in the evening. Breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    Bad Wifi, bedrooms need updating but had an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms very dated and are in no way 5 star. Bed, for me was too hard and I therefore didn't sleep well. Everything in dire need of an update and would be so lovely if all up together, must do something about the WIFI, although this could be an island wide problem? We would not return to GC because WIFI so bad and we need it for business.

    Pool was lovely and staff attentive throughout. Breakfast was lovely and spa looked nice although I didn't use it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Needs some upgrade for the hotel to be called 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in room, Air conditioning antiquated, Need to pay for gym and sauna. Single room key.

    Breakfast choices, Free (slightly slow) WIFI. Parking free. Ambience and environment. Good support staff. Clean swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Old world charm in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be a bit more varied. But the fresh orangejuice machine probably made up for it.

    The hotel has an old world charm not many hotels have these days. For sure it could do with a refurbishment of some minor things but if you want old school luxury with a few knocks for a decent price than this is it. The absolutely best thing about this hotel is the staff though, everyone we me was super kind, polite and knew their stuff. From the cleaning ladies, to the reception to the guys at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Unplanned stay in las palmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Partner had accident and ended up in hospital in las palmas he was discharged and we are still here till sat great place to recover staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Superb Location and Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and bistro were cold after 7pm in March. I'm sure in the season it would be ideal but was cold when we were there.

    Excellent breakfast selection. Good location with plenty of taxis and buses outside the Hotel. There's a hop on hop off bus which does a hour+ tour of the town, VG.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rather hard and uncomfortable.

    Brilliant breakfast including smoked salmon and wide choice of hot and cold . Lovely swimming pool with plenty of sun beds. Pool attendant extremely helpful and attentive. Lovely old world charm throughout this hotel. Very good bar for cocktails. Excellent location- good walk to old town and to beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice, but 5 stars?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, used glasses not removed from room every day, should have a coffee maker in room as well as an iron.

    The style of the hotel. Breakfast was fine.. Very nice staff. Pool area was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is in its own grounds which are well maintained and attractive. However it is halfway between the old town (Vegueta) and the main shopping and beach areas (Santa Catalina). Outside the hotel itself is mainly a commercial district so there are very few shops re cafes to visit as an alternative to the hotel. Thus it means a taxi or bus ride to get anywhere other than the hotel. TV only showed local Spanish stations.

    Nice grounds. Good pool with bar. Other sports facilities were well used. Room was UK 3 star but cleaned every day and well maintained. Breakfast was adequate but lacked variety and originality for vegetarians. Nice bar, excellent cocktails. Restaurant food was excellent but a little pricey.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    The Grande Dame of Las Palmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe did not work, and not enough charging outlets inside room.

    Size of room and bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and linens are crispy clean. Location is excellent, tugged away from Main Street with many trees around. Fresh OJ at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are not sound proof.

    The room was very clean and had a balcony , however the walls are not sound proof which made our last 2 nights difficult to fall asleep. The spa and the treatments are fantastic and highly recommend using these. The staff were very friendly .

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santa Catalina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: