Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa Cruz 3 stars

Crta. Sierra Nevada, Km 22, 18196 Güéjar-Sierra, Spain

#17 of 18 hotels in Güéjar-Sierra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing, great beach and beautiful hills all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels need to be bigger and fluffier. The restaurant closed one night and we redirected to another hotel on the other side of the town.

    Great big room, private terrace, amazing location for tennis court, beautiful views, easy walk to the beach round the back of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Weather was lovely so we had a great time and it was nice to get out of the very crowded village eac
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were not good, toilet seat falling off, no hot water one evening, beds in need of renewal.

    Easy parking. Buffet was as expected for 3 star hotel, staff were friendly. Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Probably best value for money in Sierra Nevada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant can be quite noisy at times as the hotel appears to cater to large school groups. The food is not very exciting.

    Friendly and helpful reception and restaurant staff. Clean facilities. Large and free parking lot. Inexpensive daily bus service to the slopes 10 km away. Overall excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    An experience, but not in a good way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated. No hot water at all. Broken bed. The hotel was like something you would stay at on a school trip. Buffet was very basic.

    Good location to the mountains for Skiing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    having stayed before its still an ideal safe location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds are in need of replacing, there ok if your a teenager, but not for adults bathrooms need modernising Good food but often only luke warm. Use of self service microwave but its not an ideal solution to reheat food

    good daily choice in restaurant, helpful staff, easy 8 mins drive to ski station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic value short break for a snowy family Christmas - looking forward to our next visit already
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only being there for 2 nights!

    Being able to enjoy a real log fire in our room (‘bungalow’) on Christmas Eve & Christmas Day, amazing views, very plentiful buffet meals for breakfast, lunch & dinner; less than 10 minute drive up to ski slopes of Sierra Nevada

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    Adequate cheap hotel conveniently only 10km from the slopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The central heating and hot water broke during our stay. The bill when we checked out was not itemised and with all the bar chanrges lumped under "Drinks various" So I could not check their accuracy. The buffet was extensive but cheap. Sound echoes down the halls so all the shouting from the bar echoes throughout the entire hotel until the early hours of the morning.

    Breakfast buffet included in the price and had good variety. Ski gear rental and ski equipment available at the hotel and at better rates than on the slopes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    Extremely basic, but good value. Wouldn't stay again however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are pretty uncomfortable, the buffet food is of extremely average 1980s quality, especially at breakfast. The biggest issue is that the heating stays on full blast and you can't turn it off in your room. We had to keep the bedroom door open all night.

    Really good value and convenient for skiing - only 15 mins drive. The dinner buffet is plentiful (though not haute cuisine) and the staff are very friendly. The air hockey and pool table are perfect for pre-dinner fun with the kids, and the draft beer is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Great for price, food quality and dining experience needs improvement; helpful, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The repetitive food for breakfast and dinner, breakfast sausage and scrambled egg quality was poor

    The coffee, bungalow with fireplace, and shuttle to the slopes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    A cheap alternative to stay on ski vacation if nothing else is available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms cold, radiator not working well. lighting not very good in hallways. Our children's room had bad bathroom smell. Wifi unusably slow.

    Cheap, convenient to stop over when skiing next day, cheap ski rentals available on site, staff nice/helpful, breakfast pretty good for cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    4.2
    The location was good, but the cleanliness was terrible, and nothing seemed to be in order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to check in at 1400, and the room was still being cleaned, and when we got the keys for the room, the key did not work, so we had to moved mulitiple Times before they found a key that worked, the bathrooms smelled awful. Very outdated.

    The staff was very helpful at addressing our concerns.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay at Hotel Santa Cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few maintenance issues. It could do with a little TLC.

    We were pleasantly surprised with the quality and variety of the buffet meals. Having read some reviews we were expecting something like 'school dinners', but we found the meals to be of a good standard, varied and plentiful. Overall the hotel represents great value for money in a pleasant environment, with a fair standard of accommodation, good food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.3
    great location, 8 mins drive to the ski resort, would return, but would check out a bigger room 1st!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom and bed could have been bigger, we were in 317 but it was a late booking, and having said that we extended our stay for more skiing

    easy parking, extremely helpful staff, hotel and ski hire, great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    Skiing adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel seems to specialize in catering to schools. The kids were a bit noisy at meal times.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Clean facilities. Good value for money. The hotel operates a nice, punctual shuttle service to the Sierra Nevada ski area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.4
    Average Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stated we would have internet on the "bungalow" page and it did not. Tough to find in the dark. Quality of room was lacking.

    Decent breakfast buffet, but both days the eggs were cold. Bar at the hotel with good prices. 3/4 way up the mountain.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    be warned - no taxis available in the evening, we ended up stranded in the main resort 6 miles up the road after heading up for an evening meal (cost more for a one night stay in restort than 5 nights at the sants cruz!)

    spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good value

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.7
    Great family break, but had its down falls by paying cheap. Probably better deals in the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet menu did not change much from night to night. There were plenty of staff for the weekend rush, but then it seemed to go down to one person who struggled to clear tables. The bus service is charged at 3 euro per person and only runs at 9 am, back at 5pm. We found that taking the car to the underground parking was only 15 euro approx for the same time. You could come and go as you want!

    The staff were very helpful and pleasurable. The hotel has ample of free parking and is away from the road for child safety. There are places to walk outside the hotel with amazing views of the valley.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.7
    Budget hotel. Expect no frills and you wont be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was only ever warmish and not particularly tasty. Large chips in numerous dining plates, some of which also had not been cleaned properly and had food remnants still on them. Reception staff not overly helpful and we were given incorrect information regarding ski lift sales and tickets.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water. 10 min drive from resort. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Ideally located hotel for skiing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is ideally located for skiing in the Sierra Nevada mountains if, like me, you like to get away from the hustle, bustle and noise of the ski resort after your days skiing. The hotel does offer courtesy transport to the ski resort but if you prefer the convenience of taking your own car the resort is only a ten minute drive away. I have used this hotel for my ski trips for twenty years now and have found on this visit that the buffet breakfast and dinner, should you choose half board, to be vastly improved on previous stays. The dining room is spacious and there is a large bar with an open fireplace in which to enjoy a pre or post dinner drink. The staff are all pleasant and very helpful. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and warm, which is very important for a mountain hotel in winter. The hotel allowed me to change my arrival and departure dates at very short notice, less than twenty four hours, with no charge, for which I thank them.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    4.2
    Too expensive, but it was our only option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old and run-down hotel. Desperately needs a renovation. Dinner buffet very basic and not very good. Breakfast OK but not more.

    Clean but simple, close to Skiing with bus. Beautiful surroundings and scenic views.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.1
    Perfect location for skiers/boarders on a budget, cheap price and value is reflected but do-able
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, whatever the meal- breakfast or dinner- was below par and the same rounds of selection for the buffet the three days we stayed. The condition of the bungalow was quite bad and in need of repair. With furniture, we had a missing drawer (of the mere three available, for three peoples' worth of clothes). The chimney mantle of the fireplace was cracked a lot and smoke would seep out and into the room when in use. Beds were terribly uncomfortable, ESPECIALLY the child's bed. It felt as stiff as a box spring. Forget the wifi- count on no service and disconnection (which could be a good thing :))

    The price was lower than other places, shuttle service (which now is no longer free as it used to be, costing 3€ per person round-trip), bungalows with fireplace

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Didn't speak English but they try the best. Nice BBQ outside restaurant. They really care about the guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Santa Cruz Sierra Nevada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaningness of the bath tub . The food choice

    Very nice and friendly staff . Worm place .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Santa Cruz 3 night stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bus driver was miserable, its very noisy, food could be warmer

    Location resonable value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired looking and 8n need of update

    Value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money Miguel behind bar a credit to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy kids not there fault

    Good location for out of ski resort

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    No money invested in place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine never worked st breakfast ever.plates all chipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.8
    Sewage smell in bedroom has really disappointed me, would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong sewage smell in bathroom which doesn't go,

    Location is 10-15mins drive from Sierra Nevada, parking facility, pool table

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Good quality of food in Breakfast/dinner buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs a bit of a refurbishment. Coffee/tea making facilities and mini-bar non-existant

    Good quality of food in Breakfast/dinner buffet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Bungalows have open fire and spa bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bungalows have open fire and spa bath

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    - the room was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the internet was not working - there was no pressure in the shower - there were times where there was no hot water

    - the room was very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    Would not stay in this place again. WiFi was really bad also my 4g worked better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No snack bar until 5 p.m. Boring for kids.

    Food was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like poop in three rooms I went into

    The staff was super nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy,open staircase means noise travels up from the bar.

    Buffet meals very good value

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    4.6
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colour scheme in hotel was a bit dull

    Great location excellent meals friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything...

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bungalows were very clean but very dim and dark and could be brighter.

    Nice atmosphere, good location, lovely views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.5
    Our stay at the Santa Cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot in room.

    The bar area and facilities for children

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.9
    Great Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed's were a little hard

    on hand ski hire

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Ok but would not stay again. Stayed on second floor and could hear everything in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Similar to staying in a hostel. Wifi very poor when hotel slightly busy

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Overall a good hotel and good value for money. would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast & congested toilets

    Good location, free parking, 24hours reception and the room balcony looking out to forest.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.1
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar/cafe not open until late so nowhere to get a drink(hot or cold) when we got back from the ski slopes. Food on the buffet sometimes cold.

    Friendly helpful staff.Free shuttle bus.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    6.7
    We stay here when we go skiing because of the location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a very noisy hotel. In the 9 years we have been staying here I don't think there has been a single improvement. The ancient TV sort of works. Meals are not very exciting and always go out for the evening meal. It is time it had a total makeover.

    We stay here when we go skiing because of the location and its cheap.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good sized & comfortable rooms, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paint colours on walls, doors etc are awful. Yellows and really dull brown paint gives it a dark somber feeling. This hotel would benefit from re-painting in softer colours.

    Friendly staff, good sized & comfortable rooms, nice food, very good value and close to the ski resort. Peace and quiet at night. This is my third year to use this hotel. I look forward to being here again next year.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    4.6
    The location is great for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shocking décor, room not very clean either. Breakfast really bad choice and standard. Very noisy rooms. Very tired, scruffy and unable to relax in room or public areas.

    The location is great for this hotel. Both for getting to the slopes for snowboarding and also to get to the main motorway. Has so much potential.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    4.6
    We have used this hotel for years as we like the quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise was awful! It was 3am on the first night before the noise from other guests diminished and on the second night, it was 1.30 before the banging about and shouting stopped. Buffet breakfast with long queues for everything.

    We have used this hotel for years as we like the quiet location. It could do with a facelift but otherwise it has been good in the past.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    7.1
    Near Sierra Nevada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had difficulty finding the hotel as I thought that it was in the town mentioned in the address, but to get there safely (I turned back at a narrow mountain pass road), I had to go via Granada (more than 20 km extra by main road)

    Near Sierra Nevada Good buffet meals

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    8.3
    Nice position close to the ski center with nice mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi was not available into rooms, watering system at bathroom need maintenace

    Nice position close to the ski center with nice mountain view, pleasant hotel, very good breakfast, high value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.8
    Location, breakfast and an amazing New Year's Eve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are a bit small and the beds are a bit firm, but not too bad. My wife needed an iron for ironing her clothes but it was not available.

    Location, breakfast and an amazing New Year's Eve banquet. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. They made us feel that we are part of their family.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    5.4
    it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very basic Very noisy Limited staff so always a long wait at the bar Our room was on the 1st floor next to the fire doors that banged every time someone went throw day and night Very dated, could do with a refurb. Just that bit too far from the ski village for us.

    it was clean Price of drinks and food It was warm Decent variety of food but breakfast not very hot

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    6.7
    all of the above
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our room was supposed to be a triple! 3 small beds squashed together was not a triple! Having said that I did not complain, as we had arrived 2 hours early to check in, and they accommodated us immediately!

    all of the above

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    Convenient location for skiing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very dated and desperately needs an upgrade

    Convenient location for skiing

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    Super breakfast and dinner service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows could be better.

    Super breakfast and dinner service. Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    7.1
    cheap and cheerfull comfy clean easy access to ski resort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no wifi in the room

    cheap and cheerfull comfy clean easy access to ski resort with out the hefty prices

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    5.8
    The organized activities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food is terrible - especially the coffee.

    The organized activities were good.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    superb buffet meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    superb buffet meals

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.1
    Location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wide variety of food choices but the standard wasn't very good. Bit noisy with loads of children running around.

    Location was very good

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff, clean rooms and Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible wi fi, bit far from sky slopes, very limited tv channels and dinner options could be better.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and Parking.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.5
    The open fire place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The open fire place.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    7.5
    Short drive to ski resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short drive to ski resort

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.5
    sauna not in operation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sauna not in operation no disco gym only weights fruit juice at b/fast terrible- powdered

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Santa Cruz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: