Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Cruz 1 stars

Sta. Cruz de Montaos, Ctra N-550 KM-41,200, 15689 Montaos, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Montaos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 140 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Location on roadside may not be for everyone, but meant easy connections to and from the Camino way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't terribly clear how to locate hotel off Camino Ingles, so kept going to Sigüeiro and got a taxi back. Easy bus trip back the next morning. Google translate needed a lot, but that's down to my poor Spanish. Pool didn't look too appealing, but perhaps not in much use mid Sept.

    Room has an exterior entrance, was clean and good bathroom. Only had Dinner which was good, even if the restaurant was very quite. Billing a bit confusing on departure, but we got there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Good place to stay if doing the Camino Ingles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for walking the Camino Ingles. Room comfortable with a full size bath just right for a soak after a days walking. Restaurant was good. Minor observation was our room was under the restaurant so you could hear chairs and tables being moved on the floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value and very accommodating owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed and easy to park right outside the room. The pool was very clean and there's a garden if you have children and the weather is nice. Lovely owners, who are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room, extremely comfortable beds and the breakfast was superb and carefully prepared. Excellent and secure parking. Staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding hotelier, clean fresh comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We planned to dine in the hotel restaurant and made reservations at the front desk when we checked in. Can't really say that we did not like the restaurant, because we never saw it. It was tucked into the back the building.We mistook the bar at the front of the building for the restaurant. All evening the bar was occupied by a local men's sports club who were drinking and watching soccer games on the television. We didn't object to them per se but didn't want to dine where the noise was raucous. We went elsewhere for dinner and later learned the location of the restaurant. Wish its location had been made clear in the beginning.

    The woman who owns the hotel was warm and kind to us. She went far beyond what could have been expected of her by laundering our clothes for us (we were bedraggled peregrines). The rooms were exceptionally clean, quiet, and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Overnight stopover near the Camino Ingles (taxi link from Sigueiro)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Montaos is located quite some way off the Camino Ingles (not the hotel's fault!!)

    Compact but entirely comfortable rooms (and with a pool about to be commissioned) attached to a well-established bar/restaurant featuring excellent cuisine and wines at sensible prices. The proprietor herself speaks quite good English and was most helpful, with some of us arriving on foot and drenched by the Galician rains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.3
    Does what it says on the tin !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be noisy when there is a function in progress, which also makes it more difficult to park.

    Comfortable, clean accomodation with friendly staff. Good location for Santiago, Sigueiro and Ordenes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Clean room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room and bathroom. Very friendly staff. We asked for traditional local breakfast and we were offered several options. Served with smile and enthusiasm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    9.6
    Great little hotel and restaurant with fabulous service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our satnav had a little difficulty locating the hotel - it's a long road from Santiago to A Coruna! Maybe I should criticise BMW for this or perhaps I should have used the coordinates that Booking.com supplied that I didn't notice at the time!

    Staff were super friendly and very competent. Chef is a genius who could produce food for us that wasn't even on the menu - whilst at the same time producing giant Galician steaks and octopus for a large party. Wonderful! Spanish omelette particularly good. Room cosy, exceptionally clean and modern. We were offered an alternative room as a function was due to take place upstairs which we politely declined and there was no problem.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Excellent service and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When walking the Camino there is no signage how to ger to the hotel. This is not the hotels fault.

    Staff was great. Food excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and friendly staff. Location was perfect for visiting tourist sites in the area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    I really loved the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing missing was the soap (small detail).

    I really loved the staff.Very nice.It was a good place to rest and I enjoy the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Will comeback.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to walk in the open to get to restaurant.

    Very friendly staff. Clean and new place. They will do anything to get you to enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very good and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Gran trato personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gran trato personal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was great, room was clean and comfortable, and the cafe/bar downstairs was perfect for wine at night and coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    All perfect included the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All perfect included the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Best Hotel in the camino Ingles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean Hotel! The room had a big Bathtub and the beds were big and comfortable. The entire staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Hospitality from attentive and friendly staff who went out...
    • Group

    Hospitality from attentive and friendly staff who went out of their way to look after our group of 9. Excellent Galician food for dinner and breakfast in a comfortable bar and restaurant. 1-2 km off the Camino Inglese. Turn right at the Camino Real notice board on the stage after Hospital.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.2
    Excellent clean accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can be a little noisy in the rooms if there is a function in progress.

    Excellent clean accomodation. Lovely staff. Good restaurant.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: