Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Cruz 3 stars

Avenida de Contranquil, 1, 33550 Cangas de Onís, Spain

#4 of 20 hotels in Cangas de Onís

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1367 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Very close to the shops and restaurants, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some issues with our key not working, very hot at night. Local Swimming pool was outside , can be a bit noisy.

    Very close to the shops and restaurants, very clean, breakfast was very good, very comfortable, motorbike parking outside front door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Very clean, close to town center and Roman bridge without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Very meager toiletries. Bring your own shampoo.

    Very clean, close to town center and Roman bridge without any traffic or noise. Right beside lovely river walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    I rate a hotel based on appearance, price, comfort,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like. The place was perfect.

    I rate a hotel based on appearance, price, comfort, cleanliness, and location. In all these areas, I give Hotel Sabra Cruz 5 stars (out of five). Excellent place to stay. Oh, and the breakfast they offer for 8€ is well worth it. Coffee, bollería, several kinds of nuts, yogurt, and about 15 different other things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfy beds but funky room smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work, but when we asked they gave us the password for another network that did work. Our room smelled like air freshener covering smoke, but the staff was very accommodating in changing rooms. However, the new room smelled funky also. We opened the windows to air it out and it was fine. Maybe bad smelling cleaning products?

    Great location and super comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Quite a gem in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just to mention something, the noise isolation could be improved but that’s just to be picky, the place is excellent.

    Brilliant location, terrific food and breakfast, rooms warm and comfortable, excellent hot water in bathrooms, staff absolutely fantastic, wood in the floors, very comfy, nice size rooms....all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Very pretty place, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is really nice!! Actually we are going to buy the exact same bed for ourown. Breakfast with milk without lactose and soya milk, very thoughtfull. Parking in a small town is not a problem. Such a Beautiful place!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Warm and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds...the room was nice but didn’t look as nice as downstairs.

    Comfortable room. Very warm. We had everything we needed, including a nice breakfast. The hotel is central and even though it has no private parking we found one near the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Great night out in Cangas, short walk home to a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Those typically Spanish bolster pillows were hard to sleep on, although the bed was comfy.

    Location is great, central but quiet. Reception staff super friendly and helpful. Room was bright and very clean if a bit small, but good value overall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Large clean room, lots of light coming from park &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor a little sterile.

    Large clean room, lots of light coming from park & playground behind the hotel (no problem regarding noise). Easy walking to restaurants, shops. Parking slightly off-site but we had no security issues. Good breakfast. Staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Good location in a more quiet area, but very close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in a more quiet area, but very close to the centre. Nice rooms, very clean. Attentive staff. Could park the car just behind the hotel for a 2€/24h.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location but very small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The diminutive size of the room (13 m2), together with the massive curtains made the room claustrophobic. It was one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in and, considering I paid more for a Superior Double, disappointing. It was so small that I opted to lose my money for the last of three nights and move to a hotel with larger rooms. They do exist, especially in Spain. Breakfast, at 4.50 was, to be polite, spartan. Coffee was filtered and hard to digest. "Orange juice" tasted like a powdered drink mixed with water, although I was told it was Don Simón, a well-known brand. I would recommend more types of bread, a muesli to go together with the corn flakes, some typical cakes or sweets from the region, an expresso machine for better coffee, and definitely orange juice that tasted like orange juice.

    The hotel was well situated, there being a short walk to the Medieval bridge and the central square. The room and the bathroom (groundfloor, superior double) were modern, having been recently renovated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Quiet spot, good access for town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have scrambled egg option for breakfast. Water pipe in wall was a bit noisy.

    Reception staff were very good. Enjoyed my stay and will go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay in Cangas de Onis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very spacious room, safe didn't work and temperature was hard to set (no AC, just heater)

    Good location, friendly staff, cleanliness, tasty breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    A very nice and comfortable hotel in a lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floors in the corridors, a bit noisy sometimes.

    Very friendly lady-receptionist! Nice and cozy room with a great view and very good bed. Breakfast was delicious. Beautiful cakes and good coffee!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel , good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ... they even let me take my bike up to the room to keep it safe :)

    Excellent location , easy to find , helpful staff ... smiles all round :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    The hotel is very conveniently located: 10 min walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine, thank you!

    The hotel is very conveniently located: 10 min walk from the bus station, in the centre but on a nice, quiet street. Original paintings in the corridor, which I liked a lot.The room was big, clean, comfortably furnished and a had a wonderful view from the street. Comfortable, clean bathroom. Good WiFi. Also, very nice, professional and helpful staff at the reception. Delicious, beautifully served breakfast and a polite, smiling lady looking after the breakfast room. On the first day I was not able to eat my breakfast (I was going on an early morning trip) and my breakfast was waiting for me, tasty and nicely packed as picnic food to take away:) A very good, abundant food in the hotel restaurant. I definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    Excellent staff and accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, but the fan was helpful and the weather was mild.

    The staff was incredible. Miguel at the reception was very helpful and pleasant. He really goes out of his way to help everyone that comes in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    6.3
    Very uncomfortable in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited the hotel during a hot summer day and to our surprise the room had no Air Conditioning or even a ceiling fan. The staff asked us to keep the windows open but we could not sleep due to the noise coming from the street. Also the room had only shower gel but no soap.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and there was no ac. Only a small fan.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    New hotel but no A/C .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C in the room, parking is about 100 yards away but at a fair cost.

    Local to the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms and no air conditioning.

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in an amazing town. Friendly and helpful staff and delicious food. fantastic breakfast too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Easy check-in, friendly people at the desk (less so at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy check-in, friendly people at the desk (less so at breakfast), good directions on the restaurants in the city, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Excellent location 2 minutes walk from center. Large comfortable room with nice view of river. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people, very helpfull, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Nice location wonderfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cosy place. Totally renewed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Santa cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bad

    Clean and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean, friendly hotel in a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Very, very, very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very, very, very small room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Lovely setting quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms

    Lovely setting quiet rooms. Staff very helpful Restaurant was great value and lovely food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Excelente estancia en el hotel Santa Cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Todo en general

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Excelente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En general muy recomendable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was very clean and in excellent condition, Spacious bathroom with very large shower. Very good location and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Nice beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice beds. Very clean hotel in a great location. Easy parking too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, right by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, right by the river. Very comfortable, great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    A perfect quiet place in a excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, room, cleanness, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Location of the hotel and the room faces the bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and kettle in hotel.

    Location of the hotel and the room faces the bridge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Beds were comfortable, room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not included

    Beds were comfortable, room was very nice. Short walk to town, excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restraunt and Bar were closed for some reason during our stay

    Nice hotel, good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.2
    River and mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit iffy.

    Aspect and location of the hotel and the town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    The close proximity to the bus terminal and the river made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There wasn't anything i dislike about the place. There isn't room service, but good customer service made up for it.

    The close proximity to the bus terminal and the river made for a good stroll in the evening. My room is one in the attic where there is a ceiling window.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    6.7
    Receptionist was very pleasant and spoke good english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was really hot even when all heaters were off. Our room was right above the dining room so was a bit loud. My partner is tall and could not even sit on the toilet facing the right way. He had to sit sideways so his knees didn't touch the sink counter - very small toilet area. Toiletries provided are very poor for a three star hotel - only 3 ear buds, a pack of two tissues and soap which comes out of a dispenser in the shower. No car park but there is a public carpark very nearby which is free and had spaces. Safe costs extra money. Staff stand out the front of the hotel and smoke cigarettes and when we had our doors/windows open we could smell the smoke.

    Receptionist was very pleasant and spoke good english. Great location. Nice large room.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.2
    Location to the town of Cangas was perfectly placed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit small for two mature adults.

    Location to the town of Cangas was perfectly placed. On the edge of town but not in the direct middle. Nice quiet location. Room was really clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is very nice and inviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was located on street which was extremely noisy and you could hear conversations from the coffee downstairs.

    The hotel is very nice and inviting

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.8
    Handy location,good wifi, generally pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bizarre refusal to allow us store luggage for a few hours on day we left, first time has ever happened at a hotel in Spain. Highly inconvenient and almost led to us missing out on a tour we had booked that morning. Also no air conditioning which you would expect for the price meant the room was very hot in August.

    Handy location,good wifi, generally pleasant hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish the wifi worked in the room, but it was actually a nice break from the internet in the end and it worked in the common area. The long pillows were just a little bit strange, but not bad, I slept well, but maybe, a smaller, soft pillow? It wasn't a problem though, just a suggestion.

    Everything! Very comfortable, helpful and friendly staff, great location, elevator, so clean, quiet and away from the tourist hub, and the fan was great. I took a great bath that was so relaxing after traveling for so long. A nice retreat. I would return.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.3
    location for national park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining room seemed very spartan

    location for national park

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    The breakfast was very good and the room was clean and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very good and the room was clean and warm. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    The staff was absolutely nice and friendly, the room warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was absolutely nice and friendly, the room warm and clean and the WiFi connection rery good.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.0
    Beautiful location very near the centre of town, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful location very near the centre of town, friendly staff and clean rooms.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Hotel Santa Cruz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: